Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Junior Cert 2011: History

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Louise6

It's not even funny how bad i did in this. The only thing i knew 100% was the berlin blockade on the last question...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭P H A 7V T O M

Niiice! Defo got a B or higher on that:

People in history
    Columbus
    Martin Luther

Choices on QD

20th Century Ireland
    Ireland & independence (i forget its actual name)

People in history did 2 pages each and i have small handwriting. I needed to use an extra booklet at the end! Always a good sign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭ohdechertig

Delighted. I studied the celts, and the Romans last night. They both came up! I did question 6 A and D.

For D, did anyone get the order right? I was glad the Berlin Blockade came up, as I had done alot of study on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭buyer95

Pretty sure my mark has regressed from the 83% I got in the pres. I was hoping I might sneak an a but that isnt happening because I ****ed up the picture question and international relations. Im almost certain I got a b, prob around 75% and I can hide behind the safety of that when the results come out. Im just glad that they dont release specific results... If they did my parent wound be asking serious question!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Doublechinlolz

I done Luther & Colunbus, and for Q6 i done A & B.. Completley raped B Social Change :D.. Celts.. Not so much, i want an A. I need it :L

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 hello.hello

did any one notice in the people in history B question it went
    (i)
    (ii)
    (ii)
    ther was no (iii)?????.........stupid government cant even count to 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Doublechinlolz

did any one notice in the people in history question it went
    (i)
    (ii)
    (ii)
    ther was no (iii)?????.........stupid government cant even count to 3

And question 5C went (i) (iii)
    Fu.ck the depatment of education!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Lucan Bohs

Any they spelt fulacht fiadh wrong (fulachta fiadh)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Slow Show

I really liked this paper, a lot of people said they found it quite hard though. I found pictures to be tricky enough, answered everything though! Thought the documents were grand, short questions were grand, I didn't find them any harder than normal. People in History was super, q5 was grand too, might have lost a few marks on the answers about sources. And I did 6C and 6D, and both went really well, I lost a mark for the first bit of 6D and The Cuban Missile Crisis was the Cold War Crisis I knew the best, but I managed the Berlin Blockade fairly well. :)

So yeah, I feel as good about that as I did after my mock, and I did pretty well in my mock, so I'm very happy with that. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Desire.

Lucan Bohs wrote: »
    Any they spelt fulacht fiadh wrong (fulachta fiadh)

Fulachta Fiadh is right, they spelled it correctly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 AllisonB

buyer95 wrote: »
    Pretty sure my mark has regressed from the 83% I got in the pres. I was hoping I might sneak an a but that isnt happening because I ****ed up the picture question and international relations. Im almost certain I got a b, prob around 75% and I can hide behind the safety of that when the results come out. Im just glad that they dont release specific results... If they did my parent wound be asking serious question!

picture sources arent worth too much though are they

AllisonB wrote: »
    picture sources arent worth too much though are they

No, but it could still be the difference between an A and a B, or a B and a C.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

Delighted. I studied the celts, and the Romans last night. They both came up! I did question 6 A and D.

For D, did anyone get the order right? I was glad the Berlin Blockade came up, as I had done alot of study on it.

1. Germany leaves league of nations
    2. Rome-Berlin axis
    3. Demilitarisation of the Rhineland
    4. Anschluss
    5. Munich conference
    6. Nazi-soviet past

Knew the last 3 and guessed the first 3 right. Asked a history teacher afterwards and these were the answers. Ridiculous and pointless question though. A guy in my year who is extremely good at history got it wrong.
    cathalio11 wrote: »
    GOT MY PREDICTIONS SPOT ON :D

Predicted one of the Ancient Civilisation IN Ireland or Monk would come up. The Monk did! :)

Predicted one of the Coal miner or the guy in a political struggle would come up, the political struggle guy did :D

Studied the famine by heart for Question 5 and my coal-miner knowledge took me through the account :)

Question 6, I studied changes in Transport, Leisure and Women by heart. All of them came up. Tough pick to leave on of them out :D

Did the Berlin Blockade too :)

I also predicted Civil War would come up but didn't get the time to try that out ;)

Done with bragging now :p
    I predicted monk, Irish revolutionary, worker in factory, explorer, reformer, renaissance artist and ancient person out of Ireland so had a lot of choice. Knew most about reformer and explorer though. Also I predicted very little on world war 2 to come up, there was only 10 marks in the whole paper for it (NO world war 2 or cold war in short Qs which was shocking).

