Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best 15 In Ireland

• 16-06-2011 10:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭

1.Stephen Cluxton
    2.Tom O Sullivan
    3.Graham Canty
    4.Marc O Shea

5.Tomas O Shea
    6.????????????
    7.Emmet Bolton----

8.Paddy Keenan---9.Aidan Walsh

10.Paul Galvin
    11.Declan O Sullivan
    12.Paddy Kelly

13.Daniel Goulding
    14.Bernard Brogan
    15.Colm Cooper

No real stand outs at 6.Could move Canty out there mind..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

I dunno about all of them.

If you readjusted the forwards and played some people slightly out of positon, I think Donaghy and Meehan could merit a place. Certainly Declan O'Sullivan, he's top top class. Better than Marty Clarke imo. John Doyle too...maybe. But Gooch, Brogan and O'Sullivan would be my first 3 forwards on any team.

In midfield I don't think Aidan Walsh is better than John Galvin. At all. Keenan's not either.....any time I've seen him Brendan Murphy has been top class. Just because he's from Carlow doesn't mean he's not one of the best players around.

In defence, I think Aaron Kernan is one of the best wing-backs around. Possibly Michael Shields. Charlie Harrison? I like Cahir Healy from Laois too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭lynchy101

Fireball07 wrote: »
    I dunno about all of them.

If you readjusted the forwards and played some people slightly out of positon, I think Donaghy and Meehan could merit a place. Certainly Declan O'Sullivan, he's top top class. Better than Marty Clarke imo. John Doyle too...maybe. But Gooch, Brogan and O'Sullivan would be my first 3 forwards on any team.

In midfield I don't think Aidan Walsh is better than John Galvin. At all. Keenan's not either.....any time I've seen him Brendan Murphy has been top class. Just because he's from Carlow doesn't mean he's not one of the best players around.

In defence, I think Aaron Kernan is one of the best wing-backs around. Possibly Michael Shields. Charlie Harrison? I like Cahir Healy from Laois too.

Complety forgot about DOS...Best forward in the country at the moment

sub him in for marty clarke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Johnny Doyle has to feature. the man oozes class. Saw him swing over a line ball from in front of me there a few years ago in the Gaelic grounds. I was converted there and then. If Gooch had done it or Bernard Brogan we'd be still hearing about it.

Declan O'Sulllivan is one of the best forwards in Ireland no question. Wouldn't have Goulding there myself.

It'll be a contentious thread anyway that's for sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭J Cheever Loophole

lynchy101 wrote: »
    No real stand outs at 6.

Let me stop you right there - there is a stand out at number six - he is just not playing for one of the high profile counties at the moment - Ciaran McKeever of Cullyhanna St Patricks, Armagh and Ulster.

He gave the number eleven on your original team a torrid evening of Championship football a few weeks back; and not for the first time either!! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

1.Stephen Cluxton
    2.Tom O Sullivan
    3.Graham Canty
    4.Marc O Shea

5.Tomas O Shea
    6.????????????
    7.Emmet Bolton----

10.Paul Galvin
    11.Marty Clarke
    12.Paddy Kelly

13.Daniel Goulding
    14.Bernard Brogan
    15.Colm Cooper

No Johnny Doyle:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

1.Stephen Cluxton
    2.Tom O Sullivan
    3.Graham Canty
    4.Marc O Shea

5.Tomas O Shea
    6.????????????
    7.Emmet Bolton----

10.Paul Galvin
    11.Marty Clarke
    12.Paddy Kelly

13.Daniel Goulding
    14.Bernard Brogan
    15.Colm Cooper

Not too bad a selection. Though I wouldn't have the following

Tom O'Sullivan (best days are behind him)
    Marc O'Se (very good footballer but highly over-rated as a defender, has been cleaned out by the best forwards so many times)
    Graham Canty (yesterday's man I'm afraid, very good in his day though)
    Aidan Walsh (over-rated. cleaned out by the Galway U-21 midfield this year. I thought he was better tbh)
    Marty Clarke (I'm beginning to wonder if he's a bit of a one-trick pony, another McDonald. Time will tell)

In the forwards I cannot argue with Galvin, Bernard Brogan and Cooper.

