Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mike Phillips in Trouble

• 17-06-2011 12:38pm

Hensonism seems to be contagious within the Welsh squad. This is a disaster for Wales!

Mike Phillips has been suspended indefinitely from Wales squad duties with immediate effect.

3289311-zz160611mike007_259_345.jpg?h=12b3f2e0c198a54526a4e631db44f0a0
    The move comes after WalesOnline published the above pictures of Phillips being restrained by bouncers outside a Cardiff city centre McDonalds at 3am.

The 28-year-old, who completed a switch from the Ospreys to French side Bayonne earlier this week, has been told not to report to WRU headquarters at the National Centre of Excellence this Monday - the day his personal training regime is due to start – and has been barred from the squad until further notice.

In a statement released today, the Wales management team said it would take time to consider the circumstances surrounding the allegations about the player’s behaviour in public while on leave from the squad before it meets for pre-Rugby World Cup training.

The WRU said it would seek further details about the this week's incident while the suspension is in place.

WRU chief executive Roger Lewis said: “The player has been suspended due to a clear breach of the standards which we expect to be maintained by someone involved in one of our national squads.

“Discipline and acceptable behaviour are issues which run to the core values of the Welsh Rugby Union and we cannot tolerate any compromise of those standards.

“Mike Phillips is an exceptional player, but there is irrefutable evidence of a prima facie nature that he was engaged in behaviour which falls below the standards we set.

“It is vitally important that we send out a clear and unambiguous message to one and all concerning our views on matters of this sort.

“That message must be heard clearly by all players, coaches, administrators, volunteers, supporters and, of course, the parents and guardians of any child attracted to take part in the national sport of Wales.

“By taking decisive action now we are emphasising that this sort of incident is highly unusual in that the majority of people involved in Welsh rugby help us maintain the proud record we have for fair play and off the field courtesy.

“Our senior national squad players are highly visible because of the profile which accompanies the success of our national sport and it is made clear to them that they are the ambassadors we rely on to foster and sustain our image.

“An incredible amount of hard work is currently taking place as our players prepare for the Rugby World Cup in New Zealand and that effort must be recognised and supported by all involved.

“I am making my views public at this time because, as the nation anticipates our involvement in Rugby World Cup there is no room for any ambiguity in our reasoning.

“Rugby is part of the culture of our nation and we must do all in our power to ensure that the game remains a sport that everyone in Wales can be rightly proud of.”

Wales team manager Alan Phillips said: “We have suspended Mike Phillips on the clear evidence of a level of behaviour we regard as unacceptable.

“It is clear there has been a breach of our disciplinary standards.”

The suspension has been approved by Wales head coach Warren Gatland and agreed by the senior squad management team.

The WRU said it has not been alerted of any criminal action and the suspension is based on its own rules of behaviour.

A statement from the union said it would offer no further comment on the issue.

Cardiff Blues scrum-half Lloyd Williams has been called into the Wales pre-Rugby World Cup training squad and will report for duty on Monday.

Phillips made his debut for Wales in 2003 against Romania, and has since won 52 caps, with his most recent appearance coming against the Barbarians earlier this month.

Andy Powell, Gavin Henson and now Mike Phillips pressing the self destruct button.

Is there something in the water?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

Maybe they should give that bouncer a call up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Richarz

Jesus its a bit harsh though. I mean it was a drunken scuffle during the off season. A group of Munster players attacked a Kilkenny medical student and his friends resulting in the medical student breaking his hand and not one player was disciplined. There were even players arrested that time! So basically Phillips wasn't even arrested he was just kicked out of McDonalds and now hes dropped completely from the squad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Wales fans rejoice everywhere as he is one of the worst professional SH's around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Tomtom364

Richarz wrote: »
    Jesus its a bit harsh though. I mean it was a drunken scuffle during the off season. A group of Munster players attacked a Kilkenny medical student and his friends resulting in the medical student breaking his hand and not one player was disciplined. There were even players arrested that time! So basically Phillips wasn't even arrested he was just kicked out of McDonalds and now hes dropped completely from the squad?

Didnt just get kicked out, kicked off at the bouncers, got restrained and was handed over to the police

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Stev_o wrote: »
    Wales fans rejoice everywhere as he is one of the worst professional SH's around.

Yet still better then all of the ones we have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Isn't there an ongoing case being put together by the DPP on the Munster incident though?

Regardless, Phillips has previous form. He's a shambles. When over in Dublin in the past with the Blues he would be picking fights with punters in pubs after a few jars. Fans would try to strike up a conversation and have some banter and Phillips would end up mouthing at them and becoming aggressive. He's a grade A plank with drink on him. It's a shame because he's a very useful addition to any side when on form and his head is in the right place. Phillips has turned his back on Welsh regional rugby and, going on this, the national set up can't wait to be rid of him either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭yimrsg

Love this comment from the article:
    Someone said he was complaining about the slow service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

I would prefer any of ours to that guy. He's a waster and I never had anytime for his on field nonsense as well. Distasteful character all round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

buck65 wrote: »
    I would prefer any of ours to that guy. He's a waster and I never had anytime for his on field nonsense as well. Distasteful character all round.

