Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Junior Cert 2011: CSPE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭Colm!

rainaa wrote: »
    ... are you serious?
    I got 92.5% in my mock and a B in the JC. Totally serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Mayo_Boy

I also got an A in my mocks and then a B in the real thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Desire.

Colm! wrote: »
    I got 92.5% in my mock and a B in the JC. Totally serious.
    Mayo_Boy wrote: »
    I also got an A in my mocks and then a B in the real thing

That's the thing. There is a bell curve in the Junior Cert whereas there is nothing stopping your class getting 30 As in the Pres.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭P H A 7V T O M

Desire. wrote: »
    That's the thing. There is a bell curve in the Junior Cert whereas there is nothing stopping your class getting 30 As in the Pres.

That curveball is the project, right? I'm often told that the actual examinations are marked harder for the mocks, if only to scare you. Examiners for mocks are often not even State Examiners, and some of them are absolute bastards. For example, I got 53% religion, the highest score in all of my class... And most get A's and B's.

The project is where most people would lose their marks, I guess.

I don't know about the Pres being marked harder. I think it depends on who is correcting it like. I would say all my Pres were marked fairly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,654 ✭✭✭shadowninty

I have a decent interest in politics so I think ill do ok
    However I only got 91% in my Pres and if my project is awful I may end up with a B :L
    At least I don't have to study. Yay :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 phenomenale

Anyone know where I could find pictures and names of the current ministers in the Dáil? :L
    Kind of took this exam for granted due to the fact that I got 98% in the pres but looking at the statistics is kind of scaring me.
    Pretty happy with my project though..

Anyone know where I could find pictures and names of the current ministers in the Dáil? :L

[url]HTTP://www.taoiseach.gov.ie/eng/Taoiseach_and_Government/List_of_Ministers_Ministers_of_State/[/url]

The paper was set when Fianna Fáil were still in government, so they won't be pictures of the government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭TheRedDevil10

that has the new ministers

The paper was set when Fianna Fáil were still in government, so they won't be pictures of the government.

The poster asked for the current ones :D

I know, but they won't ask about the ministers. That's what I'm saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Slow Show

Did my only bit of study for CSPE ever there for five minutes, feel reasonably well prepared. :cool: Well they can't ask us ministers or anything this so yeah, expecting UN secretary general/chairman of the EU commission etc. Oh, and almost definitely a bit on Aung San Suu Kyi, I remember she was released at November, which is when the papers were made. There was a question on her last year though, so we'll probably just have to identify her in a picture or something.

Also, fun fact: There are 166 TD's in Dáil Eireann, go forth with this knowledge.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,355 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I know, but they won't ask about the ministers. That's what I'm saying.

The papers will have been printed relatively late. The exam could easily have current ministers in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Exoskeleton

spurious wrote: »
    The papers will have been printed relatively late. The exam could easily have current ministers in it.

You are always the bearer of bad news! :pac:
    Thanks though, guess I will have to look over the ministers now.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,355 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

You are always the bearer of bad news! :pac:
    Thanks though, guess I will have to look over the ministers now.
    A stunningly handsome set they are too.

Don't be worrying about picture questions - even if you don't know them they sometimes get you to match them to names so you can make an educated guess. Alternatively, give your corrector a bit of a laugh with wildly wrong answers. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭cantanstrophe

Don't be worrying about picture questions - even if you don't know them they sometimes get you to match them to names so you can make an educated guess. Alternatively, give your corrector a bit of a laugh with wildly wrong answers. :)

A guy in my form matched Bam Ki Moon to Mary McAleese in the Mock.

I think I might go with the latter, maybe I'll gain extra marks if the examiner starts laughing like Mrs. Reece.

****ing failed :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Lucan Bohs

Harder than I thought it'd be, probaly because I thought it was going to be piss which it sorta was!

its a joke tbf, left at half 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Is maith liom caca mils

Was really easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭cantanstrophe

Well, that was grand. Did the question about the zebra crossing.

i needed extra paper and all :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭Conchir

Did the M___ D___ in the fill in the blanks section stand for Millenium Development?

^Yup, only one I know to get it, go me! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Karl96

this was grand lol left at 5 past 2! our centre was empty by 20 past
    !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭nimrod86

That was was easy, went outside the lines a bit on my poster though!

Think they might still give me a B despite mis-colouring a bit?

Waste of time. I left as soon as we were allowed.

I'd say I got an A. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Indiego

Conchir wrote: »
    Did the M___ D___ in the fill in the blanks section stand for Millenium Development?

haha i've never heard of that :L
    I guessed multinational development, was the only one i was unsure of, at least i got the development part right :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭FatRat

I came out of it crying.

....... Half of my year did.....

FatRat wrote: »
    I came out of it crying.

....... Half of my year did.....

With laughter? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

Presiding officer, ceann comhairle and millenium development were unusual and tougher than expected. Think I did very well on other questions though. Almost certainly an A.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭ohdechertig

Worst part is though, if we all think we got A's, they'll mark people down :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭scipsss

Was really easy.

for all those people that refer to this exam as easy and that they left half an hour or 40 minutues or so early , it would be very embarrasing for you not to get an A now and i say that some of you wont so enjoy the walk of shame lads ;) least i stayed for the whole time wrote twice as much as i needed for each q so i feel fine :):D

I found it really easy, but they asked different questions than usual this year, I can see why it might not have been as easy for people who wouldn't really know much about politics and such, like I knew a good few things in the short questions (well, maybe two) from watching election coverage. But yeah, grand job, subject done, and I got extra paper. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭King John The Last

I stayed the whole time also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭rorrissey

I was done at half past but I decided I'd stay because no one else was leaving! :p

Conchir wrote: »

I put in May Day for the craic.

rorrissey wrote: »
    I was done at half past but I decided I'd stay because no one else was leaving! :p

Nobody had left after an hour?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭ohdechertig

Most people in my center stayed till the end. I spent my time waffling on for my long question. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Is maith liom caca mils

scipsss wrote: »
    for all those people that refer to this exam as easy and that they left half an hour or 40 minutues or so early , it would be very embarrasing for you not to get an A now and i say that some of you wont so enjoy the walk of shame lads ;) least i stayed for the whole time wrote twice as much as i needed for each q so i feel fine :):D

Well 60% is for the project so i say i did get an A. Bet you a tenner i did.

Most people in my center stayed till the end. I spent my time waffling on for my long question. :)

I was done after thirty minutes and I needed extra paper and everything.

What long question did everyone do? I did question one. I didn't bother reading the other ones.

I was finished after thirty-five minutes, waited for two of my friends to be done and was out by quarter past. :L

I stayed for seventy minutes.
    I got an extra sheet for the letter to the MEP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

I was done after thirty minutes and I needed extra paper and everything.

What long question did everyone do? I did question one. I didn't bother reading the other ones.

Question 1 for me too. Action project thing and campaign questions were easy, president's role nearly threw me off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭d.a.r.r.a.g.h

37 minutes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Stickjesus

I don't get how anyone could be worried.

A1 = yay + get on with your LC
    NG = Oh well + get on with your LC

The JC means nothing :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Louise6

I was delighted with that! I'm so glad buildings came up instead of politicians cause i don't know any of them. And i needed extra paper and all for the last question for the letter to the MEP :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭spirit_77

never had a scpe class for 3 years except for doing the project so fairly happy with how it went,only thing stopping me from getting an A is probably the project