Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what a night

• 08-06-2011 10:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭

my self and the father went out to lamp a few rabbits monday night in a recently cut silage field.
    we were scanning the field with the lamp when we spotted 3 sets of eyes that were too bright to be rabbits. i got down on the ground, had a look through the scope, and saw 3 fox cubs about 120 yards. i sent 3 55gr v-max's at them and here's the results
    DSCF0083.jpg
    (i shot the top lad as he was running away from me)
    we picked those up and as we were walking back up the field dad scanned the field again and picked up 2 more sets of eyes further down the field. i ranged them with the leica 1200 lrf and it said 194 yards, so down on the ground, look through the scope, it was the vixen and another cub. i put the crosshairs on the vixens shoulder, crack thump she goes down. the cub ran off and sat in the ditch with his head sticking out, i put the crosshairs on his head, crack thump, here's the results
    DSCF0084.jpg
    not bad for a half an hours work.
    also earlier on that day i broke my own record for a long range magpie, i shot this lad picking at a dead rabbit i had left out. 253yards according to the leica
    DSCF0081.jpg
    i just clipped his breast, i should have dialled in another .25 moa wind, but a dead magpie is still a dead magpie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

mother of god:eek: you went postal on them:D some damage to the cubs with the 55gr v-max's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Jaysus be prepared for bernie Wrong to come after you :D

Well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭bud2000

good night alright, enjoyed pics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭endasmail

thats some going for one night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭Remmie 223

Nice work Declan
    Massive damage with those v-max:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

cheers lads, it was good to get them because we found their burrow that night not 400 yards from our pheasant pen:eek:. they'd be doing some damage in another month. we went back to the burrow with a couple of terriers this evening but it was empty so it looks like we cleaned it out. i've no doubt though that we'll find another litter near enough some night soon, you could never get rid of the feckers.
    the 55gr v-max did some damage on them alright. i could hardly believe it when i saw them myself. i've shot rabbits that didn't explode like them. i think those hornady's have a bit of a taste for fox:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭vixdname

Somne crackin shooting there Declan - fair play to ya lad !

one thing i will say is that the accushot monopod is a fair handy yoke. even when you dont use it as a rear rest, it gives you a much greater degree of control when tracking a moving target and it allows you to keep the crosshairs on target a lot better when working the bolt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

declan1980 wrote: »
    one thing i will say is that the accushot monopod is a fair handy yoke. even when you dont use it as a rear rest, it gives you a much greater degree of control when tracking a moving target and it allows you to keep the crosshairs on target a lot better when working the bolt

An Item also on my christmas list, with Range membership due and two front tyres needed it will be christmas before I get one.

Monday was a great night out, had good luck myself that night.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Nice work - The dogs nailed 2 fox-cubs yesterday all by themselves while I was out mendin fences:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭lee70

great work lads i wouldn't want to be a bunnie living in your area don't think there'd be much of me left if i was hit by one of your v-max 55's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭robbie mars

nice work declan

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Nice work - The dogs nailed 2 fox-cubs yesterday all by themselves while I was out mendin fences:D
    go on the dogs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

An Item also on my christmas list, with Range membership due and two front tyres needed it will be christmas before I get one.

Monday was a great night out, had good luck myself that night.;)

I bought one about a month ago, I'm not sure it's the thing for me...
    You can make me an offer now or I'll keep it for you until you get the funds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭browning 12 bore

brilliant work fella here is my result after calling one dog fox in at 180 yards bang thud down he goes with my 243 100 grain soft point so i kept on calling and then the fiven came in bang thud down she goes at 240 yards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

Excelent shooing lads. I'm really missing my .233 now. Although it won't be long before I have my new barrelled .243 in my hands. I have bin spotting around my area and seen plenty of eye shine so plenty for me to get stuck into.

Again well done lads. Great shooting.

poulo6.5 wrote: »
    Excelent shooing lads. I'm really missing my .233 now. Although it won't be long before I have my new barrelled .243 in my hands. I have bin spotting around my area and seen plenty of eye shine so plenty for me to get stuck into.

Again well done lads. Great shooting.

Cheers poulo, I'm looking foward to seeing the new gun. Be sure to put up some pics when you get it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭rambo87

Recently cut silage. says it all really... looking at the tractors cutting as i type... cannot wait ot get out there tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

declan1980 wrote: »
    Cheers poulo, I'm looking foward to seeing the new gun. Be sure to put up some pics when you get it

I will stick up some pics as soon as I pick it up. And some groups. And if I'm lucky maybe even a fox or 2 to blood in the new barrel.