Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Golf - US Open 2011

• 13-06-2011 11:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭

Ok so what many consider to be the toughest major to win starts this Thursday.

Its a very wide open event and many in with chances and dont be surprised to see an outsider win this one.

So far I have only backed Stricker at 28 on BF. I also like the look of KJ and Woodland.

Of the outsiders I like the price of Edfors and Noren on BF..

I think there is case for the top 5 in market but I think their prices are correct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Dr.Silly

I think Villegas is a great price Kew Tour considering he's coming into some form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Dr.Silly wrote: »
    I think Villegas is a great price Kew Tour considering he's coming into some form.

Ya he one in my shorlist to be honest you could back 20 golfers in this and get nothing back. It's a really hard one to call.

I am fan of Phil but I dont think he will win this one. My plan is more likely to back 6-7 golfers and do few top 10 finishes also.

Ya he one in my shorlist to be honest you could back 20 golfers in this and get nothing back. It's a really hard one to call.

I am fan of Phil but I dont think he will win this one. My plan is more likely to back 6-7 golfers and do few top 10 finishes also.

Don't think Phil, Westwood, or Donald will be involved come Sunday to be honest.

I wonder what the odds are for Harrington to MISS the cut, anyone know ?

Don't think Phil, Westwood, or Donald will be involved come Sunday to be honest.

I wonder what the odds are for Harrington to MISS the cut, anyone know ?

Tried Paddy, Bet365 and BF for ya about the cut market but nothing up I say be later today or more likely tomorrow before they are up

Cheers,

Just off the phone to Boyles.

6/4 for Harry to miss the cut,
    fantastic price if you ask me !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Cheers,

Just off the phone to Boyles.

6/4 for Harry to miss the cut,
    fantastic price if you ask me !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Anything odds against is value to me think its good price tbf..

I am big Harrington fan and would love to see him win it but his form is very poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

Dare I say it: Rory McIlroy @ 16/1 or 22.0 on BF :pac:

Seen something on his Twitter a few days ago saying how these fairways , and tees offs will suit him down to the ground.

Could be a trading opportunity me thinks.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Stricker has course form going back to the US Open in 97 where he finished 2nd. He's my main pick. I'll choose the other 3 later on today or tomorrow.

I should be working but instead studying the form for the golf:p.

Anyway one guy that stands out at big price is Jason Dufner. He has yet to win but has been in top 10 in the last three of his last four finishes. He was tied 6th at players and 5th at PGA last year so he may be massive price at matching 289/1 on BF..

I am also thinking that Jerry Kelly may be worth punt at 599/1 on BF with looking to lay him off. He has tendency to start tournaments well also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

McIllroy, Stricker and Baddeley so far for me. That Harrington bet @6/4 is very tempting I must say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭ValueSeeker

Aaron Baddeley 80/1 rates this course as 1 of his favourites. He has sorted out his driving this year so far and is back to where he was a few years ago. Should be available on Betfair @ triple figure odds come tomorrow afternoon. Superb putter, especially on fast greens and they should be running very quickly this week. One to watch for me.

Hunter Mahan 25/1 has a good US Open record. Hardly surprising given his tee to green game and the way the US Open sets up with serious penalties for missing fairways and greens. Working on the mental side of his game this year and for me a future major winner and the US Open would be his best chance for me. Right up there in the total driving stat and this is key for me this week for Mahan.

Full Picks on site for anyone interested.

I think the winner come Sunday night will be a big name. Watch out for Paul Casey at huge odds. Not in form but very much overpriced for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Fursttimer

Anyway one guy that stands out at big price is Jason Dufner

I've done Dufner also.

He's not the best putter around but the rest of his game is in such great shape he's hard oppose at the huge odds.

It's also interesting that the 3 Italians are set to play together - Molinari brothers and Manassero. That will take a lot of the tension out of it for them and while I don't really fancy Francesco because of his putting (on these fast greens) and Manassero because of his inexperience, Edoardo Molinari @ 200 on Betfair is certainly catching my eye, with a view to trading obviously.

Just another bit of info for you about the course. BVP mentioned recently that those with a high ball flight will benefit hugely. He was referring to approach shots and obviously the longer you can drive it, the better.

My selections ;)

A Baddeley, N Watney, G Ogilvy, B Snedeker, J Dufner & B Haas

Best of luck, looking forward to it :)

For the E/W backers, backing Stricker, Kuchar and Mahan should give you a run for your money. 1 of them to place will return you your E/W level stakes and a little extra. KJ Choi is another recent previous winner at Congressional (AT&T - pipping Stricker) and has the perfect game for the course. I'm iffy about his current form and state of mind though. He's been relaxing a bit since his big win. Robert Karlsson, after a superb performance on a tough and not overly dissimilar golf course set up last week is also great value.

