Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Itunes on work laptop

• 22-06-2011 8:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭

Hi lads,

Ive a work laptop which obviously only allows certain apps be installed and itunes isnt one. As far as i know the only option I have available is to get an internal hard drive and an OS for the hard drive and install itunes on that. While im willing to do this if it is in fact the ONLY option available to me it could run up a cost of around 200 yoyos for the copy of windows 7 and the drive, which is ssspensive and frankly awkward to do every time i want to sync my iphone.

Is this a correct way to do this or is there any other software related option available?

The reason it is crucial that i have it on my work laptop is because i will be travelling exstensively with work and theres no way in hell im carrying a second laptop(17") with me on every trip!

Does anyone know of any other less PC methods of me getting itunes on my work laptop?

Any help would be appreciated as i am heading off sunday!

TIA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,794 ✭✭✭cookie1977

What about using songbird portable? Or if you're using windows 7 pro or higher already you could using windows xp mode as it may not have the same restrictions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭MarcusFenix

Hey, cheers for the suggestion, i downloaded the portable app and its working fine....except it doesn't seem to support the iphone, tried searching for "ipod" and "iphone" in the search for addons but no jelly. any ideas??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

how about media monkey portable?

http://portableapps.com/node/11136

Did you try this Marcus?
    http://addons.songbirdnest.com/addon/12

Cheers lads, that mediamonkey needs it installed already i think!?? and that add on seems to be scrubbed for songbird, tried opening with songbird and it just says that the website doesn't exist, i was looking for it last night and it seems to be old for the very old ipods, apparently songbird devs gave up on the whole thing as keeping up with apple's trickery was draining resources!:/

If apple would cop the f*%k on and release a portable EVERYBODY's troubles wopuld be resolved, not just mine but everybody's!!

Or alternatively admin people should realize that people travelling with a laptop aren't the same as desk workers trying to burn time! I need the shagging thing!!:mad:

Have a look at this
    http://www.getsharepod.com/

I'm not sure if it needs itunes installed already. I think it might but I cant find specific requirements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Fluffy88

Someone else asked this question before, not here
    http://portableapps.com/node/1047

There is two options in that thread so I said I'll link rather than re-type :) I haven't tried either btw

Cheers lads, that mediamonkey needs it installed already i think!?? and that add on seems to be scrubbed for songbird, tried opening with songbird and it just says that the website doesn't exist, i was looking for it last night and it seems to be old for the very old ipods, apparently songbird devs gave up on the whole thing as keeping up with apple's trickery was draining resources!:/

If apple would cop the f*%k on and release a portable EVERYBODY's troubles wopuld be resolved, not just mine but everybody's!!

Or alternatively admin people should realize that people travelling with a laptop aren't the same as desk workers trying to burn time! I need the shagging thing!!:mad:

I believe it just needs to be installed on A computer anywhere, you copy the file over then

ill try that media monkey this evening when im home but other than that I reckon apple have a pretty good job done of securing the crap out of they're itunes stuff and now all I can do is try and look for a sound guy in the IT admin dept. Few and far between!:mad:

Ooo just had another idea!
    Is laptop bootable from cd or usb? Ubuntu can run easily from either, full os which you can play around with, and no trace of it after you reboot. Keep your media on a usb drive or even on your laptop (if your allowed) and you can access it all that way

Any hope you could possibly give me a run down on that? as in put ubuntu on my ext hd and boot from it?? How would i boot from it (ext hd) as opposed to booting the normal xp os installed on the laptop hd?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Fluffy88

It should have it all on the Ubuntu website, just go there and follow their instructions, they make it pretty easy to follow.

Any hope you could possibly give me a run down on that? as in put ubuntu on my ext hd and boot from it?? How would i boot from it (ext hd) as opposed to booting the normal xp os installed on the laptop hd?

Sure!
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BootFromCD

Also usb method is pasted below

InstallationFromUSBStick
    Contents
    Outline
    Introduction
    Known Issues
    Prerequisites
    Source machine
    USB flash drive
    Target machine
    Ubuntu CD or ISO
    Creating a bootable Ubuntu USB flash drive
    From Mac OSX
    From Ubuntu Linux
    From Windows
    Booting the Computer from USB
    Alternative methods
    PLoP Boot Manager
    Installing Ubuntu directly on a USB flash drive
    Create Bootable USB Manually
    Outline
    The recommended way to install Ubuntu from a USB flash drive is to use the usb-creator program, point it at a ISO image of a Ubuntu installation CD that you have downloaded, and let it create a bootable USB that you can use instead of the CD.

Acquire the correct Ubuntu installation files ('the ISO') and tools
    Put Ubuntu onto your USB drive
    Configure your computer to boot from USB drive and boot from it
    Try Ubuntu or install to your hard drive.
    Introduction
    This page gives instructions on how to run Ubuntu from a USB flash drive for installation or to try it out. This may be necessary for netbooks and other computers without CD drives and is handy for others because a USB flash drive is so convenient. Also, you can configure Ubuntu on the USB drive to save changes you make, unlike a read-only CD-ROM drive. Recent Ubuntu CD/DVD ISO images come with the necessary Windows and Linux utilities to get the system on a USB drive.

