Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mazda 6 or Renault megane

• 17-06-2011 1:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭

Hi lads , I'm stuck between 2 cars .
    06 mazda 6 sports edition 1.8 100k (miles)

or

07 Renault megane (monaco) 1.4 38k (kilo)

They are pretty much the same price , my heart says the mazda my head says the megane.
    A few people have said that the megane can be troublesome (windows a known problem)

Any advice would be welcome .
    Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Not really a like for like comparison. Megane is a smaller car. The Laguna would be the equivelant car to the Mazda 6 .

Other than that, have a drive of both a see which you prefer.

Window regulators dont need to cost anywhere near the main dealer costs quoted in the consumer affairs program a few weeks back btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 mixervilla

I'd pick the Mazda everytime, it looks better, its reliable, more powerful & everything the Megane isnt. The tax & insurance will be more expensive and mileage is quite high. What price are these cars you're looking at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

Shammy wrote: »

or

They are pretty much the same price , my heart says the mazda my head says the megane.
    A few people have said that the megane can be troublesome (windows a known problem)

Thanks.

Go with your heart !! Megane will be worthless in 3/4 years and will more than likely cause a bit of heartache along the way. I'd be inclined to look for a lesser mileage Mazda 6 though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

They are 7k for the mazda and 7 and a half for the megane .

I drove them both and obviously the mazda is nicer to drive , not worried about the tax or insurance in it . The megane does make more sense to buy but what i am worried about is its reliability .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 mixervilla

There are similar 2006 Mazda's with less mileage available from €5,000 and reliability shouldn't be a problem, the €2,000 difference will tax it for 5 years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 notwise

I would always have said that the Mazda would be a far more reliable car. Last three cars have been Mazda 6's and never a days trouble. I don't know a lot about cars but just from working in the car industry Renaults don't have the best reputation, but that is solely going on what I have heard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

A 06 Mazda 6 and a 07 Megane have the same reliability rating in the ADAC stats.

And in this case, with the Mazda having much higher mileage than the Megane, it is likely to need more spent on it in coming years due to simple wear and tear.

If you have any interest in safety the Megane also has a higher EuroNCAP rating. 5 vs 4 stars and thereis not a huge difference in weight so the cars can be compared. The Mazda is not great for a mid 00s car.

Here's what they had to say about it:

"Spot-weld release at the base of the A-pillar and deformation of the sill indicated that the bodyshell was at the limit of its integrity and would have been incapable of withstanding a more severe impact. The car was penalised for this. Structures within the dashboard represented a potential hazard to the knees and femurs on the driver's side"

Whereas the Megane got this comment:

"The latest Mégane has an extremely stable body that protected its occupants...There had been much design effort to increase protection for the driver’s knees and upper legs. The footwell suffered very little intrusion and has extra padding"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

Is that Megane the one that was on RTE's Consumer Show, BBC Watchdog, etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭denlaw

n97 mini wrote: »
    Is that Megane the one that was on RTE's Consumer Show, BBC Watchdog, etc?

Was it something about changing a bulb in the headlights?
    Seemingly it's a hrs work to change a bulb in a magane , have to come in through the wheel arch .... I could be wrong ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Rickwellwood

Mazda 6 1.8 or 2.0 petrols are bulletproof imo -- i've had two 6's and three 626's and all of them were incredibly reliable only needing the normal servicing

denlaw wrote: »
    Seemingly it's a hrs work to change a bulb in a magane , have to come in through the wheel arch .... I could be wrong ...

I think you're right about the bulbs.

The Consumer Show was about window regulators failing, repeatedly, something which is covered by Renault in the UK but not here. Watchdog was about the front passenger being able to activate the brakes as a result of bad/lazy design.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

or

Thanks.

