Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Religion

• 15-06-2011 7:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭

Religion
    Thursday 16th June, 2:00 to 4:00

So, heres a topic dedicated to everyones favourite thing... Bible bashi... I mean, religion...

Im not too sure of this. I got best in my class with a meagre 53% in the mock but hell, it must have been marked by the Pope. Big ups to Benedict for giving me a D+.

My method in this one is

A) Don't let the examiner know my evil athiest ways

B) Pretend to be Mother Tersa no. 2... Except male.

Perhaps I should start praying.... Or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Exoskeleton

Im not too sure of this. I got best in my class with a meagre 53% in the mock but hell, it must have been marked by the Pope. Big ups to Benedict for giving me a D+.

Aw jaysus you're such a swot!
    I got 68% in the mock I think but I didn't study at all, and I was lucky cause the similarities and differences between Science and Religion came up and I just rambled on about aliens and stuff.
    A) Don't let the examiner know my evil athiest ways

You should let them know! If you do, you win 1,000 internets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Moromaster

RELIGION IS WAFFLE.

Just write about nonsense like 'being filled with the glory of the holy spirit' and 'bringing the mystery of the kingdom of God to earth'.

Don't ever mention anything that discredits religion. I did my religion mock twice, one where I was openly secularist and gave relevant points against religion. Then my other I wrote about (basically) how amazing Jesus is and how it's wonderful nonsense yadah yah.

I got 79 in the former and 90 in the latter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Terri26

The above comment is not true. You do not have to pretend to be of any faith persuasion. Sure secularism is a concept on the course anyway. Just don't be disrespectful of any faith belief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 AnnKiins

I agree with Terri, I wouldn't slag off any Religion, it's quite disrespectful.

Gonna go in with my rosary beads and hope for the best anyway xD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭P H A 7V T O M

Moromaster wrote: »
    RELIGION IS WAFFLE.

Thous't speaketh the truth...eth

The_Holy_Waffle_by_Feoen.jpg

@ P H A 7V T O M-
    Omg, I lol'ed xDD

Thous't speaketh the truth...eth

The_Holy_Waffle_by_Feoen.jpg

That's the nicest waffle I've ever seen.
    Although I'm not going to comment on the worst waffle I've seen..
    This is my religion revision.. lol. :P

That's the nicest waffle I've ever seen.
    Although I'm not going to comment on the worst waffle I've seen..
    This is my religion revision.. lol. :P

My stomach acid says no, but my balls say yes....

"his 'ed says no,
    but iz baws say yes,
    Head:no. Balls:YES"

I think its in this video (the quote). I cant check due to Youtube not working on iPhones....

Maybe I should write down the link for this thread and tell them I'm P H A 7V T O M???? It might mean extra marks?

My stomach acid says no, but my balls say yes....

"his 'ed says no,
    but iz baws say yes,
    Head:no. Balls:YES"

I think its in this video (the quote). I cant check due to Youtube not working on iPhones....

All I see is a white screen, although it does go blue when I highlight it. :cool:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_8qsqh885DM

BOOM!
    Now I get the reference!

That chap should go on the Irish Dragon's Den, maybe it'll make it more interesting.. *scratches developing beard*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

Lads...... Keep it relevant please?

Don't want to have to go deleting posts...

That was an ok exam, I wrote rather a lot of the potato-ey stuff seen in my previous post on some of the questions. Should get a B though....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Indiego

That was an ok exam, I wrote rather a lot of the potato-ey stuff seen in my previous post on some of the questions. Should get a B though....

Yeahh I kept going on about the 'love of god' and how everyone is loved blahhh blahhh blahhhh XD
    i thought the essay titles were quite poor this year though :/
    and i think i got full marks for sections 1-3, i answered two of the long questions really well (the moral challenge one and the one about atheism and agnostisism) and kind of bsed 2 of them, and then i only had 15 mins for the essay, and there were only 3 people left in the hall :L
    i did the essay on materialism and secularism, and i waffled sooooooooooo much :P then i freaked out outside the exam because i started doubting that i knew what they meant, and that i had writted the essay on the wrong things, but im soo relieved i didnt ^^
    probably got a low B :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Doublechinlolz

MarkD09 wrote: »

I really ranted on the most random things ever...
    For the sacrafise thingy what did yous do?
    I wrote about Jesus dying on the cross but I'm not sure if that was the right answer or not x__x

AnnKiins wrote: »
    They barely put in Christianity anymore, your better off being a Muslim for these Religion exams :¬|

