Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cars with a bad rep that are actually worth a punt?

• 23-06-2011 12:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭

There are plenty of cars/manufacturers out there with a terrible rep (whether justified or pub talk) that are worth a punt secondhand because they are:

1. Very cheap
    2. High spec
    3. Comfortable
    4. Different

So because of all this I'm keeping an eye out for a really good bargain of a car with a terrible rep. Examples include:

Fiat Coupe
    406 Coupe
    Laguna II
    Rover 75

All of the above cars can be bought for feck all in comparison to other makes of a similar car. Any other examples? Has anyone bought a car with a perceived bad rep and loved it?

PS: This isn't a French car bashing thread. I have no opinion on French cars one way or another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Alfa 156 and Peugeot 406 saloon are the first two i've had that spring to mind. I can't for the life of me understand why anyone would subject themselves to a B5 Passat when they could have had a 406.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,237 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

Ive driven all of them in the list and wouldnt have a bad word about all except the Laguna

Fiat Coupe: Lovely car and well able to go, Pity I just a bit too big for the car or I would have bought one

406 coupe: Again a nice car, plenty of room, plenty of grunt or at least the diesel version gave that impression. Will be buying a diesel version in the very near future. Leather is a a no brainer in these, just looks so much better than the suede seats they use. I hear wiring looms are a big problem with these and that its a whole loom so parts of it cannot be replaced seperately.

607: big brute of a car but very comfortable. would gladly drive one of these again

Laguna II: never again. It locked me into the car one day after it broke down, ended up having to break a window to get out. Few weeks later left me stranded in the middle of bandit country up North when that stupid bloody key decided not to work anymore!!! Gearbox went after that!!!

Rover 75: I had the pleasure of driving one of these for a month. THe diesel is definitely the one to have and it never gave an ounce of trouble( I know the lad who owned it and he bought it from new and still has it, never an ounce of bother apart from the usual time based repairs )

Another one with a bad rep is the Alfa 156, A friend of mine has a diesel one of them and he swears by it. Never gives bother if you look after it. He has his whole family converted to diesel 156s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭theavenger

Thought I'd post here as it seemed the correct place

I have a 01 VW golf 1.4 and am looking to upgrade, now I'm not very knowledgeable about cars, but I have really taken to alfa Romeo 147.

The only problem being many people have warned me off due to very bad rep, can anybody shed some light

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭sentient_6

Link for example of the car only, the price is about 3 grand to high imo:

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Hyundai/Sonata/2.0L-Die/201118202304130/advert?channel=CARS

I.e, worth a punt to buy secondhand, not sell.

Confab wrote: »
    .............Very cheap
    ................Rover 75

Diesel 75s aren't that cheap in comparison to the competition really.
    Laguna IIs are utter sh1t in fairness to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

brother in law put huge mileage on his 406 coupe with almost 0 issues.
    he bought it against the advice of everyone bar me who'd just loved the look of it so much I could forgive it anything. Lovely car to drive, good handling, superb ride but the 2.0 was desperately slow

I pay very little attention to the "experts" on fora moaning about how unreliable X brand is, boards in particular has a habit of getting hysterically over brands / particular issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

RobAMerc wrote: »

I pay very little attention to the "experts" on fora moaning about how unreliable X brand is, boards in particular has a habit of getting hysterically over brands / particular issues.

But Jeremy Clarkson said it was......:D

I only go by owner reviews myself

sentient_6 wrote: »
    Link for example of the car only, the price is about 3 grand to high imo:

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Hyundai/Sonata/2.0L-Die/201118202304130/advert?channel=CARS

I.e, worth a punt to buy secondhand, not sell.

On English plates at the mo me thinks. Low mileage ex UK diesel car .........

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Alfa 166 might fit the bill?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,237 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

RobAMerc wrote: »

Id have to agree with rob on this one, THe people who come on forums whinging about their cars are only a small amount of of the owners of these vehicles.

honestjohn is a good site to checkout owner reviews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭sentient_6

RoverJames wrote: »
    On English plates at the mo me thinks. Low mileage ex UK diesel car .........

Just giving the link as a example of the car in general, not suggesting that particular car. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭manatoo

Does anyone have experience of the post 05, post facelift Laguna II? Apparently they sorted out most of the crapness with them? If so, there's incredible bargains to be had with 05-07 diesels. If not, then they're still utter sh1t as RJ said

manatoo wrote: »
    Does anyone have experience of the post 05, post facelift Laguna II? Apparently they sorted out most of the crapness with them? ............