Agree with his character but, on form, he'd wipe the floor with any of our scrum halves. Not sure how bad an influence he is within a squad when he's happy and sober. A few of the Irish players were on record as saying they were surprised at how well they got on with him and thought he was a great bloke after the Lions tour. Unfortunately, he seems a difficult enough person to keep happy and sober.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭Bogsnorkler

Oh lawd!!

The story you're telling is a good one but has nothing to do with what happened. Not to say what happened was any better, but it wasn't like the team jumped a poor student.

My understanding was there was a schmozzle between a few lads on the team after a prank went to far, and somewhere along the line yer man and his mate got involved and he got his fingers broken.

anyway back OT;

He's a dick, these storys are always coming out about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

3288949-zz160611mike009_231_345.jpg?h=aabd0a5039ff63f2a540fe2910d95e26

From the link, oh dear.

• Registered Users Posts: 492 ✭✭TheJims

lol... the pictures r hilarious!

He just wanted 2 double cheese burgers n some nuggets with sweet n sour dip!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Hensonism seems to be contagious within the Welsh squad. This is a disaster for Wales!

Andy Powell, Gavin Henson and now Mike Phillips pressing the self destruct button.

Is there something in the water?

Must have learned few tricks from some the Munster lads:D

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

What an absolute plank he is.
    Honest to God, the Welsh team is more like a Premiership football team with the amount of that sort of ****e that goes on.
    Pity the missed the picture on how the bouncers took him down, cos he's a big guy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

Bullsh.

I agree with Justin (for once), he is a liability on the field at times because if you manage to rile him up he spends too much time looking for contact and getting aggressive, something a SH shouldn't be bothered with.
    In Thomond Park he spent the day reacting to Munster and completely forgot to play the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jolley123

If Phillips wasn't a tool off the pitch, then I'd gladly take him over our scrum-halves. His form in the Lions tour was better than anything out scrum-halves can produce. He's very strong with ball in hand, and does the rest very well.
    True, he's struggled with form lately, but that happens with everyone.

Luckily scrum-half is a position we're gonna be sorted in come 3 or 4 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Mike Phillips is a Lions player for a reason.

He might be a tool, but he's a quality player when his head is on straight.

• Mike Phillips is a Lions player for a reason.

Thing is though, you could put "Gavin Henson" in the above quote and it would still be valid.

Headlessness is becoming a feature of these Welsh Stars. Its truly disappointing, because I always thought that Rugby was the type of game where people get their ego knocked out of them at an early enough stage of their career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Theres been so many stories of welsh players misbehaving lately. I wonder are our lads similarly bold, but better at not getting caught/ covering up?

Or is there something wrong in the Welsh camp.

Our lads have had a few nights to forget sure but they seem to be for the most part very dedicated pros.

• buck65 wrote: »
    Our lads have had a few nights to forget sure but they seem to be for the most part very dedicated pros.

I also think that we would be more tolerant of them. Genuinely, if BOD arrived up to Burger King on O'Connell Street steaming drunk, the bouncers wouldn't just let him in, they'd clear a table for him.

I also don't think for a second that any of them are saints when they're allowed off the leash. Having met quite a few of them on nights out in the off seasons. They work hard, they should get to let loose every now and again.

However, I think that something must have seriously been awry for Phillips to get taken down by MacDonald's bouncers! Something not quite right about the whole situation tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

JustinDee wrote: »
    Bullsh.

Oh thank God our master has spoken and given us our opinion.

Mike Phillips isn't a patch on 1 in 3 Reddan, Two Trick Stringer or Feet for Hands O'Leary.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

To be honest, while his behaviour was clearly unacceptable, I think far too big a deal is being made of it. Irish players are no saints either and I don't see why we should expect them to be. There are any number of "hilarious" stories about old school rugby players where this sort of behaviour would be seen as something to be proud of. I realise the game is professional now so it's a different kettle of fish but I'd prefer if things like this didn't grace the media so much.

He made a mistake, there are plenty procedures in place for it to be dealt with by both the police and WRU. He doesn't need to be dragged through the court of public opinion as well.

And for the record I think he's easily better then any of the scrum halves Ireland have available to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭daddydick

The big difference being that Munster are a club with contracted players whereas Wales are a country who have the right to select whatever players they see neccessary. I don't blame them for dropping Phillips, by looking at the photos he seems to have been acting disgracefully.

And btw I think you're story of thr Munster lads "attacking" a poor student has some holes in it.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

3288949-zz160611mike009_231_345.jpg?h=aabd0a5039ff63f2a540fe2910d95e26

From the link, oh dear.

Look at yer man in the background stuffing his face with a burger looking on.