Don't forget about the ST. Omer Open where there will no doubt be some big value with all eyes on America. Keep an eye on my FB/Twitter updates for the value men tomorrow.

Good luck everyone, should be an exciting week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 irishgunner1

its a bit like the grand national really with so many fancys,prob have a bet on mcillroy,johnson,choi and phil.prob do a few more each way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭albert kidd

its nearly upon us at long last:)

have been backing players for this for a few weeks and some players since the masters was on.

kj choi..due a major and imo has the patience/discipline required for the us open @75/1.

adam scott @75/1

peter hanson @ 200

kuchar @ 55..have big hopes for kuchar..himself and choi are who i think will go close.

[email]kaymer@36..hoping[/email] the us open can bring the best back out in him..another who may well have the discipline to go around here and bide his time.

quiros @110..more so a trade.

good luck lads.

its a bit like the grand national really with so many fancys,prob have a bet on mcillroy,johnson,choi and phil.prob do a few more each way

You hit the nail in head there. I think no matter who wins this unless its complete outsider we will all think that we could have backed that winner, if we did not do so.

I am going to do few Top 10 bets so even few winners on this I be happy. I will post them tomorrow after further review.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭Saganist

Oosthuizen @ 200/1

&

Manserro @ 70/1

Both e/w

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 irishgunner1

You hit the nail in head there. I think no matter who wins this unless its complete outsider we will all think that we could have backed that winner, if we did not do so.

I am going to do few Top 10 bets so even few winners on this I be happy. I will post them tomorrow after further review.
    yeah gonna wait myself and see how ascot goes before i back anyone in the golf,dont want to go too mad with the golf tho i end up backing a stupid amount of golfers in the majors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭shaggykev

Really like Anthony Kim each way at 110/1 with bet365.
    Plays well at Congressional

Spotted Jason Dufner but most bookies hadn't him priced up in morning. He got in as a reserve so another magical story if he wins

Normally back Mickelson for Majors but he'd break your heart at the US Open and not sure he'll suit course. Prefer Donald & Kaymer near top of market

Anyone give Watney a chance

I see Bar One Racing & John Mulhollands are going 7 places. Any others ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Mahan top5 @ 7.4

Dustin Johnson @ 28.0

Baddeley @ 9.0

Tempted by McIlroy at 23.0 but I'd be happy to see him win regardless of having money on him or not so I'll just root for him but have no money on :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭albert kidd

For the E/W backers, backing Stricker, Kuchar and Mahan should give you a run for your money. 1 of them to place will return you your E/W level stakes and a little extra. KJ Choi is another recent previous winner at Congressional (AT&T - pipping Stricker) and has the perfect game for the course. I'm iffy about his current form and state of mind though. He's been relaxing a bit since his big win. Robert Karlsson, after a superb performance on a tough and not overly dissimilar golf course set up last week is also great value.

Don't forget about the ST. Omer Open where there will no doubt be some big value with all eyes on America. Keep an eye on my FB/Twitter updates for the value men tomorrow.

Good luck everyone, should be an exciting week.

karlsson hardly merits "a superb performance" after the weekend imo..5 or 6 shot lead at one stage on saturday night only to fall apart big style.

40 odd holes he was superb granted..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭PEACEBROTHER

Just off the back of a nice win on Harrison Frazar ( see after timing thread )

Gary Woodland 10 e/w
    Arron Baddeley 10 e/w
    Johan Edfors 10 e/w
    Harrison Frazar 5 e/w

70e spent .

Thats enough to give back to them Im gonna withdraw rest .
    Good Luck all should be a cracker of a weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭frat

I read a fact recently that 18 of the last 20 US Open winners have come from the top 20 in the betting, so I know where I'll be looking in the market, won't be backing any outsiders in this one for sure.

I like to back a good few in the majors but think I'll keep it simple this time. Will be doing a large single on Donald who is by far the best player in the world at the moment and is one of the best around the greens which will be needed around here. Will also be having a smaller e/w bet on Watson and McIlroy first round leader

Definitely. The US Open takes a particular type of player to win, being such a tough test. If you look at the top 10 of the leaderboards down the years, they are packed with the big names. The cream usually rises to the top and I'll be very surprised if a big outsider goes all the way. It's not like the other majors for me. Weather(wind) is expected to play no part either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Oneywu

Wouldn't be an expert on golf but put a few small stakes on:

Goosen (EW) @ 60/1
    Dufner (EW) @ 150/1
    Baddely (EW) @ 66/1

Some tweets from the course lads:

You can follow me where I'll be retweeting the important 1's on my twitter over the next 2 days. Great info to be armed with before selecting

Copy and paste job, excuse the mess!

