Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bilderburg 2011. Got your ticket?

• 08-06-2011 10:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭

Now I know this may be moved to the CT forum or to Gigs & Events or something, but I just wanted to know how many of you are OK with this event.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/blog/2011/jun/03/bilderberg-2011-switzerland-st-moritz

The Guardian has had a blog on it the last couple of years and it's interesting reading for sure.

I'd like to know if you think that it's good that all these fine people like Mr. Kissenger and Queen Beatrix (She owns more stuff in the Country than the rest of us put together!) as well as Irish Attorney General Paul Gallagher and the rest of them (except Mr Strauss-Kahn, who can't make it this year) take time out of their busy schedules to make sure things are ticking along nicely for the rest of us poor souls.

So AH, the whole Bilderburg Thang, is it Yeah or Nay?

Bilderburg Meetings. Your feelings.. 43 votes

All good. Nothing to see here. Move along...
    0% 0 votes
    Ara shur what harm could they be doing?
    25% 11 votes
    It doesn't rest easy with me like...
    16% 7 votes
    No way. Don't like it. Scary. Wrong.
    23% 10 votes
    2600 tomcat or similar.
    34% 15 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Link fail !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

I have no idea what this is, so I'm going to block my ears, close my eyes and slam my ahead against a door until the confusion goes away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Howya Jim

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

Just stick your fingers in your ears and say "La la la la ,I can't hear you" like everyone else does..:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Tickets? I got something better than tickets! I got a tinfoil hat and a picture of Alex Jones & Jim Corr hung up on a wall in my bedroom!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Just stick your fingers in your ears and say "La la la la ,I can't hear you" like everyone else does..:pac:

No, I couldnt be like one of you ignorant sheep, im not going to take this lying down like the rest of you plebs

IM GOING TO START A THREAD ON THE INTERNET!!

Tickets? I got something better than tickets. I got a tinfoil hat.

Funny that, Iv'e been looking at reports about the Bilderberg meetings since 2003, and 90% of the "insider reports" including the biggest one ,the financial crash happened.Some stuff never happened but these feckers release information to certain people on purpose to soften the blow when it happens.

Money is only paper with ink on it ,these guys control it and it's a bargining tool with the middle east and nations that do not step up to the plate like us, hence the euro, sell of state assets etc....

This is how the world works , the head of the world bank and member of the Bilderberg group.

Funny that, Iv'e been looking at reports about the Bilderberg meetings since 2003, and 90% of the "insider reports" including the biggest one ,the financial crash happened.Some stuff never happened but these feckers release information to certain people on purpose to soften the blow when it happens.

Money is only paper with ink on it ,these guys control it and it's a bargining tool with the middle east and nations that do not step up to the plate like us, hence the euro, sell of state assets etc....

I know. You have to be an utter simpleton not to believe what the conspiracy theorists are saying. I hear the admins on boards.ie have membership of the Bilderburg group too - they're trying to take away your freedom.

Thank you for the píss take reply.

... but I'm serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

I got a picture of Alex Jones & Jim Corr hung up on a wall in my bedroom!!

Like the two of them together or two pictures?

Either way, it must be offputting when you're trying to have a w*nk.

... but I'm serious.

I see what you're at :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Pete M.

ColHol wrote: »
    No, I couldnt be like one of you ignorant sheep, im not going to take this lying down like the rest of you plebs

IM GOING TO START A THREAD ON THE INTERNET!!

There's no where else to start an internet thread on the subject :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Bilderburg tax FTW. Payable in gold or silver only.

Pete M. wrote: »
    Now I know this may be moved to the CT forum or to Gigs & Events or something, but I just wanted to know how many of you are OK with this event.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/blog/2011/jun/03/bilderberg-2011-switzerland-st-moritz

The Guardian has had a blog on it the last couple of years and it's interesting reading for sure.

I'd like to know if you think that it's good that all these fine people like Mr. Kissenger and Queen Beatrix (She owns more stuff in the Country than the rest of us put together!) as well as Irish Attorney General Paul Gallagher and the rest of them (except Mr Strauss-Kahn, who can't make it this year) take time out of their busy schedules to make sure things are ticking along nicely for the rest of us poor souls.

So AH, the whole Bilderburg Thang, is it Yeah or Nay?

Tell me why did you start the thread in AH ,is it a subject you're interested in!!?? or is it just a píss take??

Seriously, Just wondering?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭cgarrad

I'd say a lot of the attendees wish they had the power that is attributed to them by some. That's about as sinister as it gets....

They do. That's the reason they have a bluddy group :rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Pete M.

Tell me why did you start the thread in AH ,is it a subject you're interested in!!?? or is it just a píss take??

Seriously, Just wondering?

I'm interested. But I do like to take the píss and know that the subject is not taken that seriously by lots of people.

I think it could be also be interesting in seeing what the good folk of AH think about it.

It's easy to dismiss it as a 'tin foil hat/jim corr/CT nut job' sort of a thing, but I personally think it is something we should all be aware of.