To that 3 I would add the following 3:

Michael Meehan (injured at the moment but when fit he is unquestionably one of the best 6 forwards in the country - replaces Goulding at 13)
    Declan O'Sullivan (I have to admit to my shame that it took me a long time to appreciate this guy, but he's a superb footballer - replaces Clarke at 11)
    Sean Cavanagh (yes I know he's been off the boil of late, but on form there's no-one else I'd want at no.12)
    -an alternative would be Kildare's James Kavanagh who was a revelation last year. can he do it again though???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭maddragon

Not a bad list. I'ld like to see Dermot Earley in there but ...

maddragon wrote: »
    Not a bad list. I'ld like to see Dermot Earley in there but ...

A few years ago yes, maybe not so much now. Bear in mind Earley was playing for Kildare in the 98 final against Galway, so he's been around a long time. Great player, but someone who is nearing the end of his career and has been hampered by injury over the last couple of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

Declan O' Sullivan in for me too. One of my favourite footballers of the recent past, the man would walk onto any championship team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Thats a decent team OP, but I wouldn't have Canty at full-back, as that isn't really his position - center back or nowhere.
    aidan24326 wrote: »
    Aidan Walsh (over-rated. cleaned out by the Galway U-21 midfield this year. I thought he was better tbh)

One mediocre game makes him overrated? Christ.
    Marty Clarke (I'm beginning to wonder if he's a bit of a one-trick pony, another McDonald. Time will tell)

Just one sentence and so so so much wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭Opelfruit

1.Stephen Cluxton
    2.Tom O Sullivan
    3.Graham Canty
    4.Marc O Shea

5.Tomas O Shea
    6.????????????
    7.Emmet Bolton----

10.Paul Galvin
    11.Marty Clarke
    12.Paddy Kelly

13.Daniel Goulding
    14.Bernard Brogan
    15.Colm Cooper

Carlow would take that rag-tag bunch of journeymen easy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Dubhthamlacht

For your Centre half back - Darren Hughes of Monaghan. An outstanding player with great consistency.

Agree with suggestions of John Galvin and Brendan Murphy. Superb midfielders in any era.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Orizio wrote: »

One mediocre game makes him overrated? Christ.

the roscommon game makes two, finneran and mannion were dominating the midfield until cork took walsh off and brought nick murphy on

No Johnny Doyle:eek:

Where would he fit in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Where would he fit in?

Ahead of Goulding, Kelly, Clarke or Walsh take your pick really. Fcuk it play him CB if you have to, but you simply cant leave him out.

Orizio wrote: »
    Just one sentence and so so so much wrong.

I might have been harsh on Marty Clarke, I do like him as a player, but the reason I used the McDonald comparison is that when you use a playmaker like that, it can make your tactical approach a little predictable, and sooner or later teams will figure out how to negate it.

But I stand by what I said about Aidan Walsh. If he can't get the better of Galways U-21 midfield, that of course doesn't make him a bad player per se, but for me it raises a big question mark over having him in a national best 15.

aidan24326 wrote: »
    I might have been harsh on Marty Clarke, I do like him as a player, but the reason I used the McDonald comparison is that when you use a playmaker like that, it can make your tactical approach a little predictable, and sooner or later teams will figure out how to negate it.

But I stand by what I said about Aidan Walsh. If he can't get the better of Galways U-21 midfield, that of course doesn't make him a bad player per se, but for me it raises a big question mark over having him in a national best 15.

I don't think he's one of the best 2 midfielders in the country at all. He's decent and had lots of potential, and I wouldn't be surprised if he was the best in a few years but atm not a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Where would he fit in?

