Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your 5 favorite Radio shows.

• 14-06-2011 5:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭

Hi guys,

I want to broaden my horizons a little and find some good radio shows that I don't yet know of.

My current favourites are

1)Ian Dempsey Breakfast show. Quiet Funny.
    2)Ray Foley. I get that kind of humor.
    3)The Last Word. Good debate and discussion.
    4)Moncrieff. Interesting show. Can be talking about anything.
    5)Off the Ball. Good discussion on sports.
    6)Phoneshow with Adrian Kennedy. Headers on the radio. Funny stuff.

What shows do you love? I'd like to find some good ones to listen to.

Hate
    1) Tony Fenton. Most fake presenter I've ever had the misfortune to listen to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I love the Sunday radio shows.. tend to download all the podcasts on Sunday afternoon, well there's usually at least two of them available by then.. so

1) Marian Finucane Show (I like the discussion of the papers and the quality of panelists, not the queen herself)
    2) Dunphy, (same show only without the RTE baggage)
    3) Off The Ball (Brilliant Show)
    4) Pat Kenny Show (first hour of it anyway)
    5) Liveline (especially when they have some complete fkn fruitcake on it, besides Joe that is)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

1) adam and joe (bbc 6music)
    2) moncreiff
    3) off the ball
    4) 6 music breakfast show
    5) hmmmm.... whatever's repeated on sunday night on radio 1 after 2am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭diceyreilly

fm 104 phone show
    Miriam meets
    Liveline
    Ian Dempsey breakfast show
    Keyes and Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

Talking history - newstalk
    Dunphy - newstalk
    Off The Ball - newstalk
    Playback on saturday morning - radio 1
    Liveline with 'ahh talk to joe', for a laugh when I get a chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,366 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

1 Off The Ball newstalk
    2 Fighting Talk bbc radio 5
    3 606 bbc radio 5
    4 the south wind blows rte
    5 documentary on one / curious ear rte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭salad dodger

Likes (in no particular order):
    • Chris Moyles Show (radio 1)
    • Off the Ball (newstalk)
    • Kermode and Mayo's film review (5 live)
    • Up all night (5 Live)
    • Morning Ireland (rte 1)
    • Sunday miscellany (rte 1)
    • Sean Moncrieff (newstalk)
    • Tom Dunne (newstalk)
    • Jenny Greenes Electric Disco (2fm)
    • Cormac Battles Battleaxe (2fm)

Dislikes:
    tubridy
    darcy
    ruth scott
    fenton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

1) Pat Kenny, especially when there is a political storm brewing. 2) Morning Ireland, always very good, sometimes brilliant radio. 3) News at 1, Sean O' Rourke is simply the best current affairs journalist on any station. 4) Marion. I actually prefer the Saturday show when she has an interesting guest on. 5) Liveline. This show has its faults but nearly always worth a listen. Honourable mentions to Mooney, The Monday night club on 5Live, The Last Word. Off The Ball and Ken Bruce BBC Radio2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Off The Ball - Newstalk
    The Last Word - Today FM
    Talking History - Newstalk
    Sean Moncrieff's show - Newstalk
    Lunchtime with Johnaton Healy (used to be Damien Kybert) - Newstalk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Woody_FX

Thanks for all the input so far lads! I've got a few radio shows now to listen into.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Adam and Joe - (Genuinely make me LOL. Not internet LOL, proper LOL). BBC 6 Radio.
    The Moncrieff Show - Newstalk
    Morning Ireland -Radio 1
    The South Wind Blows - Radio 1
    Talking History - Newstalk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Poochie05

Moncrieff - Newstalk
    Ian Dempsey Breakfast Show
    Sunday Miscellany - RTE 1 Sunday Mornings
    The World Report - RTE1 Saturday mornings - world news that should be on the mainstream news but rarely is
    and
    Tales from the Archive on RTE 1 by John Bowman on Sunday mornings can sometimes be worth a listen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Tommy Murphy

Today, Radio 4.
    Morning Ireland.
    The World Tonight, Radio 4.
    Up All Night (Especially on Friday nights / Saturday mornings).
    Five Live commentaries during the soccer season.
    Five Live coverage of the golf majors.
    Sideline View (Clare Fm, Friday's)
    Weeshie Fogarty (Radio Kerry).
    Random stuff on NPR / BBC World Service / Talksport.
    Playback.
    The Last Word.
    GAA commentaries on RTE - (even though Micheál O'M has retired)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

1)Pat Kenny
    2)Last word
    3)Battle Axe
    4)Sam Smyth
    5)History Show Sunday eve RTE1

