Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Families Struggling to feed themselves...

• 18-06-2011 7:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭

Seen a thread wondering why a thread on a sindo article was closed (http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056302464) and curiosity got the better of me so I was scouring the indo site to see if I could see anything. I started reading a few bit and pieces, and this article made me feel so ashamed. How is it possible to read such an article about Dublin in 2011 and not think it's the slums in a 3rd world country?

I sincerely hope that when (if) Michael Noonan does burn the senior bond holders of Anglo and NIB that rather than look to pay back the EU/IMF that he opens his eyes to whats going on under his very nose! Economically our reputation is in tatters, but FFS, surely we have some form of moral obligation to make sure people can feed their families!

:mad::mad:
    (sorry rant over)

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/struggling-families-flock-to-care-centre-for-meals-2678745.html
    By Fergal Gallagher
    Saturday June 18 2011
    ENTIRE families are going to homeless centres for their dinner every evening.

Before the recession, the Capuchin Day Centre for the homeless in Dublin would rarely have seen children coming through its doors -- but now up to 10 families a day are coming coming in to get fed.

Many of the families are struggling to pay large mortgages taken out during the boom.

They are worried about losing their homes and literally do not have enough money to put bread on the table, says Brother Kevin Crowley, who runs the shelter.

He says that there are four times the amount of people arriving today compared with a few years ago.

Some of those now seeking help are professionals such as engineers and architects who would have been earning a very good wage during the boom years.

"It's not just homeless people who come to us, its anyone who is in need. We are getting lots of families with children coming in," he says. "Many of them have lost their jobs, and are on the verge of losing their homes. All that has increased in the past few years."

Brother Crowley points out that before the recession hit, the centre would usually have about 100 people for dinner, but now more than 450 come to eat there each day.

Despair

The number of people collecting food parcels every Wednesday has increased from 400 to more than 1,000 in the same period.

"There are professional people -- some architects and engineers -- coming in who can't pay their mortgages and are in despair.

"It's really frightening for people," Brother Crowley adds.

The Capuchin brother yesterday launched a charity cycle from Dublin to Mayo in aid of the well-known centre.

A group of 24 gardai and prison officers who completed the trip are due to arrive on their bikes in Belmullet, Co Mayo, this afternoon.

They broke the marathon 310km cycle with an overnight stop in Carrick-on-Shannon, Co Leitrim.

The Capuchin Day Centre's running costs are €1.3m, of which €450,000 comes from the Government, with the remainder coming from fundraising events such as the cycle and charitable donations from the public.

For more details on the cycle challenge and how to donate to the centre see www.homeless.ie.

- Fergal Gallagher

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

I sincerely hope that when (if) Michael Noonan does burn the senior bond holders of Anglo and NIB that rather than look to pay back the EU/IMF that he opens his eyes to whats going on under his very nose! Economically our reputation is in tatters, but FFS, surely we have some form of moral obligation to make sure people can feed their families!

He's burning the unsecured bond holders.. Well wants to. Wait till you see what happens when Greece eventually defaults.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Its raining outside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Many of the families are struggling to pay large mortgages taken out during the boom.

There was a moratorium on mortgages though some people might have finished the time, I think it's 12 months

But then I thought people who had mortgages were forced to take out income protection insurance. Not being a home owner I'm not realy sure
    FFS, surely we have some form of moral obligation to make sure people can feed their families!

We do.
    But unless the State will pay the mortgage for everyone in difficulty then what can be done?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Its raining outside.

Not in the Caoimhin compound, its all coke and Russian hookers here :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

mikemac wrote: »
    There was a moratorium on mortgages though some people might have finished the time, I think it's 12 months

But then I thought people who had mortgages were forced to take out income protection insurance. Not being a home owner I'm not realy sure

Ya may well be right there. I don't know either.
    mikemac wrote: »
    We do.
    But unless the State will pay the mortgage for everyone in difficulty then what can be done?

I think the problem is, it's not just people who have large mortgages. There where a lot of people who didn't get rich during the "boom" and they were always struggling. Now struggling even more. Don't get me wrong I'm not saying I have a solution, but surely to Christ someone does!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

think we caught all ways-

-Wipe clean mortgage debt,lawsuits for refunds etc
    -Sell of empty houses for nothing,john and mary who still have their house and mortgage bought during the peak of the boom would be on to joe as quick...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

think we caught all ways-

-Wipe clean mortgage debt,lawsuits for refunds etc

We can't do that though. Some people lived within their means others built or bought way out of their league and other people rented. The government didn't force people to take out huge loans, they might have persuaded people it was ok but a lot actually didn't buy into that either so the tax payer shouldn't have to foot the bill.

As my parents say we didn't go up in the boom and we're not going down in the recession! Why?

