Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Romantic Candlelight Dinners

• 10-06-2011 3:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭

Okay,

I'm probably the gheyest man on boards, and I love candlelight, but wtf is with candlelit dinners? When i'm eating I like to do it in good light where I can see what I'm eating. The same goes for bathing. I can enjoy a nice bubblebath just as well as the next ghey man once it's in the glare of a 100W bulb where I can see what I'm "scrubbing;):pac:".

Candlelight should be saved for smoking spliffs, drinking wine, and admitting to your OH that not only do you like James Taylor but also Kenny Rogers.

So, what say you AH? Am I dead inside or dead right?

Btw, don't even get me started on fcuking picnics.

Choco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

Candlelight is meant to be the most flattering type of lighting its not about the food looking good its about you and your partner looking good.

It is also relaxing to stare into a flame and so people have them lighting up a bathroom. I don’t know how dirty you get but I don’t really need good lighting to wash myself on an average day and normally only take bats to relax not wash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Doc wrote: »
    Candlelight is meant to be the most flattering type of lighting its not about the food looking good its about you and your partner looking good.

LOL..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭CongoPowers

Q: When is the only time a man thinks of a candlelight dinner?

A: When the power goes off.

I know...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Candlelight is meant to be the most flattering type of lighting
    She does look better with the lights out, TBH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Btw, don't even get me started on fcuking picnics.

Choco

Well OP, whats wrong with picnics??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

Picnics are wonderful OP. WATCHUTALKINBOUT!!!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I'm probably the gheyest man on boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭mdebets

Candlelight dinners were invented by the food industry to sell off their gone off food that looks already a little bit grey and green.
    You wouldn't notice that in the low lightning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭TheRealSquishy

I like candles aswel just not when I'm eating. I'm a messy enough eater without adding fire to the mix! Cue flames racing up my arm when I'm reaching for the salt. And I'm a very fussy eater and god forbid I might put a vegetable into my mouth by accident :eek:

I don't like baths full stop. I dunno why but I find them the least relaxing thing ever. And adding fire isn't relaxing either! I'm way too paranoid, I know :rolleyes:

But I love them if we're just chillin' on the couch or something. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I'm with you mate. I hate eating in dim light - i want to see what i'm chomping down god damn it. As for candlelit baths - not if georgia salpa and her twin sister are in there begging for company, turn the god damn lights on.
    If it aint good enough to be seen, it aint good enough for me!

Oh yea, you're wrong about the picnics though. They rock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Bright lights for a meal wouldn't be my thing at all. A nice low level, warm glow lighting will do nicely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Reading the thread title...

Romantic Candlelight Dinners
    AskMyChocolate

is a weird juxtaposition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Q: When is the only time a man thinks of a candlelight dinner?

A: When the power goes off.

I know...

The OP should pay his feckin ESB bill and stop pretending that he's romantic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

It is also relaxing to stare into a flame and so people have them lighting up a bathroom. I don’t know how dirty you get but I don’t really need good lighting to wash myself on an average day and normally only take bats to relax not wash.

I'll give you that one. Was locked up in a mental hospital for six weeks and having a bath and getting away from sundry nutters for 45 minutes was the highlight of my day. I hear it was the highlight of their day too. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

the point is that lights are low, it's intimate, private and secret...
    Also the low lights mean big bedroom eyes, and because the light doesn't travel far the only things visible are each other.

100 watt bulbs are great for lighting up the place, and if your Chomping away on your food like a horse, finishing up and then saying right lets fook...
    Well that's not very romantic, doesn't set the mood at all at all... The moody cow'll be all, not tonight I've a head ache from this harsh bright light. You might as well watch the match while having dinner then...

Guill wrote: »
    Well OP, whats wrong with picnics??

In your mind they seem top-notch, but actually they're a fly-infested nightmare. Picnics are an American invasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Boards picnic?

Fago! wrote: »
    Picnics are wonderful OP. WATCHUTALKINBOUT!!!?

The only possible reason for a "picnic" is when you're 15 years of age and you grab two french sticks, a packet of Brie and a Frisbee. It enables you to drink a case of cheap wine at Powerscourt Waterfall without being hassled by the guards.
    "Posh" knacker drinking FTW.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

[...] not only do you like James Taylor [...]

