Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your real world MPG - proof required

• 21-06-2011 8:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭

Right, there are some frankly astounding MPG figures quoted here sometimes (even by people that own the Evo in question:D). And a lot of people haven't a clue how to calculate their MPG properly or are relying on their trip computer. Recently I started using a little app called Gas Cubby and it seems to be pretty good for what it is.

So vRS diesel and this is what I get with motorway Mon-Fri and city centre at weekends. This includes ATWR too.

5c8c5abf.jpg

Should have it up to 6k km for the month easily too:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Very stealthy advertising, I commend you :D

EPM wrote: »
    Right, there are some frankly astounding MPG figures ....................... their MPG ........... or are relying on their trip computer. .......................

I don't see any mpg figures there :p

I use the trip computer, shame on me :o

mpg.gif

Column E is the mpg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Fair enough - or litres per 100km...you get my drift.

Just divide it into 282.5 and job done.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

RoverJames wrote: »
    Column E is the mpg.

Note to self:- Buy oil shares! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭vandriver

Citroën C4 1.6 Hdi 911 km/ 59 litres so 6.48 l/100km or 43.6 mpg in old money.All city centre.

Note to self:- Buy oil shares! ;)

The depreciation on a new Focus over 12 months would be more than what I spend on tax and fuel in the year ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Mine's in my sig ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Been using a similar app for the last few months as well.

2005 Lexus GS300 3.0L auto.
    20 Mar 2011 - present.

Average economy: 10.64 l/100km (26.6 mpg).
    Best economy: 30.24 mpg
    Worst economy: 24.9 mpg.
    Total travelled: 5538 km
    Total fuel: 647.1 L
    Total cost: €978
    Cost per km: €0.16 actually it's €0.18 - stupid ass app can't do maths.

edit: approx equal motorway / rural / city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

I'm getting around 4.5l/100km from a 1.6 HDi 92hp Citroën DS3. I have managed 3.8l/100km on a 28km trip which includes some traffic, M50 and some back roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭sentient_6

crosstownk wrote: »
    I'm getting around 4.5l/100km from a 1.6 HDi 92hp Citroën DS3. I have managed 3.8l/100km on a 28km trip which includes some traffic, M50 and some back roads.

Think your missing the point of the thread there.

So ill be brimming it tomorrow & i dont have any fancy apps, what ye need pics of my trip before i reset & pic of the receipt? :)

Anything that shows a proper calculation really as opposed to just figures or trip figures. Mines about 10% optimistic from my calculations. Apps are just a handy way of keeping track and I only noticed the chart function tonight in it.

Aim is really to get a true figure rather than the utter bull crap thats posted at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭650Ginge

60604.png

60604.png

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

The depreciation on a new Focus over 12 months would be more than what I spend on tax and fuel in the year ;)

Not on mine it's not :D

p.s. Employee discount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Actually EPM our two sets of figures are quite interesting. Almost the exact same number of miles and, while I have quite a few more horses (:p), torque is almost identical so 'real world' driving would be fairly similar. So the penalty for a big lazy V6 petrol auto versus an ultra modern 4 cyl turbo / CR / etc is:

MPG: 26.6 vs 40.4.
    Fuel volume: 647 L vs 379 L.
    Fuel cost: €978 vs €540.
    Cost per km: €0.18 vs €0.10.

Could probably improve my figures about 10% if I did your amount of motorway mileage alright.

Obviously my tax is rather higher too. And my boot is inadequate.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

RX8, roughly half and half city and open road driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭kierank01

05 1.4 d4d Corolla Diesel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Does anyone have some sort of formula to convert the following to MPG?

The Micra drives for about 320 miles on a full tank of petrol which is 42 litres.

Does anyone have some sort of formula to convert the following to MPG?

The Micra drives for about 320 miles on a full tank of petrol which is 42 litres.

42 / 4.54 = 9.25 gallons

mpg = 320 / 9.25 = 34.6 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

It always seems the people with the frugal engines are always the ones worrying about their MPG and the ones who really spend a fortune at the pumps just pretend it's not really happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

I always note down my mileage on receipts for fuel, and then enter all data to the spreadsheet.