Midfield ahead of Aidan Walsh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭looseygoosey

No Johnny Doyle ????????????????????????????????????????????
    what in the name of jaysus were you thinking :)

whos better doyle or paddy kelly? doyle brings so much more to a team its not funny... mans an absolute hero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

1.Stephen Cluxton
    2.Tom O Sullivan
    3.Graham Canty
    4.Marc O Shea

5.Tomas O Shea
    6.????????????
    7.Emmet Bolton----

10.Paul Galvin
    11.Declan O Sullivan
    12.Paddy Kelly

13.Daniel Goulding
    14.Bernard Brogan
    15.Colm Cooper

Serious Cork and Kerry bias there.

I wouldnt have either of those corner backs tbh. As Fireball07 mentioned, Charlie Harrison and Cahir Healy are there or there abouts. Both aer excellent corner backs, not very flashy but are very good at everything a corner back should be good at.

Kevin McKernan is the best centre back atm but Ciaran McKeever is also a good shout. Philip Jordan would be wing back ahead of O Se.

As previously mentioned also, John Galvin and Brendan Murphy are the two best midfielders and certainly better than Walsh.

Galvin is nowhere near it. John Doyle is top class and could do a job where ever you played him, should put him wing forward. Not confinced Paddy Kelly deserves to be there but cant think of anyone else atm.

Donaghy should be full forward with Brogan and Gooch either side of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Gael85

1.Stephen Cluxton
    2.Marc O'Se
    3.Justin McMahon
    4.Michael Shields
    5.Tomas O'Se
    6.Emmet Bolton
    7.Philip Jordan
    8.Paddy Keenan
    9.John Galvin
    10.Paul Galvin
    11.Declan O'Sullivan
    12.Sean Cavanagh
    13.Daniel Goulding
    14.Bernard Brogan
    15.Com Cooper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭blowitupref

What strikes me about the current best 15 is a lack of great goalkeeper,full back,centre half back & midfielders, years ago you would have top players in all these key positions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    Serious Cork and Kerry bias there.

I wouldnt have either of those corner backs tbh. As Fireball07 mentioned, Charlie Harrison and Cahir Healy are there or there abouts. Both aer excellent corner backs, not very flashy but are very good at everything a corner back should be good at.

Kevin McKernan is the best centre back atm but Ciaran McKeever is also a good shout. Philip Jordan would be wing back ahead of O Se.

As previously mentioned also, John Galvin and Brendan Murphy are the two best midfielders and certainly better than Walsh.

Galvin is nowhere near it. John Doyle is top class and could do a job where ever you played him, should put him wing forward. Not confinced Paddy Kelly deserves to be there but cant think of anyone else atm.

Donaghy should be full forward with Brogan and Gooch either side of him.

First of all Ó Sé is better in my opinion then Bolton. I'd have no complaints about Jordan coming in at 7.

Now Galvin is nowhere near it??? :eek::confused::rolleyes::o:mad:

Are you serious? He's the best Number 10 in the country by a Mile (when he's not suspended for acting the eejit) He came on, on one leg against cork last year, and twice singlehandedly rescued the situation. A great example of his status as a great player came in the league against Armagh. Anthony Maher (i think), had the ball and was coming forward. Instead of Tackling him, three of them were focused on Galvin, watching his ever move. Maher strolled through unopposed and put the ball over the bar, while the three watched Galvin. Very few players are offered this kind of attention, and to think his score taking is one of the weaker aspects of his game. Whatever you say about discipline, he's the best balll winner and play maker in the game bar none. In the last 20 years only Dooher has been close (even equal to his ability and impact on the game.

Having said this the team as a total must have some Kerry bias, because I can't see much to argue over, bar Donaghy and Declan being left out. Also watch for Darran O'Sullivan this year. Kerry's best player through league and Championship. Huge playmaking ability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Ian_K

OP stick Darren Hughes, Justin McMahon or Michael Shields in full back, Canty out to 6, replace that Bolton clown with Kevin McKernan and BOOM, best team in the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,789 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Can't believe the amount of people still buying into the BS surrounding Canty.........at his best he was a good but not outstanding player IMO and those days are long gone too-only a bit part player over the last 18-24 months with cork and still the best in the country??? come on now lads:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭AbsentPonderer

John Galvin!:D

DDC1990 wrote: »
    First of all Ó Sé is better in my opinion then Bolton. I'd have no complaints about Jordan coming in at 7.

