Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Close Call

• 14-06-2011 6:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭

This is a video of a hunter who gets a little too close for comfort with a "Cape Buffalo" hes just shot..........One Lucky Man.

I had a similar experience with a rabbit once myself - but I dont like talking about it......:(

http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=633_1307848873

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭robertpatterson

Theres another one with a lion
    http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=ea6_1181811701

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 shane32819

thats unreal close!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭mauser77

Jesus thats way to close the lion vid they were lucky a person didnt get shot as well as the lion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

mauser77 wrote: »
    Jesus thats way to close the lion vid they were lucky a person didnt get shot as well as the lion

thats what i was about to say, there was a lad right to the chap when he shot the lion, he was nearly shot:eek: id say if they where using a 204 it would of been one shot one kill:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Spunk84 wrote: »
    thats what i was about to say, there was a lad right to the chap when he shot the lion, he was nearly shot:eek: id say if they where using a 204 it would of been one shot one kill:rolleyes:

Exactly - the scenes in that video is the type of cr*p that gives hunting a bad name. The length of time it took for that Lion to die was disgracefull and sickening:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

pity all 4 people in the 2 vidoes werent killed. why do people have have to sit there and watch the animal slowly die instead of just firing a second shot so its over and done fast. hate people like that. its not that difficult to chamber another round.

rant over:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭pedroeibar1

The lion hunt was a 'canned' hunt, the lion was in an enclosure, (look at the posts) it happened years ago, was all over the web at the time, hunter was a rich guy from Texas and the PH I think lost his licence.
    P.

The lion hunt was a 'canned' hunt, the lion was in an enclosure, (look at the posts) it happened years ago, was all over the web at the time, hunter was a rich guy from Texas and the PH I think lost his licence.
    P.

Christ - that makes it even worse:eek::(

PS: I've heard from mates in SA that this kind of thing still goes on using Lions that are basically pets having been hand reared as cubs!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

vixdname wrote: »
    This is a video of a hunter who gets a little too close for comfort with a "Cape Buffalo" hes just shot..........One Lucky Man.
    Thats why its called dangerous African game!!
    Just shows how tough they are..Four shots with a .500,and the final one in the brain!!He did everything right apart from the approach to the game.Came in from behind,very wise,but was no way ready for the Buff to get up,as you can see the way he is holding the gun.:rolleyes:.He expected it dead!It wasnt!The moment he saw its head come up,a double tap into its spine and chest cavity was in order..Bet he never felt more alive in the day after that incident!!:eek::cool:
    I had a similar experience with a rabbit once myself - but I dont like talking about it......:(
    your Grace... Bishop Brennan??:eek:
    Trapped in an elevator in New York,and they started to nibble your cape??:D

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭patsat

God only knows how some of these idiots make it through hunting trips alive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭vixdname

your Grace... Bishop Brennan??:eek:
    Trapped in an elevator in New York,and they started to nibble your cape??

Yes Griz, tis myself alright, my cape was never the same after it....:(
    As Fr. Jack once called them...."Hairy Japanese Bastards" !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

When this first aired in the states, the report was that this particular lion was a man eater and if memory served me correctly, was still stalking a village.

Man eaters must be stalked and killed.
    Birdnuts wrote: »
    Exactly - the scenes in that video is the type of cr*p that gives hunting a bad name. The length of time it took for that Lion to die was disgracefull and sickening:mad:

Let's have a look at 23 seconds on youtube when the first shot is taken.

I am not sure about the other hunters out there, but after you hit your prey, you don't go running up to it, not a deer, and especially not if it could eat you.:pac::pac::pac: You wait.

Why wait? Well, did you see the cut in the footage? What happened next? The Lion charged. Sorry Birdnuts. You wait or you die. This is something ye may need to learn if those big cat stories suss out in Eire!;)
    garv123 wrote: »
    pity all 4 people in the 2 vidoes werent killed. why do people have have to sit there and watch the animal slowly die instead of just firing a second shot so its over and done fast. hate people like that. its not that difficult to chamber another round.
    rant overcool.gif
    That's pretty harsh. That scrub was pretty thick and tall. Perhaps, you are brave enough to run in and, for the lion's sake, finish him off. However, I would done exactly what this group did.

Also, this is dangerous game, not bambi. Lions don't get that "oh $hit, I've been shot, I better take it easy attitude." You shoot again, and miss the brain, you just might give the Lion a reason charge. That second shot may lead only to a controlled insanity charge. Sorry Garv, for dangerous game, you do exactly as they did.
    P.

There's no evidence of a fence.

At best I can make out a few blurry vertical dark lines that could just be old stripped trees. Additionally, there's no regular spacing pattern as would be expected.