Poochie05 wrote: »
    Moncrieff - Newstalk
    Ian Dempsey Breakfast Show
    Sunday Miscellany - RTE 1 Sunday Mornings
    The World Report - RTE1 Saturday mornings - world news that should be on the mainstream news but rarely is
    and
    Tales from the Archive on RTE 1 by John Bowman on Sunday mornings can sometimes be worth a listen
    +1 for World report, there was an interesting story about job vacancies in Australia, something like 200,000

PM with Eddie Mair on BBC Radio 4

I am shocked by the number of you who list Pat Kenny. Guy really turns me off. But i guess a lot must enjoy him if he is holding down a gig in RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Ave Nocturna

I couldn't limit it to just 5

• Moncrieff
    • Breakfast show on Newstalk
    • Afternoon show on Newstalk
    • Today with Pat Kenny (Just a pity it IS with Pat Kenny!) :P
    • Metal notes on Phantom (Other than this show and the odd Nova binge, I don't tend to listen to music on the radio)
    • Generally the line-up from 2am on Saturday and Sunday (Repeats of MF show, The business, Saturday view... MF, This week / Dunphy, Whatever Fionn Davenport's show is called now...)
    And now my guilty pleasures (tabloid radio!)
    • Liveline (If I can stomach it... Too much grunting/crankiness makes me switch off)
    • Phoneshow on Fm104
    • LBC 97.3 - ANY of the shows. They're all pretty similar anyway (Generally the guy who is on at 5am is good, light radio)

Will tune into various BBC stations, New Jersey 101.5 (rarely) and ABC Sydney.

I throw myself around a bit... In radio terms anyway. Clearly some of the shows would have to be repeats/podcasts as they're on simultaneously.

I'll listen to anything to try distract myself.

First show that comes to mind when I think of what I dislike would be Shenanigans with Sile Seoige. Too much "Awww"-ing for my liking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Skyrim

Favourite shows:
    Ian Dempsey
    Pat Kenny
    Ray Foley
    Matt Cooper
    KC
    Premier Soccer Saturday ( Don't mind McMullan as much as other people)
    D'arcy... i suppose
    Off the ball
    Tony Fenton ( Yeah i know, but easier to listen to than Mooney and Liveline)

Most days when my parents are around, the dial stays on rte1:
    I don't mind Ronan Collins, n ointerest either but my parents love music from yesteryear.

Hate:
    Mooney Show (The less said the better)
    Drivetime( Substitute for Cooper)
    Arena (That's my cue to turn to off the ball) :)
    Liveline( Depressing)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭GSF

In Our Time with Melvyn Bragg and More Or Less with Tim Hartfort on BBC Radio 4 are very good.

Classic FM overnight can be very good too.

So it seems that a lot of people like to listen into some of the shows from across the Irish Sea?

You guys do it over the internet? Or happen to own a really good radio that is picking up the signals?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 ClareF

1. 3rd I with Chris & Ciara I105-107
    2. Chris Moyles Radio1
    3. Ian Dempsy Breakfast Show
    4. Up all night 5 live
    5. Morning Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

GSF wrote: »
    In Our Time with Melvyn Bragg and More Or Less with Tim Hartfort on BBC Radio 4 are very good.

Classic FM overnight can be very good too.

I love In Our Time - gonna check out that other show now... Thanks for that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Woody_FX wrote: »
    So it seems that a lot of people like to listen into some of the shows from across the Irish Sea?

You guys do it over the internet? Or happen to own a really good radio that is picking up the signals?

have a wifi radio, but a lot of stuff on the bbc can be podcast. i can't recommend adam and joe's highly enough. if you want sport commentary though, you usually need to pick up the MW signal for 5live, as there's often geographical rights issues.

ClareF wrote: »
    1. 3rd I with Chris & Ciara I105-107
    2. Chris Moyles Radio1
    3. Ian Dempsy Breakfast Show
    4. Up all night 5 live
    5. Morning Ireland

I like i105-107 as a station during the day. Funny seeing them on a list that also contains Morning Ireland ;)

I love In Our Time - gonna check out that other show now... Thanks for that!
    Ken Earley of Off tHe Ball on Newstalk was recommending the In Our Time programme, that featured the Volga Vikings, they had some strange rituals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Morning Ireland
    Pat Kenny
    News at One
    Matt Cooper
    Sunday Business Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Derryleigh

dvcireland wrote: »
    +1 for World report, there was an interesting story about job vacancies in Australia, something like 200,000

When is word report on. It used to be Sat but have not heard of it in a while. When and where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Given the p1ss poor standard of radio in this country in general, I would struggle for a top 5. However, Up All Night, which I can pick up on MW, is the perfect show for that time of the day. Rhod Sharp might just be the most underrated broadcaster of his era.