Compromise and go for half and half... :o

BRAVO_RENAULT6_1980.jpg
    r6.gif

Seriously though, Would you consider an 07 Megane 1.5dCi? Very cheap to run, not a killer on tax and quite reliable. Can be picked up for as little as €6k :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,291 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

Neither car will be worth much in 3/4 years. Don't really know about Mazda, know a bit about Meganes though, 03 to 08, the window regulator issue is very common and is caused by water ingress, water also gets into the electrical looms feeding the regulators, can also affect the speakers in the door card, the cars were never sealed properly during the manufacturing process, water gets in & causes probs also check for water / damp in the footwells.
    Changing a headlamp bulb isn't the easiest but do-able, plenty of other silly, niggly electrical probs.

Wife drives 05 megane

I think the car featured on Watchdog was a Citroen....think long and hard, Renault parts are not cheap...having said all that, I drove a Megane classic (00) for 11 years until last month, never had an issue with it, took advantage of the scrappage scheme and bought another Renault, main reason, used to them, like them when everything is working, 5yr warranty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Yeah, you reach in through a port in the wheel arch liner, but it's only 5 min job, 10 max. No need for tools or taking wheels off or anything.

I think you're right about the bulbs.

The Consumer Show was about window regulators failing, repeatedly, something which is covered by Renault in the UK but not here. Watchdog was about the front passenger being able to activate the brakes as a result of bad/lazy design.
    Regulators are well known and common failure, about €350 incl VAT each for parts alone (original Renault), though cheaper spurious ones can be got.

The brake thing is very over-hyped imo, the bar is high up the footwell above the carpet line just under the dash and it's quite difficult to intentionally get your foot on it to apply enough pressure to activate the brake, never mind do it accidentally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,291 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

The more I think about it I probably wouldn't buy either car, the milage is a bit high for my liking on the Mazda and not sure I'd go for the Renault because of possible / potential electrical problems and the expensive repair costs if using genuine parts, a regulator wiring loom will set you back €100 alone and you will have to replace it if water is getting in because it will be soaked, Timing belt will need to be done next year (5yrs or 60K whichever comes first) 500 - 600 there also but that's part of normal car running costs

The Renault could potentially bankrupt you but then again you may have no probs...you pays your money and you takes your chance :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I'd have the Mazda 6 every time, but I would not pay anywhere near €7k for one with that mileage. Here is a similar one for less:
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201104201018600

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

The bulbs are OK to do once you know how to get at them via the wheel arch but you'd definitely experience the famous faulty window regulator problems as my OH and her sister with both their means several times. Avoid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

The choice is between one of the most reliable cars money can buy and one of the most unreliable cars money can buy....

Which bit of your head is telling you to get the megane??

Renaults at the moment can make VERY short term sense when buying new with the scrappage deals etc. But long term IMO, you'll spend more on repairs and resale will be virtually zero as the cheap scrappage buying prices will drag down second hand prices even more then the renault badge already does.

And considering a second hand megane over a mazda 6 is mind boggleing IMO

The choice is between one of the most reliable cars money can buy and one of the most unreliable cars money can buy....

Which bit of your head is telling you to get the megane??

Renaults at the moment can make VERY short term sense when buying new with the scrappage deals etc. But long term IMO, you'll spend more on repairs and resale will be virtually zero as the cheap scrappage buying prices will drag down second hand prices even more then the renault badge already does.

And considering a second hand megane over a mazda 6 is mind boggleing IMO

To answer that question would be the part that my father has never owned anything but a Renault . He is currently on his second megane and has had no problems so far with this one , nor the 03' one he held on to for 7 years.
    I also had an alpha 156 for 5 years and despite its bad name at the time i never had an ounce of trouble with it.
    Therefore to buy a car a year newer with a hell of a lot less milage makes more sense for roughly the same price.
    But yes i am gearing more so towards the mazda :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

blah blah blah...and resale will be virtually zero as the cheap scrappage buying prices will drag down second hand prices even more then... blah blah blah.

Sure, the second hand price will be down, but it won't be down by more than the discount you got.

pajo1981 wrote: »
    Sure, the second hand price will be down, but it won't be down by more than the discount you got.

If you buy a car on the scrappage scheme for say 14k, having saved 3k off the list price, you will not get 14k for it again in a year even if you traded it back into the dealer where you got it!

@shammy, maybe your one of those lucky people who never have trouble with cars, even the ones that are supposed to be troublesom.

