Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

THAT Club Orange ad

• 17-06-2011 7:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Teddy_Picker

I saw Club Orange trending on Twitter, and like the sheep that I am :p I dutifully followed it up and it led me to this:

Ladies of the Lounge, what say ye?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

A bit crass but otherwise I don't see a problem...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

It's so over the top & ridiculous I feel pretty sure that Club Orange were going expressly for the shock-shock-horror-trending-online reaction. It really made me laugh to be honest, such a nuts ad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Were there boobs in that ad? I can't be sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭gargleblaster

if they are only interested in marketing to 'boys' then i say let them at it. as a woman i would pick other brands, from companies who are interested in marketing to me.

once they show a commercial with men's bulges being presented in such a manner i'll consider buying from them again.

on a more serious note, the fact that they would think it was ok to do such a one-sided commercial makes the undercurrent of sexism in society very obvious. however we're now seeing such ads featuring men in this manner, so maybe we will eventually see a more equitable use of sex as an advertising prop. whether that would be a good thing or not is up to the individual to decide for themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Teddy_Picker

It's so over the top & ridiculous I feel pretty sure that Club Orange were going expressly for the shock-shock-horror-trending-online reaction. It really made me laugh to be honest, such a nuts ad

Yeah, you're probably correct Miss F, I mean it's now in the top trends for Ireland right now, I suppose that's Joe Duffy's work for Monday's show done for him.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

What was the ad for again? I forget.

To be fair it was extremely sexist, not one male employee in the workplace?

Yeah, I think this ad was totally for the shock value and let's get this trending on twitter type thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭lesserspottedchloe

don't see the problem? They are all healthy looking women with clothes on! They're stunningly beautiful so I can see a touch of green eyed monster creeping in here masking itself as feminisim:rolleyes:...

If they want to market to lads let them off-anyone remember 'diet coke break' ads with hot sweaty guys????;)

Silverfish wrote: »
    To be fair it was extremely sexist, not one male employee in the workplace?

Totally. And all the big knockers must seriously get in the way of operating the squeezing equipment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

laylah wrote: »
    don't see the problem? They are all healthy looking women with clothes on! They're stunningly beautiful so I can see a touch of green eyed monster creeping in here masking itself as feminisim:rolleyes:

I agree that they're good looking women. It doesn't mean I have to like the ad or that if I have a problem with it that I'm jealous. That's just silly tbh.

meh
    bit lame

Totally. And all the big knockers must seriously get in the way of operating the squeezing equipment.

In fact, I saw several health and safety violations.

don't see the problem? They are all healthy looking women with clothes on! They're stunningly beautiful so I can see a touch of green eyed monster creeping in here masking itself as feminisim:rolleyes:...

Where are you getting that from? Don't really see it in this thread tbh.

Don't you know unless we're drooling over them and declaring it the best ad in existence ever, we must all be jealous

Loose hair in a food prep zone, yer wan dipping her hand in the juice trough thingy, risk of repetitive stress/wrist damage from operating a domestic juicer in order to produce industrial quantities of orange juice. HACCP people should be all over them really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

That's ****ing disgusting. Embarrasingly cringey and pathetic.

I don't even understand why those girls would want to appear in that ad. Have some self respect like.

Has actually really pissed me off, especially after seeing that thread about women being objectified in ads.

Not looking for my post to be picked apart or whatever, not debating just venting.

/rant :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Loose hair in a food prep zone, yer wan dipping her hand in the juice trough thingy, risk of repetitive stress/wrist damage from operating a domestic juicer in order to produce industrial quantities of orange juice. HACCP people should be all over them really

Also, they should be wearing steel toe capped safety shoes.

Never put a price on safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

if they are only interested in marketing to 'boys' then i say let them at it. as a woman i would pick other brands, from companies who are interested in marketing to me.

once they show a commercial with men's bulges being presented in such a manner i'll consider buying from them again.

on a more serious note, the fact that they would think it was ok to do such a one-sided commercial makes the undercurrent of sexism in society very obvious. however we're now seeing such ads featuring men in this manner, so maybe we will eventually see a more equitable use of sex as an advertising prop. whether that would be a good thing or not is up to the individual to decide for themselves.

Its been around for years tbf

Its a purposefully OTT ad, its got people talking, mission accomplished.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭gargleblaster

Yes but there aren't very many aimed at women, are there? What I meant to say is it's becoming more common. Mea culpa if I gave the impression that I thought it had never happened before.

