Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Attractive traits in women

• 13-06-2011 11:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭whiteboy

When it comes to girls, looks is somewhat important, you can't beat going out with a girl who is just downright good looking/cute, nothing amazing, just naturally attractive to the eye. However I've been thinking about this lately (especially since I really want a girlfriend right now).
    I'm in my early 20's just about finished with college, there was nothing keeping me there and I'm happy working a part time job, but I want a girl who wants to do something with her life, a girl who wants to be a teacher, a nurse, a lawyer!
    I've been with girls who have expressed interest in being beauticians, hair dressers etc, or else they were in college training to do something in this area, what I classify as car crash courses, stuff that really isn't important in the grand scheme of things, but a girl who wants to be a teacher, that's different, that's infinitely more appealing!

Anyway, am I reading too much into this or is it completely rational to have higher esteem for the girl who wants to be a teacher than the girl who's profession I find so inane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

I'm more of a lover of a girl's personality.

both of them

whiteboy wrote: »
    When it comes to girls, looks is somewhat important, you can't beat going out with a girl who is just downright good looking/cute, nothing amazing, just naturally attractive to the eye. However I've been thinking about this lately (especially since I really want a girlfriend right now).
    I'm in my early 20's just about finished with college, there was nothing keeping me thereand I'm happy working a part time job, but I want a girl who wants to do something with her life, a girl who wants to be a teacher, a nurse, a lawyer!
    I've been with girls who have expressed interest in being beauticians, hair dressers etc, or else they were in college training to do something in this area, what I classify as car crash courses, stuff that really isn't important in the grand scheme of things, but a girl who wants to be a teacher, that's different, that's infinitely more appealing!

Anyway, am I reading too much into this or is it completely rational to have higher esteem for the girl who wants to be a teacher than the girl who's profession I find so inane.
    decided to read your post.

LOL.

20's you say.

LOL.

best of luck with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Laika1986

Self-confidence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

so...you get to drop out of college and you want your missus to be a lawyer.

let us know how that goes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Pandora2

Are you looking for a girlfriend or an income stream??:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

Sense of Humour..............they will need it when they see me starkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭teddy_303

Go out with a teacher pal. You will get a real eye opener quickly, with the altitude with which she will talk down to you from, being a force of habit from how she talks to children all day...FACT..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

teddy_303 wrote: »
    Go out with a teacher pal. You will get a real eye opener quickly, with the altitude with which she will talk down to you from, being a force of habit from how she talks to children all day...FACT..

Same attitude from female garda, you can spot them a mile off without having to go near Coppers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭whiteboy

teddy_303 wrote: »

I think intelligence is the attractive personality trait!

krudler wrote: »
    so...you get to drop out of college and you want your missus to be a lawyer.

let us know how that goes.

I have my own ideas, but in todays economic climate they're not viable but all In all I should be on a relatively big salary in years to come, not boasting or nothing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Somebody who is confident and intelligent enough to go after what she wants ,be it a job , a career ,a lifestyle or a man ( a good seducer ) ;)

A woman who knows her own mind enough to know what she wants from without conforming to what others think she should want or should be .In other words not a sheep .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

I've been with girls who have expressed interest in being beauticians, hair dressers etc, or else they were in college training to do something in this area, what I classify as car crash courses,

I'm taking this as an insult. I'm a qualified Beauty Therapist and we have to do almost as much training as a Nurse. We have to know the body inside and out. We dont just sit around painting our nails all day.

Men who act like pigs do not attract intelligent women anyhow. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Kind.
    Good craic.
    Smart.
    An absolute whore in the bedroom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

I'm in my early 20's just about finished with college, there was nothing keeping me there and I'm happy working a part time job, but I want a girl who wants to do something with her life, a girl who wants to be a teacher, a nurse, a lawyer!

maybe you could order that kind of girl on-line???

Note: I am on about blow-up dolls, not kiddie trafficking....

I have my own ideas, but in todays economic climate they're not viable but all In all I should be on a relatively big salary in years to come, not boasting or nothing!

Monkey navigated rocket cars as public transport? yeah they turned me down too, tightarses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

You can't possibly define someone from the occupation they choose. I worked as a production manager for years it payed very well but i was secretly miserable!!! After years of misery i decided i needed to study something else as a backup.

I considered nursing but decided to go with Beauty as i knew eventually i could work for myself which was the added plus! That's what i do now, full time self employed. You consider Beauty, hairdressing " car crash course" :rolleyes:
    I earn a good living from it...!!!

Does it define who i am.....NO. I still have the desire to study nursing, who knows i could be doing that at some stage it's a long life.

If your going to choose a girl by her profession then that just tells a lot about your character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭teddy_303

I think intelligence is the attractive personality trait!

Intelligence should recognise intelligence, and not assume they are talking to a child/moron.. I've had this experience more than once and spoke to others who have also, and the outcome was frighteningly similar..

Karona wrote: »
    I'm taking this as an insult. I'm a qualified Beauty Therapist and we have to do almost as much training as a Nurse. We have to know the body inside and out. We dont just sit around painting our nails all day.