Bulletproof from 05 on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

The first generation Volvo S80 has a pretty bad reputation and is absolutely as cheap as chips as a result.

With cars that have reputations for unreliability, there are exceptions however. The likes of the B6 Passat was a bit of a lemon when it first came out but prices are still strong. This is in no doubt due to the typical VAG perception of people.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Bulletproof from 05 on

I saw an 06 model in blue with the beige and wood interior the other day. Looked incredible. If I could be sure of the reliability and I could get one with that interior I'd be all over it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

I've yet to come across an owner who didn't spend a lot of money on maintenance :)

unkel wrote: »
    I've yet to come across an owner who didn't spend a lot of money on maintenance :)

Beautiful car tho....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

From a generation before the 156, so definitely dodgier.

That said, I had a '96 155 for 5 years from new, never gave any trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I had a 1999 166 at 3 years old. Spent a fortune on maintenance as not alot of spares around and stuff through the dealer was not cheap.
    Im convinced that you could easily run one on a budget now though as there appear to be more of them breaking than on the road.
    Mine was electrically perfect really. They do have numerous issues though but a nice car to drive. Sump does bang onto the ground all too easily unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭David09

Ive driven all of them in the list and wouldnt have a bad word about all except the Laguna

Laguna II: never again. It locked me into the car one day after it broke down, ended up having to break a window to get out. Few weeks later left me stranded in the middle of bandit country up North when that stupid bloody key decided not to work anymore!!! Gearbox went after that!!!

I know I shouldn't laugh, but you've just made me spill my tea!! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭GavMan

theavenger wrote: »
    Thought I'd post here as it seemed the correct place

I have a 01 VW golf 1.4 and am looking to upgrade, now I'm not very knowledgeable about cars, but I have really taken to alfa Romeo 147.

The only problem being many people have warned me off due to very bad rep, can anybody shed some light

Smashing car mate. Go for it I say.

Have an 08 Blackline model. Stromboli Grey. Bought ex demo from a dealer.

I've looked after it well and haven't had an catastrophic issues simply because I didn't drive the arse out of it and got it serviced on time.

Only had 2 issues with it:
    1: Variator went on it. This has no impact on the car except that it makes a diesel like sound when starting up.

2: Oil leak in the gear box.

Both were discovered during services. Had to pony up for the variator myself (done by Gerry in TI motors - The leading independent authority on Alfas) but the gearbox was done under warranty.

I'm putting her up for sale this week. 49,000 KM on the clock. Asking 11K but would settle for 10500

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

Alfa GTV. Neighbour recently bought one. Cheap as chips and look great, tho I remember not liking the look of them when they came out first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

n97 mini wrote: »
    Alfa GTV.

Brother in law had one for a year, of which it spent a total of five months in the garage. That was a 3.0 V6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

Brother in law had one for a year, of which it spent a total of five months in the garage. That was a 3.0 V6.
    Reliability isn't a requirement! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭richardsheil

Referring to Alfa 166.

I drove mine from 60,000 miles to 100,000 miles in three years. Beyond changing the oil every 5 thousand miles, one set of timing belts and tensioners and two suspension upper links I had no bother. A wonderful car.

OK, I have come across one owner who didn't spend a fortune on maintaining a 166 :D

Out of interest, how much was the timing belt job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Friend of mine cracked the sump of a 166 in the back arse of mayo on a mountain road. Wasn't too impressed, he bought a M class after that experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭pcardin

I had mine 2003 alfa 166 from 2006 till may 2010. During this time it needed a clutch, timing belt was changed, brake discs+pads, oil, filter, tyres and airflow meter. Variator was gone but as someone mentioned it did not do any impact on car (bar a diesel like sound when starting). Clutch was 600e (parts+labour), timing belt+ water pump was 180e (parts+labour). Brake pads and discs were quite cheap. Car was very beautiful and stylish (momo leather interior, a loads of electronic toys) but mine was with wrong engine - 2litre twin spark. Just too small for a car that size.

landyman wrote: »
    Friend of mine cracked the sump of a 166 in the back arse of mayo on a mountain road. Wasn't too impressed, he bought a M class after that experience
    That's a little bit of an overreaction, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

I notice an abandoned 04 Rover 75 outside my office these last few days. It seems not to be firing up.

Fiat Coupes are wonderful looking cars, and great to drive in Turbo form, bloody unreliable though and prone to weirdness, and I speak from experience. Id still buy one though.

Id have no prob buying any Peugeot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

Thing with the Laguna 2. After about 10 years mall the dodgy ones will've gone out of the system. Mine's no more tetchy than your average 10yo car, is comfy, goes alright, stops, and has a 5-star safety thing.