They manage their money properly and don't get caught up in every new fad after living through a few recessions/minor prosperities in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

If it weren't for lidl and Aldi I'd be there with them :eek:

The days of lads quitting school at 16 and going laboring on a site pulling over €700 a week and some of that cash in hand are over.

It's emigration or welfare for a lot of them though this article seems to mention graduates.

wild_cat wrote: »
    We can't do that though. Some people lived within their means others built or bought way out of their league and other people rented. The government didn't force people to take out huge loans, they might have persuaded people it was ok but a lot actually didn't buy into that either so the tax payer shouldn't have to foot the bill.

As my parents say we didn't go up in the boom and we're not going down in the recession! Why?

They manage their money properly and don't get caught up in every new fad after living through a few recessions/minor prosperities in the past.

I agree the tax payer shoulders the burden for a lot, but neither should they be paying off the gambling debts of reckless banking. There's so much wrong with how much the tax payer has to pay for it's just mind boggling!

You're parents are right to a degree, but there are a lot of people who didn't go up in the boom, but they are also sinking very fast in the recession. Even for those who didn't manager their money, they are part of the increase in suicide attempts that hospitals have to deal with. Nobody should, even if it's through their own stupidity should be let get to the point where they think about taking their own lives. I know you may think that's a tad dramatic, but it's another factor of the struggle people and families are facing!

RachaelVO wrote: »
    Nobody should, even if it's through their own stupidity should be let get to the point where they think about taking their own lives.

i mean this with all due respect,if your a small person not in nama or in high places,nobody gives a fck as long the money is paid off,the amount of threaten phone calls and harassment is disgraceful.

I agree whole totally! That's what makes me most ashamed! People need help and options, not to be treated like they're second hand citizens. The old adage is true, if you owe the bank a few thousand it's your problem, owe the bank a billion and it's theirs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Its raining outside.
    Funny that. Not.

phasers wrote: »
    If it weren't for lidl and Aldi I'd be there with them :eek:
    I shop in the North as even aldi and lidl down here are very expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

It seems so wrong - when you pitch this against the guys who have NEVER worked, good times, bad times - I mean the long term professional work shy scroungers, all creaming inrent allowance, fuel allowance, food allowance, school uniform allowance, medical cards etc., it just proves what a dysfunctional society our nation is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Oh boo hoo. A lot of these loanee's got the biggest house they could possibly afford to show off to the Jones's down the road. I see no difference to this than that girl that had to sell the sports car she couldnt afford. Dont get a loan you can not guarantee to pay back. Simples.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

I shop in the North as even aldi and lidl down here are very expensive.

good lad, spending your money outside the country, thats really going to help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

irishbird wrote: »

less of the self righteousness. There's nothing wrong with it. Each man for himself now I say. Just as the shopkeeper's did when they were happy to take twice+ the markup on sales they rightfully should have been making!

Oh boo hoo. A lot of these loanee's got the biggest house they could possibly afford to show off to the Jones's down the road. I see no difference to this than that girl that had to sell the sports car she couldnt afford. Dont get a loan you can not guarantee to pay back. Simples.

Over flowing with the milk of human kindness there!

Glad that people suffering misfortune gives your gloating side a chance to shine!

Accidentally double posted

Oh boo hoo. A lot of these loanee's got the biggest house they could possibly afford to show off to the Jones's down the road

and a lot of them didn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Wolflikeme

Glad that people suffering misfortune gives your gloating side a chance to shine!

I wouldn't say he's gloating.

Why should we have to burden the gross incompetence of others?

I couldn't give a toss about people who bought houses they couldn't afford in the first place.

Before I'm accused of lacking a heart, I gladly give what I can to charity regularly. Any charity. People who wanted show off what they could buy (not afford), well I simply find it difficult have sympathy there.

Wolflikeme wrote: »

I couldn't give a toss about people who bought houses they couldn't afford in the first place.

And what should they have done instead? Commit to a lifetime of paying rent they couldn't afford either? Or perhaps raise their kids under a cabbage leaf?

I wouldn't say he's gloating.

Why should we have to burden the gross incompetence of others?

Before I'm accused of lacking a heart, I gladly give what I can to charity regularly. Any charity. People who wanted show off what they could buy (not afford), well I simply find it difficult have sympathy there.

Ah but he is gloating! It's just shy of the "I told you so" mentality!

And they're the only ones who are suffering? Jaysus wept, they probably have children, so their parents fcuked up so they should in turn live on bread and water? Yes I will admit that alot of people bought houses they could not afford, hind sight is a wonderful thing!

