Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

fox is cleaning me out help needed!!

• 13-06-2011 10:55pm
    Site Banned Posts: 179 ✭✭

Hi lads,

looking for some tips on getting a fox that has killed 7 chickens in the last week or 2. i have enclosed a pic of the land im on.

shootingground.jpg

there is a lot or gorse in the back plot with 1 horse and a foal belong to the guy that owns the factory. I have a shotgun and a .22. which is the best to use and when is the best time etc to get them? also tips on bunnys would be good too. there are times i walk round there with no firearm and i see maybe 3-6 rabbits and it seems when i go with the rifle or gun THERE NOT THERE! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

For the fox, i would stand somewhere you cant be seen and call him in with the lamp, if he has been clearing you out he will be back as its a handy "take away" for him. I see the factory is near the pen, is there a roof you can sit on to shot it;) i would say hes traveling up the wood at the back, then coming up the woodie/tree area beside your pen on the left.

rabbits will be out in the mornings and evenings, clattered 6 this evening with the shotgun along with few birds;)

• Site Banned Posts: 179 ✭✭JasonBourne

unfortuinatly the roof of the factory is old and rotten so not a safe option to get up on. how do i "call him in with the lamp"?

here is a pic of my rifle with my torch mounted on it.

021fb9b2.jpg

41658860.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Hi lads,

looking for some tips on getting a fox that has killed 7 chickens in the last week or 2. i have enclosed a pic of the land im on.

there is a lot or gorse in the back plot with 1 horse and a foal belong to the guy that owns the factory. I have a shotgun and a .22. which is the best to use and when is the best time etc to get them? also tips on bunnys would be good too. there are times i walk round there with no firearm and i see maybe 3-6 rabbits and it seems when i go with the rifle or gun THERE NOT THERE! lol

I presume he's killing them in the daytime after they're let out and that you have them shut in at night?

How often has he attacked?

Have you noticed or can you think of any pattern he may be taking? Are they getting killed very soon after being let out or later towards shutting in time?

Are you doing anything different from your normal routine on the days they're being attacked?

Reason I ask is that the best time to get him is when he's around, that's not being facetious just trying to figure out if foxy is making a mistake.

Can the hens roam about where ever they want or are they fenced in within a specific fenced area just for them?

If they can only roam within a specific area that'd be better, I'd find a spot where you have a very good view of that area and hold up with the rifle. You may have an idea of the best time to be there going on the details you know about each attack.

It sounds to be like your fox is used to his chicken nuggets by now and that may well lead to his downfall if you can figure out a mistake he's making in his approach to your fowl.

A mains electric fence may be a good investment long term.

unfortuinatly the roof of the factory is old and rotten so not a safe option to get up on. how do i "call him in with the lamp"?

use a rabbit squealer to call him in, or let yout chickens out in the field and wait;)

johngalway wrote: »
    I presume he's killing them in the daytime after they're let out and that you have them shut in at night?

not really. im in the restaurant game and me and the missus get home late so not always put away (also we have just moved in to the house only 2 months and only have the chickens 2 weeks tops)
    How often has he attacked?

about 3 or 4 times now
    Have you noticed or can you think of any pattern he may be taking? Are they getting killed very soon after being let out or later towards shutting in time?

its hard to say. only have them a short time and im not always here from say 4pm till 10 or 11 pm

Reason I ask is that the best time to get him is when he's around, that's not being facetious just trying to figure out if foxy is making a mistake.

again not knowing the are too well yet is a bad factor
    Can the hens roam about where ever they want or are they fenced in within a specific fenced area just for them?

there fenced in but could get out but never go far. some times them come in to the garden during the day
    If they can only roam within a specific area that'd be better, I'd find a spot where you have a very good view of that area and hold up with the rifle. You may have an idea of the best time to be there going on the details you know about each attack.

noted
    It sounds to be like your fox is used to his chicken nuggets by now and that may well lead to his downfall if you can figure out a mistake he's making in his approach to your fowl.

A mains electric fence may be a good investment long term.

thanks for the tips fella.

is there a time of day / night that is best to hunt mr fox?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

Look around and see can you find a path or pass under a fence that he may be using, stick a snare on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

not really. im in the restaurant game and me and the missus get home late so not always put away (also we have just moved in to the house only 2 months and only have the chickens 2 weeks tops)

about 3 or 4 times now

its hard to say. only have them a short time and im not always here from say 4pm till 10 or 11 pm

again not knowing the are too well yet is a bad factor

there fenced in but could get out but never go far. some times them come in to the garden during the day

noted

thanks for the tips fella.

is there a time of day / night that is best to hunt mr fox?

That's what I'm trying to figure out for this fox. We chased a lamp shy fox for a full month towards the end of last year. Turned out he was watching the farmers routine, he'd go to the mart, come home, let out the hens & ducks, go make dinner and rest. In the time the farmer would be making dinner/resting, foxy would be away with a couple of hens or a duck. Shot that fox at 1.05pm in the day in November - just after the farmer would have let them out.