If you buy a car on the scrappage scheme for say 14k, having saved 3k off the list price, you will not get 14k for it again in a year even if you traded it back into the dealer where you got it!
    Who said anything about selling a 1 year old car for 14k after paying 14k for it new. Only a clown would expect that.

The point is that in general, the less you pay for a new car, the less you lose in depreciation. A 14k car depreciates less than a 20k car. That's why its laughable to hear posters here whinging about Renault and others selling their cars too cheaply. The last remnants of the Celtic Tiger perhaps - take out a loan to buy a more expensive car because the more you pay for something, the better it must be :rolleyes:

What is also silly is your assertion that the Renault Megane is one of the least reliable cars that money can buy while the Mazda 6 is one of the most reliable. Where's your evidence for this? Pub talk or "trade wisdom" which is anything but.

As I posted earlier the 2011 ADAC report rates a 07 Megane and a 06 Mazda the same for reliability.

And overall, from 2005 to 2010, the Megane has a better rating than the 6

The Megane is also superior to the Ford Focus, Honda Civic, Kia Ceed and others.

The only Renault that fares relatively badly in the report is the Kangoo, it does about the same as the Opel Vectra, Ford Mondeo and Ford S-Max.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

@shammy, maybe your one of those lucky people who never have trouble with cars, even the ones that are supposed to be troublesom.

Sorry, what I meant was that the difference between the second hand non-discounted and and second hand discounted will be less than the discount.

They are pretty much the same price , my heart says the mazda my head says the megane.............

Follow your heart and pop down to the chemist for something for the head ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

RoverJames wrote: »

+1 - the Mazda may have higher mileage but it is a much better car.

RoverJames wrote: »
    +1 - the Mazda may have higher mileage but it is a much better car.

The mazda has been crashed (recently) a mechanic mate of mine went into look at it. Told me to steer well clear of it :( gutted.

I thought salesmen were by law supposed to tell you if a car was crashed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Only if you ask directly.

The salesman may not have known, many of them know very little about cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

The mazda has been crashed (recently) a mechanic mate of mine went into look at it. Told me to steer well clear of it :( gutted.

man theres plenty of mazda 6's around, search donedeal. Ive got an 05, got it in feb, good car

No, only if you ask them, if you don't ask they don't have to volunteer any info.
    It is illegal to sell a car in dangerous condition unless you've made the buyer aware of the dangers beforehand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

BrianD3 wrote: »
    Who said anything about selling a 1 year old car for 14k after paying 14k for it new. Only a clown would expect that.

The point is that in general, the less you pay for a new car, the less you lose in depreciation. A 14k car depreciates less than a 20k car. That's why its laughable to hear posters here whinging about Renault and others selling their cars too cheaply. The last remnants of the Celtic Tiger perhaps - take out a loan to buy a more expensive car because the more you pay for something, the better it must be :rolleyes:

What is also silly is your assertion that the Renault Megane is one of the least reliable cars that money can buy while the Mazda 6 is one of the most reliable. Where's your evidence for this? Pub talk or "trade wisdom" which is anything but.

As I posted earlier the 2011 ADAC report rates a 07 Megane and a 06 Mazda the same for reliability.

The Megane is also superior to the Ford Focus, Honda Civic, Kia Ceed and others.

The only Renault that fares relatively badly in the report is the Kangoo, it does about the same as the Opel Vectra, Ford Mondeo and Ford S-Max.

I've owned both Japanese and French cars, also German. In terms of reliability, I'd choose Japanese every time, especially Honda, over any other manufacturer.

EDIT - Shammy, you should definitely be able to find a clean Mazda 6 with lower mileage and a competitive price. It's a buyers market. It's worth looking in the UK also.

Pajo1980 seemed to have said that about resale value, but I may have misunderstood.

As for the rest of your post, well its widely known that the ADAC are severly biast towords european cars so, like most magazine or other motoring agency reports, they have their own bias and agenda.