A huge amount of people bought houses before prices got out of control, and even they are in negative equity. But not everyone got rich during the boom, there was a lot in poverty during the boom, and they are totally fcuked now. I'm failing to see how any of this is morally justifiable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Im not gloating but i dont feel sorry for these people. They knew exactly what they were signing up to. Nobody put a gun to their heads to sign a massive loan. People seem to think a mortgage is different to other types of loans. It doesnt matter if they got a loan of 200k+ for a Ferrari or a house, its still a loan except a mortgage has a buzz word attached to it. If you dont repay your loan after your Ferrari purchase the bank will repossess it and the same should apply for houses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 luap2007

Something has to be done for them home owners!

Im not gloating but i dont feel sorry for these people. They knew exactly what they were signing up to. Nobody put a gun to their heads to sign a massive loan. People seem to think a mortgage is different to other types of loans. It doesnt matter if they got a loan of 200k+ for a Ferrari or a house, its still a loan except a mortgage has a buzz word attached to it. If you dont repay your loan after your Ferrari purchase the bank will repossess it and the same should apply for houses.

It is gloating! You may not think so, but it really is!

You don't feel sorry for people who can't afford to feed themselves? You don't think that the banks and the FF led governments have a huge part to play in all of the abject misery people are going through? Everyone was told the champagne was gonna keep flowing, and who wouldn't want to be caught up in that?

That aside, it's not only people who got huge mortgages, it's also people who were already p1ss poor to begin with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

Seen a thread wondering why a thread on a sindo article was closed (http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056302464)

Was it not a thread on an an Irish Times article that was closed?

I only seen the thead I posted. It could well have been the times one you posted alright. Having read that article, I can't see why it would have been deleted though. If you know better...

€23 billion or so spent on welfare and still people falling through the cracks?

Bit offtopic but there are estimates of over a billion of that is fraud, and maybe two billion.

Seemed so obvious to me to hire some hungry (as in motivated and keen) graduates or even redundant bank staff & accountants and let them work in investigations.

They'd pay for themselves, money saved and a few hundred jobs created :)

You don't think that the banks and the FF led governments have a huge part to play in all of the abject misery people are going through? Everyone was told the champagne was gonna keep flowing, and who wouldn't want to be caught up in that?

Alot of imbeciles took the bait and fell for mortgages bigger than their income,most people knew the good times wouldnt had last,unfortunately those who told us to pipe down on it not lasting have escaped the backlash,the warning signs where there-

I know! Sure Charlies McCreevey said it as far back as 2002! He knew it was coming, but got ignored!

It still doesn't stop the fact that people are going hungry, and unfortunately that's not over stating it!

I only seen the thead I posted. It could well have been the times one you posted alright. Having read that article, I can't see why it would have been deleted though. If you know better...

I can only assume it was locked because there was a lot of abuse being dished out in that thread. Also the article subject's doddy is a solicitor specialising in defamation. Probably threatened to make boards.ie's owners eat their own **** in open court

i do of course have sympathy for those who struggle to make ends meet,at the same time,there where many who took on more than they should,i remember getting mbna credit card application forms in the post every week!.

I can only assume it was locked because there was a lot of abuse being dished out in that thread. Also the article subject's doddy is a solicitor specialising in defamation. Probably threatened to make boards.ie's owners eat their own **** in open court

Could well be! I didn't see any of it though :(
    Kinda raging I didn't now!

Could well be! I didn't see any of it though :(
    Kinda raging I didn't now!

It was a good thread! Some of the finest D4-bashing I have seen in many's a blue moon. If only the D4 intelligentsia ever bothered looking at this forum I am sure they would have been choking on their mojitos

most people don't have economic degrees and didn't understand the effect a property crash would have on their incomes if they weren't actually employed in construction or by an auctioneer.

And most people certainly didn't know how much crap the banks were in. Even the minister for finance himself didn't know that a full year after the bank guarantee.

And there is NO such thing as a loan you can guarantee to be able to pay back. For ANYONE.

I was told about 4 months ago by a lady who works with St. Vincent de Paul. You wouldn't believe the number of families in my town who are living on a diet of dry pasta and literally nothing else. Now I've never missed a loan payment yet. But that frightens the life out of me. And for all the smug people looking down on them, it should frighten the life out of you too. Cos as I said, NOBODY can guarantee they'll always meet their obligations. And nobody can guarantee that if or when Ireland defaults or if or when the Euro collapses, that they too won't be enjoying a diet of dry pasta!

Laois_Man wrote: »
    most people don't have economic degrees and didn't understand the effect a property crash would have on their incomes if they weren't actually employed in construction or by an auctioneer.

And most people certainly didn't know how much crap the banks were in. Even the minister for finance himself didn't know that a full year after the bank guarantee.

And there is NO such thing as a loan you can guarantee to be able to pay back. For ANYONE.

I was told about 4 months ago by a lady who works with St. Vincent de Paul. You wouldn't believe the number of families in my town who are living on a diet of dry pasta and literally nothing else. Now I've never missed a loan payment yet. But that frightens the life out of me. And for all the smug people looking down on them, it should frighten the life out of you too. Cos as I said, NOBODY can guarantee they'll always meet their obligations. And nobody can guarantee that if or when Ireland defaults or if or when the Euro collapses, that they too won't be enjoying a diet of dry pasta!

