Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You wouldnt believe this guy

• 14-06-2011 6:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭

Was out shooting the other evening and I heard someone squealing over the hill. A few min later and the unmistakable BANG BANG off a double barrell. Peered over the brow of the hill to see a fox running away.
    Told this story of a failed shot to a friend of mine who informed me that this guy goes out lamping and squealing for foxes and fires two shots into the air to make them lamp shy because he hunts with hounds and doesnt want them shot. I wouldnt mind only this part of the countryside is crawling with foxes.

I'm tempted to go out some evening and follow him and when he calls in a fox ill drop it at his feet the prick.

Its one thing to disagree with one mans sport its another to interfeer.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

Was out shooting the other evening and I heard someone squealing over the hill. A few min later and the unmistakable BANG BANG off a double barrell. Peered over the brow of the hill to see a fox running away.
    Told this story of a failed shot to a friend of mine who informed me that this guy goes out lamping and squealing for foxes and fires two shots into the air to make them lamp shy because he hunts with hounds and doesnt want them shot. I wouldnt mind only this part of the countryside is crawling with foxes.

I'm tempted to go out some evening and follow him and when he calls in a fox ill drop it at his feet the prick.

I agree go for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭rabbit assassin

fecks sake as if foxes werent shy enough ! dont stand for that carry on!! we had a chap doing the exact same , luckily it was on gun club land and he wasnt a member so we were able to take action. its an incredibly selfish thing to be doing. makes me very angry to hear its actually going on in other places ... some people think they own the countryside :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

what a complete twat:mad: id shot the fox right in front of him! some people just spoil others fun:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭browning 12 bore

well done fella yes do drop it right at his feet i would anyway good hunting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

Is this in south tipp by any chance? Because a guy I know from ballingarry told me the exact same thing about 6 months ago.
    I think he said that the guy in question owned the pack of hounds that that particular hunt work with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 shane32819

That's ridiculous carry on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭pugw

I would have some sympathy for him if the foxes were scarce but if there plentiful like you say he's just being a muppet! A lot of those hound men think that they own the foxes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

thats F**king crazy. does he have permission to be on the land? inform the farmer what he is doing too. im sure he wants foxes shot on his land if he has lambs and what not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

pugw wrote: »
    I would have some sympathy for him if the foxes were scarce but if there plentiful like you say he's just being a muppet! !

Indeed - I know of one place near here with at least 5 sets in barely 500 acres!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭session savage

Yeah its south tipp.. Must be the same guy declan.
    Within a 10min walk of where I am there are 4 different sets of cubs and vixen. I have counted 15 different cub foxes here in the last couple of weeks. (using my spotting scope)
    Its been pissing rain here all eve and I very much doubt he would be out in it, but I'm gonna have to listen out for him and drop every fox he calls in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Xplor.er

F**kers in Co Monaghan are at that sh*t now too:mad:. A man(one of those hound lovin f**kers) once thretened to break my gun if i shoot any more foxs.

P.S: it didnt stop me shooting

Xplor.er wrote: »
    F**kers in Co Monaghan are at that sh*t now too:mad:. A man(one of those hound lovin f**kers) once thretened to break my gun if i shoot any more foxs.

P.S: it didnt stop me shooting

LMAO ive a funny feeling your talking about a family member of mine:D in monaghan, dont worry if it is, he threatened me as well when i dug out 4 foxes around his hunting ground 2 days before a hunt:D not a very nice man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Xplor.er

i couldnt give a f**k if it was a relative or the pope, it still wouldnt stop me shooting:D

Xplor.er wrote: »
    i couldnt give a f**k if it was a relative or the pope, it still wouldnt stop me shooting:D

+1;) my attitude as well hehehehehe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭rowa

There used to be an overgrown field on the wicklow/kildare border, the area was walking with foxes and was a hunt area , they were feeding the foxes and the hunt always used to draw near this field.
    Hunting with hounds has nothing to do with vermin control.

rowa wrote: »
    There used to be an overgrown field on the wicklow/kildare border, the area was walking with foxes and was a hunt area , they were feeding the foxes and the hunt always used to draw near this field.

These people mustn't get out much if they think there is a shortage of foxes in that area:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

A guy who lets my friend and I shoot his land asked us not to shoot any foxes on it as he hunts but work away on anything else, said no bother would respect his wishes. My friends uncle owns the land beside his, so instead we call the foxes onto that land and shoot them there. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

I’ve never heard of this happening- it had never even crossed my mind!!!

I would LOVE to see you shoot a fox that he'd called in. That would be comedy gold!

Have you tried talking to the landowner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

Yeah its south tipp.. Must be the same guy declan.
    Within a 10min walk of where I am there are 4 different sets of cubs and vixen. I have counted 15 different cub foxes here in the last couple of weeks. (using my spotting scope)
    Its been pissing rain here all eve and I very much doubt he would be out in it, but I'm gonna have to listen out for him and drop every fox he calls in.

I'm in south tip. Give me a buz the next time you are heading out and we will sort out this lad. By shooting his foxes that is. See how he likes it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Wee bit of advice ............... take it or leave it ;)

Don't get involved ................ cribbing to landowners can/will lead to EVERYONE being refused access :eek:

What if he goes to Gardai and claims you were shooting towards/near/at him :eek:?

