Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Greg Glasman - the most dangerous man in american healthcare?

• 10-06-2011 12:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭

http://blog.skyvisioncenters.com/?p=491

I'd agree with the article in so far as anything that gets people exercising is a good thing, but I'd be wary of some of the crossfit workouts, the comments on the blog do a good job of presenting both the positives and negatives of crossfit. I don't think it's for me personally, as far as I can see (and I'm completely open to correction here) everyone has to do the same workout (by and large) without any thought given to individual problem areas etc. It seems to assume that everybody is starting the workout injury/imbalance free?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Healthcare?
    Jesus........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

He has a point, kinda (as in "exercise is good"). White is off his rocker though (he posts as bingo on the .com comments and is eyeball deep in koolaid)! As to glassman being a scientist... he draws pretend three dimensional graphs and uses stat lingo along with some integral signs and circular arguments to make people think he's a genius! I haven't seen any publications either so he's a very quiet scientist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Red Cortina

I thought this quote from the comments section was pretty funny:pac::pac::pac:

'Greg Glassman the most dangerous man in American healthcare?
    Damn straight, the American healthcare system is only thing keeping his clients alive and shoulders attached to their torsos.'

And actually I thought from reading the title that that was going to be the jist of the article, obviously not tho!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭columok

That article is insane even considering the CF worldwide boat is being steered by such numbskulls as Budding and Castro.

It's just exercise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭cmyk

Put a controversial headline on an otherwise dull article = internet viral. :(

The fawning is creepy as hell, that lad has been writing gushing tributes to glassman and his cronies all over the internet for at least five years. Someone should take the internet off him before he hurts himself.

I have huge issues with CF methods, structures, injury rates etc but...

I have never seen a methodology as effective at introducing people to strength training/weightlifting who otherwise would never have tried them. The key thing is what people do once they've been introduced to these things and take ownership over their own development to some extent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭cc87

The last line of the article is clearly relevant to this thread anyway :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 PatrickMac

I do enjoy crossfit and Im an instructor myself, but one injury can take you out of the whole system of training. There are always alternative exercises, but as said it isnt specialized towards the single needs of a trainee, and we're all different. Saying that, if you're fit, injury free and reasonably healthy I believe theres is simply no better generic training platform. I myself do crossfit alongside the specialized training I know I need to do myself to correct my weaknesses. We dont have toi stick to Glassman and the Crossfit.com routine all the time. Sorry for straying off the point, but people seem to think its crossfit 100% or not at all :confused: Cén Fáth?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

columok wrote: »

I have never seen a methodology as effective at introducing people to strength training/weightlifting who otherwise would never have tried them. The key thing is what people do once they've been introduced to these things and take ownership over their own development to some extent.

Good post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 PatrickMac

d'Oracle wrote: »
    Healthcare?
    Jesus........

I suppose preventing future illness can be seen as healthcare :rolleyes:

Dead Ed wrote: »
    He has a point, kinda (as in "exercise is good"). White is off his rocker though (he posts as bingo on the .com comments and is eyeball deep in koolaid)! As to glassman being a scientist... he draws pretend three dimensional graphs and uses stat lingo along with some integral signs and circular arguments to make people think he's a genius! I haven't seen any publications either so he's a very quiet scientist!

Where's the magnitude in that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭token

qlRu3.gif

Where's the magnitude in that?

God damn, I need to find that video again!

I shall answer your question in a glassmanian fashion...

"Where's the magnitude in that?"

What like get bladdered and mumble incoherent nonsense while putting way to much effort into drawing bendy spoons on a whiteboard?

"Where's the magnitude in that?"
    What like get bladdered and mumble incoherent nonsense while putting way to much effort into drawing bendy spoons on a whiteboard?

Ah ya's are just jealous you don't have the science.

If I could pull 7 figures a year for that **** I'd do it too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

If I could pull 7 figures a year for that **** I'd do it too!

Damn straight.
    The guy franchised pull ups for feck sake :pac:
    Genius.

The Lron Hubbard of fitness.

Does that make Tony Budding the Tom Cruise of Crossfit?

Hanley wrote: »
    Does that make Tony Budding the Tom Cruise of Crossfit?
    Budding is definitely Travolta.

Oh and Castro has to be Tommy Davis (if you've seen that BBC Documentary).

I haven't.

Is Will Smith a scientologist or not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

I haven't.

Is Will Smith a scientologist or not?

Will Smith is a religion in and of himself.

I see the relevance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭daveyc21

Glassman Video in summary...

Crossfit is nothing and everthing. I am your overlord join me.
    Crossfit is different, this side of my shirt is different
    How big is my penis do you know its impossible to know. MAGNITUDE, LOUD NOISES!!!

Pretty accurate.

Actually I am looking back over this thread, I had forgotten about it.
    If we accept the point that prescribing exercise is a form of healthcare, I'd say....Yes, he is the most dangerous man in healthcare.

Specially now that Harold Shipman has been struck off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

Let's just say that there is a hot debate about Crossfit in Waterford at the moment

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthred.php?t=2056269749

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭SanoVitae

Let's just say that there is a hot debate about Crossfit in Waterford at the moment

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthred.php?t=2056269749

At any given time, somewhere in the world, someone is on an Internet discussion forum having exactly the same debate about Crossfit.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭Thud

"Glassman digested this information and in 2008 made the following statement: fitness is a proxy for health. Indeed, Glassman declared that fitness EQUALS health"

groundbreaking stuff there..