Are you serious? He's the best Number 10 in the country by a Mile (when he's not suspended for acting the eejit) He came on, on one leg against cork last year, and twice singlehandedly rescued the situation. A great example of his status as a great player came in the league against Armagh. Anthony Maher (i think), had the ball and was coming forward. Instead of Tackling him, three of them were focused on Galvin, watching his ever move. Maher strolled through unopposed and put the ball over the bar, while the three watched Galvin. Very few players are offered this kind of attention, and to think his score taking is one of the weaker aspects of his game. Whatever you say about discipline, he's the best balll winner and play maker in the game bar none. In the last 20 years only Dooher has been close (even equal to his ability and impact on the game.

Having said this the team as a total must have some Kerry bias, because I can't see much to argue over, bar Donaghy and Declan being left out. Also watch for Darran O'Sullivan this year. Kerry's best player through league and Championship. Huge playmaking ability.

I'd have to agree that Galvin deserves to be on it. I hate him...I won't forget 2004 when he punched John Quane off the ball and Quane wasn't expecting anything at all, it was really sneaky.

But the man is class, very skilful players, very hard worked. Maybe I haven't seem him much recently but he can't have decreased that much.

DDC1990 wrote: »

Maybe I was allowing my personal dislike of Galvin (due to his petulance, lack of discipline and looking like a gimp in the magazine in the Indo every weekend) cloud my judgement on his footballing abilities. I did say I wasnt convinced Paddy Kelly deserves to be there so, on reflection, I would have Galvin ahead of him.

Also, I had forgotten about Justin McMahon until another poster mentioned him, would have him full back in the best 15 in the country for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭largepants

Ian_K wrote: »
    OP stick Darren Hughes, Justin McMahon or Michael Shields in full back, Canty out to 6, replace that Bolton clown with Kevin McKernan and BOOM, best team in the country

Is there some reason that you feel the need to call Bolton a clown?

For the record here's my choice

Cluxton
    M Shields
    J McMahon
    P McMahon
    A Kernan
    K McKernan
    E Bolton
    P Keenan
    J Galvin
    J Doyle
    S Cavanagh
    M Clarke
    B Brogan
    M Murphy
    C Cooper

Obviously the likes of Dec O Sullivan, Paddy Kelly, M Meehan, P Jordan, K Lacey, P Bradley, J Clarke, C Lyng, M O Se and K Donaghy all could easily slot in their anywhere.

What's this Bolton being a clown about?? Fine player.

Having thought about it:

1. Stephen Cluxton
    2. Charlie Harrison
    3. Justin McMahon
    4. Marc O'Sé
    5. Aaron Kernan
    6. Ciarán McKeever
    7. Tomás O'Sé
    8. Brendan Murphy
    9. John Galvin
    10. Paul Galvin
    11. Declan O'Sullivan
    12. John Doyle
    13. Colm Cooper
    14. Kieran Donaghy
    15. Bernard Brogan

Slight positional change in the half-backs but I think the O'Sé's are both good enough to be included.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Can't believe the amount of people still buying into the BS surrounding Canty.........at his best he was a good but not outstanding player IMO and those days are long gone too-only a bit part player over the last 18-24 months with cork and still the best in the country??? come on now lads:o

Michael Shields is rated as one of the best defenders in Ireland but if it wasn't for Canty bailing his ass out on many occasions he wouldn't be rated so highly.

Ahead of Goulding, Kelly, Clarke or Walsh take your pick really. Fcuk it play him CB if you have to, but you simply cant leave him out.

Nope your just listening to the RTE hype.Hes good against the likes of Meath,dublin and Louth.

He would struggle to make the current Cork team.

People saying that there is bias towards Cork and Kerry.They are the two best teams in the country by a good bit therefore supplying the best players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

Nope your just listening to the RTE hype.Hes good against the likes of Meath,dublin and Louth.

