Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wexford v Carlow

• 24-06-2011 9:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭

Wexford team named last night. No changes from the Westmeath game.

Anybody give Carlow a chance or do Wexford just need to turn up ??

I would be wary of Carlow especially as they have a good recent record against Wexford bnut I think because of that Wexford will not be complacent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

Has to be Wexford for me. Their experience should see them through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

if wexford are not on their game then yes there is a chance carlow will take em, just look at sligo and leitrim last month

having said that i expect wexford to win, carlow have nobody to match the scoring ability of lyng

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 499 ✭✭sendit

Should be a close game. Carlow are very strong at medfeild and have good enough forwards if they can get the ball into them. Wexford have a good forward line but wouldn't be as strong in other areas of the feild.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Could look back on this and be laughed at Sunday eve., but I reckon Wexford will win this easily.

Neutralise Murphy and keep their score down, and I reckon we've more than enough in the forwards to run riot. The likes of Lyng, Barry, Brosnan, etc. I would rate as a higher class than St Ledger, who is Carlow's star forward for example.

The wide open spaces of Croker will suit us more than them, the only reason I'd worry is Wexford playing too open of a game, which has been a downfall in recent years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

I think Wexford will be much too strong for Carlow. Their attack has been hugely impressive and I can see them just ripping Carlow to pieces at times. Carlow had a good win the last day and Murphy is a top class player. I think they'll give it a good go...and maybe get a good few scores themselves but I can't see them outscoring Wexford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭looseygoosey

as long as theiyre not beaten by 10 points or more carlow fans will be happy enough. In Carlow today i saw a load of cars with flags on, never even seen them before and i live just up the road over the boarder, The Tesco workers some of them even donned the "traffic lights"

Up da scallionaters !!!

Carlow for Sam!!

as long as theiyre not beaten by 10 points or more carlow fans will be happy enough. In Carlow today i saw a load of cars with flags on, never even seen them before and i live just up the road over the boarder, The Tesco workers some of them even donned the "traffic lights"

Up da scallionaters !!!

Carlow for Sam!!

Have nothing against Wexford but it would be fantastic to see Carlow win and its great to see the town getting into the mood for the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I really would like to see Carlow win this game, iv many great friends living on the Barrowside. Plus I love your jerseys.. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭the long lad

Looking forward to this one tomorrow, we dont often get a day out in croker. This Carlow team have great belief; for us to win i'm hoping for these 3 things.

1. That we keep the ball well, particularly early on, we cant afford to give wexford heaps of possession, their distribution of the ball to the forwards was excellent against westmeath and should be just as good if not better with the extra space in croke park.

2. A huge performance from the half back line, they need to put serious pressure on brosnan and lyng, who, in my opinion wont kick such fine scores if it's a close game.

3. That we find a way to isolate joey wadding, he's a major weakness in wexford's full back line. We'll need a couple of goals to win this game.

All in all, if we're competitive i'll be happy, we've had enough drubbings in croke park.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

Looking forward to this one tomorrow, we dont often get a day out in croker. This Carlow team have great belief; for us to win i'm hoping for these 3 things.

1. That we keep the ball well, particularly early on, we cant afford to give wexford heaps of possession, their distribution of the ball to the forwards was excellent against westmeath and should be just as good if not better with the extra space in croke park.

2. A huge performance from the half back line, they need to put serious pressure on brosnan and lyng, who, in my opinion wont kick such fine scores if it's a close game.

3. That we find a way to isolate joey wadding, he's a major weakness in wexford's full back line. We'll need a couple of goals to win this game.

All in all, if we're competitive i'll be happy, we've had enough drubbings in croke park.

thats a fair enough assesment, and the first from a Carlow person I have heard with some reasonable debate. Wadding was by far the weakest player the last day against Westmeath. Molloy was keeping Glennon quiet, and then was put on Dolan coz he was running Wadding ragged. Then Glennon picked up when Dolan was quietened. If Ryan hasnt solved that problem, then I would expect a change to happen early, there are some decent tight markers on the bench who can do a job.

Westmeath kept Brosnan quiet the last day blocking him off the ball. Once the ball hit the full forward line, he would make a run to link up, but was consistently taken out of it and blocked from running. Fortunatley the full forward line didnt need the support the last day, as Lyng and Barry pretty much did what they wanted and turned their men with ease to get scores.

But it is Bradley and Morris which Carlow will have to try stop. They win an awful amount of ball in the middle, playing effectively as a deep half forward line pair around the middle.

For the first time in years, we have excellent depth at midfield. We had an excellent pairing in u21 who dominated the leinster semi against Carlow, and whilst O Hanlon is playing hurling, O Regan cant make this side, along with all the other U21s. Only McGovern getting a run so far. Its good we dont rely on a succesful side to try bring us on, and will get a chance to bed them in over time.