I really ranted on the most random things ever...
    For the sacrafise thingy what did yous do?
    I wrote about Jesus dying on the cross but I'm not sure if that was the right answer or not x__x
    No, Jesus dying on the cross was the best one you could've done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 ITDemo

For one of the questions I wrote about the Greek Gods...
    It was the one about polytheism... I know it's not on the curriculum but meh... Had nothing else to write about it :P

ITDemo wrote: »
    For one of the questions I wrote about the Greek Gods...
    It was the one about polytheism... I know it's not on the curriculum but meh... Had nothing else to write about it :P

Ha I gave one on Ancient Romans Gods, whats the changes of that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭VenomousFish

I'm so glad our school doesn't make us do religion as an exam subject, it'd be a definite fail for me. I once said in a class test that the reason god allows bad things to happen is because he doesn't exist. And I go to a Jesuit school...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭cantanstrophe

I'm so glad our school doesn't make us do religion as an exam subject, it'd be a definite fail for me. I once said in a class test that the reason god allows bad things to happen is because he doesn't exist. And I go to a Jesuit school...

You, sir, win one internet.

Doing an exam in religion means you learn about the religion, it's not a test about your faith, it's you learning about things.

In that test, you were supposed to explain why God wouldn't intervene in say an natural disaster/someone having cancer, you weren't asked about his existence, you were being asked about what believe about their God being a non-intervening God.

I'm an atheist, and I did religion for the Junior and Leaving Cert, why? Because I find religion interesting.

Being an overly antagonistic atheist will just perpetuate the stereotype that all atheists are like that, I'll happily laugh at how absurd certain beliefs are, but people believe in them for some reason or another, and their perfectly entitled to, so insulting them just isn't on...

/So much rambling.... Basically, in an exam, unless you're asked for your opinion, your opinion doesn't matter, you can't prove God doesn't exist, so stating that without proof is meaningless...ramblerambleramble

Fad wrote: »
    Doing an exam in religion means you learn about the religion, it's not a test about your faith, it's you learning about things.

In that test, you were supposed to explain why God wouldn't intervene in say an natural disaster/someone having cancer, you weren't asked about his existence, you were being asked about what believe about their God being a non-intervening God.

I'm an atheist, and I did religion for the Junior and Leaving Cert, why? Because I find religion interesting.

Being an overly antagonistic atheist will just perpetuate the stereotype that all atheists are like that, I'll happily laugh at how absurd certain beliefs are, but people believe in them for some reason or another, and their perfectly entitled to, so insulting them just isn't on...

/So much rambling.... Basically, in an exam, unless you're asked for your opinion, your opinion doesn't matter, you can't prove God doesn't exist, so stating that without proof is meaningless...ramblerambleramble

Then, surely, the question should have been "If God exists, why does he let bad things happen?". The question was leading anyway.

RIP Cantanstrophe
    :(

RIP Cantanstrophe
    :(

...?

...?

From what i've been told,its not a good idea to argue with a mod.. It never goes down well..
    Bom bom boooom.

From what i've been told,its not a good idea to argue with a mod.. It never goes down well..
    Bom bom boooom.
    Yeah, it's like getting into heaven and punching God in the nuts.

I think it depends on whether the Mod considers him/herself an absolute dictator within the world of forums/bulletin boards. Some do accept criticicisms from non-mods, whereas other will strike down upon thee with the ban-hammer.

On topic, though, Religion is rather a lot of common sense, just having a general knowledge of religions and conflicts regarding them should get you through quite a lot.

Bom bom boooom.

I never noticed the user was a mod TBH :o

Lol i'm only winding you up, you'll be fine! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭VenomousFish

Fad wrote: »

I think you kind of misinterpreted what I was saying. I'm not one of those 'All-Christians-Are-Stupid-And-Should-Be-Eliminated' Atheists. I was just saying I find it hard to say what they want me to hear. I don't like insuting people on the basis of their religion any more than you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Terri26

If that's the case and you don't want to say you believe/ don't believe you write "Christians believe that ......., Muslims believe that ...... You won't lose any marks for writing in the third person and doing this you do not insult any faith belief or those of none. Anyway it's over now nice enough paper and I hope you all did well in it.

Bom bom boooom.

Arguing with a mod when it's regarding moderation issues is not on, however, my opinion about religion is not indefensible, you can argue with that, if you're being reasonable...

Basically, unless if I'm dealing with another user being an asshat or doing some other mod work, I'm just another poster.