Booting from a USB drive created with this utility will behave just as if you had booted from the install CD. It will show the language selection and then the install menu, from which you can install Ubuntu onto the computer's hard drive or launch the LiveCD environment.

Best is to have wired internet access while booting from USB, as it is not certain that Ubuntu can recognise a wirefree card in first attempt.

For custom, manual, older versions, and technical instructions and troubleshooting see USB Installation Media. There are also network installation options available. You can also see the instructions for USB drives from the official 10.10 Ubuntu Installation Guide.

Note: This article uses the terms USB stick, USB drive, thumb drive and flash drive interchangeably.

Apparently itunes wont run on ubuntu????

itunes wont, but there is the equivalent preinstalled with ubuntu, think its called rhythm box or something. Compatible with ipods/iphones etc.
    Only thing it cant do is updating firmware on ipods etc.
    If you are looking for a way to just manage the media on the ipod, should work.

Cheers, bought a net book yesterday as i don't really have the know how to do all this in time before I start traveling for work this Sunday, thanks for the advice though and i will use it maybe next week.

No problem, got the wife a netbook recently as her other one was dying, they are nice little things! What kind is it?

Got a packard bell, dot....something, neat little thing alright for skype, itunes and rendering hi def animations.....well thats what the salesperson said:P

It's like the base model, I went to pc world to get windows 7 for my external hard drive, which i was guna rip out and swap with my laptop drive, 7 is around 160 he said so i thought feck it for another 80 ill have a proper seperate net book. Thing is though it's very....red:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭darraghking22

get ERD Commander...boot from it, erase your admin account password, and you can install what ya like :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

What are you synching that you can't do it over the web?

Didn't know I could over the web!?

It depends what you are syncing.

http://www.google.com/mobile/sync/

There's confusion here. He wants to use his music. OTA syncing is not available for music with itunes. Sorry is it music you want to sync or something else?

How would music be crucial for work?

I assume he wants to synch calendars, contacts, tasks, things like that. You might have to round trip. iPhone to google. Laptop to google. You can synch a pop3 to google etc. It depend what he wants to synch.

Surely if it was syncing contacts and such with a work iphone his company would have allowed him to use itunes or explained the ota sync methods? I dont know. Will wait for op to clarify

I want to sync everything, my iphone is my property, the laptop is for business. BUT i have to travel so often that my case is an exception to the general rule. I.e. me sitting at a desk burning precious company time on itunes is not a factor.

I'm sure ye will understand (as do most of the low level IT guys) that i need my laptop to use my iphone but I can't really bring a second laptop as i will be traveling constantly.

So I want to sync everything that can be synced basically.

Well as BostonB says you can sync a lot of things ota (over the air) with google mail such as contacts, calander, email etc... but we're still stuck with music being a problem. I asked a way back about what versionof windows 7 you had installed on the laptop and if it came with or if you can install windows xp mode?

Work laptop?? Windows xp.

well that aint gonna work then :(

Apparently not, ive resorted to begging the demand manager for it but unless that works ive just gotta hope to befriend someone with an admin password. Ive already bought a netbook so that damage is done but it would still be an awful lot handier to be able to just have it all on one

We don't allow iPhones as company phones and iTunes is blocked in our place.
    Because most people need more support than a regular phone, and we don't have the resources. It didn't work reliably with exchange.

http://support.apple.com/kb/TS3398

That might be fixed now I don't know. Its not my area. That said we have a few R&D people with iPhones, but they have their own work around. If it was available to a wider group, they'd just consume a ton of network and support resources, with non work related material.

How often do you need to change your music and video's while travelling anyway? You could get an android phone which simply acts a USB drive. If media was that important to you. We block USB ports too though....

Right,

So i got a net book to carry around with me and do my personal stuff, but its really really slow and ****e. So now ive got a hard drive caddy which will replace my optical drive with a second hard drive. Now i must buy an OS for my second hard drive....

Could anyone confirm this kind of sale??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭dafunk

Right,

So i got a net book to carry around with me and do my personal stuff, but its really really slow and ****e. So now ive got a hard drive caddy which will replace my optical drive with a second hard drive. Now i must buy an OS for my second hard drive....

Could anyone confirm this kind of sale??

This is more than likely just a preactivated iso burned to dvd.

If you PM me your address i will post you an install dvd of windows 7. No charge.

Or i can send you a download link if your cOmfortable downloading 4.6gbs.

dafunk wrote: »
    This is more than likely just a preactivated iso burned to dvd.

If you PM me your address i will post you an install dvd of windows 7. No charge.

Or i can send you a download link if your cOmfortable downloading 4.6gbs.

it was me that posted that reply....dunno how its showing up that @dafunk posted it....weird one.

send me your address dude, itll save ya a few quid