Oi! I resemble that remark! Nothing wrong with JT.

Oink wrote: »
    Oi! I resemble that remark! Nothing wrong with JT.

:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

Resent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

I'm a girl, and I love candles, but I don't see anything remotely romantic about dinner, candle lit or otherwise.

It's just sitting there chatting and chewing, chatting and chewing, usually in a restaurant full of loudness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Ah it's romantic....but romance is dead and gone :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

Mrs bouquet treated me to her candle light supper..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

I hear they are legendary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Not a mad fan of it to be honest OP and I'm a girl! :P

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

Chuck Norris can eat a candle lit dinner in the shower !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

One evening (a few weeks back when the weather was good), my other half set up a table for two in the garden, he had the Chimenea and some lanterns lighting, we spent a couple of hours eating and drinking good wine under the stars and by candlelight and it was fierce romantic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

There is a time and a place.
    Just depends on the mood. If you want to kick back after a long day, de-stress and have some low light, soothing music in the background, a drink and a favourite dish - it all helps relaxation and lower the stress levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

MrsD007 wrote: »
    One evening (a few weeks back when the weather was good), my other half set up a table for two in the garden, he had the Chimenea and some lanterns lighting, we spent a couple of hours eating and drinking good wine under the stars and by candlelight and it was fierce romantic.

But you were really wishing your OH was the Tesco delivery guy ;) :pac:

kfallon wrote: »
    But you were really wishing your OH was the Tesco delivery guy ;) :pac:
    Funny you should say that, the Tesco man did make an appearance that evening ;)

He delivered the vino for the meal :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

I don't find candlelight romantic.the idea is somewhat romantic but even then it's really just unoriginal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Funny you should say that, the Tesco man did make an appearance that evening ;)

He delivered the vino for the meal :D

And the sleeping tablets for the OH's bottle ;):p

kfallon wrote: »
    And the sleeping Viagra tablets for the OH's bottle ;):p

Mr D, if you're reading this, I'm only joking :D:D

I don't find candlelight romantic.the idea is somewhat romantic but even then it's really just unoriginal.
    Aaa... young grasshopper, you have life still left to live. :D

Biggins wrote: »
    Aaa... young grasshopper, you have life still left to live. :D

What?

Do dinners somehow become more interesting with age?!

I completely agree with stupidusername. Unoriginal.

They can be nice of course, just quite beige really though.

What?
    Do dinners somehow become more interesting with age?!
    I completely agree with stupidusername. Unoriginal.
    They can be nice of course, just quite beige really though.
    Beige? :confused:

Fair enough - each to their own.
    I will say though that there is some things I didn't understand when young or appreciate/see the deeper significance in.
    I was too blind at the time to appreciate a larger picture/sentimentality/time-out in whatever atmospheric form it took to slow down..
    Ok, this mightn't the case here for some - but just because others here do see something in the atmosphere of how they occasionally eat, don't make it a bad thing either or "Beige!"

One persons meat is another's poison.

Beige? :confused:

Fair enough - each to their own.
    I will say though that there is some things I didn't understand when young or appreciate/see the deeper significance in.
    I was too blind at the time to appreciate a larger picture/sentimentality/time-out in whatever atmospheric form it took to slow down..
    Ok, this mightn't the case here for some - but just because others here do see something in the atmosphere of how they occasionally eat, don't make it a bad thing either or "Beige!"

I agree. I think that when children arrive on the scene, you really begin to appreciate simple things like a romantic meal with your partner or a couple of glasses of wine and some nice music.

Dada of four here - and wifey (madmammy here on the forum) I'm sure will agree.
    Sometimes its nice to be able to chill out and if a simple candle light dinner can help ease the mood after a crazy day of screaming, ever demanding kids and other stuff to do while they are running around upsetting the place, under your feet and creating one mess as you've just cleaned up the last - trust me - a slow candlelight dinner in silence or low music, can be ruddy heaven if your just lucky enough to get time to call your own.

It was nothing personal. :)

You seem to have taken some offense to what I said?

Honestly, just my opinion.