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056269749

2 pages in and the koolaid drinkers arre already makig me feel ill.

Its hardly a debate.

And once the owners stop its basically one or two of the "reborn".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭Molly

That thread has incredible amounts of awesome. Must be doing well enough to be able to boot lads out for that.

That's the best thing I've ever seen written about crossfit.

Its hardly a debate.

And once the owners stop its basically one or two of the "reborn".

It's funny, I was reading a bit about the concept of social proof last night. There was an interesting story about Jim Jones and The People's Temple in the 70's. He told over 900 people to drink poison, and they did. All it took was a few fanatics to take the first step and everyone else followed suit cos that was the right thing to do based off their peer group.

It reminded me of the mindless adoration some people have for CF, lack of awareness that there could possibly be anything to criticise about it, and the way they jump on people who aren't into CF as somehow being inferior and weak. And then I saw it all in that thread this morning...

EDIT: And before anyone gets their panties in a bunch, I'm not saying all CF people are like that.

If you want to really see how cultish it can be have a read of the mainsite forums. Reality checks are needed for many a poster there. There are actually some good posters but they are few and far between.

http://www.crossfit.com/cf-affiliates/2011/08/tuesday_110816.html

There is some gold in here.
    People seem to defend reckless endangerment of your own child in the name of Crossfit.

Note also how some CF celebrities are pretty damn critical, which is good.

People seem to defend reckless endangerment of your own child in the name of Crossfit.

I've seen your one "lisbeth" post on the forum before and she's a complete knob in every sense of the word.

Also LOL to the person saying OHS w/ a seven month old baby starpped to your front is like doing a WOD while pregnant.

"Speaking from the knowledge and perspective of one who was ACTUALLY THERE when the photo was taken, it is quite clear, and very unfortunate, that the context of, and the manner in which, the photo was taken has been severely misunderstood and grossly scrutinized.

The fact that such harsh judgements and blatant character assassinations have been made without knowledge of the true facts of the captured moment is quite lamentable."

Woah.

Just read that thread. I have learned it's okay to do very irresponsible things as long as no one actually gets hurt.

"I think you should all mind your own business and get back to.training. we should respect HQs backbone in standing up to the thugs" - in response to them NOT taking the photo down. Wow. Koolaid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭sharky86

Chris Rock eat your heart out!

Pudding says they don't "sanitize reality".

Blatant lies and butchery of the English language
    HQ in a nutshell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭Thud

gotta love this quote :
    "Absolutely, but all of us parents have nearly killed our children multiple times. "

I thought that popcorn from page 1 was going to go to waste whoop.

My biggest pet peeve about crossfit currently is the belief or notion being thrown about by a lot of cf'ers that there are only two training options available. Typical bodybuilding split chest, tris, bi's etc and then crossfit. Well yeah of course crossfit is the better option in that case. It doesn't help when CF are releasing videos of NFL guys doing crossfit and propagating the same notion by saying if they weren't doing cf style training all they'd be doing is bench and bicep curls.

There is more stuff out there people!

If you have anything negative to say about Crossfit, you are clearly just a big baby.....

apexoshwithaj_th.jpg

Tony Budding, on why we did not remove the photo:

1. We don't pull photos.

2. There is no REAL issue, as in no one was injured. Josh has a ton of experience with OH squats and determined that he could squat that weight with his baby. He was right. :eek:

3. Several members of the community are upset by the photo, and the record shows that. It is an educational experience for all if they choose to make it so. :rolleyes:

4. We don't pull photos or sanitize reality. The photo was posted and people voiced their opinions.

Just catching up on this thread but reckon I'd redefine it to include the proviso "providing stupid programming (ie doing random sh1t quickly) doesn't banjax you"! In this I would include box jumps in a metcon in light of the recent spate of achilles blowouts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,902 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

HOLY CRAP!
    They actualy posted that pic and didn't see that its might not be the best idea.
    I'm even shocked that the guy doing the OHS didn't see that putting the pic up on the internet might be a bad idea. He is a coach in that gym, pretty easy to identify. Even if he thought that there was 0% chance of an accident (he was wrong theres always a chance), how did he not think that certain people might disagree with him.
    I'd say the fact that the people who seen it are mostly CFers was the only reason child protection services won't call on him

Mellor wrote: »
    I'm even shocked that the guy doing the OHS didn't see that putting the pic up on the internet might be a bad idea.

Here's the thing I find strange.

In order for him to "clean" the weight in the first place, he'd have to lift it in a way that was different from the standard cleaning technique. Otherwise the bar would have hit the baby on the way up.

So he'd have to lift the bar in a non-conventional way (e.g. lift the bar forward ala a front raise so that it didn't hit the baby). Not only would this be extremely difficult, it would further increase the likelihood of accident since he would not be used to (and therefore as skilled) in lifting in this way.

Unless of course, he never cleaned the bar in the first place and just took the weight out of a rack placed at shoulder height, before doing the overhead squat.

He never mentioned this though - so it's very likely that at least one of the devoted Crossfitters who saw this pic and defended his actions (saying it was a great way to get kids into exercise :rolleyes:) decided to give it a go with one of their babies and would have cleaned the bar with the technique they've been trained to develop at Crossfit.

If that happens and a baby gets seriously hurt (especially if it happens in America), expect a massive lawsuit and tons of negative publicity which would severely tarnish the name of any Crossfit affiliate around the world, no matter how hard they try to distance themselves from Glasman and the Crossfit HQ.