In the real world, however, where normal humans drive the cars, the Mazda 6, especially the petrol ones,are almost completely problem free while the Megans have a list of common issues. As for where I get my information, well 11 years of repairing cars has given it to me. In that time I could probably count on one hand the amount of 03 on Mazda 6's that have been in with non service/wearable items requiring replacement while 03 on megans can be as much as 1 a week sometimes.

Pajo1980 seemed to have said that about resale value, but I may have misunderstood.

As for the rest of your post, well its widely known that the ADAC are severly biast towords european cars so, like most magazine or other motoring agency reports, they have their own bias and agenda.
    Japanese cars dominated the ADAC stats for over 20 years. In recent years, German, French and Italian cars have been doing a lot better but there are still Japanese cars that do well eg the Mitsubishi Colt. There is no evidence for saying that the ADAC is severely biased toward European cars in its reliability statistics. People clinging to old ideas that all Japanese cars are "bulletproof" doesn't constitute evidence
    In the real world, however, where normal humans drive the cars, the Mazda 6, especially the petrol ones,are almost completely problem free
    The stats I quote are from the real world yet are also scientific and are based on a helluva lot more data than your 11 years of working on cars. The 05 on Mazda 6 is a pretty reliable car (just slightly worse than a 05 on Megane) but the 6 suffers the following problems:

Battery breakdowns remarkably numerously (all years of construction)
    engine management disturbed (Diesels until 2006)
    headlight frequently defectively (until 2006)
    Engine defectively, unusual noises (Diesels until 2006)
    Particle filter clogs (particularly 2006)
    Fuel pump defectively (Benziner until 2006)
    interior lighting: Switch defectively (2007)
    03 on megans can be as much as 1 a week sometimes.
    And the OP is considering a 07 Megane, a post facelift car. It is significantly more reliable than a 03-05 pre facelift. If you've worked on as many cars as you say you have, you should know this and should not be lumping post facelift cars in with pre-facelift ones.

I'm not entertaining another ego arguement on boards.

I did say that the petrol 6's are especially problem free. Compare petrol 6 with petrol Megane.

Also had an 08 megane in earlier in the week with a failed window reg, so they haven't fixed that problem.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Bobo78

For last two years I owned Mazda 6, year 2004 1.8 petrol and to be honest it wasn't reliable as all of ye claim it is.
    I had more than few problems with it and they weren't very cheap to sort out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭Zimmerframe

If you go for the Mazda, these guys will get it home for you cheap.

here

I know a few ppl with Mazda 6s and a few with Meganes. The Mazdas have been tick tock reliable, whereas the Meganes are not.

Some people are suckers for punishment too: the solution to a 4 year old troublesome Megane is to buy a newer one.

The ADAC can say what they want - but anyone who is not a complete and utter Renault fanboy knows that there is no contest between the reliability of a petrol engined Mazda and any Renault, especially a Mk2 Megane. It's just head in the sand stuff to say otherwise!

Few cars can beat a petrol engined Mazda 6 for reliability, whereas it is bloody hard to find a car as troublesome as a Mazda 6 with a diesel engine!

Speaking of the ADAC, they do the general model, rather than pointing out the very obvious fact that there is a massive variation within a particular model range with regards to engine reliability.

If most Mazda 6's sold in Germany are diesels - and given that 80% of VW Passats sold in Germany are diesel it is far from unreasonable to assume that a similar percentage of 6's in Germany are also diesel powered then of course it is going to make any breakdown stats say that the 6 is less reliable than a Renault - even someone with no knowledge of statistics can see this is obvious!

It is just stupid to extrapolate that because a particular thing happens in Germany it must automatically carry over to Ireland, back then we didn't buy diesel for starters and everyone in the trade knows that Mazda's in house diesels are only good for the scrapper!

Quoting ADAC figures is utterly meaningless for the Irish context and ironically what BrianD3 himself posted shows why:
    The 05 on Mazda 6 is a pretty reliable car (just slightly worse than a 05 on Megane) but the 6 suffers the following problems:

Battery breakdowns remarkably numerously (all years of construction)

engine management disturbed (Diesels until 2006)

headlight frequently defectively (until 2006)

Engine defectively, unusual noises (Diesels until 2006)

Particle filter clogs (particularly 2006)

Fuel pump defectively (Benziner until 2006)

interior lighting: Switch defectively (2007).

