Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

the euro

• 17-06-2011 12:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭

The euro is doomed.

Are we drawing a painful ordeal out longer than it needs to be?
    Our government isnt addressing any problems just awaiting orders from the eu/imf on what they want us to do next.
    Its illogical to pay back the interest along with the hefty loan over any period of time.

Is there any point in keeping with the euro? Our future just seems to be getting worse.

What would be the consequence of a currency change,would it be better for Ireland in the long run.

Im not an economist so dont slate me,im just tired of seeing so little leadership in the Irish government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Agh sure, it'll be grand....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

drdeadlift wrote: »
    The euro is doomed.

Our government isnt addressing any problems just awaiting orders from the eu/imf on what they want us to do next.
    Its illogical to pay back the interest along with the hefty loan over any period of time.

Is there any point in keeping with the euro? Our future just seems to be getting worse.

What would be the consequence of a currency change,would it be better for Ireland in the long run.

Im not an economist so dont slate me,im just tired of seeing so little leadership in the Irish government.

I'm not an economist either but if we drop the euro and go back to the punt it will be extremnly painful. Your savings could be wiped out by as much as 70%. Any debts in Euros would still have to be paid in euros.

Just my 2 cent/pennies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I like the ones with the little stick man on the back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Dooooooooooooooooommmmmmmmmmmmmmeeeeeed!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

we went almost a week without one of these threads,thanks op thanks.

Do something about it,don't complain here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Guill wrote: »

A grand? WHERE! <searches around>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

Finnbar01 wrote: »
    I'm not an economist either but if we drop the euro and go back to the punt it will be extremnly painful. Your savings could be wiped out by as much as 70%. Any debts in Euros would still have to be paid in euros.

Just my 2 cent/pennies.

True,but whats all this jazz about our children's children having to pay for our generations mistakes.Would it not be better to hit the wall early and start anew?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Shryke wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Finnbar01 wrote: »

Just my 2 cent/pennies.

down to 30c so! :D

pmcmahon wrote: »
    we went almost a week without one of these threads,thanks op thanks.

Do something about it,don't complain here.

What do you suggest i do?

True,but whats all this jazz about our children's children having to pay for our generations mistakes.Would it not be better to hit the wall early and start anew?

Yep. Exactly, that's what should have happened in 2008.

go wave a flag or something,get over the whole "i'm just one man" mentality,otherwise bend over and take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭muff03

'Daddy, what's a euro?'
    "Arggh, I dunno!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭sparks24

read up on the economics forum first and you'll understand what it has done for us and what would happen if we left right now with all that debt over us

we be FÚCKED people wouldn't be even able to buy a plane ticket out of the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Barter.

sparks24 wrote: »
    read up on the economics forum first and you'll understand what it has done for us and what would happen if we left right now with all that debt over us

we be FÚCKED people wouldn't be even able to buy a plane ticket out of the place

Don't pay any debt.Euro will eventually fail.What currency will France and Germany use then.Would the euro work with so few countries using it?

Greece will be out of it,we will follow,portugal will have all this **** ahead of them and so on.

lads we need sterling.

Don't pay any debt.Euro will eventually fail.What currency will France and Germany use then.Would the euro work with so few countries using it?

Greece will be out of it,we will follow,portugal will have all this **** ahead of them and so on.

probably.

go wave a flag or something,get over the whole "i'm just one man" mentality,otherwise bend over and take it.

Or move to stavanger

bingo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

My child has been scrounging off me all her life, so I reckon her paying off my mistakes is just reward. I havn't yet met my childrens children, so sod em.
    On the other hand, I didn't make ANY mistakes, so my decendants are safe;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Hmmm.....OP's location is Drumcondra....looking for a little revisionist absolution BA?

lads we need sterling.

Thats a good idea,but with all the anti English nugget heads in this country i dont think they would see the sense in it.
    And Irish being Irish i think the brits would see it as a risk.

Hmmm.....OP's location is Drumcondra....looking for a little revisionist absolution BA?

My real name is Bertie

well, you get your army so and overthrow the government by all means please
    but for now all that debt is there and is not going away, so there's no point in talking about leaving the euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭-Kenny-

Shryke wrote: »

well, you get your army so and overthrow the government by all means please
    but for now all that debt is there and is not going away, so there's no point in talking about leaving the euro

Right lets just take everything they throw at us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

My real name is Bertie

I knew it and I claim my £ $ 5

Right lets just take everything they throw at us.

there was an election not so long ago and the people spoke, shame the only viable party that talked about offloading the debt was the shinners and to be fair i would rather take the dept in the ass then let those cowboys at the wheel

this should be in the irish economy forum no? this is way to serious for afterhours my head hurts its to early forr this shít

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

IMO it will survive. There's a lot of speculation on the markets as it seems that speculation is the only way to make money for many people.

