Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ryanair gangsters/Ryanair Haters. Thread Merge

• 18-06-2011 4:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭

Ive heard a lot of people complain about ryan air and did not think too much of it until I was ripped off myself, a few year back it stated on their website you require a passport or any garda issued id to travel, so to cut a long story short I booked 2 tickets for 300 euro and when we got there they would not let my girlfriend fly as she only had a garda age card. It ended up costing me another 300 to fly wit aerlingus and no refund from ryan air, today my dad went over to england with them and was stopped just before he got on the plane at knock airport and told he had to pay 10 euro towards the development of the airport otherwise he could not board his flight, he said why should he have to pay it and they replied because ryan air have refused to pay it themselfs, he replied well thats gangsterism and paid. I was wondering has anyone else had any similar problems with them ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭bandit197

Its an airport development fee. Nothing to do with Ryanair. This has been done to death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Its the bit where they rap the safety procedure before the flight that really pisses me off...Fecking gangstas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭highgiant1985

superfish wrote: »
    they would not let my girlfriend fly as she only had a garda age card.

they are ****ers for a lot of things but this is completely your fault for not reading their terms and conditions. Its well known that they don't accept age cards and rightly or wrongly its your fault for not knowing this not theirs as they do state whats acceptable in the terms and conditions on their webpage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Thats Ryanair for you. You usually pay little, and get treated like ****. They have done a lot worse things to people to be honest.
    Also, most of the small regional airports have a 5 or 10 euro fee towards the development of the airport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

It's amazing just how many complaints about Ryanair stem from not reading the Ts + Cs.
    It's also amazing to me that booking in advance with Ryanair had the same cost as paying at short notice with Aer Lingus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I know it's too late now but a quick search of boards would have clarified this before the flight
    http://www.google.ie/search?hl=en&q=ryanair+garda+card+site%3Aboards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭superfish

they are ****ers for a lot of things but this is completely your fault for not reading their terms and conditions. Its well known that they don't accept age cards and rightly or wrongly its your fault for not knowing this not theirs as they do state whats acceptable in the terms and conditions on their webpage.

I read the website before booking and at the time it stated any garda issue id was accepted I guess my fault was thinking a garda age card was a form of id issued by the garda

anyway they are still bast@rds for not giving a refund

amacachi wrote: »
    It's amazing just how many complaints about Ryanair stem from not reading the Ts + Cs.
    It's also amazing to me that booking in advance with Ryanair had the same cost as paying at short notice with Aer Lingus.

that was because the lovely lady with aerlingus took pitty on my at the time balling crying girlfriend and gave us a seat that some one had not turned up for :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Got caught once, never again. Now i read the terms and conditions, i know what to expect. Managed to fly Dublin to Manchester for 16 euro a few weeks back, can't complain at those prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

I'm pretty much in agreement with everyone else, it's pretty much your own mistake. I know ryanair can be a bunch of sh1tes when it comes to some things but it's pretty clear in their T&Cs

WHAT TRAVEL DOCUMENTATION DO I NEED TO TRAVEL ON RYANAIR FLIGHTS?

It is each passenger's personal responsibility to ensure that he or she has valid travel documentation which meets the requirements of Ryanair, immigration and other authorities at every destination. In order to be compliant please note the following:

A valid travel document is required by all passengers travelling on Ryanair flights (including infants)
    A passport for travel outside the EEA must be valid for period of intended stay
    If a visa is applicable any children/infants must be travelling with the adult named on a visa vignette
    In order to ensure compliance, passengers should carry a valid passport (and visa if applicable) or government issued national identification card on all journeys. Any fines, penalties, payments or expenditures incurred as a result of breach of these requirements shall be paid by or charged to you.

Ryanair does NOT accept driver licences, electoral/residence cards, family books, seaman books, a police report (issued in the event of travel document loss/theft), military ID cards etc. Expired or damaged forms of photo-id will not be accepted on any flight.

Details of all passengers' travel documents (including those of children and infants) must be entered during the online check-in process. All passengers must present their valid travel document along with their online boarding pass at airport security and at the boarding gate for all flights.

