Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Take your conversation somewhere else

• 14-06-2011 9:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭The Jammy dodger

Was signing on the dole this morning and sure I was yappin away on my phone whilst waiting in the queue. All of a sudden this huge and well built fella in front of me, got annoyed and just turned around and said ''would you ever just take your conversation somewhere else?'':eek::D

Was I in the wrong do you think to be yappin away on the phone behind him? does it get on your nerves when people are yappin on the phone behind ya? has never bothered me before.

Then again I was talking about my sons baptism, sisters arthritis and about getting a job soon and so on along with a sickness I have myself. Maybe he was doing me a favour and saying ''shut up and stop being so personal in front of everyone''? *shrug shrug*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Yes people yapping on the phone continuously in queues, trains and busses annoy the fcuk out of me. He was right.,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Was signing on the dole this morning and sure I was yappin away on my phone whilst waiting in the queue. All of a sudden this huge and well built fella in front of me, got annoyed and just turned around and said ''would you ever just take your conversation somewhere else?'':eek::D

Was I in the wrong do you think to be yappin away on the phone behind him? does it get on your nerves when people are yappin on the phone behind ya? has never bothered me before.

Then again I was talking about my sons baptism, sisters arthritis and about getting a job soon and so on along with a sickness I have myself. Maybe he was doing me a favour and saying ''shut up and stop being so personal in front of everyone''? *shrug shrug*

There's something very annoying about being subjected to a commentary of the ins and outs of someones life, especially when its somewhere you're a captive audience.

Like in a queue.

I'd probably never pass a remark on it, but I do find it rude when people can't help but overhear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Hey OP, take your conversation somewhere else! :pac:

But yeah, this bugs the sh!t out of me. I think it's just that people on their mobiles think they need to be a few decibels louder than normal. I don't need to know about your life story.

Although the counter to that is mp3 player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

He was envious of your job-getting skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭The Jammy dodger

KungPao wrote: »
    He was envious of your job-getting skills.

This what my dad said. He said people have mortgages to pay and are out looking for work themselves, listening to people talk about the possibility of getting a job soon and there being so little work can really get on someones nerves, especially in the morning time when we is all cranky and that.

Thanks everyone for your replies. I was probably yappin and not thinkin about my ''loudyness'' on the phone. Then again tried to place meself in his shoes and get a picture of what it would be like for me listening to a personal conversation on the phone behind me. It doesnt usually bother me as ya often hear people talking in the queue amongst themselves about the same sort of thing but I never really notice and if I'm listening would probably think ''man you is being so personal in your conversation'' but it's really none of my business.

In any case I think he was doin me a favour. lol :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

Back when mobiles were still a bit of a novelty I was stuck on a bus from Dublin to Cork for about 6 hours. It was all Ireland Sunday and Kerry had just won, for the entire journey this Kerry lad sitting behind me rang every single Kerry person on the planet, and went through every kick of the ball in exactly the same way with each and every call, at an ear-splitting volume.
    I was in therapy for a month with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder and still get flashbacks when I hear a Kerry accent. :)
    We should be like Japan where it is frowned upon to use a mobile on public transport.

Back when mobiles were still a bit of a novelty I was stuck on a bus from Dublin to Cork for about 6 hours. It was all Ireland Sunday and Kerry had just won, for the entire journey this Kerry lad sitting behind me rang every single Kerry person on the planet, and went through every kick of the ball in exactly the same way with each and every call, at an ear-splitting volume.
    I was in therapy for a month with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder and still get flashbacks when I hear a Kerry accent. :)
    We should be like Japan where it is frowned upon to use a mobile on public transport.

Mine was only like a 5min convo but man 6 hours? LOL..... enough to drive anyone around the bend. Are you serious about Japan? that's a fact? never knew that. :D gotta love the Japs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭OAOB

Your conversation wouldn't bother me at all......but i will be eaves dropping and silently judging you:D

Are you serious about Japan? that's a fact? never knew that. :D gotta love the Japs.
    I only got that from Top Gear when the lads got dirty looks from other passengers and were told it wasn't acceptable to use a phone on a train, if it was on TG it must be true. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭MonaghanPenguin

Part of what makes this so annoying for people is how our brains are wired. Your brain HATES mysteries, unsolved puzzles and half complete pictures. Ever stay up way later than you should have because you HAD to see the end of some TV show or film, even though you knew it was one of the worst things you've ever seen? Same principle, the other person is only hearing half a conversation and the brain gets irritated because it can't complete the picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭silverspoon

I think it is annoying to hear a full-blown conversation in an area when you can't get away from it - like a bus, train, or even a queue. I don't think I'd turn around and say it out to you like that man did though. He could've said something slightly less aggressive, like 'Would you mind keeping it down', which wouldn't be so rude but still get the point across.