He is no more consistent than anyone in the Ireland camp. Poor decision-maker, poor kicker from hand and penalty count average not too great. So what if he's big? Has a great snap pass on his right side and decent defender but there's more to a halfback than that.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

That's a dearth of good scrum halves up north at the moment. It's essentially an issue of arguing over who is the least poor. All your criticisms of Phillips apply at least as much if not more so to Reddan.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

looks like its not just the welsh

http://www.planetrugby.com/story/0,25883,3551_6994223,00.html

Ulster have released a statement saying that Ireland flanker Stephen Ferris was involved in an off-field incident in Belfast in September 2009.

The 25-year-old was on Friday named in his country's 43-man World Cup squad, meaning the revelation has come at an unfortunate time.

"As this incident is now subject to legal proceedings, neither party will be making any further comment except to say that Ulster Rugby has given and will continue to give Stephen its full support in this matter," read the Ulster statement.

CatFromHue wrote: »

Ulster have released a statement saying that Ireland flanker Stephen Ferris was involved in an off-field incident in Belfast in September 2009.

The 25-year-old was on Friday named in his country's 43-man World Cup squad, meaning the revelation has come at an unfortunate time.

"As this incident is now subject to legal proceedings, neither party will be making any further comment except to say that Ulster Rugby has given and will continue to give Stephen its full support in this matter," read the Ulster statement.

Well, that's interesting, and if the legal proceedings are against Ferris, he's a step worse than Phillips, so should we be villifying him aswell?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

wixfjord wrote: »
    Well, that's interesting, and if the legal proceedings are against Ferris, he's a step worse than Phillips, so should we be villifying him aswell?

villify him for what? do you know what he is meant to have done ?

CatFromHue wrote: »

Thankfully he is rugby player and these things get covered up unlike footballer or gaa player.

Wtf? Clearly not!

durkadurka wrote: »
    Wtf? Clearly not!

Ah ya but you wont see it being front page of the tabloids or anything like that.

I think it's a nationality thing. Press in this country tend to overlook some private life behaviour . I bet everyone in the press knows about such and such being gay/screwing around whatever but they don't report it. Not the same in uk.

Nothing to do with ferris- we really know nothing about that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

I think it's a nationality thing. Press in this country tend to overlook some private life behaviour . I bet everyone in the press knows about such and such being gay/screwing around whatever but they don't report it. Not the same in uk.

and thats a good thing that the press don't stick their ignorant knobs into all here , i also think the irfu need a clap on the back on their player handling through the year etc,not using local players for every match etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Plenty of examples of Irish internationals getting into trouble.

Shane Horgan, Frankie Sheahan and Neil Best (trying to think of a Connacht example but can't!) have all been involved in 'incidents' where alcohol was involved. All of these played played for Ireland numerous times afterwards with no repurcussions to their careers.

There is definately a difference in how these things are reported on and viewed in Britain and Ireland.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

rugby wasnt as popular then as it is now.

certainly there was outcry from the media over what horgan and sheehan did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Reesy

Yeah, I agree. Like the French media with extra-marital affairs. Maybe one factor is that here, it's the Irish media on the Irish players, whereas in Wales it's often the English media that has a go at Welsh players... however in this case it was the Western Mail, in Cardiff, who broke the story.

The other factor is that I think the WRU are sick to death of the bad publicity and are desperate to assert some authority. Wish it hadn't been Mike Phillips who broke the camel's back though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Honest to God, the Welsh team is more like a Premiership football team with the amount of that sort of ****e that goes on.
    Hyperbole is never far away on these sort of threads.

i dont think its a nationality thing.

remember rogs pic were his hand had slid partially down a girls top that he was getting a photograph with.

if john sexton was getting hauled away by the gardai outside macdonalds on grafton street it would make similar news.

duckysauce wrote: »
    villify him for what? do you know what he is meant to have done ?

What I'm saying is that if Ferris is in the same sort of trouble as Phillips, and is being charged for it, then surely it'd be hypocritical to give out about Phillips and say nothing about Ferris.
    Obviously I don't know what he's meant to have done, just playing devils advocate!

Aidric wrote: »
    Hyperbole is never far away on these sort of threads.

Would you even bother venturing to the rugby forum if it wasn't to reply to a post by me?! Infatuation? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

You could name a very handy rugby 15 involved with the wrong side of the law over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

what that got to do with anything?

twinytwo wrote: »

None of our 5 scrummies are, test anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

yimrsg wrote: »
    Love this comment from the article:

Quote:
    Someone said he was complaining about the slow service

Think O'leary was working that night...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Would you even bother venturing to the rugby forum if it wasn't to reply to a post by me?! Infatuation? ;)

You could of course address the point? How does a couple of well known loose cannons equate to the whole squad being like a premiership football team?

twinytwo wrote: »
    Nothing.
    Iain Balshaw was a Lion...twice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jolley123

JustinDee wrote: »
    Nothing.
    Iain Balshaw was a Lion...twice!

Ian Balshaw's a good player....