Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lenient Sentences

• 14-06-2011 11:40am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭

Just read 2 articles in the IT today – links below.

First one, an auctioneer gets in a row with a guy and CCTV footage shows how he “had struck Mr Hegarty up to 40 times, including giving him a number of kicks to the head.”
    The victim “had a swollen skull, two black eyes, a broken tooth and a number of lacerations to his face.”
    Judgment - €500 fine and 80hrs community service

Second one, 14 year old boy beats the crap out of a woman - “She suffered a broken arm, dislocated shoulder and was knocked unconscious during the attack”
    Judge adjourns the case for a few months but says he is “considering imposing 120 hours of community service on the boy.”
    I know if I had been one of the victims or they were a member of my family, I’d be pretty angry at the leniency of the sentences – shouldn’t violent assault like this carry a custodial sentence?

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0614/1224298863322.html
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0614/1224298863354.html

It's a disgrace, Joe.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Sure they all have Playstations and hot and cold running masseuse's in the Joy, Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

My sentence is leaning to the right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

The first one, no. The other guy sought him out and the auctioneer tried his best to avoid him.

The second one was a random attack and the little scrote should have had a dozen shades of shìt knocked out of him.
    The court also heard that the boy faced other charges of theft of alcohol from a supermarket and the theft of a car to which he pleaded guilty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Same judge in both cases. I see the now 15-year-old is doing the obligatory Fas course that young offenders enroll in to turn their lives around.

It's disgusting alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

KungPao wrote: »
    My sentence is leaning to the right.

I blame the Italicans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

they got away lightly and rightly so, could have been alot worse good job they werent without Tax on their cars or even worse 2 mile over the speed limit :rolleyes:

This seems to be the way most scumbags get off like WTF:

"He has completed a home-schooling course and is now looking to begin a computer course with Fás. “Nothing I can say will change what happened to Ms McDaid and my client is deeply sorry for what he did.

“But this has been a life-changing incident for him. His attitude at home has changed completely and there is no defiance that he once showed to his parents. He is at a crossroads in his life and I would ask you to give him a chance,” he said."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

If the kid was off the rails at this early age he probably needs psychological help and support and not prison,if he is to have any chance of being rehabilitated into a functioning member of society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Thats it bring back the death sentence.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Same judge in both cases. I see the now 15-year-old is doing the obligatory Fas course that young offenders enroll in to turn their lives around.

It's disgusting alright.

Unless Fas offers counselling for him, yes, it is pretty disgusting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭unbeat

TheZohan wrote: »
    The first one, no. The other guy sought him out and the auctioneer tried his best to avoid him.

Please could you explain a little further. Was it a case of harassment? Surely that doesnt call for such a whooping. Maybe one good smack if intensely frustrated, but the whooping im picturing - struck 40 times swollen skull, seems unjustified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,128 ✭✭✭kirving

Yeah, he punched the guy 30 times. Did the other guy hit him 30 times too, and it just so happens he ended up in court? /Devils Advocate

I agree, he should get much more than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭talla10

If the kid was off the rails at this early age he probably needs psychological help and support and not prison,if he is to have any chance of being rehabilitated into a functioning member of society.

Some people are just pure scum. Lock 'em up throw away the key and save the help and support for someone who has a chance to turning their lives around

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 94 ✭✭Phenomenally Phrank

It's a disgrace, Joe.
    Sure they all have Playstations and hot and cold running masseuse's in the Joy, Joe.

Eh, cop the fuck on, lads. If the same happened to you, I doubt you'd be making stupid jokes about it. did you even read the OP properly before making stupid unfunny jokes about it? No, by the looks of things.

Little ****er was only sorry because he got caught.People like him should either be put down or castrated so they can't reproduce!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Dont get the law involved,sort things out yourself

Problem solved:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

GrizzlyMan wrote: »
    they got away lightly and rightly so, could have been alot worse good job they werent without Tax on their cars or even worse 2 mile over the speed limit :rolleyes:
    Would it? Would it really?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Dont get the law involved,sort things out yourself

Problem solved:D

If you decided to 'sort things out yourself' they would in all probability throw the book at you and get a harsher sentence than the scumbag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Would it? Would it really?

its called sarcasm! it seems violence and petty things have no difference when it comes to penalties in this country! i.e. traffic offences when it comes to fines................€500 fine for someone who inflicks a swollen skull, two black eyes, a broken tooth and a number of lacerations!! crazy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

I would love to believe that counselling or getting on a FAS course would help these people sort themselves out but everything I have seen in my life says otherwise. There are some people who have no regard for others and when they get sentences along these lines you know its taking all they have to hold in the laughter. As for the 14 year old can someone explain to me how you can be that bad a parent, that f**kin weak, to be "defied" by a 14 year old. Or is that just their excuse when in reality they just don't give a f**k.