This time of year, with the very long days it's hard to say.

What I'm trying to figure out is, is the fox watching and waiting for ye to let the hens out then coming and taking as s/he needs them, or, is the fox being opportunistic on it's normal run and killing on nights that ye haven't shut them in.

That's where you come in, with info on the attacks.

The more you know/can figure out, the easier the job is. One thing for sure, s/he is used to the chicken dinner so we know where he's coming TO, if we don't know where he's coming FROM. Having the birds out, but confined to a specific area would be good as you would then only have that particular area to worry about.

The previous farm I mentioned I asked the farmer to keep the fowl in, as I knew where the fox would be coming TO, but we also have a fairly good idea where he was coming from.

There's a good little wooden mouth cal on Ebay, search for ACME fox call and you should get it, €12 or €15 I think.

I don't want to be negative about this, so please take it as constructive criticism. With your job and hours I would advise on looking into electric fencing, or a properly predator proofed run for the fowl. Most incidences we deal with regarding fowl are a result of them being improperly protected by the owner.

That's not at all meant as a dig at you, just that you're kinda making a rod for your own back long term with fox problems :) Prevention being better than cure and all that.

That's what I'm trying to figure out for this fox. We chased a lamp shy fox for a full month towards the end of last year. Turned out he was watching the farmers routine, he'd go to the mart, come home, let out the hens & ducks, go make dinner and rest. In the time the farmer would be making dinner/resting, foxy would be away with a couple of hens or a duck. Shot that fox at 1.05pm in the day in November - just after the farmer would have let them out.

This time of year, with the very long days it's hard to say.

What I'm trying to figure out is, is the fox watching and waiting for ye to let the hens out then coming and taking as s/he needs them, or, is the fox being opportunistic on it's normal run and killing on nights that ye haven't shut them in.

That's where you come in, with info on the attacks.

The more you know/can figure out, the easier the job is. One thing for sure, s/he is used to the chicken dinner so we know where he's coming TO, if we don't know where he's coming FROM. Having the birds out, but confined to a specific area would be good as you would then only have that particular area to worry about.

The previous farm I mentioned I asked the farmer to keep the fowl in, as I knew where the fox would be coming TO, but we also have a fairly good idea where he was coming from.

There's a good little wooden mouth cal on Ebay, search for ACME fox call and you should get it, €12 or €15 I think.

I don't want to be negative about this, so please take it as constructive criticism. With your job and hours I would advise on looking into electric fencing, or a properly predator proofed run for the fowl. Most incidences we deal with regarding fowl are a result of them being improperly protected by the owner.

That's not at all meant as a dig at you, just that you're kinda making a rod for your own back long term with fox problems :) Prevention being better than cure and all that.

thats a great bit or reading there pal, no offence taken.

I actually bought a ACME fox caller on saturday on ebay. im expecting it to arrive tomorrow morning for the low cost of €5.50 delivered!!

i think its going to take some time to learn the lay of the land etc so untill then i think an electric fence might be the way forward.

thanks again for the advice!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Feidhlim Dignan

Another thing you could check is along the bank of the stream, if there is a crossing point it should be easy to find. Put a snare on it or stake it out with the rifle.
    A crossing point will look like a normal fun but should be more worn down if used regularly, it could be a pole across it either farmers put them up sometimes to stop animals wandering down the steam.

Hope it helps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭No6

I've been having a similar problem for the last while with my ducks. The fox has taken 5 over the last 6 weeks. They normally are free range so are out and about but I've kept them penned in the last two weeks or so. They have been taken at all times of the day, 2pm 4,pm 6pm if the dogs are in for any reason like rain!! and the ducks are out another one will be had. The last visit we had was at 6pm and he attacked the chickens in their pen. My wife chased him off with a brush!! Despite being out almost every evening and night I amn't confident that I've got him altough things have been quiet for two weeks or so. I have shot three in the last while on cut fields nearby but don't know if I have got the culprit yet!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

I have noticed a surge in fox activity in the last week, we lost another hen last week and a friend of mine lost 4 ducks and 3 hens yesterday.
    Maybe the cubs are eating a lot of prey items that the adults would normally have eaten and are forcing them to move to different food sources.

problem is that say you had 5 vixens in a 1-4miles radius who had 1-2 cubs {there could be alot more} that means you have 10 foxes around and thats not inculding the dog foxes who bred with with the vixens, so chances are that there maybe 15 foxes about :D

Im seeing alot now than i have in the last few months, reason is the fields are getting cut and they can be spotted now. Lamping fever has hit me now:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

Spunk84 wrote: »
    problem is that say you had 5 vixens in a 1-4miles radius who had 1-2 cubs {there could be alot more} that means you have 10 foxes around and thats not inculding the dog foxes who bred with with the vixens, so chances are that there maybe 15 foxes about :D

Im seeing alot now than i have in the last few months, reason is the fields are getting cut and they can be spotted now. Lamping fever has hit me now:D
    Surrounded by corn fields here and mad to get out with the rifle :(