This basically confirms everything that those of us who have advised the OP to choose the Mazda becuase it will be more reliable is correct - note that all the problems with these cars are for diesel engined models!

This clearly says that the worst that will happen with a petrol Mazda 6 is the interior light might not work properly, the fuel pump may be dodgy but Mazda did a recall so the only reason anyone would have trouble with the fuel pump is because they did not take the car back to be inspected and the headlights aren't the best but having googled it I can see that it is relatively easy to fix if it does happen - a small fraction of what it costs to replace a window regulator for instance.

Sorry I almost forgot, the battery doesn't last as long as it should - but a battery is both easy and cheap to replace.

Also of note is that if the OP chooses a petrol Mazda 6 from 06 onwards, there basically won't be any problems bar the light switch (I don't think anyone outside of the ADAC would consider this to be a factor that would disimprove reliability - sure it's a PITA when the light stops working but at the same time it's not a big deal) and of course the battery.

To me, a battery that *may* not last as long as one would expect or a dodgy light switch most certainly do not change the fact that a petrol 6 is basically bulletproof - if anything they prove my contention that a petrol engined 6 is one of the most trouble free cars out there!

The ADAC can say what they want - but anyone who is not a complete and utter Renault fanboy knows that there is no contest between the reliability of a petrol engined Mazda and any Renault, especially a Mk2 Megane. It's just head in the sand stuff to say otherwise

Few cars can beat a petrol engined Mazda 6 for reliability, whereas it is bloody hard to find a car as troublesome as a Mazda 6 with a diesel engine!
    And your source for that "information" is? The pub is it?

You know nothing about Renaults apart from what you've read on bullsh1t forums such as this. It sounds as if you don't know a whole lot about Mazdas either. Where's your evidence that the Mazda 6 Diesel is the disaster that you make it out to be? And no, saying "everyone in the trade knows that Mazda's in house diesels are only good for the scrapper" doesn't constitute evidence, just more exaggerated hearsay.

Even assuming that you're correct with your argument that Renault is only better than Mazda because:

a) Mazda diesels are a disaster
    and
    b) Most cars in Germany are diesel

What's your excuse for the Megane being more reliable than a variety of other cars including other so-called bulletproof models like the Honda Civic and Ford Focus. And how does it match the Mazda 3 for reliability when many 3s don't use the in house Mazda diesel. No doubt you'll come up with something creative to explain all of this :rolleyes:
    Quoting ADAC figures is utterly meaningless for the Irish context
    More clutching at straws and gross exaggeration. What's your alternative to the "utterly meaningless" reliability stats based on many thousands of callouts from one of Europe's largest motor rescue organsiations? Tell me where you get your information on car reliability from.

And the list I quoted is only part of the statistics. It doesn't say how often the problems occured and it is not an exhaustive list either. The fact remains that Renault Meganes from 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009 and 2010 are rated better than Mazda 6s from 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009 and 2010 and no amount of fudging changes that.

PS I would say that many motorists would be quite concerned about a car known for "Battery breakdowns remarkably numerously" as it would result in them being stranded.

Where's your evidence that the Mazda 6 Diesel is the disaster that you make it out to be?
    It's a well known fact. Anyone who genuinely knows about cars knows it. Check Honest John.

anyone who genuinely knows about cars and honest john, bit of a paradox there :pac:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

If all this info. concerning Renault's apparent quality and reliability improvement is correct why do they need to "discount dump" the market, and buy market share?

Surely to goodness it'll hurt their residual values?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

It should be clarified that this is the older model diesel engine being spoken about in the Mazda 6. Not the new Mazda 6 from 07 -

If all this info. concerning Renault's apparent quality and reliability improvement is correct why do they need to "discount dump" the market, and buy market share?
    A naive question. Renault has a poor image amongst the herd-like Irish public. Always has, always will, doesn't matter how good the cars get. Add in a bit of:
    -xenophobia and suspicion about "the French"
    -people taking everything Clarkson says at face value
    -fear, paranoia and irrationality (my Da had a bad Renault in 1978 therefore I'd never buy one or any French car)
    etc.