The times that are in it and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭Keith186

Gosh, everyone knows Bilderberg is just an old swingers club for the rich.

Oldies don't sell their sleazy stories like folk these days.

In fairness, the bilderberg group exists. I think this is beyond reproach.

What evidence is there to suggest their impact

orourkeda wrote: »
    In fairness, the bilderberg group exists. I think this is beyond reproach.

What evidence is there to suggest their impact

Excellent question. The only way you are going to find out is to become a member and attend the meetings. That'll mean winning the lottery every week for the next ten years or getting rich by er..... eh....... I dunno starting a war or a financial crisis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

What's the alternative? Ban the A.G. from travelling? Or Kissinger? Or Queen Beatrix? I don't give a toss that they chose to meet up and talk ****e. They aren't attending in thier official capacities so therefore it's no business of mine that this meeting of the 'secret' club (that everyone knows about - you can even get the guestlist ffs) goe ahead or what they feel like talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

prinz wrote: »
    What's the alternative? Ban the A.G. from travelling? Or Kissinger? Or Queen Beatrix? I don't give a toss that they chose to meet up and talk ****e. fsThey aren't attending in thier official capacities so therefore it's no business of mine that this meeting of the 'secret' club (that everyone knows about - you can even get the guestlist f) goe ahead or what they feel like talking about.

but..but prinz,you dont know what they get up to/have a say in!much
    like we dont know what the mc canns got up to?!
    yet these people have way more power than them.:eek:
    so why do these people meet up?
    please explain:confused:
    and how in the hell can you get invited/on the guestlist????how?????

oh i know
    i need a dollar,a dollar is all i need:pac:
    (hey,hey)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

This is how the world works , the head of the world bank and member of the Bilderberg group.

This is AH and 2011 - you could at least give a summary or tell us what part is the revelation so we can skip the waffle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Irishstabber

Well you are a pl**k*r anyway grow up and start reading into who controls the money you use and the economy you once called the "celtic tiger". THEN come back with snide remarks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

The world is far too complex a place for a few men and women to control through not so secret annual meetings. Sometimes I think that CTists just lack a little excitement in their lives, and are disappointed that the real world doesn't provide sufficient divertion for them, so they invent their theories to compensate. It's far more exciting to imagine that such meetings are villainous steps towards total world domination, rather than the rather benign gathering they actually are (and even more thrilling for the average CTist to think that he, yes he!!, is in the vanguard of the valiant struggle against such a powerful, all encompassing foe!).

For me, it's just a bunch of people getting together to discuss the things they're interested in. No more, and no less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Pete M. wrote: »

It's easy to dismiss it as a 'tin foil hat/jim corr/CT nut job' sort of a thing,

Yes, yes it is. Waaaaaaay too easy. :pac:
    squod wrote: »
    Excellent question. The only way you are going to find out is to become a member and attend the meetings. That'll mean winning the lottery every week for the next ten years or getting rich by er..... eh....... I dunno starting a war or a financial crisis.

Isn't your wan that won the lotto in Limerick, Dolores McNamara one of the Bilderbergers now? Grand Vizier Wizard in Chief of the Hibernian Wizengamot of the Bilderberg Group?!:pac:
    Well you are a pl**k*r anyway grow up and start reading into who controls the money you use and the economy you once called the "celtic tiger". THEN come back with snide remarks.

teeheehee the great migration of the CTists has begun! We need David Attenborough to narrate! Watch out for the crocodiles on the crossing from All Things Retro into AH!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Einhard wrote: »
    The world is far too complex a place for a few men and women to control through not so secret annual meetings.

So this.

Even if they wanted to it's not as if they could to any great degree.

They can't even control people in prisons very well ffs never mind billions of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

There was nothing interesting in that. :-/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

I've got my stone owl ready!

deco nate wrote: »
    [/SIZE]
    but..but prinz,you dont know what they get up to/have a say in!much
    like we dont know what the mc canns got up to?!
    yet these people have way more power than them.:eek:)

Yeah actually we do. The super-secretive meeting has a website where they publish the topics for conversation, publish the people taking part etc.

Some of last years hot topics... Social Networking, Medical Science, Can We Feed The World.............. Groundbreaking stuff.

http://www.bilderbergmeetings.org/meeting_2010.html

It's closed to the press because they want people to speak their mind, not be worried about press headlines (although some of the guests are usually journalists and authors) etc. That's about as sinister as it gets.
    so why do these people meet up?
    please explain:confused:

What difference is it to you? Am I allowed meet my friends? If the Irish Society of Amateur Stamp-Collectors meets tomorrow night do they have to expain themselves to you? As I said, what are you going to do... ban people from travelling? Ban certain people from meeting? Don't be daft.
    and how in the hell can you get invited/on the guestlist????how?????

Be at the top of your game in whatever sphere it is you work at

I really truly wish these people who have proven themselves to be the best in their respective fields did govern the world.