I think that quick conversations relating to meeting up or imparting necessary information are perfectly OK, but long, winding conversations that are not pressing and which could be had whenever you like should be kept for when you don't have an unwilling audience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Wouldn't bother me but I would certainly be listening in, judging, sneering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

This what my dad said. He said people have mortgages to pay and are out looking for work themselves, listening to people talk about the possibility of getting a job soon and there being so little work can really get on someones nerves, especially in the morning time when we is all cranky and that. :pac:

Your daddy should have spent more time beating you for your failure to be seen and not heard....

I only got that from Top Gear when the lads got dirty looks from other passengers and were told it wasn't acceptable to use a phone on a train, if it was on TG it must be true. :D

Love that program top gear lol. you're always guaranteed a good laugh on it. Yeah countries have their different customs I suppose. You wouldnt have a problem in America so I'm told and I've been there. You could shout and scream any aul nonsense on the subway and nobody could care less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

I always have an mp3 in these situations but for the sake of others if you get a call and its gonna be quick cool work away, but if its a lengthy personal conversation 3 words:

Call you back

conorhal wrote: »
    Your daddy should have spent more time beating you for your failure to be seen and not heard....

Yeah I've just got one of those faces ya wanna slap right? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Actually their was one guy on the bus I used to get to college in my first year that would always, without fail, every morning ring what I can only assume was his G/F. He used to get on 2 stops up from me and for the rest of the journey ( about 20 mins ) proceed to tell her he loved her and what not and they'ed have full blown conversations while he was on the bus,as soon as we got to college he would hang up when he got off the bus.

It always struck me as odd, I was wondering was he just a looney and talking to no one until i seen him in college with a girl a few weeks into the term.

But his conversations did really annoy me, until I brought my iPod, problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Hackysack

It probably also depends on how loud you were being. I know if I'm on the phone in a queue I'd keep my voice relatively quiet and low. It's just a bit of consideration for the people around you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Back when mobile phones were a novelty you'd have been hard pressed to get an hour talk time out of a mobile phone let along someone talking for an entire 6 hour journey.

Shenanigans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

If he was a bigger man he would have taken the phone and crushed it with his bare hands.

Would have made a better story than your sister's arthritis anyway.

If he was a bigger man he would have taken the phone and crushed it with his bare hands.

Would have made a better story than your sister's arthritis anyway.

If he had of taken the phone and crushed it with his bare hands he would of done me an even bigger favour, you should see the state of it. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Can't believe everyone's agreeing.anybody's entitled to have a phone conversation when they like.being in the dole queue could mean being there for a few hours IME so I wouldn't blame you. Of course it's annoying when you can't get away but in fairness what you're probably actually annoyed with is that you're stuck in a queue.

I get irritated at phone calls when someone has it on loudspeaker.that is just irritating and needless.and someone roaring down the phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

OP, you're lucky he didn't lodge the phone where the sun don't shine..........pity.

anybody's entitled to have a phone conversation when they like.

No they aren't, there are quite a few times when it's not allowed and even more where it's rude and even more where it's irritating. There are no automatic entitlements that don't require you to take other people into consideration at some point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

No they aren't, there are quite a few times when it's not allowed and even more where it's rude and even more where it's irritating. There are no automatic entitlements that don't require you to take other people into consideration at some point.

Obviously where it's not allowed it shouldn't be happening.and I also agree its rude to do it while being served in a shop or something,but what,you're saying you shouldn't be allowed have a phone call in public places or just when it pisses you off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

TheZohan wrote: »
    Back when mobile phones were a novelty you'd have been hard pressed to get an hour talk time out of a mobile phone let along someone talking for an entire 6 hour journey.

Shenanigans.
    No shenanigans (possibly).

Back when mobiles were a novelty I had several batteries for my phone and would switch them regularly! Needed it for work.

A handy item was a charger that could do charge two batteries simultaneously.

O/T It makes me chuckle when people complain about not getting more than a day out of a single charge of their smartphone, when I sometimes had to change battery mid conversation not so long ago! Jaysus, back then my first mobile didn't even have capacity to store numbers, except the one last dialled!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Mine was only like a 5min convo but man 6 hours? LOL..... enough to drive anyone around the bend. Are you serious about Japan? that's a fact? never knew that. :D gotta love the Japs.

There are also separate carriages for female passengers to be free of unwanted attention from leering men.

And it's Japanese, btw.