PaulAzinger
    At US Open. It hasn't rained on course in at least 3 weeks. Intermediate cut of rough is 5yd wide, dry and manageable. Rock hard greens tho
    15 hours ago Favorite Undo Retweet Reply »

PaulAzinger
    This is not a layup off the tee golf course. Driver off almost every hole. Big hitters will like it here.
    15 hours ago Favorite Undo Retweet Reply »

Graeme_McDowell
    Just played 18 holes at Congressional. Course much firmer and faster than last time I was here. Really enjoyed it. Great test of golf.

frat wrote: »
    I read a fact recently that 18 of the last 20 US Open winners have come from the top 20 in the betting, so I know where I'll be looking in the market, won't be backing any outsiders in this one for sure.

I like to back a good few in the majors but think I'll keep it simple this time. Will be doing a large single on Donald who is by far the best player in the world at the moment and is one of the best around the greens which will be needed around here. Will also be having a smaller e/w bet on Watson and McIlroy first round leader

That interesting I take it it was Campbell and Glover were the two outsiders.

I will take it into account stats dont lie on thing like this.

shaggykev wrote: »
    Anyone give Watney a chance

Along with Geoff Ogilvy, Nick Watney is my main pick.

I really, really, really, fancy his chances this week. Fantastic driver and his accuracy has improved off the tee too. The best ball striker for me on the PGA Tour and fast becoming one of the best putters, especially on fast undulating greens. There is one chink in is armour tough. Like Hunter Mahan, he is poor out of the greenside bunkers, but such is his fantastic ball-striking, he may not encounter many of them.

Negatives for me are Luke Donald, Rory McIlroy, Hunter Mahan & David Toms.

Some extra bets for me:

Top Amateur:

Patrick Cantlay 7/1 *Next Best*

Top European:

Lee Westwood 4/1

Justin Rose
    30/1

Fredrik Jacobson 50/1

Top American:

Matt Kuchar 16/1

Nick Watney 16/1

Top Australian:

Geoff Ogilvy 6/1

Aaron Baddeley 7/1

Top 10 Finish:

Geoff Ogilvy
    8/1 *Best Bet*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

So nobody fancies Rory? :pac:

Doocey wrote: »
    So nobody fancies Rory? :pac:

He be good bet if it was finished on the Saturday:pac:

Seriously, I give him a chance but I think its type of course where you have to have patience and wait for you chance, I think Rory may not be in that frame this weekend, but hey come Sunday who knows.

This is such a open contest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭Juwwi

Fursttimer wrote: »

Negatives for me are Luke Donald, Rory McIlroy,Hunter Mahan & David toms.

Just out of curiosity why are they both negatives l was gona back Toms myself ?

Was also looking at KJ Choi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭jjll

i think westwood will miss cut dont know why but i will take the 5-1 he misses it and also rory to miss it at 7-2 westwood struggling with putting last week and rory well will be up there or miss it completely and johnson to win fairways firm and fast he hits it miles

robbie1977 wrote: »

Was also looking at KJ Choi

Golfers tend to go on streaks and then go missing for a while. Toms missed the cut last week after a fantastic run of golf which may signal the start of a quiet period. His lack of distance off the tee will have him at a disadvantage. He's a negative for me this week as well.

Mahan for me though ticks all the right boxes. He is also the course record holder at Congressional.

But then golf is golf!

robbie1977 wrote: »

A lot of people are jumping on the AT&T National formbook for clues to the U.S. Open, if that's the case then Hunter Mahan is the pick but I am totally ignoring all previous form at Congressional. Why? Well this course will play much longer, the rough much thicker and the greens faster.

During the at&t the course played much, much softer. Those players will never have experienced a renovated Congressional like it will play this week.

So, best to ignore all previous course form.

With regards to Mahan, he putts his best on these greens BUT he's poor out of the rough and especially the greenside bunkers. These greenside bunkers will be the toughest these players will ever have faced. If it wasn't for that, I'd be punting him.

Unfortunately for short-hitting David Toms, rain is forecast for the event, making the course play even longer. He could struggle to get himself into contention.

Like Mahan, McIlroy putts best on these type of greens so his putting shouldn't struggle too much but I don't like his mentality so for that reason I'd oppose him, just!

One player who could really spring a surprise is Webb Simpson. I would urge everyone to get a small wager on him at 160's.

