Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UK envoy warned that Charles Haughey was a man of "calculating and ruthless ambition

• 23-06-2011 7:06pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭

newly declassified files reveal.

UK ambassador warned that Charles Haughey was a man of “calculating and ruthless ambition

Read more: http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/republic-of-ireland/envoy-warned-of-a-lsquowily-and-ruthlessrsquo-charles-haughey-in-report-16015151.html#ixzz1Q7waptdS

A candid diplomatic despatch for 10 Downing Street ahead of Mr Haughey's first face-to-face meeting with Margaret Thatcher in May 1980 described the Taoiseach as having a “taste for the good things in life”, but few real friends.

The UK's then-ambassador to Ireland, Robin Haydon, painted a picture of a former heavy drinker who had become a “puritan” in recent years.

“not a deeply religious man and did not mind if someone wanted to worship Ali Baba and the Seven (sic) Thieves”, the file records.

He wrote: “His predominant characteristic seems to be a calculating and ruthless ambition: there is no secret that the office of Taoiseach has been the over-riding objective of his life.”

In a reference to Mr Haughey's notoriously lavish lifestyle and fishy finances, Mr Haydon said the Irish premier's fortune came partly from speculating on property while he was finance minister. The ambassador said the Taoiseach collected antique furniture, owned racehorses, had a “showplace” house and was “immaculately turned out”.

He concluded: “To sum up, I think he is a tough, clever, wily man, no friend of ours, but not, perhaps, actively hostile. He is conscious of his shady past (and present!).”

Sums up the crook nicely. They must have thought we were a backward shower of gombeen men to deal with. I would love to see their files on the churches activities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭TOMASJ

Has to be true, as it came from a UK ambassador

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

TOMASJ wrote: »

So are you saying that its not true?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Sounds about right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I hear they are also releasing a paper on the Pope, apparently he's Catholic and as for those bears, you'll never believe what they do in the woods....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭jurahnimoh

Needless to say if this was their opinion of Charlie imagine the report complied on Brian Cowen!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The one about Cowen will be much shorter - this man is a fool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭GSF

Ali Baba and the Seven (sic) Thieves

Made me :) Someone's got their thieves and dwarves mixed up. I hate it when that happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

There is doubtless a captioned picture of a cat that would be a better reply to this than anything I might type....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Dannyboy83

GSF wrote: »
    Made me :) Someone's got their thieves and dwarves mixed up. I hate it when that happens.

Well, he didn't have 40 cabinet ministers ;)

Anyone remember this:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

Nearly everything in that observation could equally be said of Thatcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

Nearly everything in that observation could equally be said of Thatcher
    did she own an island, race horses, a huge mansion and a yacht

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,948 ✭✭✭gizmo555

goat2 wrote: »
    did she own an island, race horses, a huge mansion and a yacht

No, that was her son . . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭TOMASJ

So are you saying that its not true?
    No, what Im saying is I don't need a UK envoy to tell me that it is Saturday today,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

In light of Haughey's involvement in the arms trial and all that accompanied it, it would be surprising if any British government official gave him a glowing reference.
    That's not to say that everything Mr Haydon said wasn't true, just that I'm not surprised he said it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Just wondering here was there big time corruption before haughey or did it start with him and followed through ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

realies wrote: »
    Just wondering here was there big time corruption before haughey or did it start with him and followed through ?

It started with Dev didn't it?

So they say. He (supposedly) got the notion that patronage and 'favours' were ok during his time in America, as I think the story goes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

realies wrote: »

He certainly perfected the art.

Degree in Commerce, qualified accountant, qualified barrister. It shows the value of having people with serious education in politics, really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭LLU

jurahnimoh wrote: »
    Needless to say if this was their opinion of Charlie imagine the report complied on Brian Cowen!!

Wonder what they said about Mc Creevy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Nodin wrote: »
    Degree in Commerce, qualified accountant, qualified barrister. It shows the value of having people with serious education in politics, really.

Haughey was a waste of a good education.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Nodin wrote: »
    I think Willie O Dea has a similar background as a barrister and an accountant. Garret FitzGerald, who brought Ireland to the brink of insolvency, was a PhD economist. Sean Lemass, on the other hand, who modernised the country in his latter career, was a draper.

I dont think this proves anything in particular, execpt perhaps that we attach too much gravitas to our better educated representatives, and aim too much fury at our less well educated representatives.

later10 wrote: »
    I think Willie O Dea has a similar background as a barrister and an accountant. Garret FitzGerald, who brought Ireland to the brink of insolvency, was a PhD economist. Sean Lemass, on the other hand, who modernised the country in his latter career, was a draper.

I dont think this proves anything in particular, execpt perhaps that we attach too much gravitas to our better educated representatives, and aim too much fury at our less well educated representatives.

That was sort of the point allright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

He was a politician, after all - quite a high percentage of them tend to be like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭droicead

mike65 wrote: »
    The one about Cowen will be much shorter - this man is a fool
    this made me laugh ma ass off...thank you!..and who said the truth hurts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,188 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

TOMASJ wrote: »

Well anyone in Ireland at that time who made those claims about haughey would have had a short career or would be called a blueshirt.
    Remember how a journalist who tried to reveal ray burke true dealings was chase dout of his job and out of this country.
    Haughey was a waste of a good education.

I would have said a waste of oxygen.

Funny how everytime we have thread about a dodgy ffer you arrive to tell us about Fitzgerald and how he brought us nearly to insolvency.
    Then again he didn't, but the fine muppets in ff did actually achieve that and even worse they did from a much more favourable starting position.

Yeahh lets hear it for jackie healy rae. :rolleyes:

I am not allowed discuss …