Over last 3 years - - Fiat bravo 1.2 - average consumption 6.92 l/100km
    Over last year - Nissan Primera 1.8 - avg consumption 8.24 l/100km

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Mike2006

Mine is on my sig as well.

I note the kms every fill and always fill until the pump stops and then go again once more...

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭voxpop

Mike2006 wrote: »
    Mine is on my sig as well.

I note the kms every fill and always fill until the pump stops and then go again once more...

Mike.

59 miles per gallon :eek: - that cant be right - can it ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

03 Toyota Landcruiser 3.0 (old shape) - been keeping an eye on it lately.

Estimate: 40% motorway (empty) 30% rural (empty) 20% mixed (with 16ft trailer and various loads) 10% urban

My last 5 fills as follows:

60.2 litres - 633 km (395 miles)
    62.5 litres - 603 km (377 miles)
    61.4 litres - 675 km (422 miles)
    63.3 litres - 577 km (361 miles)
    62.9 litres - 617 km (386 miles)
    310.3 litres - 3105 km (1940 miles)

Works out at 9.99l/100km (28.15 mpg)

Not bad for a big yoke.

164969.jpg

Heres mine for the diesel - Fixed a fuel temp sensor and stuck open thermostat around 4/2 on the graph.

2.5 petrol becomes daily in July - will probably notice a little difference :D

voxpop wrote: »
    59 miles per gallon :eek: - that cant be right - can it ??

New diesel Golf, don't see why not.
    I oftne got 50mpg + from a 97 non intercooled Rover 400 diesel.

New diesel Golf, don't see why not.
    I oftne got 50mpg + from a 97 non intercooled Rover 400 diesel.

Really - I must be doing something wrong then - only time ive ever seen 50+ is when cruising on the motorway,which doesnt count.:pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

11 grand megane 1.5 dci

Estimate:
    60% motorway
    20% mixed
    20% urban

My 1st 5 fills as follows:

56 litres - 1233 km
    46 litres - 1160 km
    46 litres - 1184
    44 litres - 1130
    45 litres - 7/8 of a tank left

road tax is 9 a month

Works out at 4l/100km (62 ish mpg)

I have started doing 110kmh on the motorway.

Is it more efficient to use cruise control?

Also I can get the car down to 2.5l per 100kmh cruising at 90kmh

user_offline.gifquote.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

No proof, but had a 1.5D Clio eco2 rental in Scotland for the last few days. 55mpg giving it back... and I know I could have easily done better.

V impressed with the economy, would almost tempt me to buy a Renault!

Works out at 4l/100km (62 ish mpg)

I have started doing 110kmh on the motorway.

You're getting 60 odd mpg and are trying to squeeze out more by travelling at below the limit on the motorway :pac:

The car computer 4l per 100km at 100kmh

and 6.5l at 120kmh

thats a big difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Mike2006

Its correct alright...

The trip computer tells me that I am doing around 65-66mpg, but when I do the calc myself, I always get between 58 and 62 mpg depending on my driving style...

It is a 1.6tdi. Most of my driving is at between 80-90 kms/hr, 120km round trip every day so they are pretty ideal driving conditions. Not much gear changing etc...

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

The car computer 4l per 100km at 100kmh

and 6.5l at 120kmh

thats a big difference
    I've found the same. 120km/h could use 40% more fuel than 80km/h.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

42 / 4.54 = 9.25 gallons

mpg = 320 / 9.25 = 34.6 :)

Many thanks sir, it's much appreciated.
    It always seems the people with the frugal engines are always the ones worrying about their MPG and the ones who really spend a fortune at the pumps just pretend it's not really happening.

Well the Micra was just to get her up and running. It probably wasn't a great choice as 90% of her driving is on the motorway, so a bigger engine would make more sense. She's also now complaining that she's a little embarassed to be in the Micra and wants something more powerful! I'm sure I'll be looking for advice here shortly.

I am saving 250 euro a month in fuel and road tax. Thats the car paid for in 5 years compared to my 10 year old 2 litre diesel. Last car was doing 40mpg which isn't too bad.

My mate has a 2.5 s type and 1200+ euro tax and 6 quid + a gallon is no laughing matter anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭JerCotter7

I think I am getting about 30mpg. Don't wanna check for sure because I'd rather not know. I am happy enjoying the car rather than worrying about small things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭245

Bit late to the party here but I had to collect some data over time. Trip computer says 5.6 l/100 km but its very optimistic. Legacy diesel BTW - not bad economy for an AWD car. I drove like a nun on the last fill just to see how much I could improve things but it didn't make a huge difference to consumption. My normal driving style is reasonably brisk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Mike2006 wrote: »
    Its correct alright...

The trip computer tells me that I am doing around 65-66mpg, but when I do the calc myself, I always get between 58 and 62 mpg depending on my driving style...

It is a 1.6tdi. Most of my driving is at between 80-90 kms/hr, 120km round trip every day so they are pretty ideal driving conditions. Not much gear changing etc...

Mike.

What revs is she doing at 80/90??
    Watch your DPF if the revs are very low

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,155 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Full Tank

60% Motorway/National Roads
    40% Rural & City

Taken today in my Passat

Bottom right shows how many KMs since the last fill up.

50e71d40.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

My main problem with doing this is that it kind of hurts filling up approximately €100 of diesel in my batterd old workhorse (old passat estate, 70l tank). It doesnt go through it fast enough to get loads of fill ups over a short space of time so this may be a long term thing, i usually fill 25-30l per week and that covers a fair distance. I also don't often use 100% diesel.

However i'd like to know what it's actually doing so i may start working it out properly, i did it for a few previous cars

Beer Baron wrote: »
    Full Tank

60% Motorway/National Roads
    40% Rural & City

Taken today in my Passat

Bottom right shows how many KMs since the last fill up.

How many litres did it take to fill the tank afterwards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

I've a mate who's old and well off, and he drives a big gas guzzling merc. I was going on a spin with him and I asked him what mpg he was getting. He replied that that he puts petrol into the tank when the gauge shows nearly empty and asked me wether him knowing the mpg would make it use less?. Kinda made sense to me, so now I just put fuel in when my car needs it. It aint gonna use less cos you've gone all anal over measuring it.

EPM wrote: »
    How many litres did it take to fill the tank afterwards?

I didn't really pay attention. It only took €83 to fill it so 61 litres I guess. 1.36.9 for Diesel in Topaz in Ennis.

I drove passed many many Topaz Garages to get to this one. Fuel light came on at 110km to go. I was brave to drive with the light on for that long but I passed one Topaz in Galway wanting 1.47.9 for Diesel. Damned If I was putting that in my car, even IF I have a fuelcard from work. Passed I would say around 7 Topaz before I got to the one in Ennis. :eek:

Solnskaya wrote: »
    I've a mate who's old and well off, and he drives a big gas guzzling merc. I was going on a spin with him and I asked him what mpg he was getting. He replied that that he puts petrol into the tank when the gauge shows nearly empty and asked me wether him knowing the mpg would make it use less?. Kinda made sense to me, so now I just put fuel in when my car needs it. It aint gonna use less cos you've gone all anal over measuring it.

I'm the same,I actually have no idea what my MPG is.

Somebody once said to me

"Why should I carry around 60 litres of fuel with me?"
    "So you don't have to visit the garage every 2nd day?"

Used to work in a garage years ago and this girl would come in every single day and get £2.50 worth of petrol. I never understood why.

I'm the same,I actually have no idea what my MPG is.

Its good to know - in case it drops off a cliff, you know something is wrong with the car

If you are suddenly getting 15mpg instead of the usual 30mpg - you know you have a problem with the car somewhere

Maybe I'm just having more fun? :D

Yeah but you wont know how much more fun you had unless you know what the mpg dropped by :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

I usally know somthings wrong with the car when it makes a different noise-ruum ruum good, no ruum ruum bad.:D I get about 10 cups of coffee a day, usually in filling stations, so visiting a garage is not really a rare occasion.