Would be a lot better than a the current system of a popularity contest of teachers, civil servants and even bankrupt builders.... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

@Prinz- there's no motive discussed in the link you posted. You merely have an opinion of what their motives are. I do care about what they do, they have tremendous influence in this world and because the discussions are privte there are no reprecussions and no feedback from the general population. A group of people with great influence discussing topics common to all of us without being answerable to any of us.

...and? Private discussions between world and business leaders take place on a daily basis? :confused: For all you know Enda Kenny, Barrack Obama and Queen Liz discussed their plans to go to a Take That concert together during their private meetings? Or did you just take their word for it that they discussed the economy and Northern Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Fuck sake lads, do we need to go back over the first rule again?!

They do. So why bother with builderburg at all if that's what they can do? Builderburg is as I said it was. An unaccountable group for the highly influential. Tell me in your own opinion why they formed said group if communication between these leaders is so easily achieved.

Because politicians do not create better societies, building wealth for people does.

Guess who is responsible for that...

They do. So why bother with builderburg at all if that's what they can do? Builderburg is as I said it was. An unaccountable group for the highly influential..

Yeah yeah soapboxing. You can't make the argument that they should be accountable. I couldn't give a toss if a couple of CEO's get together and have a chat and play a round of golf as private individuals. It's not my business if the discuss social networking or world peace or world hunger, it's not your business what they discuss.
    Tell me in your own opinion why they formed said group if communication between these leaders is so easily achieved.

There is no 'group' or secret membership. Different people get invited to the different meetings. You might be invited one year and never invited again. You don't find it odd that there would be journalists taking part in these talks but that nothing remotely controversial has ever come out? Highly influential journalists from Turkey for example.. who no doubt have affected your life greatly by being there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Who's playing at it? Its the same guys who used to do Rock am ring right?

Yeah yeah soapboxing. You can't make the argument that they should be accountable. I couldn't give a toss if a couple of CEO's get together and have a chat and play a round of golf as private individuals. It's not my business if the discuss social networking or world peace or world hunger, it's not your business what they discuss.

There is no 'group' or secret membership. Different people get invited to the different meetings. You might be invited one year and never invited again. You don't find it odd that there would be journalists taking part in these talks but that nothing remotely controversial has ever come out? Highly influential journalists from Turkey for example.. who no doubt have affected your life greatly by being there.

You may not care about your own life or future. As I said, I do. This isn't an argument Prinz. These are facts I put before you. Highly influencial journalists attend meetings in Rome and little boys still get buggered in churchs! I don't know why you wouldn't want accountability. Maybe you believe the life you have is utopian and cannot be improved by having groups lik,e this monitored by third party uninvited guests.

You may not care about your own life or future. As I said, I do. This isn't an argument Prinz..

You do? Really? I'd argue if you really did stuff like this wouldn't even register because it's so far down the list of things to worry about it's irrelevant. You spend your time worrying about this sort of crap then I'd say you have little enough to worry or care about tbh.
    I don't know why you wouldn't want accountability. Maybe you believe the life you have is utopian and cannot be improved by having groups lik,e this monitored by third party uninvited guests.

Maybe I want to live in a world where I can meet my friends, colleagues, people in the industry I work in without some randomer thinking I owe them an explanation of everything I say, or demanding they be allowed sit in to monitor what we discuss 24/7.

You probably have a third party regulator or commissioner looking at the results of your work. People or groups of people are not saints and can make mistakes. What you are proposing is handing over the keys to this planet and it's people to some vague organisation. It's a ridiculous proposal. I'll stick with my idea, thanks all the same.

Given some of the names linked to, and confirmed as, bilderberg members and attendees, the fact that they control , or attempt to control things in the manner suggested may not be as implausible as it sounds.

But we dont really know what is discussed at these meetings. It rarely gets leaked.

What you are proposing is handing over the keys to this planet and it's people to some vague organisation..

Yes, the keys to the planet. You do know they've been these summits for decades right?

How is it vague when you can get the complete guestlist and list of discussion topics?

You know the Irish Council of State meetings are closed to the public too?
    Shouldn't that be of more immediate interest? Or is it just that the Bilderberg is more exotic..

There are at least two high profile irish members that i'm aware of (maybe many more besides). These are Peter Sutherland and your man gleeson that was in charge of AIB.

I dont know much of this bilderberg group. But from the little I do know of these two characters they do seem quite high powered and influential. Surely a group of high powered and influential group of international "elites" are not meeting up for the craic. I certainly don;t know what they get up to but can anyone shed any light on what the get up.

I certainly don;t know what they get up to but can anyone shed any light on what the get up.

It's the only time they feel comfortable shedding their human shells and revealing their true reptilian nature.

Have you an answer to my question. I cant speak for anyone else here but I'm not very knowledgable on this particular subject and would like as much information as possible before making a judgement on the relative merits of the topic being discussed. Going "David Icke" doesn't help answer anyones questions.

Last years discussion topics are listed on the website I linked to earlier.