Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The cubby hole, under the stairs!

• 12-06-2011 2:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭

We've all different names for it, I call it cubby hole, done simply refer to it as 'under the stairs'.

Question is though, what do you keep in yours?

Theres a hoover, ironing board, suitcase and about 5 jackets hanging up in mine. Theres also an inflatable mattress in case unexpected guests arrive.

Any interesting stuff stored in yours, and what do you call the space under your stairs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I don't call it anything... we keep coats and shoes there.

Edit:The bit under my stairs doesn't have a door or anything, it's just an area of space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Maddie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Ghandee wrote: »
    Any interesting stuff stored in yours, and what do you call the space under your stairs?

A downstairs toilet. The downstairs toilet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Harry Potter is sometimes found in there.

Should it not be called Harry Potters Hole??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

A corpse dressed in a binliner with an Orange stuck in its mouth :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Hoover, inflatable mattress, brush, astroturf runners, sleeping bag, old dvd player.....plenty of other shite I'd imagine

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

A stack of old racing posts.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

It was just called "the press under the stairs" in my parents home.
    A lot of our toys was kept in it plus a hoover, brush etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

an olde worlde chest with my gimp inside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

Biggins wrote: »
    It was just called "the press under the stairs" in my parents home.
    A lot of our toys was kept in it plus a hover, brush etc.

I know you are some sort of international man of mystery but are you saying that you actually had a hover-craft under your stairs, and it was so commonplace amongst your ilk that you simply refer to it as a hover.

Fcuking hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

The Cellar.
    Ideal place for home wine making.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Karamoja

Hoover, shoes, other things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

a **** mattress

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

We've all different names for it, I call it cubby hole, done simply refer to it as 'under the stairs'.

Theres a hoover, ironing board, suitcase and about 5 jackets hanging up in mine. Theres also an inflatable mattress in case unexpected guests arrive.

Do we share a house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

A stack of old racing posts.

I have a stack of front pages from the RP in my press at home, all K Fallon related...it's my 'spank' material :o :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Blondini wrote: »
    I know you are some sort of international man of mystery but are you saying that you actually had a hover-craft under your stairs, and it was so commonplace amongst your ilk that you simply refer to it as a hover.

Fcuking hell.
    It was also referred to as the place where time and relative dimension in space exist. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

I live in a bungalow, what are these 'stairs' you speak of?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭thehairyelbow

Why make fun of my home? What have I done to you to deserve this??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

Its a coal house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Liquid_i_p

what do i keep in the chubby hole?

my chubby finger.

edit: fingerS
    1 more edit. + lube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭SadieSue

Ahh under the stairs. Used to lock my twin in there :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Don't have one in my house, where I grew up they were called the "coal hole" I guess people used to keep coal there at some stage. When I down in my mam's she will often ask me to get something out of the coal hole. Strage name I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Odysseus wrote: »
    Don't have one in my house, where I grew up they were called the "coal hole" I guess people used to keep coal there at some stage. When I down in my mam's she will often ask me to get something out of the coal hole. Strage name I know.

1800 666 666

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

phasers wrote: »
    Edit:The bit under my stairs doesn't have a door or anything, it's just an area of space.
    Sorry, what are you talking about again :P

Does anyone have a big white box in their hall? it has fuses or something in it. In my house we call it the "white yoke"... wtf is it called?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,285 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Blondini wrote: »

Fcuking hell.

He's just so blasé about his hovercraft usage, he doesn't even bother to use the manufacturer's name anymore, he just refers to them as 'a hover'. Much like us ordinary mortals do when referring to a vacuum cleaner.

As for my understairs area, there's some parts of a 1991 Ford Sierra, 4 alloys/tyres for same, some tools, and some 1970's/80's vinyl LPs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭christina_x

we called it the cubby hole.
    theres jackets, shoes, ironing board, laundry basket and a hoover =)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

I guess people used to keep coal there at some stage.

Storing flammable fuel under the stairs :eek:
    phasers wrote: »
    Does anyone have a big white box in their hall? it has fuses or something in it. In my house we call it the "white yoke"... wtf is it called?

A fuse box (or "consumer unit" if one is an electrician)..Thought everyone knew that though....You didnt grow up someplace really remote by any chance ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Mike 1972 wrote: »

It's going back a long time I'm 42 this year and don't remember coal being kept in ours, but I know people did. The coin gas meter was in the same place. However, It does take a bit if work to get coal going, it's hardly highly inflammable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

I refuse to answer that question on the grounds that I might incriminate myself. :)
    Hint. They are on their 12 hour dark cycle at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Fritzl Hole.

Not really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

I thought this was going to be a very rude thread .... very disappointed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

There's a giant chess set under our stairs these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭20260622

Was just called under the stairs in my gaf. Hoover, boxes excess drinking glasses for Christmas when the alcoholic neighbours popped in to bleed the drinking cabinet dry, random shyte really. Aunt made a curtain for it at some stage, no idea what was in there after the curtain went up .....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

We call it the "under the stairs". It basically holds everything we can't fit elsewhere! We keep a surplus of cat food, loo roll and stuff under there. As well as tools, shopping bags, vacuum cleaner and other junk. It's a vital space when you have a tiny house!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Zapho

An annoying wizard boy called Harry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Was always the cubby hole in my house too.

Mike 1972 wrote: »

A fuse box (or "consumer unit" if one is an electrician)..Thought everyone knew that though....You didnt grow up someplace really remote by any chance ?
    Clondalkin :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

It's 'the cupboard under the stairs' and in there now is:

15kg dog food
    A hedge trimmer
    A saw
    The doodad for turning the water on an off at the mains
    A fireman's helmet, I have no idea where that came from
    Dishwasher tablets
    Washing machine tablets
    Assorted drain unblockers, cleaning solutions etc.
    Fuses
    Spare tiles, which match no tiles anywhere in the house.
    Holder for a glass shelf, although I have no glass shelves.
    Tins of paint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭BlueBaron

I dont have a stairs :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭TommyTippee

an olde worlde chest with my gimp inside.

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

Was that what you were hoping for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,968 ✭✭✭Cork Lass

That's what ours was called too when I lived at home. I always thought it was a terrible name. Kept a lot of sh*te in it really but never coal as far as I remember.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Wine rack and cobwebs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Mine's a hotpress and also a gas meter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

I keep the gimp in mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

I refuse to answer that question on the grounds that I might incriminate myself. :)
    Hint. They are on their 12 hour dark cycle at the moment.

Wonder if anyone else gets it :D

I live in a bungalow, but I have a "cubby hole". I still call it the under the stairs - even though I grew up in a bungalow!
    In there I keep, the laundry basket, the coats and shoes!

I get odd looks from people when they come to my house, "where did you put my coat" "under the stairs".......riiiiiight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 LouieWalsh

Call it - the Leisure centre.
    Keep in it - a set of well endowed twins with sexy bums.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

Laisurg wrote: »
    Wonder if anyone else gets it :D
    Shhh....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I haven't looked since that day I seen the white misty figure go into that storage cupboard under the stairs. But I'm guessing there is some kind of portal to hell or something similar.