A voice of reason and sanity! Well said!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Wolflikeme

And what should they have done instead? Commit to a lifetime of paying rent they couldn't afford either? Or perhaps raise their kids under a cabbage leaf?

How about buying a house that was feasible instead of the biggest house they could buy (again, not afford).

Buying something feasible doesn't mean settling for less as some of these people seem to think.

Surely they could had put a stop on the gravy train and even had a harsh or reverse budget at time instead of a free for all had back in 2005,surely any minister knew for a "booming" economy we couldnt had exported houses,look at the 05 budget,there was one for everyone in the audience!-

http://www.rte.ie/news/2005/1207/budget.html

How about buying a house that was feasible instead of the biggest house they could buy (again, not afford).

Buying something feasible doesn't mean settling for less as some of these people seem to think.

That's not an answer. You're right, but what's the point in saying I told ya so! That gives nobody a solution. Children being brought to soup kitchens, and their parents relying on food parcels is not good enough!

Surely they could had put a stop on the gravy train and even had a harsh or reverse budget at time instead of a free for all had back in 2005,surely any minister knew for a "booming" economy we couldnt had exported houses,look at the 05 budget,there was one for everyone in the audience!-

http://www.rte.ie/news/2005/1207/budget.html

Again, hindsight is the clearest vision, it's still not right that people are being driven to point of suicide because they can't feed their families and they don't see any way out!

Seems to be nothing said by those in office about reducing or doing something about the savage pensions and pay offs the last shower received.

the biggest house they could buy?
    What nonsense!
    I know hardly anybody who bought anything more spectacular than at most, a 3 bed semi detached!

These are the people in most trouble. Not people who bought austentatious country estates!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭crackcrack30

I dont think it was wrong for people to want to own their own house/home, infact quite the oppsite. I think the problem started when everyone wanted two houses (the mini-developer / landlord phenomenon)...........2p
    Also the price of homes was decided by how much the average joe industrial wage earner could borrow (in a 3 way conspiry ie banks, gov and auctioneers) rather than how much the frigging land blocks and labour cost to build it

irishbird wrote: »
    I could care less tbh. Vote yes for europe remember that one big open market or is that just when it suits the elite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

This article, as any article from that piece of shít newspaper, is a load of balls.

ENTIRE families are going to homeless centres for their dinner every evening.

Before the recession, the Capuchin Day Centre for the homeless in Dublin would rarely have seen children coming through its doors -- but now up to 10 families a day are coming coming in to get fed.

It doesn't state that these families are not your run of the mill hard working families. When I worked there during the recession, I didn't see any Irish families looking for grub. It was the Romas who came in after a hard day of begging on the streets looking for some free food.

Am I to have pity on these fools? Struggling to pay large mortgages... GTFO.
    They are worried about losing their homes and literally do not have enough money to put bread on the table, says Brother Kevin Crowley, who runs the shelter.

Downsize? But what a crazy idea, how could I even suggest this madness.
    He says that there are four times the amount of people arriving today compared with a few years ago.

Some of those now seeking help are professionals such as engineers and architects who would have been earning a very good wage during the boom years.

"It's not just homeless people who come to us, its anyone who is in need. We are getting lots of families with children coming in," he says. "Many of them have lost their jobs, and are on the verge of losing their homes. All that has increased in the past few years."

Brother Crowley points out that before the recession hit, the centre would usually have about 100 people for dinner, but now more than 450 come to eat there each day.

Despair

The number of people collecting food parcels every Wednesday has increased from 400 to more than 1,000 in the same period.

"There are professional people -- some architects and engineers -- coming in who can't pay their mortgages and are in despair.

"It's really frightening for people," Brother Crowley adds.

The Capuchin brother yesterday launched a charity cycle from Dublin to Mayo in aid of the well-known centre.

A group of 24 gardai and prison officers who completed the trip are due to arrive on their bikes in Belmullet, Co Mayo, this afternoon.

They broke the marathon 310km cycle with an overnight stop in Carrick-on-Shannon, Co Leitrim.

The Capuchin Day Centre's running costs are €1.3m, of which €450,000 comes from the Government, with the remainder coming from fundraising events such as the cycle and charitable donations from the public.

For more details on the cycle challenge and how to donate to the centre see www.homeless.ie.

- Fergal Gallagher

Great place, but it couldn't accomodate tossers who can't afford their mortgages, who actually have a roof over their heads. Many people who attend this shelter are really in need, then there are those halfwits who Fergal "the gob****e" Gallagher speaks of, the arseholes who are only in need of help to keep their social statuses... ****...