there was an election not so long ago and the people spoke, shame the only viable party that talked about offloading the debt was the shinners and to be fair i would rather take the dept in the ass then let those cowboys at the wheel

this should be in the irish economy forum no? this is way to serious for afterhours my head hurts its to early forr this shít

Well im not pro/anti any parties i just find it easier to judge a person for themselves rather than a whole party.I dont know if i should be blaming the bankers in Ireland the politicians the regulators or the folks in over in europe who knew we were unsustainable growing but did nothing to protect our currency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

These threads are depressing and shouldn't be allowed in AH. AH is a happy place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

if i was the irish goverment,i would have a back up plan,the euro is going to the wall,when spain hits the bottom later this year it is far to big to be bailed out,then it will be every man to himself,we know germany and france will look after their own, so could this also be the end of the EU,?some experts think so,maybe ireland should start talking to the UK to find a answer.the UK already has the ok to join NAFTA if needed,should ireland also be thinking that way ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

The euro is doomed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Just for information-wise, here is a graphic that was in The Times (England).
    Note the two that are the biggest in deficit.
    (The article was about Greece but the overall information still is insightful)

* http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/1598/ttheurope22170081a.jpg

getz wrote: »
    if i was the Irish government,i would have a back up plan,the euro is going to the wall,when Spain hits the bottom later this year it is far to big to be bailed out,then it will be every man to himself,we know Germany and France will look after their own, so could this also be the end of the EU,?some experts think so,maybe Ireland should start talking to the UK to find a answer.the UK already has the ok to join NAFTA if needed,should Ireland also be thinking that way ?
    To be honest, if you look at the graphic above, you will see just how bad England is doing on their own.
    Getting too close to them even more, might not be the best idea either for the time being.
    I don't think there is any one such overall simple solution.

Biggins wrote: »
    To be honest, if you look at the graphic above, you will see just how bad England is doing on their own.
    Getting too close to them even more, might not be the best idea either for the time being.
    I don't think there is any one such overall simple solution.
    big difference is that the UK has huge assets all over the world,its americas biggest foreign invester,and it has a stability in goverment,with its own monetary system,and its still putting money in to bail out the euro

True but if you look at the mad reaction to the British government just giving us a loan (some of the moaners still put it about as if it was a gift!) - can you imagine the reaction of some of the people there if they discover we were getting more engrained within their economic systems?

Long story short - I honestly can't seeing it happen for the moment anyway - but good idea if England was on sounder footing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

The euro is doomed.

thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Guill wrote: »

Shur ya know yourself, like!

Typical Irish response to every problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Start using the worldo, only a matter of time anyway!

Biggins wrote: »
    True but if you look at the mad reaction to the British government just giving us a loan (some of the moaners still put it about as if it was a gift!) - can you imagine the reaction of some of the people there if they discover we were getting more engrained within their economic systems?

Long story short - I honestly can't seeing it happen for the moment anyway - but good idea if England was on sounder footing.
    just think what they are saying about the £280 million we are GIVING india,every year,remember this is a country that has a space program and a nuclear armed force.also remember if you had millions to invest would you put it into the euro or in a country that is unstable ?, ireland is just a passenger on a train at this moment, and cannot get off it even though its heading for a crash

Indeed. Maybe we should be buying Swiss gold! :(

Ironic also that Sarkosy is currently saying Greece threatens the Euro and is calling for unity when he's causing a lot of the underlying grief in the EU.
    Ireland is constantly getting bullied over their corporation tax by this little jumped up man. Between he and the head of Germany, their two person efforts to push around others is a disgrace.
    Whats more - its been more than commented by others that Sarkosy is doing it for purely self-opportunity, in other words for upcoming elections in which he's failing at home in the polls.

This latest stunt is just another show for the folks back home many suspect - in the meantime, even this week the continued bullying of the Irish government is being done by this one arrogant little man and his German counter-part. The Irish Times and the Irish Independent both reported that Sarkosy is the ONE person blocking Ireland from gaining better loan terms, in our efforts to pay back what we owe. By Sarkosy's very own actions, being openly aggressive and blocking Ireland re-negotiating, he is pushing at least one country to the position of default - and that in turn will effect EVERYONE!

(Posted the above comment on The Times (England) newspaper site too in protest!)

now you know why there has always been EU doubting brits,

And when those same Brits and some Irish spoke out against the EU, they were branded as little englanders, xenophobes etc. They're very quite now though (their critcis that is).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Haelium

People have been saying that the Euro is doomed since 2009, and yet it's value continues to rise, would somebody mind explaining to me what the problem is?

ALL currencies at the moments are "Doomed", and it's true that the Euro may collapse, but going back to the punt right now would be the stupid. If we are going to go back to the punt, we should wait till the Euros value stops climbing, then change back to the punt.