I don't pass restaurants and think "Pah! What fools be ye?! Sitting there... Eating away..... Enjoying yourselves.... Morans"

I just don't personally find a dinner romantic t'is all. :)

:confused: I have two kids

It was nothing personal. :)
    You seem to have taken some offence to what I said?
    Honestly, just my opinion.
    I don't pass restaurants and think "Pah! What fools be ye?! Sitting there... Eating away..... Enjoying yourselves.... Morans"
    I just don't personally find a dinner romantic t'is all. :)
    Na, absolutely NO offence. :)

Keep a willingness to see things different some day and you never know... with the right lady (bloke?)... YAHOOOO! ;)

Na, absolutely NO offence. :)

Keep a willingness to see things different some day and you never know... with the right lady (bloke?)... YAHOOOO! ;)

(Chandler voice) Could my username be any more feminine?! :)
    Keep a willingness to see things different

I think this advice applies to all aspects of life, and should always be kept in mind until the day you die.

The minute you become set in your ways, it's time to try new things.

:confused: I have two kids
    It would be a really boring world if we all liked the same things. My husband and I both have stressful jobs and being a parent can be full on too, we both are passionate about cooking so we take turns cooking for each other and/or inviting friends over etc. We find it very relaxing and enjoyable.

Each to their own as they say:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭smugchik

Taylor21 wrote: »
    I like candles aswel just not when I'm eating. I'm a messy enough eater without adding fire to the mix! Cue flames racing up my arm when I'm reaching for the salt. And I'm a very fussy eater and god forbid I might put a vegetable into my mouth by accident :eek:

I don't like baths full stop. I dunno why but I find them the least relaxing thing ever. And adding fire isn't relaxing either! I'm way too paranoid, I know :rolleyes:

But I love them if we're just chillin' on the couch or something. :)
    Are you Woody Allen?

Oink wrote: »

Sorry! Ya learn somethin' new every day!

And I'm having another really slow day, why am I Woody Allen?
    Or do I wanna know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,279 ✭✭✭Lady Chuckles

tan11ie wrote: »
    Ah it's romantic....but romance is dead and gone :(

:(:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

:(:(:(

Well it is for me anyhow :( I seem to be the romantic one in relationships !! Seems ill stick to getting my fix by watching romantic movies :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,279 ✭✭✭Lady Chuckles

tan11ie wrote: »
    Well it is for me anyhow :( I seem to be the romantic one in relationships !! Seems ill stick to getting my fix by watching romantic movies :D

I'm the same. Romantic films make it even worse though. I have banned them all apart from Enchanted. I love Enchanted :rolleyes:

I guess I doubt real romance exist and don't want to kid myself with films :pac:

I'm the same. Romantic films make it even worse though. I have banned them all apart from Enchanted. I love Enchanted :rolleyes:

I guess I doubt real romance exist and don't want to kid myself with films :pac:

Ah now, we need to watch a romantic movie every now and again!

It's like the way guys watch action movies, or porn!

We all know they are rubbish, create false ideals of romance and relationships, and will most likely never happen in real life.

But still.......... :)

How could you live without seeing;

The Notebook, Dirty Dancing, Cruel Intentions, Clueless, Bridget Jones's Diary, August Rush, The Cake Eaters, Ghost, Romeo and Juliet, Away From Her, Cashback, Adam, Definitely Maybe, Serendipity, Easy A, Mean Girls, Life as We Know it, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Tuck Everlasting, Before Sunrise, Before Sunset, Lost in Translation, The Last Song, Lars and the Real Girl, Feast of Love, Brave Heart, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, Pride and Prejudice, The Illusionist, The Duchess, The Other Boleyn Girl, Vanity Fair, The Young Victoria, Girl With the Pearl Earring, Becoming Jane, Life is Beautiful, Titanic, Meet Joe Black, The Secret Garden, Elizabeth Town, Sleepless in Seattle, Say Anything, When Harry Met Sally, You've Got Mail, One Fine Day, 13 Going on 30, How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days, My Sassy Girl, A Walk to Remember, Remember Me, Just Like Heaven, The Rebound, Wimbledon, The Proposal, The Girl Next Door, The Lake House, Griffon and Phoenix, Kate and Leopold, Disco Pigs, Never Let Me Go, Vicky Christina Barcelona, The Kids are Alright.

Okay! I have just realised how carried away I got there!

I meant to only write about 3 of them, and then...... I don't know!

And I can't bring myself to delete them. :)