Please Note: Irrespective of a passenger's visa requirements, all non EU/EEA citizens must have their travel documents checked and online boarding pass stamped at the Ryanair Visa/Document Check Desk before going through airport security. In addition, all passengers departing from Moroccan airports must present their Boarding Pass at the local airport check-in facility

THE ONLY FORMS OF TRAVEL DOCUMENTS ACCEPTED ON RYANAIR FLIGHTS ARE:

A valid passport - ( see below - */and ** below)
    A valid National Identity Card issued by the government of a European Economic Area (EEA) country. (Only the following EEA countries issue National Identity Cards acceptable for carriage on Ryanair flights: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Italy, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland)
    A valid German Government issued Kinderausweis travel document
    A valid Italian Certificato Di Nascita which has been endorsed as "VALIDO PER L'ESPATRIO" valid for travel. It is the passenger's personal responsibility to ensure that this document meets the requirements of immigration and other governmental authorities at the destination airport - see ** below.
    A valid Italian AT/BT card (Italian domestic flights only)
    A valid UN Refugee Convention Travel Document - (issued in accordance with Article 28(1) of the 1951 UN Convention, by a Government in place of a valid passport.)
    A valid Convention Travel Document - (issued in accordance with Article 27 of the 1954 UN Convention for Stateless Persons, by a contracting state in place of a valid passport)
    A valid EU Collective Passport (issued to approved EU school groups who are under 18)
    A valid Collective Passport issued by an EU/EEA country
    * It is acceptable for children under 16 to travel on the valid passport of the parent with whom they are travelling, if they are included on that passport.

** When a child is listed on the valid passport of the parent with whom they are travelling the accompanying adult's travel document details must be duplicated in the child's document details section during the online check-in process.

RYANAIR RESERVES THE RIGHT TO CANCEL YOUR RESERVATION WITHOUT REFUND AND TO DENY YOU BOARDING IF YOU DO NOT COMPLY WITH THE ABOVE TRAVEL REQUIREMENTS AND ADVANCE PASSENGER INFORMATION

RachaelVO wrote: »
    I'm pretty much in agreement with everyone else, it's pretty much your own mistake. I know ryanair can be a bunch of sh1tes when it comes to some things but it's pretty clear in their T&Cs

thats changed since 4 years back I clearly remember on the printout I had it stated that they will accept any garda issue id I only remember because I showed that page to the manager at the time. il know to double and triple check next time :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

No matter what ID an airline claims is ok I would only ever use my passport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

I read the website before booking and at the time it stated any garda issue id was accepted I guess my fault was thinking a garda age card was a form of id issued by the garda

anyway they are still bast@rds for not giving a refund

What type of ID can the gardaí issue besides the garda age card?

Finnbar01 wrote: »
    What type of ID can the gardaí issue, besides the garda age card?

Thats exactly what I thought and beleave me I read over the t&c meticulously at the time as we had a week prior to sort out a passport for her but I just assumed what she had would be fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

You should have printed off and brought the t and c with you.
    Its passport only on all flights now isnt it?

thats changed since 4 years back I clearly remember on the printout I had it stated that they will accept any garda issue id I only remember because I showed that page to the manager at the time. il know to double and triple check next time :)

I would be checking it after two weeks, never mind 4 years. The truth is, is that they give ya absolutely NOTHING, and rarely do they use a common sense approach. Their T&Cs chop and change continually.

They can be absolute swines, I'd never deny that. The biggest problem (as I see it), is that they pay bonus's to their ground staff for squeezing more money out of passengers. I seen it last week, they harrassed an elderly couple in Dublin airport, and the poor aul dears were moving things all over their hand luggage to make their bags fit, they were very worried they wouldn't get on their flight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

What's with all the Ryanair hate around the place? Ryanair is the best thing to happen to Ireland ever as regards civil aviation. Not so long ago it cost a 2/3 weeks wages to fly to England out of this country on Aer Lingus.

If you're too stupid to read the terms and conditions on the Ryanair website then good - you're stupidity is subsidizing my flight.

If you want to bring 200 kilos of shopping home on a plane and slow the entire operation down then pay up - I'm very comfortable with your discomfort.

Ryanair has transformed flying from a ****s-in-the-air tax-payer subsidized money wasting monopoly to a sleek, efficient, cost effective business. We should be proud of Ryanair.

What say y'all?

You should have printed off and brought the t and c with you.
    Its passport only on all flights now isnt it?

at the time I had the t&c wit me was 4 years back, I remember the staff being rude ignorant pricks when I pointed out the line in their t&c that said any garda issued id and I asked them so what do you think this is a card with a big garda badge on it with id in big letters lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭m.j.w

at the time I had the t&c wit me was 4 years back, I remember the staff being rude ignorant pricks when I pointed out the line in their t&c that said any garda issued id and I asked them so what do you think this is a card with a big garda badge on it with id in big letters lol.

now that didnt really happen did it

I would be checking it after two weeks, never mind 4 years. The truth is, is that they give ya absolutely NOTHING, and rarely do they use a common sense approach. Their T&Cs chop and change continually.