EDIT: Don't get me started on leniant sentences for sex offenders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

Two very very different cases

The first had a myriad of reasons behind it ,the individual in question is not a threat to society/community and the sentence is probably fair

The second is imo much more likely to re-offend ,
    I believe we have enough data on these kind of cases that rehabilitation does not work ,they only go on to escalate.
    If you’re going to give him one more chance I would prefer a suspended 15 year sentence ,make it clear that next offense take him out of the community for a serious amount of time.
    Also if the families of these offenders are on Social housing and SW I would ship them to a different part of the country ,let’s make use of these ghost estates down the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

unfortunately we cant do an america and hand down an life sentence or 400 years for everything..

What the woman in case no.2 should do is sue the **** out of the boy as soon as he gets a job and earning money

mackg wrote: »
    I would love to believe that counselling or getting on a FAS course would help these people sort themselves out but everything I have seen in my life says otherwise. There are some people who have no regard for others and when they get sentences along these lines you know its taking all they have to hold in the laughter. As for the 14 year old can someone explain to me how you can be that bad a parent, that f**kin weak, to be "defied" by a 14 year old. Or is that just their excuse when in reality they just don't give a f**k.

EDIT: Don't get me started on leniant sentences for sex offenders

100% Agreed. The little scummer is only sorry he got caught, and a paltry sentence like this is just going to encourage him to do it again:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭wobzilla1

Then there's the woman who smashed her husband's face in with a hammer while he slept and walked away with a suspended sentence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Sod the system. CS for violent crime is further insult & injury to the victims in this hole of a country.

Eh, cop the fuck on, lads. If the same happened to you, I doubt you'd be making stupid jokes about it. did you even read the OP properly before making stupid unfunny jokes about it? No, by the looks of things.

Little ****er was only sorry because he got caught.People like him should either be put down or castrated so they can't reproduce!

I was mugged and beaten up a few times over they years in Dublin. Did I hate my assailants? No. They didn't know any better. Unlike the corrupt, rich politicians who systematically screwed over the country for decades and we took it and asked for more.

All ye who allowed that shouldn't be allowed the vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

mackg wrote: »
    As for the 14 year old can someone explain to me how you can be that bad a parent, that f**kin weak, to be "defied" by a 14 year old. Or is that just their excuse when in reality they just don't give a f**k.

True. Can't understand why more parents don't kick their children senseless.

That would teach the little fuckers to go around kicking people senseless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

stovelid wrote: »

the pc parade would have a field day,and if children got in trouble in law,the solicitor could say "came from a violent household"..

The do-gooders are taking over, it would seem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Someone we know got a suspended sentence by saying he was going to work for a relative of mine that the defendants brother works for. The relative knew nothing about it and was mortified.

Maybe enlist the help of some of the religious orders? Seem to remember they were excellent at bringing children to heel :rolleyes:

old hippy wrote: »
    Maybe enlist the help of some of the religious orders? Seem to remember they were excellent at bringing children to heel :rolleyes:

Usually with the toe.:(

I didn't mean physical weakness and wasn't referring to beating the kid, but more in terms of the parents personality and their ability to have their 14 year old respect them. Also their ability to instill a basic sense of right and wrong. It seems they failed miserably at both. I would be interested to see what type of family the kid comes from.

I think that there are sensible parents who instill proper standards into their kids without using violence to achieve it. Unfortunately, mainly thanks to the influence of their mixing with other kids whose parents couldn't give a sh1t, some of the sensible ones end up as bad as their lowlife peers.

Some parents are too feckin lazy to do a proper job.

Gets too messy long term with all the compensation and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

My parents used to explain to me why i or should shouldn't do something when told to.
    Whenever i disobeyed them, they punished me because they know i understood why i shouldn't have done it, even to the point of hitting me very occasionally.

I didn't like it at the time, but i can understand now.

Bit off topic but you know what i mean. No point in telling a child to not do something, they must know why they cant do something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

What the woman in case no.2 should do is sue the **** out of the boy as soon as he gets a job and earning money

Yes but he won't get a job. At best, he will be "rehabilitated", stay out of prison and live off welfare for the rest of his life with some tart and his 4 welfare babies. Those 4 welfare babies will turn out just like their father and the cycle will begin all over again.

Bit off topic but you know what i mean. No point in telling a child to not do something, they must know why they cant do something.

Agree 100%. If they understand the reasons things are right and wrong eventually they can work out the right thing to do themselves. Its not a parents job to teach a child what to think its their job to teach the child how to think for themselves. If your child makes the decision to go beat up a pensioner things havn't gone well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Originally Posted by starviewadams View Post

I think you need to combine both. Send him to prison, give him his "Fas" courses in their and the counselling as well.

But also get him working in prison.

I think you need to combine both. Send him to prison, give him his "Fas" courses in their and the counselling as well.

But also get him working in prison.

Dunno if prison is the right option, if anything it would probably have a very negative impact on the kid, dontcha think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

Dunno if prison is the right option, if anything it would probably have a very negative impact on the kid, dontcha think?

I really believe it will ,but you have to balance protecting contributing members of society with protecting this kid.
    This is not his first offence or first arrest ,he ia already out of control, Historical data tells us that the likelyhood of rehabiltating this kid is very low.
    If your playing the numbers lock him up and throw away the key.