People saying that there is bias towards Cork and Kerry.They are the two best teams in the country by a good bit therefore supplying the best players

Indeed. I wouldn't have Doyle ahead of any of those forwards.

In saying that, he's a very, very fine footballer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭shezmagic

I share your belief that Doyle is a wee bit over-rated but he would definitely make the Cork team. Either at wing-forward or in the corner. Other Kildare forwards may have flattered to deceive in the bigger games but Doyle has generally played well, even when Kildare have lost. 1-05 against Cork in 2008, 0-07 against Tyrone in 2009, 0-06 against Down in 2010.

I agree with a lot of your team by and large. Maybe a couple of changes for me in the backs and one in attack:

Cluxton
    M. O'Se.. Shields.. J. McMahon
    T. O'Se.. McKernan.. Canty
    Walsh.. Keenan
    Galvin.. D. O'Sullivan.. Kelly
    Cooper.. B. Brogan.. Doyle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

Doyle would struggle to make the Cork team? If Doyle played for Cork they'd be going for three in a row this season. He's better than Larry Tompkins ever was!!

For what it's worth:

Stephen Cluxton
    Marc Ó Sé
    Michael Shields
    Johnny McCarthy
    Tomás Ó Sé
    Morgan O'Flaherty
    Philip Jordan
    Paddy Keenan
    Brendan Murphy
    Johnny Doyle
    Declan O'Sullivan
    Paul Galvin
    Colm Cooper
    Michael Murphy
    Bernard Brogan

Junior team: Brendan McVeigh, Peter Kelly, Justin McMahon, Philly McMahon, John Miskella, Ciarán McKeever, Emmet Bolton, Seán Cavanagh, John Galvin, Danny Hughes, Marty Clarke, Paddy Kelly, Michael Meehan, Kieran Donaghy, Niall McNamee.

For me, the best 15 is;

1. Stephen Cluxton
    2. Charlie Harrison
    3. Justin McMahon
    4. Karl Lacy
    5. Emmet Bolton
    6. Kevin McKernan
    7. Philip Jordan
    8. Brendan Murphy
    9. John Galvin
    10. Paul Galvin
    11. Declan O'Sullivan
    12. John Doyle
    13. Colm Cooper
    14. Kieran Donaghy
    15. Bernard Brogan

Err no, John Doyle is better than every one of the current Cork forwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 DamnTasty

I really doubt he would struggle. He so versatile, can play in any postion in the forwards and now in midfield as hes proving this year. His fitness/workrate is second to none.

Would have been runaway top scorer last year except his free kick taking was poor in some of the qualifier games and he only got one goal unlike brogan..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 jalock

1. Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)
    2. Charlie Harrison (Sligo)
    3. Finian Hanley (Galway)
    4. Aaron Kernan (Armagh)
    5. Tomás Ó Sé (Kerry)
    6. Ciaran McKeever (Armagh)
    7. Noel O'Leary (Cork)
    8. John Galvin (Limerick)
    9. Nicholas Murphy (Cork)
    10. Paul Galvin (Kerry)
    11. Declan O'Sullivan (Kerry)
    12. John Doyle (Kildare)
    13. Colm Cooper (Kerry)
    14. Michael Murphy (Donegal)
    15. Bernard Brogan (Dublin)

Aaron Kernan in corner back, simply because there's no room on the wings. Had to include him tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭tbukela

Nicholas Murphy is only an impact player these days, still very good but that's all.
    Doyle is a good player but wouldn't be among the top 6 forwards in the country. Paddy Kelly would be more useful on any team then him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

lol ur funny:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭looseygoosey

"He would struggle to make the current Cork team."

No Doyle would be the best on the Cork team :)

Name a player that is as good as him and i'll have a laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭eigrod

It's interesting that some have picked no Cork player at all and others just 2 or 3, given that they've won the last 2 leagues and are reigning AI champions. Perhaps this shows that Cork are just a wonderful team (greater than the sum of its parts).

