Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ah fiddeley dee Dee, tis grand to be oirish ta be shure

• 18-06-2011 3:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭

The Flight of The Doves (1971) is on RTE now.

By jaysis its bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Apparently you don't have to be Irish to be Irish.

Just live a little more, just love a little more, just smile and sing a bit more. That's what it takes to be oirish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

just saw the about 20 seconds at the start. a couple of lads trot into town on their horses and tie them up outside the shop, beside a few of those new fangled motorcars. that was enough. now it's on to skangers fighting on sky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

You need Into The Wesht to show you how to be Oirish...."don' leave me Tayto!"

It's kind of like a 1970's Into The West.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,649 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Top of the mornin' to ya.
    You think it's bad now- when I was a kid,it scared the bejaysus out of me- and still scares me....yer man with the tattoo,nightmare moment.
    Turn off the telly and read a nice story.....there's a good romance one here somewhere, about a girl and a boy and a lightbulb or something like that..........

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

amdublin wrote: »
    It's kind of like a 1970's Into The West.
    "Far And Away" with that nutter Tom Cruise is widely recognised as the worst Irish accents EVER!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

The laugh is that the bulk of the actors in it are English ! Ron Moody and Jack Wild were both in Oliver! the musical. Ah be jaysus, there's Benji Riordan !

msthe80s wrote: »
    Top of the mornin' to ya.
    You think it's bad now- when I was a kid,it scared the bejaysus out of me- and still scares me....yer man with the tattoo,nightmare moment.
    Turn off the telly and read a nice story.....there's a good romance one here somewhere, about a girl and a boy and a lightbulb or something like that..........

Mornin' ah tis a soft day thank god.

Well I'll watch this film now so I will and then oim going to take myself and my shillelagh stick out for a little walk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Mornin' ah tis a soft day thank god.

Well I'll watch this film now so I will and then oim going to take myself and my shillelagh stick out for a little walk.

A walk is it? And well for them that has them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭superfish

Mickey Rourke takes some beating for a Northern Irish accent. He can't say "Father". He pronouces it "Faaar"

Nodin wrote: »
    A walk is it? And well for them that has them.

Ah shur amn't I only going out to try ease me aching bones.

Might step in to O'Flahertys for a drop of porter on the way. Again purely medicinal you understand.

superfish wrote: »

O theres worse than that, if you remember the top of the pops appearance....

Ah shur amn't I only going out to try ease me aching bones.

Might step in to O'Flahertys for a drop of porter on the way. Again purely medicinal you understand.

O'Flaherty? They say his wife digs with the other foot...ye can tell by the way she counts the change......telling ye now....

O theres worse than that, if you remember the top of the pops appearance....

There was worse than this vijeo :confused:

The dancing! The bloody dancing :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Some good shots of Henry and More street in flight of the doves ,they way it wus back then and I knew a guy who was an extra in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Ah Flight of the Doves!!

Dana is in this. :pac:

"Derviiilll".

O'Flaherty? They say his wife digs with the other foot...ye can tell by the way she counts the change......telling ye now....

Well now I wouldn't be one for gossip but I believe the third daughter is causing them no end of trouble....I wouldn't be surprised if she goes off and visits with a relative in Dublin for a couple of months if you catch my drift now Nodin.

Just live a little more, just love a little more, just smile and sing a bit more. That's what it takes to be oirish.

A young Bella from Fair City is in that scene.

Ay up here's Dana!

A very upper class accented traveller is Dana's da I must say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Its Dana! And she's singing as gaeliage!

Its probably an anti abortion song!

I thought Dana was going to save the world in this film .:(

some fella called cromwell from england looking for kids. i wonder how this will go down?!

There was worse than this vijeo :confused:

The dancing! The bloody dancing :eek:

They appeared on Top of the pops performing "A bunch of thyme" or something, dressed in gear that words don't do justice to. It caused national uproar at the time. And rightly so, I might add. I can't find pics at the mo.

Latchy wrote: »
    Some good shots of Henry and More street in flight of the doves ,they way it wus back then and I knew a guy who was an extra in it

Yes and funny seeing Temple Bar (over the ha'penny bridge and through the alley) or what was Temple Bar back then!

Well now I wouldn't be one for gossip but I believe the third daughter is causing them no end of trouble....I wouldn't be surprised if she goes off and visits with a relative in Dublin for a couple of months if you catch my drift now Nodin.

Isn't an offence to God theres not some local laundry they could put her into....sure jesus knows what she'd be up to, up there.

Yes and funny seeing Temple Bar (over the ha'penny bridge and through the alley) or what was Temple Bar back then!
    Indeed ,it was a different Dublin back then ,no mass of tourists in temple bar and you could still get a bar stool in the Aul Dubliner pub

Isn't an offence to God theres not some local laundry they could put her into....sure jesus knows what she'd be up to, up there.

And them after giving her the best of everything and this is she how repays them. Spoiled she was. Ah sure all eight of them were spoiled if truth be told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭baalthor

Indeed... I remember 'Old Mother Reilly' who was played by an English ... man

I had to turn off that Flight Of The Doves sh!te. Bring back Ossie and Tayto and "Into The West". That was a masterpiece by comparision

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I once saw a blog post about the greatest Irish films ever. One of the films listed was Leprechaun. This was a film about an evil leprechaun that went around killing everyone and it starred Jennifer Aniston.

It doesn't get any more Irish than Rachel from Friends being hunted by a psychotic leprechaun. It makes me feel all patriotic just thinking about it.

Anyone know where that ruined castle is?

Dunno but it is looking a bit fake now...

so that guy dressed as a laydee fell off a cliff to his death, and what do they have playing?? a slidewhistle. yes kids, sideshow mel is doing the sound effects.

Ah poor old Dervil crying and apologizing that "she is only a girl"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭baalthor

I once saw a blog post about the greatest Irish films ever. One of the films listed was Leprechaun. This was a film about an evil leprechaun that went around killing everyone and it starred Jennifer Aniston.

It doesn't get any more Irish than Rachel from Friends being hunted by a psychotic leprechaun. It makes me feel all patriotic just thinking about it.

Is that the one where leprechaun was pronounced 'le-preesh-awn' ?

Ha hahahahahahahahahahahahabahahahahahahahahah!

Uncle Paddy and Uncle Sheamus to the rescue - on their hawses, in their BAININ jumpers with their Irish wolfhound in tow!!

Brilliant! :D

Granny O'Flaherty in her lovely bainin waistcoat :)

Meee.......think I'll get my 'Darby O Gill and the lil people ' dvd out :(

Hee hee "Mrs O'Flirty I want my children back"

class. the judge is the pilot from fr ted. all we need now is harry molloy to turn up and break some windows.

Ah here's Worzel Gummidge to kidnap the kids

the credits thanked the central remedial clinic in dublin?? did i see that right??

Dunno but it is looking a bit fake now...

Pretty sure the castle itself is for real, but google is givin' me no help, except to tell me that uncle Paddy on the horse was Emmet Bergin, bejaysis.

Great series of films. Featuring the English actor Warwick Davis. Ran to several sequels. My favourite is Lep In Da Hood (Leprechaun 5). Check out his rapping.
    The WORST Irish accent of them all, and the worst rapper of all time

the credits thanked the central remedial clinic in dublin?? did i see that right??

It's where the actors had to go for treatment to restore their dignity and accents.

Ballinasloe or Athenry I guess.. http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0067104/locations

Pretty sure the castle itself is for real, but google is givin' me no help, except to tell me that uncle Paddy on the horse was Emmet Bergin, bejaysis.

Wow I was thinking uncle Paddy was a bit of a hottie alright!