Mahan for me though ticks all the right boxes. He is also the course record holder at Congressional

Joint with Anthony Kim ;)

Regular golf viewers will (should) understand the stimpmeter. It measure the speed of the putting green.

The European Tour generally runs between 10 to 11.5. The PGA Tour usually 12 sometimes as high as 13-13.5 (Augusta National)

Congressional will run at 14-14.5! :eek:

Regular golf viewers will (should) understand the stimpmeter. It measure the speed of the putting green.

The European Tour generally runs between 10 to 11.5. The PGA Tour usually 12 sometimes as high as 13-13.5 (Augusta National)

Congressional will run at 14-14.5! :eek:

You cant have enough:eek: for this

Right I have done my bets and here they are

All to win and all Betfair prices.
    These are my main five
    Mahan 28
    Kuchar 28
    Stricker 28
    KJ 36
    Furyk 65

The my middle players are
    Baddeley 95
    Bo Van Pelt 110
    Woodland 120

My wild outside bet is
    Dufner 310

My Top 10 finishes
    Els 9.6
    Edfors 20
    Oothuizen 17
    Noren 16
    Wilson 14.5
    Quiros 9.4

So that's 15 golfers backed do ye think I have enough;):pac::pac:

I do plan to lay off some of these hopefully for profit and hope my big players can get off to good start.

I backed Furyk in the end because he has finished second twice since 2006 and that has to count for something.

I am also thinking about putting a bet on winning score being under -4 what ye reckon?

Edit Just did Villegas for Top 10 now, right thats it ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭frat

Along with Geoff Ogilvy, Nick Watney is my main pick.

I really, really, really, fancy his chances this week. Fantastic driver and his accuracy has improved off the tee too. The best ball striker for me on the PGA Tour and fast becoming one of the best putters, especially on fast undulating greens. There is one chink in is armour tough. Like Hunter Mahan, he is poor out of the greenside bunkers, but such is his fantastic ball-striking, he may not encounter many of them.

Negatives for me are Luke Donald, Rory McIlroy, Hunter Mahan & David Toms.

Why is Donald a negative for you?

Number 1 in the world, 8 top 10s from 9 starts in the States, top in scoring average, top 10 in the scrambling/putting/proximity to hole stats.

Its a long course (same length for everyone) but he has coped well on similar courses recently.

I do like Watney for this as well, just not convinced about his bottle coming down the stretch!

For anyone interested here racing post tips

Tips are in the order they fancy them so Mahan is their fav

Steve Palmer tips are
    H Mahan
    B Snedeker
    S Cink
    G Woodland
    J Dufner
    D Love

J Chapman tips are
    H Mahan
    M Kuchar
    D Johnson
    L Westwood
    R Goosen

frat wrote: »
    Why is Donald a negative for you?

50% chance of rain for the first two rounds which will make the course play even longer. Clearly it's longer for everyone but for those shorter hitters it means much longer approach shots with long irons/hybrids which are much more difficult to control. Donald has the scrambling ability to minimise damage scoring wise but his odds are simply too short for me to get involved. I'd much rather have Mickelson at the same odds.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

My final picks -

Mahan
    KJ
    Watson
    Day
    Palmer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Have done a few small e/ws on

Quiros
    Poulter
    Fowler
    Laird
    Crane
    Dufner
    Simpson

Going to pick one from Phil, Kuchar, Mahan or Watney as my main bet. Still thinking but Watney is seriously tempting me.

Just wish everyone the very best of luck with yer selections for Open tomorrow. I am off Monday and will be going out clubbing after the Golf so I hope to have a my drinking money coming from my bets.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

main bet as previously mentioned is Donald at prices ranging from 25's-16-1.
    Next is Ryan Moore @100/1

and a few likely one's
    Bill Hass @110
    Chad Campbell @225
    Scott Piercy @450/1

Just wish everyone the very best of luck with yer selections for Open tomorrow. I am off Monday and will be going out clubbing after the Golf so I hope to have a my drinking money coming from my bets.;)

You too, cheers.

I've withdrawn 3 selections from my initial post (page 1). I've decided against them and selected others.

Paul Casey 75's, Bubba Watson 48's & Sergio Garcia 75's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭iggy

Looking forward to watching this. Have done the following bets

All PP ( 6 places)

Main bets - all e/w
    Stricker - 22/1
    Watney- 30/1
    Donald- 14/1
    Adam Scott- 60/1
    Kuchar- 25/1
    Snedeker- 60/1

Small e/w bets outsiders
    Kevin Na- 200/1
    Bud Cauley- 500/1

Best of luck everyone, hope a few of us make some cash:-)