Note the "posts" are only in the foreground. When the lion attacks, there are no "posts" in the open area, had he continued his run.

If anyone believes there is clear evidence for fencing or posts, please screen shot and circle.

If we had better images, perhaps, I would conclude the vertical images to be a fence post - maybe designed to keep the animals in, as in a preserve. Didn't the Malawi maneaters break out of such a preserve?

A canned hunt? Not too many canned hunts out there using animals quite so, lively, shall we say.

Ah yes, rich AND from Texas. Most of the lads have a distinct Afrikaans way of speaking. However, I am unable to place this accent as Texan.

I will say though that if you listen closely, I think I did hear a Mayo accent! Would have sworn I heard someone say Ayr ruh g'won, will ye feckin shoot before he 8's us!:D

Seriously, lads, the rich texan, the evil hunters, and the canned hunt has all the makings of internet rumor-mill started by anti's.

Has anyone any credible link to any source for this info?

FISMA wrote: »
    When this first aired in the states, the report was that this particular lion was a man eater and if memory served me correctly, was still stalking a village.

I am not sure about the other hunters out there, but after you hit your prey, you don't go running up to it, not a deer, and especially not if it could eat you.:pac::pac::pac: You wait.

Why wait? Well, did you see the cut in the footage? What happened next? The Lion charged. Sorry Birdnuts. You wait or you die. This is something ye may need to learn if those big cat stories suss out in Eire!;)

?

This was aired on "When Animals Attack" - a rubbish low brow programme that shows all kind of incidents mainly involving captive wild animals like Elephants, crocodiles etc. lashing out at their tormenters, usually in appallling welfare situations like dodgy asian zoos,circuses or theme parks. The claims about this case turned out to be false and the hunt was indeed a canned hunt - which beleive me still goes on in SA at least(I was out there last year and there was quiet a debate going on about it at the time since there was increasing evidence that certain breeding centres that claimed to be saving wild populations were actually supplying animals to illegal canned hunts)

In any case it was clear that the Lion was dispatched in a very sloppy way with little evidence of any professional trackers or experienced big game hunters present:(

PS: I've also seen footage of Masai hunting lions with spears filmed in the 30's - it was way more professional then what these goons managed!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭pedroeibar1

FISMA wrote: »

That's pretty harsh. That scrub was pretty thick and tall. Perhaps, you are brave enough to run in and, for the lion's sake, finish him off. However, I would done exactly what this group did.

Also, this is dangerous game, not bambi. Lions don't get that "oh $hit, I've been shot, I better take it easy attitude." You shoot again, and miss the brain, you just might give the Lion a reason charge. That second shot may lead only to a controlled insanity charge. Sorry Garv, for dangerous game, you do exactly as they did.

There's no evidence of a fence.

At best I can make out a few blurry vertical dark lines that could just be old stripped trees. Additionally, there's no regular spacing pattern as would be expected.

Note the "posts" are only in the foreground. When the lion attacks, there are no "posts" in the open area, had he continued his run.

If anyone believes there is clear evidence for fencing or posts, please screen shot and circle.

If we had better images, perhaps, I would conclude the vertical images to be a fence post - maybe designed to keep the animals in, as in a preserve. Didn't the Malawi maneaters break out of such a preserve?

A canned hunt? Not too many canned hunts out there using animals quite so, lively, shall we say.

Ah yes, rich AND from Texas. Most of the lads have a distinct Afrikaans way of speaking. However, I am unable to place this accent as Texan.

I will say though that if you listen closely, I think I did hear a Mayo accent! Would have sworn I heard someone say Ayr ruh g'won, will ye feckin shoot before he 8's us!:D

Seriously, lads, the rich texan, the evil hunters, and the canned hunt has all the makings of internet rumor-mill started by anti's.

Has anyone any credible link to any source for this info?

Fisma,

That is probably the most illogical, pedantic and querulous post I’ve read in quite a while.
    The lion video is years old, the (I think) original version can be seen at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qoCzBb7zdb8 .
    In it the fence posts and spacing are clearly defined, particularly about 18 -22 secs into the clip.

That 'hunt' took place in Botswana, where anyone with $50,000 (maybe more today) can buy a lion to kill. Most of the lions for those canned hunts are bred in captivity and released into a fenced area a few days earlier. The size of the area does not matter, because the lion is ‘chipped’ and then located by a tracking device. (Can’t have wealthy, unfit clients getting too tired or sweaty in the bush.)