Furthermore, given the way Cork play, I'd pick Pierce O' Neill before Johnny Doyle, for example. Is O' Neill a better footballer than Doyle ? No, probably not, but he's hugely important to the way Cork play, ie win the kick outs, keep possession and have strong runners at opposing defences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭harpsman

karl lacey-best corner back in ireland-by quite some way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭TopOfTheRight

For what its worth;

McVeigh (Down)
    Lacey (Donegal)
    Hughes (Monaghan)
    Hyland (Wicklow)
    McKernan (Down)
    Shields (Cork)
    Harte (Tyrone)
    Walsh (Cork)
    Galvin (Limerick)
    Galvin (Kerry)
    Kelly (Cork)
    Dec O Sullivan (Kerry)
    Cooper (Kerry)
    Brogan (Dublin)
    O Neill (Tyrone)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭will1977

Doyle would struggle to make the Cork team? If Doyle played for Cork they'd be going for three in a row this season. He's better than Larry Tompkins ever was!!

For what it's worth:

Stephen Cluxton
    Marc Ó Sé
    Michael Shields
    Johnny McCarthy
    Tomás Ó Sé
    Morgan O'Flaherty
    Philip Jordan
    Paddy Keenan
    Brendan Murphy
    Johnny Doyle
    Declan O'Sullivan
    Paul Galvin
    Colm Cooper
    Michael Murphy
    Bernard Brogan

Junior team: Brendan McVeigh, Peter Kelly, Justin McMahon, Philly McMahon, John Miskella, Ciarán McKeever, Emmet Bolton, Seán Cavanagh, John Galvin, Danny Hughes, Marty Clarke, Paddy Kelly, Michael Meehan, Kieran Donaghy, Niall McNamee.

Dont know how you can leave out Ciaran Lyng ? Not even on your Junior team !!

eigrod wrote: »
    It's interesting that some have picked no Cork player at all and others just 2 or 3, given that they've won the last 2 leagues and are reigning AI champions. Perhaps this shows that Cork are just a wonderful team (greater than the sum of its parts).

Furthermore, given the way Cork play, I'd pick Pierce O' Neill before Johnny Doyle, for example. Is O' Neill a better footballer than Doyle ? No, probably not, but he's hugely important to the way Cork play, ie win the kick outs, keep possession and have strong runners at opposing defences.

Heavens above you cannot be serious. With all due respect he's just about making the Cork 15.

"He would struggle to make the current Cork team."

No Doyle would be the best on the Cork team :)

Name a player that is as good as him and i'll have a laugh.

Paddy Kelly,Ciaran Sheehan,Daniel Goulding DOC are all better than him.

He would get in ahead of O Neill.

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    For me, the best 15 is;

1. Stephen Cluxton
    2. Charlie Harrison
    3. Justin McMahon
    4. Karl Lacy
    5. Emmet Bolton
    6. Kevin McKernan
    7. Philip Jordan
    8. Brendan Murphy
    9. John Galvin
    10. Paul Galvin
    11. Declan O'Sullivan
    12. John Doyle
    13. Colm Cooper
    14. Kieran Donaghy
    15. Bernard Brogan

No player from the current All-Ireland champions and best team in the country on the top 15.:rolleyes:

Remind me to never take you seriously again

For what its worth;

McVeigh (Down)
    Lacey (Donegal)
    Hughes (Monaghan)
    Hyland (Wicklow)
    McKernan (Down)
    Shields (Cork)
    Harte (Tyrone)
    Walsh (Cork)
    Galvin (Limerick)
    Galvin (Kerry)
    Kelly (Cork)
    Dec O Sullivan (Kerry)
    Cooper (Kerry)
    Brogan (Dublin)
    O Neill (Tyrone)

Good selection

Paddy Kelly,Ciaran Sheehan,Daniel Goulding DOC are all better than him.

He would get in ahead of O Neill.

Sure you might as well throw in O'Neill, Tompkins and JBM too. :rolleyes: