Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

760Li - Am I mad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Tazio

Well at ~18mpg your call really.... :)

Great car all the same... if you do it enjoy....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

Vey nice whats the import duty on top of the price and whats the tax?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

doooo it :D

lovely machine for no money i preffer the older 7er but still, that beast of an engine is worth it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

With cars like that you always risk loosing the farm if it all goes south, but if you go in with your eyes open, do your homework AND have a good deal of luck, what a car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Have it checked over by an independent BMW specialist. If you get the green light, go for it :D

The £5k in your pocket from not buying a MPV / SUV will go a long way towards the extra maintenance that will might come with a high end BMW :)

BTW, I owned the previous model 7-series for a long time and I had no expensive maintenance or nasty surprises...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Ninap

With cars like that you always risk loosing the farm if it all goes south, but if you go in with your eyes open, do your homework AND have a good deal of luck, what a car!

Well, the most you can lose I suppose is the purchase price, which is less than 8k in Euros, and that would be if it was worth absolutely nothing (which is unlikely) after some major mishap.

I should be here long enough not to have to pay any VRT on return to Ireland, if I did want to bring it back. (Would be fun driving around various places back home in it :))

I reckon you could spend more keeping various 'classics' on the road.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

You'll get 250k out of a Carina - my old man wrung 300k out of his - so you should get another 100k+ out of something like that, and a lot more if it's been looked after and you look after it. And in my experience while servicing a BM isn't cheap, it isn't as expensive as I'd expected. Just make sure you get it thoroughly checked over, preferably by a specialist; early E65's were a bit troublesome apparently.

I'd prefer an F01 meself, but I'm about 8 years away from being able to afford one. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Thats some bombshell of a first post in motors!!!!. Last newest poster purchased a 05 S class last week!!!:)

Go for it. Voodoomelon will love you.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

That happened to the first/second owner, at this point its like what, £6k investment for a £100k car that still could pass as a new car in the UK (on private plates). Kinda mental not to do it really..

At 177k suspension would have already been done. The V12 engines care not for such miles, drop in the ocean.. :pac:
    OSI wrote: »
    I can imagine that getting very expensive very quickly.
    I should put up the price list of the parts Ive changed on a 1998, 175k mile Audi S8. I dont consider it expensive, dunno bout the rest of ye and your penny pinching Toyota driven consumerism. :p

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Thats some bombshell of a first post in motors!!!!. Last newest poster purchased a 05 S class last week!!!:)

Go for it. Voodoomelon will love you.:D

Well, my first thread, but not quite my first post....(but I am a newbie round here.........)

I reckoned there'd be a bit of enthusiasm for the car though....

Confab wrote: »
    That's horrifically expensive for an E38.

And for a 728 too. You'd get one for €1-2k over here, max. My 740 came it at (well) less than that, with less mileage and near-immaculate bodywork.

Not going against the concensus for the sake of it :pac:

but......

- guts of £7000
    - loads and loads of miles on it
    - lwb

Considering the fuel consumption etc isn't an issue I think you could do an awful lot better. That's the sort of yoke I reckon a chauffure is for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

You're not living in Ireland....so you don't have to bend over and get screwed on a yearly basis for it. Go for it.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Not going against the concensus for the sake of it :pac:

but......

- guts of £7000
    - loads and loads of miles on it
    - lwb

Considering the fuel consumption etc isn't an issue I think you could do an awful lot better. That's the sort of yoke I reckon a chauffure is for.

The one downside is you do look like a chauffeur driving it. Will have to avoid wearing a peaked cap. And not let the wife sit in the back

dahamsta wrote: »
    And for a 728 too. You'd get one for €1-2k over here, max. My 740 came it at (well) less than that, with less mileage and near-immaculate bodywork.

728s ARE RANGING FROM 1500 TO 3 GRAND not 1k to 2k(you might get a dirty one for that that needs alot of tlc)

Ninap wrote: »
    The one downside is you do look like a chauffeur driving it. Will have to avoid wearing a peaked cap. And not let the wife sit in the back

The upside is he could do it and pay the car off in a year:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

I would rather it were it not a Li model.
    I can't see the point of having all that space if I'm not sitting in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

RobAMerc wrote: »

Bit like a Superb then?:D

jimmynokia wrote: »
    728s ARE RANGING FROM 1500 TO 3 GRAND not 1k to 2k(you might get a dirty one for that that needs alot of tlc)

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/7-Series/728-728I/201118202259680/advert?channel=CARS

Anyone that pays more than 2k for a 728 in this market needs their head seeing to; unless it's voodoomelon's of course.

Asking Price != Selling Price

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

V12 6 litre uber luxobarge....whats not to like. Do it....do it now

I don't need much convincing. Now just need to work on the missus..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

It's mad alright but if you have the money aside for possible problems then fire ahead!

RobAMerc wrote: »
    I would rather it were it not a Li model.

but the LWB model looks better from the outside anyway , and if you ever have to sleep in your car youll be glad of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭The High King

To answer your question, yes, you are most definitely mad. But that's fine. Embrace your madness. Driving that bus, you will be crazy, comfortable & cool all at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

What are you coming from?

Have you owned anything previously which would have similar running costs?

S.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭maddness

If you have a chance to own a car like this DO IT MAN.
    We all dream about a V12 or whatever else does it for us but few of us will ever own one.
    Yes it may end up costing you a few quid but think about it this way, how much has your house cost you in depreciation in the last five years?
    Life is too short not to buy this car.:D

What are you coming from?

Have you owned anything previously which would have similar running costs?

S.

I've had 5 Beemers, ranging from an E28 528 to a brand new E53 X5. Currently have an elderly E39 Touring. The old ones always cost a bit to keep going, but this could be in a different league.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

Seeing as road tax rates are so reasonable in the UK, I think buying a 760Li would be a relatively sane thing to do.

Alternatively; if you go for an XC90, make sure it has the Yamaha V8.:)

Tip us off if that e39 goes up for sale, particularly if it's a 525d. ;)

dahamsta wrote: »
    Tip us off if that e39 goes up for sale, particularly if it's a 525d. ;)

It's (only) a 520i! But running perfectly. Just had inspection 2. Will let you know.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

I Was VB wrote: »

2002 was the first year of the new 7er and theyve ironed out a lot of issues since then , in fairness a lot of the complaints in that video were for things like rattles , which on a car that was being used day in day out and racking up mad miles is not unexpected.

I still think the older 7er (e38) is much more reliable, but a lot of issues in the newer model were ironed out by 2003-2004

in fairness, every car can have issues and recalls http://www.theaa.com/allaboutcars/recalls/recalls.jsp?modelID=A4&modelName=Carina+E&makeName=Toyota&makeId=E6

2002 was the first year of the new 7er and theyve ironed out a lot of issues since then , in fairness a lot of the complaints in that video were for things like rattles , which on a car that was being used day in day out and racking up mad miles is not unexpected.

I still think the older 7er (e38) is much more reliable, but a lot of issues in the newer model were ironed out by 2003-2004

in fairness, every car can have issues and recalls http://www.theaa.com/allaboutcars/recalls/recalls.jsp?modelID=A4&modelName=Carina+E&makeName=Toyota&makeId=E6

Any issues are likely to have been addressed while under guarantee. The car would also have had regular software updates.

Indeed, it's much like the Nikasil thing with earlier BMs, everyone still warns you about it but it's entirely redundant at this stage -- if it hadn't been fixed, it'd be long dead by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Indeed, even my Avensis had a engine block replaced at 90K miles under warranty, thing is the BMW is a $200000 from new and has a list that long of faults that should never of been. Also there is a trend on motors of spending other peoples money. ''Go for it'' ''Sure ya'd be mad not to buy it'' is a very easy thing to do when its not your money, just giving a balance here....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Nexo

This model is prone to a coolant pipe o ring failure, located in the valley pan. Be sure to check it underneath if there are any signs of coolant leaking walk/run away as the repair bill would be well in excess of €3000.
    If it checks out ok go for it :) I own a 2002 745i (coolant repair done) with 84k which is the same spec as the car your viewing ie 18 way heated and ventilated seats nav tv dynamic drive variable suspension etc. For a big luxo barge the way it handles and accelerates seems to defy the laws of physics (its for sale at the moment if there are any takers on here) I can only imagine what the 6.0 440bhp model would be like :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Heart says yes, head says no.
    Not worth it imo but if you think you have the dosh to run it, go ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

biko wrote: »
    Heart says yes, head says no.

If we all bought with the head only, we'd all be driving Octavias and the world would be a terribly boring place :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Nexo wrote: »
    This model is prone to a coolant pipe o ring failure, located in the valley pan. Be sure to check it underneath if there are any signs of coolant leaking walk/run away as the repair bill would be well in excess of €3000.
    If it checks out ok go for it :) I own a 2002 745i (coolant repair done) with 84k which is the same spec as the car your viewing ie 18 way heated and ventilated seats nav tv dynamic drive variable suspension etc. For a big luxo barge the way it handles and accelerates seems to defy the laws of physics (its for sale at the moment if there are any takers on here) I can only imagine what the 6.0 440bhp model would be like :)

Is the V12 also prone to the coolant pipe failure? Thought it was just the V8. (and the repair cost is VERY well in excess of €3k!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I think its the V8 only too. And its about €3k with that American garages fix, otherwise its way more.

These threads are funny. One third the posters are total petrol heads and the thought of a v12 make them go a bit funny in the trouser department. One third are dont see the point and cant fathom why you would want such a car over an octavia and the final third use it to list possible faults that could happened to this car at one time or another.

I fall into the petrol head segment. At that price thats a lot of car for the money. Yes its complex and expensive to tax, fuel and repair but thats why is priced so low. If you have the balls to own such a beast then its a cracker, if fuel, tax and repair bill scare you then this is not for you, just knowing there is the equivalent of 3-4 skodas/ mundeo / golfs under the hood is reward enough.

The V12 is prone to this as well
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eXjZs9Zsf94

The V12 is prone to this as well
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eXjZs9Zsf94

Why is buffalo bill narrating that video "it puts the lotion in the basket"

OP this 760li seems a better bet with lower mileage and it has all the goodies such as radar cruise and massage seats
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/BMW-760Li-Saloon-AUTO-REAR-TVs-EVERY-EXTRA-/120648530318?pt=Automobiles_UK&hash=item1c1736798e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

OP this 760li seems a better bet with lower mileage and it has all the goodies such as radar cruise and massage seats
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/BMW-760Li-Saloon-AUTO-REAR-TVs-EVERY-EXTRA-/120648530318?pt=Automobiles_UK&hash=item1c1736798e

If you could get the original one down to £5500 is that one worth twice the price though? I would think no. At 170k+ the original one clearly doesnt have any of the killer issues that haunt this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Matt Simis wrote: »
    If you could get the original one down to £5500 is that one worth twice the price though? I would think no. At 170k+ the original one clearly doesnt have any of the killer issues that haunt this thread.

Or there is possibly something only appearing now. A Limo company we used in the UK had cars of that vintage with double the mileage. I assume that was it's use in which case the mileage seems quite low tbh. For the price the last owner got for it and the way you can effectively hide a cars age with a private reg if it was running well would it not have made more sense to keep it until it died as the cost of replacing it would be quite high. Just a thought:)

In saying that if it checked out it would be an epic buy. I'd much prefer that to an S600.