Also shouldn't the point be to generate sales? Advertising is idiotic really. I always liked Bill Hicks' take on it.

Yes but there aren't very many aimed at women, are there? What I meant to say is it's becoming more common. Mea culpa if I gave the impression that I thought it had never happened before.

Also shouldn't the point be to generate sales? Advertising is idiotic really. I always liked Bill Hicks' take on it.

Course it is, its the same industry that tied to tell us smoking is good for you, if you drink brand A of beer hot women will for you, women are the only people who do housework or mind kids, that Lynx smells nice and that all men attempting housework should be either in drag or useless at it. take it all with a giant pinch of salt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭SheRa

Well Im a straight woman and I thought that that club orange ad was a turn on. Id imagine that video will go viral pretty quickly.

However, yes it is tacky and sexist. The women in the ad are portrayed as complete bimbos. Absolutely they look well, but to suggest that anyone who finds this ad objectionable is jealous is quite silly. Absolutely, the women on it are gorgeous, but that doesn't take away from the fact that they come across as complete eijitts and reinforces the false notion that an attractive woman= a stupid woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Teddy_Picker

SheRa wrote: »
    Well Im a straight woman and I thought that that club orange ad was a turn on. Id imagine that video will go viral pretty quickly.

However, yes it is tacky and sexist. The women in the ad are portrayed as complete bimbos. Absolutely they look well, but to suggest that anyone who finds this ad objectionable is jealous is quite silly. Absolutely, the women on it are gorgeous, but that doesn't take away from the fact that they come across as complete eijitts and reinforces the false notion that an attractive woman= a stupid woman.

This would be more or less my take on the whole thing. I don't have a huge problem, to be honest, with the skimpy clothes or the fact that the women featured are beautiful and curvy, of course not, it's the fact that the dialogue is fvcking painful and so nudge-nudge wink-wink it's cringeworthy.

I guess they were going for the whole Carry On Juicing vibe, but it's just sad more than anything. Anyway, as said before, it has certainly got us and the populace in general chattering, so victory goes to the good people at Club Orange. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

It's just an ad. Club Orange probably have more female than male drinkers, so this way they get the male audience. See Pepsi Max (as opposed to the word "diet'), and, as mentioned above, the Diet Coke ad. That ad is made for men as much as it is for women.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

Everyone uses the diet coke example because.....it's practically the only one. And how old is that ad?

Seriously, there's no point even debating how skewed the stats are.

Macha wrote: »
    Everyone uses the diet coke example because.....it's practically the only one. And how old is that ad?

Seriously, there's no point even debating how skewed the stats are.

what about the ads like the below one?

Is that meant to be aimed at men? hell no it isnt, do I find it offensive? not a bit, same as the dozens and dozens of ads for stuff like Calvin Klein underwear showing buff guys with bulging underwear, is that for a mans benefit? Men get protrayed as sex objects just as much as women do if you look hard enough, although we also get to enjoy being portrayed as socially inept rapists who cant do housework or look after kids and will no doubt kill someone as soon as we get behind the wheel of a car as well.

I can't take advertising seriously, its specific purpose is to convince us to buy sh1t we dont need (thanks Tyler Durden!) and it caters to ridiculous stereotypes and cliches in order to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭liliq

And the Aero ad ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

It's times like this being a lesbian is really annoying. Half of me is going "God, why WHY must us women be objectified and used to sell stuff via sex?" and my other (frankly more active at the moment) half is just thinking "OH. MY. GOD. This is the best add EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

Seriosuly confusing. ;);););););););)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Both men and women are used to sell stuff via sex. It is nothing new and whilst this isn't the greatest advert ever, I don't see anything especially wrong with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

I'd murder a diet coke

Everyone uses the diet coke example because.....it's practically the only one.

Not by a long shot, just off the top of my head http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wd_KQXdGKcA

Maybe it's not quite as much as with women but men get objectified plenty in ads. If they're lucky they're hot nekkid chaps as above but for the most part they're cast as 'stupid, will mess up shopping and come home with 3 different types of cake if not supervised'

liliq wrote: »
    And the Aero ad ;)

this one? should be banned for being so sexist, there isnt even a woman in it!

There was a la Lacoste add that showed a blatant bare arse of some Chad Buffington lad kicking a pillow around his room in black and White.

krudler wrote: »
    this one? should be banned for being so sexist, there isnt even a woman in it!

Watching that actually made me insecure about my body. No one cares though.