And its not hard to see why Renault needs to discount to sell cars. This has always been the case, long before the latest "scrappage" deals. The discounts are bigger now though.

An informed buyer can take advantage of this discounting. I've already explained why lower prices on new cars result in less depreciation, not more. And again I'd love to know why posters here portray discounts as a negative. Do ye want to pay more for cars? Renaults actions have contributed to a general driving down of prices while at the same time cars generally have never been as economical, safe, reliable, well equipped and warrantied etc.

Of course some brands are still resting on past glories. If I walked into a Honda dealer and demanded a big discount or a longer warranty on a Civic as a hedge against relatively poor reliabillity shown in the ADAC stats, I'd be laughed out the door. Because for everyone like myself, there are 10 sheep drooling over Hondas solely because they think the badge makes them "bulletproof". Quite sad really.

Rodin wrote: »
    It should be clarified that this is the older model diesel engine being spoken about in the Mazda 6. Not the new Mazda 6 from 07 -

There's a 2008 on Carzone for a tempting price tbh.

So the 2008. 2009 and 2010 Mazda 6 do not have the "disaster" of a diesel engine yet are still behind year for year Meganes? If true, that blows the "Mazda 6s are bulletproof apart from a particular diesel engine" theory out of the water.

2008 Mazda 6 gets a "befriedigend" (satisfactory) rating
    befriedigend_19x19_25636.gif

2009 Mazda 6 gets a "gut"
    gut_19x19_25635.gif

2010 Mazda 6 gets a "gut"
    gut_19x19_25635.gif

For comparison, a 2008 Renault Megane gets a "gut" rating
    gut_19x19_25635.gif

2009 Megane gets a "sehr gut"
    sehr_gut_19x19_25634.gif

2010 Megane gets a "sehr gut"
    sehr_gut_19x19_25634.gif

Obviously these are the new models of both cars but the trend also applies to the previous models.

That's not true at all - the 2.0 in the current model 6 is exactly the same unit that the old 6 had and is every bit as unreliable (since it's the same engine) - and I would be very sceptical about the newer 2.2 diesel for the moment, as this is to the best of my knowledge based on the 2.0 RF engine as well, maybe it will turn out to be better but it's only on the market for two years so it's just too early to say - even the most troublesome of engines do not show signs of giving serious trouble that soon (unless it's an Efficient Dynamics BMW petrol of course!).

Went for the mazda 6 (different one) Got a 07' with 75k (kilo) on it , full spec , very clean car.

Thanks for all the advice :)

Well done, happy motoring.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

A naive question. Renault has a poor image amongst the herd-like Irish public. Always has, always will, doesn't matter how good the cars get. Add in a bit of:
    -xenophobia and suspicion about "the French"
    -people taking everything Clarkson says at face value
    -fear, paranoia and irrationality (my Da had a bad Renault in 1978 therefore I'd never buy one or any French car)
    etc.

And its not hard to see why Renault needs to discount to sell cars. This has always been the case, long before the latest "scrappage" deals. The discounts are bigger now though.

An informed buyer can take advantage of this discounting. I've already explained why lower prices on new cars result in less depreciation, not more. And again I'd love to know why posters here portray discounts as a negative. Do ye want to pay more for cars? Renaults actions have contributed to a general driving down of prices while at the same time cars generally have never been as economical, safe, reliable, well equipped and warrantied etc.

Of course some brands are still resting on past glories. If I walked into a Honda dealer and demanded a big discount or a longer warranty on a Civic as a hedge against relatively poor reliabillity shown in the ADAC stats, I'd be laughed out the door. Because for everyone like myself, there are 10 sheep drooling over Hondas solely because they think the badge makes them "bulletproof". Quite sad really.

My goodness. That has to be one of the most poorly thought out and reasoned replies I've seen in a long time.

It's so poor infact I'll just leave it here, and won't comment further.