They can be absolute swines, I'd never deny that. The biggest problem (as I see it), is that they pay bonus's to their ground staff for squeezing more money out of passengers. I seen it last week, they harrassed an elderly couple in Dublin airport, and the poor aul dears were moving things all over their hand luggage to make their bags fit, they were very worried they wouldn't get on their flight!

two passengers with oversized bags were told to sort them out. the rules apply to everyone no matter what age they are

I agree. The can be mean spirited fcukers, but it's a bus service, and they will squeeze you for every penny, that's why they make so much money.

I mostly love em meself. I'd never be able to travel anywhere for the prices that I do without em!

More to the point, whats with all the Ryanair threads?

m.j.w wrote: »
    two passengers with oversized bags were told to sort them out. the rules apply to everyone no matter what age they are

They weren't really oversized. The bags were tiny, half the size of mine in height. They were a tiny little bit to wide, and that's what the zoned in on!

im happy enough that they squeeze people that make stupid mistakes if it keeps my flights cheap. if i made the mistake id be pissed of but its my fault

now that didnt really happen did it

yes it did ? did you expect me not to be a smart ass about losing 300 euro ?

you had terms with you clearly stating a gaurdi issued id would do and they didnt let her on and you got no refund. i doubt that

They weren't really oversized. The bags were tiny, half the size of mine in height. They were a tiny little bit to wide, and that's what the zoned in on!

Oversized

you had terms with you clearly stating a gaurdi issued id would do and they didnt let her on and you got no refund. i doubt that

doubt all you want I know what I had with me and what it said, you must work for ryan air ;)

What's with all the Ryanair hate around the place? Ryanair is the best thing to happen to Ireland ever as regards civil aviation. Not so long ago it cost a 2/3 weeks wages to fly to England out of this country on Aer Lingus.

If you're too stupid to read the terms and conditions on the Ryanair website then good - you're stupidity is subsidizing my flight.

If you want to bring 200 kilos of shopping home on a plane and slow the entire operation down then pay up - I'm very comfortable with your discomfort.

Ryanair has transformed flying from a ****s-in-the-air tax-payer subsidized money wasting monopoly to a sleek, efficient, cost effective business. We should be proud of Ryanair.

What say y'all?

Comfortable, sleek, cost efficient & proud in a thread about Ryanair.
    Well I never!!!

I agree though, people surely know what to expect at this stage.
    You hear ones giving out bout having to pay €30 for an overweight bag when they only paid €39 return for their flight to London.

If it wasnt for Ryanair we'd all be stuck on this fcuking island.

Anyone checked Aer Lingus prices lately. Fcukin joke.
    Bit more comfort and class, yes, but you know what youre getting with Ryanair too.

doubt all you want I know what I had with me and what it said, you must work for ryan air ;)

nope just hate when people give out about them when they were the one that made the mistake, did you follow up on trying to get a refund off them? you clearly had grounds for one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

today my dad went over to england with them and was stopped just before he got on the plane at knock airport and told he had to pay 10 euro towards the development of the airport otherwise he could not board his flight, he said why should he have to pay it and they replied because ryan air have refused to pay it themselfs, he replied well thats gangsterism and paid. I was wondering has anyone else had any similar problems with them ?

lol rubbish, i live only a few miles from knock airport and its pretty much common knowledge they brought that "development fee" in as soon as dutyfree ended to make up for lost revenue in that sector

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I'm missing something here. Did you fly recently or 4 years ago? You keep mentioning that you printed out their T&Cs 4 years ago, and had trouble flying, but never once mentioned looking at recent Ryanair T&Cs.

My bag was a little too big last week for Ryanair. They hit my for €40 as it wasn't the correct size, I couldn't fit it in the jig. The worst part was that I'd bought the bag for Ryanair travel but it somehow grew since I got it, but that's my fault not theirs.

As soon as I landed I got the biggest bag that fits their limits and will continue to play their game once the flight is cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

More to the point, whats with all the Ryanair threads?

Could not have said it better my self. One Ryanair thread is more than enough for now.