I think the temperature sensors in the mirror can occasionally glitch. One of the tyre-pressure sensors seems to have a dead battery or something. It zapped a fuse a while back. Knackered a battery before that.... Weathered the winter weather with aplomb. Some other wear and tear, but nothing insane or unexpected considering I live on a road with rampaí and the like.

Makes me wonder what other people are doing to theirs? Or maybe I just lucked into a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭Kilmac1

back in 1998 my dad bought his first new car a peugoet 406 coupe top spec and to this day she is being driven :D few wee electrical things but when you put your foot down and let that v6 roar you forget about all that :D and part are easily got on ebay for nothing, the spec of our one is 3.0l v6 demon red, black leather seats, heated seats, xi neon headlights, climate control, full jbl sound system etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭TigerTim

Had a 607. Big comfortable car but has too many electronics. Everytime I heard a beep from the dash, I nearly had a heart attack. Had to get rid. Never left me down but was a 2.2 petrol(heavy) & too many alarms.

Bought a 2005 Citroen C5 diesel 1.5 years ago fior tiny money against the advice of most of my car loving friends. Most comfortable car I've had & no reliability issues. Electrics have a mind of their own occasionally but it's very light on diesel & hasn't failed to start yet (touch wood)

T.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

Many people are anti French engineering and mechanics in general do not like them. I have had a few Citroens , lovely drivers but I wouldn't buy another, peugeots are similar had one and would not rush to buy one again. Laguna , if I really disliked someone I would give them a present of one of these.
    However from time to time these cars are sold at what seems a very low price and the temptation is there to have a go and you may get great value and have good luck with one. Either way you''ll learn from the experience :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭faw1tytowers

I have had fiats and renaults some from new some bought second hand and never ever had trouble with them some. And I still love them no matter what the world thinks lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

I have had fiats and renaults some from new some bought second hand and never ever had trouble with them some. And I still love them no matter what the world thinks lol.

Well good for you , if they worked well for me I would do the same :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Anan1 wrote: »
    That's a little bit of an overreaction, no?

Yea I said that too, but hes happy with the M class, had it for about 6 years with no major problems.

Dartz wrote: »
    Thing with the Laguna 2. After about 10 years mall the dodgy ones will've gone out of the system. Mine's no more tetchy than your average 10yo car, is comfy, goes alright, stops, and has a 5-star safety thing.

I think the newest car I've ever seen in a scrapyard was a Laguna II.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

VolvoMan wrote: »
    I think the newest car I've ever seen in a scrapyard was a Laguna II.

Ahh, but do you know why it was put there (mechanical, electrical, garda seizure, fire, flood damage) ?

slimjimmc wrote: »
    Ahh, but do you know why it was put there (mechanical, electrical, garda seizure, fire, flood damage) ?

That's true, never thought of that. I'd say it was very likely that it was just bolloxed though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭richardsheil

OK, I have come across one owner who didn't spend a fortune on maintaining a 166 :D

Out of interest, how much was the timing belt job?

Did it myself but Gerry Campbell quoted me 500 euro. Can't remember exactly what it cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭ofcork

I also have had fiats and a renault and had grief with all three,both puntos new and secondhand laguna 11.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

Not so sure about the Laguna II - maybe the later ones. Defo the Laguna III tho. I remember reading Renault put it through unprecedented (for Renault) test and dev to bury the bad rep. AFAIK they are holding up fairly well in reliability surveys. Remember the spectre of previous versions effects values.
    Surely this is a nicer place to be than this for a grand less?

Gerry Campbell quoted me 500 euro. Can't remember exactly what it cost.

That's not unreasonable for that job for an indy specialist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I would not touch a Laguna unless the current model which is a good car.

The previous models have to be one of the worst cars ever produced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭JAMM222

-Corkie- wrote: »

How about an MGTF I have one and if u can get the head gasket changed on the cheap it's a great car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

JAMM222 wrote: »
    How about an MGTF I have one and if u can get the head gasket changed on the cheap it's a great car

I would actually. They are not as bad as people make out. Rover 75 is another car people think is crap but in fact is quite the opposite.

That's not unreasonable for that job for an indy specialist
    The recession must be kicking in, from memory we used to pay Gerry €700 for timing & balancer shaft belts including tensioners etc.

-Corkie- wrote: »

I drove an 06 1.9 diesel recently - I have to say I really liked it, although the interior did feel as if it was made from varnished cardboard.