I understand you're trying to get the digs in people, but this is the Ladies Lounge, nobody is denying men get objectified in ads too, just not to the same extent. And not in the ad we're discussing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

It's reminicent of the Hunky Dorys ad that it was so completely OTT that it had to be withdrawn and the amount of publicity received through the complaints far outweighed the actual advert.

Club Orange know exactly what they're doing, and probably are looking for a similar outcome.

The ad doesn't bother me too much, advertising tends to have a negative effect on me for some reason, I like to go for the little guy who can't afford the big PR - so if I'm sticking my hand into a fridge for a drink anytime soon it'll probably be for something that isnt a recognisable brand name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

im pretty sure the ladies is the ad, got paid. and paid well.
    I really dont understand how this is offensive.

Women dress alot worse on a night out and men are caught drooling.
    The world is becoming pc crazy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭sambuka41

Both men and women are used to sell stuff via sex. It is nothing new and whilst this isn't the greatest advert ever, I don't see anything especially wrong with it.

Thats the main problem with it, every one and everything is using sex to sell, that sends out a bigger message, it has knock on effects.

Ads are on all the time, so its not just adult men and women who are being exposed to them, kids and adolescents are being exposed to constant images of what it is to be a man and what it is to be a woman in this society, and that is to be sexualised and objectified. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

sambuka41 wrote: »
    Thats the main problem with it, every one and everything is using sex to sell, that sends out a bigger message, it has knock on effects.

Ads are on all the time, so its not just adult men and women who are being exposed to them, kids and adolescents are being exposed to constant images of what it is to be a man and what it is to be a woman in this society, and that is to be sexualised and objectified. :mad:

And I think that this is exactly the type of reaction they're looking for, to garner even more publicity.

I'm not saying they're right to do it, but the ad execs know exactly how to get people talking about a product.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I didn't feel offended watching that but it's corny as hell. Awful ad.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Just seems like a really pointless ad. Don't care though, doesn't make a difference to my life, I'll still only buy club orange once a year or something...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭BengaLover

Once again proving, sex sells!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

Food Safety too, were are the hairnets and protective clothing. Really lame ad, looks like a rip off of the far funnier TUI beer add from NZ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

I don't even understand why those girls would want to appear in that ad. Have some self respect like.

It's a pay day in fairness, i won't begrudge them that!

I imagine they are also very worried to present the human mechanism behind the production of juice from an orange as i imagine their is a big movement in the industry to replace people with machines.

I wonder if the machines have boobs?

I certainly hope so.

SheRa wrote: »

actually I have to agree here-think I jumped the gun a bit with the green eyed monster thing just because its the usual response to stuff like this sorry!

The idea came from a group of women at the company and not a group of lads so there ya go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

actually I have to agree here-think I jumped the gun a bit with the green eyed monster thing just because its the usual response to stuff like this sorry!

The idea came from a group of women at the company and not a group of lads so there ya go

The idea for the ad? No, it was a guy who thought up the idea...I know who it is. Male friend of a close friend. I have the inside info ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

I imagine they are also very worried to present the human mechanism behind the production of juice from an orange as i imagine their is a big movement in the industry to replace people with machines.I wonder if the machines have boobs?

I certainly hope so.

Happened years ago, most of the soft drinks plants are just a warehouse of pipes pumping and mixing liquids with very little floor staff. So no boobs insight!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

There's an interesting theory called the "patriarchal bargain". Fancy phrase that basically refers to women who play by the rules of the society they're in to their maximum personal gain, without ever challenging the rules of that society.

I'd see the women in these types of ads as an example of that. In our society, pretty women are rewarded by being paid to be in ads, TV and the print media. And that's these women are taking full advantage of that for their own benefit.

Some might say "fair play" but I ask what are the consequences of not challenging these rules? I know it's happening more to men now, but, again, what are the consequences?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

There's an interesting theory called the "patriarchal bargain". Fancy phrase that basically refers to women who play by the rules of the society they're in to their maximum personal gain, without ever challenging the rules of that society.

I'd see the women in these types of ads as an example of that. In our society, pretty women are rewarded by being paid to be in ads, TV and the print media. And that's these women are taking full advantage of that for their own benefit.

Some might say "fair play" but I ask what are the consequences of not challenging these rules? I know it's happening more to men now, but, again, what are the consequences?

What do you think the consequences are?
    And, from what I can see, society is ever changing and there is no set formula that you can adhere to to get ahead, regardless of your appearance

I think Trucks explained it best in their song, "It's Just Porn, Mom"
    Billboards on the way to school
    use porn to make their **** look really cool (so cool)