Men who act like pigs do not attract intelligent women anyhow. :mad:

I trained in massage therapy and had no idea the amount of stuff you need to know about human anatomy and how the body works when I started it, we had to cram what a friend who is a nurse learned over 2 years into 10 months.

on the plus side I could now paralyze you with my fingertips :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Elmidena

Kind, generous, funny, not b*tchy, helpful, friendly, positive aura about them. Lovable and affectionate are good too!

Alas, no girl I've ever been with has been near this list =/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

It is all about the eyes (ideally brown but not essential), and a nice smile imo.

I am also attracted to women that can play the piano :P:eek: though maybe that is just Vanessa Carlton and Sara Bareilles :p

Someone with a talent doesn't necessary have to be creative is also a very attractive feature imo.

I know Krudler I studied it myself. Its tough going. After giving a massage you'd need one yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

I trained in massage therapy and had no idea the amount of stuff you need to know about human anatomy and how the body works when I started it, we had to cram what a friend who is a nurse learned over 2 years into 10 months.

on the plus side I could now paralyze you with my fingertips :cool:

Exactly and it really bothers me that people don't know how much training is required!

the ability to swear, dunno why but prim and proper has never done it for me, I appreciate women who can let out a good "fcuk" when its called for.

I know Krudler I studied it myself. Its tough going. After giving a massage you'd need one yourself.

very true, I used to hate getting one first in training as you'd be so relaxed you wouldnt have the energy to then give someone else one. an hour long massage is like a workout in itself.

although I really have to stop opening converations with "I touch people for money"..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

So it's ok for you to flunk out of college and work part-time but any prospective GF has to have a full time job, but only in professions you deem suitable?? Yeah, good luck in your hunt for any thinking female to fall for your "charms" with that kind of attitude :rolleyes:
    If indeed you want someone who's intelligent as well as nice looking.

Car crash courses?! Who're you to look down your nose on beauticians and hairdressers and deem them unworthy professions in a partner?
    Wouldn't have anything to do with the fact that these are female dominated professions would it? hmm? and no, I don't work in either professions.
    What do you work at anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I want a girl who wants to do something with her life ..

Anyway, am I reading too much into this ..

No, you're growing up.

Latchy wrote: »

A woman who knows her own mind enough to know what she wants from without conforming to what others think she should want or should be .

say wha?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

I think its attractive if a girl is considerate, mature, good at sensible conversation, has a decent appreciation for the philosophies of Plato, Francis Bacon, Descartes etc....& has massive tits. Massive.

although I really have to stop opening converations with "I touch people for money"..

I do....

PM me for more information ;)

wrote:
    very true, I used to hate getting one first in training as you'd be so relaxed you wouldnt have the energy to then give someone else one. an hour long massage is like a workout in itself.

I do....

PM me for more information ;)
    em, can i make the sandwiches?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 SiegePerilous

Beware nurses....just sayin

ArtSmart wrote: »
    em, can i make the sandwiches?

Sure you can.

As long as they are salad.

Sure you can.

As long as they are salad.
    oh. so no salami then?

Oh you drive a hard bargain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭kneeelix

In other words not a sheep .

I don't know. Some people might find that attractive..:p

On topic - I wouldn't go for a girl based on her career. I would be more inclined to be attracted to a girl with good personality traits such as hardworking, down to earth, reliable. You just have to look at the likes of the women who set up the body shop or lush. They are very successful career women in the beauty industry.

In other words not a sheep .

:(

Sniff I like sheep, me.
    Not the kind you mean though :P

Oh you drive a hard bargain.
    repeatedly.

repeatedly.

Wahey ;)

well, must go snoozy-byes. lol

nite all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I currently find myself attracted to a girl in work who has a really nice voice. Her looks are fine but she only has to speak to give me a semi.

Is this wrong?

Nothing wrong with that orourkeda.

Alan Rickman's voice gets me going. :D

Nothing wrong with that orourkeda.

Alan Rickman's voice gets me going. :D

Oh god yes, me too :o:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Shiroki

Is it weird that I really like girls with nice legs ? :pac:

orourkeda wrote: »
    I currently find myself attracted to a girl in work who has a really nice voice. Her looks are fine but she only has to speak to give me a semi.

Is this wrong?

nothing at all, I deal with a customer of ours regularly who has a slightly husky voice with a French accent, and honest to god she could read the ingredients of brown sauce and it'd sound sexy.

Greentopia wrote: »
    Oh god yes, me too :o:D

Mmmmm Alan Rickman.

tn-500_45.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

well, must go snoozy-byes. lol

nite all

Nawh. Noi noites *Big kiss*

wtf is going on around here..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Nice eyes and a nice smile... Im a sucker for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Who one falls in love with cannot be controlled. Therefore, any ideal partner that one aspires to having is somewhat futile. Open Mindedness is the way to go and just let it happen by itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

orourkeda wrote: »
    Who one falls in love with cannot be controlled. Therefore, any ideal partner that one aspires to having is somewhat futile. Open Mindedness is the way to go and just let it happen by itself.
    Thats "settling for a minger" talk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭UsernameInUse

someone that appreciates the fine art of sitting down and doing **** all for a few hours without constant naggin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Full Lips, i LOVE girls with full lips