Two well-known safari hunter organizers (Lammie Potgieter from Hunters Unlimited, and Bob Luna from Colorado Hunting Expeditions) actually have advertised their names on that clip. It caused a huge outcry among the big game shooting community at the time, and a major PR campaign was launched for damage limitation, with all sorts of misinformation (lies) about the lion being a man-eater.

Read last ‘Sunday Times’ colour magazine, there is a superb (grotesque?) photomontage of current ‘Big 5’ shooting in SA. The article also states that most of the hunters come from the US, (18,000 mainly from anonymous towns in the US, spending $122 million. )

In that lion clip the lack of safety alone (background, wild shooting, swinging guns through spectators, shooters, etc) makes that 'hunt' a disgrace and does the sport a disservice. As for the paranoid comments about antis, with 'hunters' and activities like the one in the clip, enough said....
    P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭browning 12 bore

bloody brill there guys i had deer after me one time alright so i jumped on his back and slit his throat it was either me or him with them great big antlers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭browning 12 bore

very good guys had the same myself one time where big stag went after me so i had no bullets in gun only knife so i jumped on his back and slit his throat it was either him or me

I feel your pain :(

I shot a rabbit once, I thought I had hit it in the head because he dropped like a stone into the long grass.
    I went over to him and he was lying in the grass with his head buried into the grass and his back to me.
    I gave him a push with my boot and slowly the rabbit turned his head around and looked at me - he had fire in his eyes with pure rage.
    I knew there and then that this was going to be a fight to the death.
    He looked at me with those fierce eyes and in an instant he opened his mouth and squealed at the top of his voice and jumped up in to the air and latched onto my throat.
    I hit the deck, and rolled around the field holding the rabbit by the neck, his back legs swinging around in the air behind him.
    Slowly his grip around my neck weakened and I managed to pull him off me.
    I held him in my right hand with my arm fully extended in front of me, and he kicking and bucking to try and get at me, but luckily for me there was a big boulder at the gap into the next field so with all my might I belted him a few times off of the rock until he finally gave up the ghost. He kicked and twitched for 17 hrs after I killed him.

As i said in my previous post - I dont talk about this very often, but when I do my psychiatrist seems very interested. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

vixdname wrote: »
    I feel your pain :(

I shot a rabbit once, I thought I had hit it in the head because he dropped like a stone into the long grass.
    I went over to him and he was lying in the grass with his head buried into the grass and his back to me.
    I gave him a push with my boot and slowly the rabbit turned his head around and looked at me - he had fire in his eyes with pure rage.
    I knew there and then that this was going to be a fight to the death.
    He looked at me with those fierce eyes and in an instant he opened his mouth and squealed at the top of his voice and jumped up in to the air and latched onto my throat.
    I hit the deck, and rolled around the field holding the rabbit by the neck, his back legs swinging around in the air behind him.
    Slowly his grip around my neck weakened and I managed to pull him off me.
    I held him in my right hand with my arm fully extended in front of me and luckily for me there was a big boulder and the gap into the next field so with all my might I belted him a few times off of the rock until he finally gave up the ghost. He kicked and twitched for 17 hrs after I killed him.

As i said in my previous post - I dont talk about this very often, but when I do my psychiatrist seems very interested. :D

You got away light Vix, We entered the Barrow delta one evening, word around the place was charlie had been seen scouting the area. We were not quiet sure how many we would encounter but went prepared, alphamax for close quarters and the swift for any long range we may have come across. Working through the reids and scrub we knew we were being watched, that eerie feeling ya get that makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand.... getting over a fallen tree they struck one went left and the other flanked us back to the right. I got two shots off dropping one, but it was too late they already had me by the leg,teeth sinking in ripping flesh and breaking bone. No matter how hard i smashed the butt of the gun down they wouldnt let go. It seemed to go on for hours but later my mates said it was so fast they didnt get the rifle off their shoulders and a round in. Up to that day my friends just referred to me as homer...... Now the local kids see me walking and point saying theres hoppy.

homerhop wrote: »
    You got away light Vix, We entered the Barrow delta one evening, word around the place was charlie had been seen scouting the area. We were not quiet sure how many we would encounter but went prepared, alphamax for close quarters and the swift for any long range we may have come across. Working through the reids and scrub we knew we were being watched, that eerie feeling ya get that makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand.... getting over a fallen tree they struck one went left and the other flanked us back to the right. I got two shots off dropping one, but it was too late they already had me by the leg,teeth sinking in ripping flesh and breaking bone. No matter how hard i smashed the butt of the gun down they wouldnt let go. It seemed to go on for hours but later my mates said it was so fast they didnt get the rifle off their shoulders and a round in. Up to that day my friends just referred to me as homer...... Now the local kids see me walking and point saying theres hoppy.

I feel humbled .....:(