Obviously where it's not allowed it shouldn't be happening.and I also agree its rude to do it while being served in a shop or something,but what,you're saying you shouldn't be allowed have a phone call in public places or just when it pisses you off?

If it's something that can wait and you're in a situation where it's going to irritate people, say on a long bus trip, or in this situation a long queue, then yes you should text or have the conversation later.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Convo is such an irritating word!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I always think that people having inane converstations in ques and the likes, seem to think the world revolves around them. "How could people possibly be irritated, hearing about what I did on friday?"
    The guy in the que was right, shut up with the banality and have your important converstaion somewhere you aren't inflicting it on others.:mad:

TheZohan wrote: »

Shenanigans.
    I checked the year and it turns out it was 2004, I thought it was earlier because I was still using an old Motorola the size of a brick with an extendible aerial, that a friend had given me.
    No shenanigans, the part of my brain that registers the Kerry accent is still burned out, and my therapist says I will never fully recover. :)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

[...]

It's frowned upon here as well. It's just not obvious because there's more twats.

Oink wrote: »
    It's frowned upon here as well. It's just not obvious because there's more twats.
    Frowned upon, but only behind peoples backs though, it's rare someone (myself included) has the balls to tell someone to STFU. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Convo is such an irritating word!

Yes, he should have taken that word somewhere else. Perhaps the big fellah got pissed off listening to an "o" at the end of every word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭unbeat

If he turned around and addressed me in that manner id be calling everyone in the phone book and speaking with the volume of an angry nigerian on a bluetooth phone.

if he said excuse me sir would you be so kind as to consider - then id probably finish up.

let him assault me in a dole queue with witnesses and cctv and govt workers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,217 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

It is true. I've been to Japan a few times and the trains (especially the Subway trains) have signs all over telling you not to use your phones. The bullet trains even have carriages where you're asked not to talk and there are no station announcements apart from the terminus (There is a display and the lighting is subdued in the carriage). It's brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

In situations like that, if it's not too inconvenient, I'm always tempted to contribute to the conversation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭LittleBook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭ditzyfitzy

Oink wrote: »

So true..! There is nothing more annoying on public transport and public areas than some eejit yapping away on the phone..!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

It would be annoying if I had to listen to it but that's why I take my headphones everywhere

I was on the bus once listening to this woman having a "no it IS over, no please don't call my friends, leave them out of it, it's over okay" conversation. Full half hour it went on, at least, before I got off at my stop. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Elmidena

Can't view that link for C4 copyright issues =s but seeing the name C4 made me wonder if Larry Duff ever got to answer his phone when it wasn't Ted calling....

In response to overall thread, I find it annoying if people are gabbering on the phone, and queueing for the dole is a stress-inducing situation (or so I am told) and people are far more likely to seethe. It wasn't cool that he snapped but there's been many a time on a bus that I've really just wanted to scream the head off someone to stfu. I rarely stay on the phone in public unless I absolutely have to, and even then I'm conscious of my surroundings, so no shouting into the speaker from me =D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

bluewolf wrote: »
    I was on the bus once listening to this woman having a "no it IS over, no please don't call my friends, leave them out of it, it's over okay" conversation. Full half hour it went on, at least, before I got off at my stop. :confused:

listening to people argue on the phone is so uncomfortable. Dont understand why they can't just wait till theyre in private other than they like making a scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Asry

I *love* being able to listen in on the ins and outs of someone else's life! It's great! Everyone should talk all the time!

I think this whole thread/post has turned me off talking in public on the phone for LIFEEE!!!!!!! lol :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Some people really need to stop shouting their personal business on phones in public. There was a woman in front of me in the queue in Tesco one day who was talking about how her ex boyfriend wouldn't let her out of the house and how her new boyfriend was a lot nicer. Why the hell anyone want a queue of people to know this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I hate listening to peoples phone conversations, it's rude and ignorant to have a full blown conversation in front of other people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Xivilai

He obviously preferred the dreary awkward silence in the dole queue! :pac:

It is true. I've been to Japan a few times and the trains (especially the Subway trains) have signs all over telling you not to use your phones. The bullet trains even have carriages where you're asked not to talk and there are no station announcements apart from the terminus (There is a display and the lighting is subdued in the carriage). It's brilliant!

Was just gonna post what TheIrishGrover said above. Its not just frowned upon, its outright banned in places. So is eating. And smoking on the street in Tokyo is a no-no as well, except in certain, designated smoking areas on corners.

There's a few other things they have in place that should be ubiquitous. Most restaurants, for example, have little buttons on your table that you press when you want a waiter to visit your table so you can order, ask for a refill, pay your bill etc. No hanging out of your seat trying to get their attention.