This goes on in my area too. A few of the local 'hunt' crowd were giving off stink here that the lads in the gun club were shooting ALL the foxes in our area. They created a holy hullaboo over it too. Went to local landowners whinging and even went to NARGC (I'm nearly sure it was) and complained too :rolleyes:

Landowners don't want to fall out with anyone and as a result a lot of land was 'closed' to all hunting in order save themselves the hassle :(

Of course part of the reason was some lads were bragging about how many foxes they were shooting and in a small locality word got around !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Hezz700

Don't get involved ................ cribbing to landowners can/will lead to EVERYONE being refused access :eek:

What if he goes to Gardai and claims you were shooting towards/near/at him :eek:?

A very valid point.

No good will come of it.

P.S. Bunny.... never realized your were so sensible.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

This goes on in my area too. A few of the local 'hunt' crowd were giving off stink here that the lads in the gun club were shooting ALL the foxes in our area. They created a holy hullaboo over it too. Went to local landowners whinging and even went to NARGC (I'm nearly sure it was) and complained too :rolleyes:

Landowners don't want to fall out with anyone and as a result a lot of land was 'closed' to all hunting in order save themselves the hassle :(

Of course part of the reason was some lads were bragging about how many foxes they were shooting and in a small locality word got around !

Who are you and what have you done with bunnyshooter. :D

Hezz700 wrote: »
    A very valid point.

No good will come of it.

P.S. Bunny.... never realized your were so sensible.:)
    poulo6.5 wrote: »
    Who are you and what have you done with bunnyshooter. :D

:D I've kidnapped him and am holding him hostage and now I'm gonna post loads of good advice & helpful posts just to ruin his reputation for being a bad ass :P

My god poor bunny shooter, make sure you dispatch him quickly :D And don't listen to his stories about all those 204 kills:p

I go away for 6 months and this is what happens.:D

Its a sign oh great one, dont leave us alone like that :D

Howdy Hezz good to have ya back on ;)

Having bunny for supper tonight :) ............................... Not 'the' bunny ! Away to sort them now :)

homerhop wrote: »
    Its a sign oh great one, dont leave us alone like that :D

Less of the back talk blondie, i know were you live.;)

Careful Tuco .....http://youtu.be/6thuiB_Kl7E?t=26s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭berettaman

Amazed at the contents of the OP. Never saw sabotage of that order before, dunno how I'd react.
    Quote from Bunny shooter- "Of course part of the reason was some lads were bragging about how many foxes they were shooting and in a small locality word got around !" Bunnyshooter is dead right. A lot of guys talking BS in small villages/pubs etc about how many they have killed and the hunting on horseback fraternity feel agrieved. Better to say nothing . I've heard of fox hunters complaining about lack of foxes yet every night we can call 5 or 6..sure they only need one fox anyway..:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

i had a chuckle at the last sentence of the op's post
    as that's exactly what he probably feels your doing to his sport :D

At the end of the day there is plenty of foxes for the dogmen, gun men, lampers and horse people to enjoy, which I is why I don't understand what all the fuss is about from certain elements:confused:

landkeeper wrote: »
    i had a chuckle at the last sentence of the op's post
    as that's exactly what he probably feels your doing to his sport :D

Well spotted :)
    Birdnuts wrote: »
    At the end of the day there is plenty of foxes for the dogmen, gun men, lampers and horse people to enjoy, which I is why I don't understand what all the fuss is about from certain elements:confused:

Exactly ;)

I never go out and not meet a fox, mightn't always get a shot but I always see them :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭fallowbuck

declan1980 wrote: »
    Is this in south tipp by any chance? Because a guy I know from ballingarry told me the exact same thing about 6 months ago.
    I think he said that the guy in question owned the pack of hounds that that particular hunt work with

Yeah i no that feckless idiot i lived in that parish for 20 years , he keeps blocking earths never thinks of opening them even badger sets poor guy's cant get out . I had words with him over the sett situation i might aswell be talking to the wall he is just plain dumb. He thinks he own,s the world if its the guy im on bought he live between ballingarry and the commons area. I was seriously thinking of leaving snares over the land where he hunts for his hounds to run into??????????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

What did the hounds do???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭.243

the next cpl of foxes ye shoot,get save em till the morning before the hunt and drag em all over the country side in all directions that should confuse the hounds scent,the hunt will never get a straight run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭bazza888

why do something that careless that would make you even worse than him,his dogs dont block the sets etc

fallowbuck wrote: »
    Yeah i no that feckless idiot i lived in that parish for 20 years , he keeps blocking earths never thinks of opening them even badger sets poor guy's cant get out . I had words with him over the sett situation i might aswell be talking to the wall he is just plain dumb. He thinks he own,s the world if its the guy im on bought he live between ballingarry and the commons area. I was seriously thinking of leaving snares over the land where he hunts for his hounds to run into??????????????

id be very vigilant on snaring a hound ;) those lads are not the sharpest tool in the shed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭Vizzy

fallowbuck wrote: »

You want to snare his hounds ??:mad:

That will really endear you to the hunting community( and the Gardai)

How will you feel when he shoots your dog?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭fallowbuck

Guys i was nt going to snare the hounds honestly , sure would love to put him in his place that s all ( I honestly wont be doing that):rolleyes: How do you stop such an fool who is so head strong ?? . I dont hunt that area much anymore but it aint fair on the guys up there . No huntsman want that crap on there doorstep do they??