I can see Murphy dominating midfield, he is a super player, but he will need help from Foely, and also Walsh to get winning kick outs. I think Wexford will win, we have form, experience and I think better players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭TwilightFan88

Rte/Tv3 showing this game live!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

No there not, there showing Galway v Mayo and Kildare v Dublin tommorrow.

Do'nt think theres any game on TV3 tommorrow I could be wrong though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭RealityCheck

No, they are showing Galway Vs Mayo instead.

Wexford are a good side. They should have enough to see off a plucky Carlow side. It will be tighter than some reckon. There'll be less than 5 points in it at the end.

I think Wexford will wipe the floor with Carlow tommorrow i'm afraid as i'd love to see a Kildare-Carlow final.

Wexford have put up huge scores on Offaly and Westmeath already and I just do'nt think Carlow will cope with them, but I hope i'm wrong.

No, they are showing Galway Vs Mayo instead.

Typical!

One of the RTE panel said after the Westmeath game, Wexford had put in two of the better games of the championship thus far and yet they ain't showed live!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,209 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

I don't think its even been shown on the rte website? Doesn't bother me i will be there anyway.:D

Any of ye dub/kildare fans going to bother going early to catch this match?

I don't think its even been shown on the rte website? Doesn't bother me i will be there anyway.:D

Not unless they switch it to Quinns:D

Ah Quinns! :-) Those were the days :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

The match ain't on telly??

I decided against going up this week as i've just moved house and money is tight and now i find out it ain't even on the tv.

For f*ck sake like.

baraca wrote: »
    The match ain't on telly??

I decided against going up this week as i've just moved house and money is tight and now i find out it ain't even on the tv.

For f*ck sake like.
    In all fairness they can't show every match, the Galway v Mayo match is much more attractive than Carlow v Wexford.

Not to Carlow and Wexford people! I'm only messing just p!ssed off now. Strongly considering getting a loan off someone and going up in the morning.

I know they can't show every game but they could at least show it on the internet it is a Leinster semi-final after all regardless of who's playing, You wouldn't see sky sports not showing the champions league semi final just because Shrewsbury and Macclesfield were in it.

What tickets would i be looking at if i went up in the morning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Bottleopener

Shame this isn't on tv. Hopefully Wexford can win it, we've done well so far so hopefully we repeat the previous two performances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭looseygoosey

oh course, youd be foolish not too!

Not to Carlow and Wexford people! I'm only messing just p!ssed off now. Strongly considering getting a loan off someone and going up in the morning.

I know they can't show every game but they could at least show it on the internet it is a Leinster semi-final after all regardless of who's playing, You wouldn't see sky sports not showing the champions league semi final just because Shrewsbury and Macclesfield were in it.

What tickets would i be looking at if i went up in the morning?
    Possibly the Hogan or the Cusack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

I've found a site claiming to be showing a stream of the game. P.m me for the address as i don't think its allowed post it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Good luck to carlow today from the crowd across the border....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Are there even any radio links for this game today?

EDIT - Found one. Radio link:

http://www.kclr96fm.com/player?url=http://www.u-loader.com/streaming/kclr96.m3u

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Laika1986

The commentator is going to have a coughing fit :pac:

Paully D wrote: »
    The commentator is going to have a coughing fit :pac:

Carlow leading 0-3 to 0-1, Wexford giving away stupid frees.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭desaparecidos

0-4 to 0-1

Epic day in the making.

Wexford seriously need to get the finger out, No ball into lyng.

EDIT: Goal for wexford!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

Who scored?

shrewdness wrote: »
    Who scored?

erm, wexford.... :) lol

What player I meant....

I've since found out it was Roche.

shrewdness wrote: »
    Who scored?

Shane roche, Has 1-2 now

Awful pity it wasnt on rte as opposed to the dross being served in castlebar at the moment as it sounds like a good game.

any score update lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

On paddy power Carlow are 5/6 +5 points. Interesting. or 7/1 to win outright.

Another goal for wexford shane roche again 2-3 for him now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Seems like a much better game than the rubbish on display in Castlebar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

Another goal for wexford shane roche again 2-3 for him now

Sounds like someone else is needed to mark Roche.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭almighty1

Jesus the south east radio commentators are so atrociously bad its add a certain comedy factor to the game.

KCLR commentator is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

What's the score?

Wexford 2-04 Carlow 0-07

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭catastrophy

really poor performance so far by wexford. very careless stuff despite the scoreline.

They'll be ate alive in the final by the sounds of it. Not ideal preparation for a Leinster final when you look at the semi-final their opponents will have come through. Very good unit of forwards capable of troubling Dublin or Kildare but they could be opened up bad at the back.

Final score: Wexford 4-12 Carlow 0-10

Fair play to Wexford. They will definitely put it up to Dublin or Kildare in the final.