Derryleigh wrote: »
    When is word report on. It used to be Sat but have not heard of it in a while. When and where?

Around ten past eight on Sun mornings on RTE1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭qwert2

1. Off the Ball
    2. LiveDrive on Dublin city Fm
    3. Liveline
    4. Adam and Joe
    5. Did I mention Off the Ball?

Breakfast radio is ****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

However, Up All Night, which I can pick up on MW, is the perfect show for that time of the day. Rhod Sharp might just be the most underrated broadcaster of his era.

Is he still doing it. I used to listen to this show nearly 20 years ago and he was doing it then. It is good, actually essential if you are suffering with insomnia at that hour of the morning. Not that it cures insomnia!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Is he still doing it. I used to listen to this show nearly 20 years ago and he was doing it then. It is good, actually essential if you are suffering with insomnia at that hour of the morning. Not that it cures insomnia!

He still does - but only presents for half of the week now. Dotun Adebayo presents on the other nights, but he is not in Rhod's class tbh.

Agree with the insomnia bit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Skyrim

I liked the Full Irish Breakfast show by Ryan Tubridy around 2004, last decent 2fm breakfast show. Don't get me started on the Rick and Ruth show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Currently... in no particular order...
    * Just a Minute with Nicholas Parsons (BBC R4) - excellent intelligent humour
    * The Now Show with Steve Punt & Huge Dennis (BBC R4) - topical comedy
    * Gareth O'Callaghan in the Afternoon (Classic Hits 4FM) - very entertaining, really brings me back - Gareth is a legend
    * Dermot and Dave (98FM) - two of the best and funniest guys on radio
    * and of course I have to mention The Late Show with Niall Boylan (Classic Hits 4FM) - entertaining and controversial hot talk! (I work on this show)

Bard wrote: »
    Currently... in no particular order...
    * Just a Minute with Nicholas Parsons (BBC R4) - excellent intelligent humour
    * The Now Show with Steve Punt & Huge Dennis (BBC R4) - topical comedy
    + 1 for Just a Minute - can't seem to find a podcast of it except occasionally as comedy of the week, how do you listen to it - on BBC iPlayer?
    And I prefer the News Quiz to the Now Show ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭cozski

This American Life with Ira Glass
    Linux Outlaws
    Rathole Radio
    Random Notes on NearFM Community Radio
    BCC Radio 4 Friday Night Comedy Show

More love for the BBC I see..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭sudzs

1. The Archers
    2. Liveline :o
    3. PM with Eddy Mair
    4. Just a Minute
    5. Womans Hour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Angel L.

Off The Ball - newstalk
    Sean Moncrieff (newstalk)
    Today with Pat Kenny
    Sam Smyth
    Sunday Business Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭miketv

1 Liveline (best for boards!)
    2 The Last Word
    3 Moncrieff show
    4 Pat Kenny show
    5 Dave Fannings show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ste88m

1) KC on Today FM - Sound bloke, good tunes, funny show.

2) Ray Foley on Today FM - Like Marmite, ya either love him or hate him. I love him. Show is usually great craic.

3) Dermot and Dave on 98fm - Huge loss to 98fm since they left breakfast and went to drivetime. Still a great show.

4) The Late Show with Niall Boylan on 4fm (new, but far better than fm104 in my opinion... Interesting topics etc. They've got me 'til 10pm, then KC!)

5) Sunday Morning Coming Down on Phantom. Just perfect when you're hungover to f**k and need something easy to listen to on a Sunday morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭lighthouse

Is it possible to get a podcast of the Late Show with Niall Boylan anywhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

1. Moncrieff, Newstalk.

2. OTB, Newstalk.

3. South Wind Blows, Radio 1.

4. Talking History, Newstalk.

5. John Creddon, Radio 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭decies

1, Tony Livesey . Mon To Thursday 10.30 pm to 1am BBC FIVE LIVE
    2, Dennis + Callaghane Mon -Friday WEEI BOSTON 11am onwards Sox and Patriots Talk.
    3, Five Live Sport , Soccer, Golf, cricket(TEST MATCH SPECIAL), NFL, Baseball.F1 ,Tennis
    4, Billy Mcarthy :D WLR FM 10 am Mon - Friday
    5,TUNE IN APP for multitude of any station i want.