Threads Merged

nope just hate when people give out about them when they were the one that made the mistake, did you follow up on trying to get a refund off them? you clearly had grounds for one

yup and it was refused I had printed off the flight details and the t&C because I was aware that they might have a problem with my girlfriend not having a passport and it was vital I got to england hence having to go with aerlingus who acceped the garda age card as it is on their t&c any government issued id accepted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭unit 1

bandit197 wrote: »
    Its an airport development fee. Nothing to do with Ryanair. This has been done to death.

But did they close down duty free shop because it "would'nt last because of the changes to duty free, without the developement charge", no they did not. This is a typical cynical and dishonest irish type of charge that infuriates me, and many others who only come across it at the last minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

Flying from London recently, I saw them refuse to allow a diabetic woman bring food onto the plane. The poor woman burst into tears in the departure lounge.

Don't know if they allowed her to bring it in the end or not.

rossie1977 wrote: »
    lol rubbish, i live only a few miles from knock airport and its pretty much common knowledge they brought that "development fee" in as soon as dutyfree ended to make up for lost revenue in that sector

thats what they said to my farther, common knowledge im in charlstown 10 years I never knew nor do any of my friends maybe it common knowledge in your circle of friends

yup and it was refused I had printed off the flight details and the t&C because I was aware that they might have a problem with my girlfriend not having a passport and it was vital I got to england hence having to go with aerlingus who acceped the garda age card as it is on their t&c any government issued id accepted

no way that this happened, you had a legal document proving you were right and you didnt get a refund. sorry but your a liar

Del2005 wrote: »
    I'm missing something here. Did you fly recently or 4 years ago? You keep mentioning that you printed out their T&Cs 4 years ago, and had trouble flying, but never once mentioned looking at recent Ryanair T&Cs.

My bag was a little too big last week for Ryanair. They hit my for €40 as it wasn't the correct size, I couldn't fit it in the jig. The worst part was that I'd bought the bag for Ryanair travel but it somehow grew since I got it, but that's my fault not theirs.

As soon as I landed I got the biggest bag that fits their limits and will continue to play their game once the flight is cheaper.

it was 4 years ago when I flew, my dad flew today

Oversized

You working for ryanair? It wasn't oversized. That's the point. It was technically no bigger than a handbag. So it wasn't over sized their bag size is 55 X 40 X 20 CM, their bag was approximately 40x30x21, that's hardly oversized!

no way that this happened, you had a legal document proving you were right and you didnt get a refund. sorry but your a liar

why the feck would I bother making it up some people on boards can be so anoying have you nothing better to do than intentionally wind people up ?

You working for ryanair? It wasn't oversized. That's the point. It was technically no bigger than a handbag. So it wasn't over sized their bag size is 55 X 40 X 20 CM, their bag was approximately 40x30x21, that's hardly oversized!

you said in your post "They were a tiny little bit to wide". That means its oversized.

why the feck would I bother making it up some people on boards can be so anoying have you nothing better to do than intentionally wind people up ?

lol im not winding you up im just stating that your very silly if you had a legal document stating you were correct and you didnt get a refund.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

thats what they said to my farther, common knowledge im in charlstown 10 years I never knew nor do any of my friends maybe it common knowledge in your circle of friends

well you obviously are not in knock airport much if you only realised they are charging a fee now.........

5 years ago http://www.guardian.co.uk/travel/2006/aug/30/watersportsholidays.restandrelaxation.ireland

mention of a £6 development fee at knock in this piece from 10 years ago http://www.aerarann.com/about_us/news2001.htm

the development fee at knock came in as soon as duty free ended in june 2000

you said in your post "They were a tiny little bit to wide". That means its oversized.

Not oversized. END OF!

Ya never answered you working for ryanair?

lol im not winding you up im just stating that your very silly if you had a legal document stating you were correct and you didnt get a refund.

I dont lie and dont like being accused of it I know what I had and I never got my money back because I was too busy as a death had occurred in the family why would I bother myself making it up ?

Fremen wrote: »
    Flying from London recently, I saw them refuse to allow a diabetic woman bring food onto the plane. The poor woman burst into tears in the departure lounge.

Don't know if they allowed her to bring it in the end or not.

That's weird. It's on their site that you can take on your own food
    CAN I BRING MY OWN FOOD ONBOARD?

Passengers are welcome to bring their own food onboard, however, in the interest of safety passengers must not carry hot drinks onboard.

http://www.ryanair.com/en/questions/can-i-bring-my-own-food-onboard

Not oversized. END OF!

Ya never answered you working for ryanair?

ive already said on this thread i dont work for ryanair, and considering the terms are it can be 20cm wide and thiers was 21cm wide i think that clearly shows that it was oversized