Question 1: I don't study the 1st year course so hate the pictures. First 2 were tough 3rd one was easy. probs around 10/15
    Question 2: Documents were alright and the external knowledge required was from "good" topics so around 14/15.
    Question 3: Very strange short Qs, came back to them at the end so should get 20/20.
    Question 4: I learnt off reformer and explorer so should be 40/40.
    Question 5: Hate the famine, absolutely loved the quote about black potatoes, very funny, but liked the essay question so around 24/30.
    Question 6: Liked social change Qs, very basic and nothing came up which I hadn't prepared so around 27/30 there. Political developments in Europe was a bit of a curveball but I got around it for another good question and perhaps another 27/30.

Happy with the paper in all and should get an A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭IloveConverse

Fabulous paper.... A lovely way to end the 3 year course.. :)
    Now Leaving Cert History awaits... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭FatRat

Picture were the hardest questions :cool:

Documents were easy since I know nearly every little detail about WW2, so I'm happy something about it came up, even if it was Ireland during WW2

Short question. Simple. Harder then a lot of years but still very easy. Couldn't get a few but I got about 15 right I'd say. So 20/20.

People in history, I was Sh***ing it for this question. If something I couldn't do came up my A was gone. I was able to do all 3 of the ones in section A, which made it hard to decide which one I'd actually do :cool:
    Thank god an explorer came up in B. Didn't bother with plantation since it came up last year, but it came up again this year just in a different from. Would have done alright if I did the irish leader one, just think back from the few times I watched the movie about Michael Collins :pac:

Question 5 was hard. It was as hard as it could possible be. I had looked over the IR for Q5 but then I get all this crap about being evicted that's hardly even in my book!!!!
    For the C part, it was nearly all bull**** but I think I got 5 points in, hopefully.

Question 6, Did C and D. Would have fallen back on social change if C didn't work out for me, but the best topics came up! Civil war and inter-party government! I could have done cumann na ngadhael aswell! For D, I was a bit sickened that the cuban missile crisis was left out, but I remembered the Berlin blockade well. I tried to stay well away from social change because it's really hard to get good marks in it.
    I got the order in 6D wrong :pac: I got the first 4 right but I mixed up the munich conference with the nazi-soviet pact! Ahh, it's only 2 marks.

What did everyone get for Q5 A????.... I think I got all 3 question in that wrong :pac: Could cost me the A I was hoping for!

FatRat wrote: »

Documents were easy since I know nearly every little detail about WW2, so I'm happy something about it came up, even if it was Ireland during WW2

Short question. Simple. Harder then a lot of years but still very easy. Couldn't get a few but I got about 15 right I'd say. So 20/20.

People in history, I was Sh***ing it for this question. If something I couldn't do came up my A was gone. I was able to do all 3 of the ones in section A, which made it hard to decide which one I'd actually do :cool:
    Thank god an explorer came up in B. Didn't bother with plantation since it came up last year, but it came up again this year just in a different from. Would have done alright if I did the irish leader one, just think back from the few times I watched the movie about Michael Collins :pac:

Question 5 was hard. It was as hard as it could possible be. I had looked over the IR for Q5 but then I get all this crap about being evicted that's hardly even in my book!!!!
    For the C part, it was nearly all bull**** but I think I got 5 points in, hopefully.

Question 6, Did C and D. Would have fallen back on social change if C didn't work out for me, but the best topics came up! Civil war and inter-party government! I could have done cumann na ngadhael aswell! For D, I was a bit sickened that the cuban missile crisis was left out, but I remembered the Berlin blockade well. I tried to stay well away from social change because it's really hard to get good marks in it.
    I got the order in 6D wrong :pac: I got the first 4 right but I mixed up the munich conference with the nazi-soviet pact! Ahh, it's only 2 marks.

What did everyone get for Q5 A????.... I think I got all 3 question in that wrong :pac: Could cost me the A I was hoping for!

What was 5(A) again?

Why was there a lot of people at the eviction?

Why were the bailiffs the people who evicted people?

Think that was it, possibly something about the potato blight too.

FatRat wrote: »

If you did reformer for 4A, we did all the same questions. :P
    I hated the first bits of 5A too, made an attempt at them but some of them are just stuff not in any book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭cathalio11

matthew8 wrote: »
    1. Germany leaves league of nations
    2. Rome-Berlin axis
    3. Demilitarisation of the Rhineland
    4. Anschluss
    5. Munich conference
    6. Nazi-soviet past

I got that but I checked the book and the Demilitarisation of the Rhineland happened in March 1936 and this gave Hitler confidence to advance and do more. Then in October 1936 he signed the Rome-Berlin Axis. So they are the other way around :(

Desire. wrote: »

I said because of the influence of the famine, Ireland and its people was generally poor as a result so they could not afford to pay their rents- thus a lot of Irish were evicted..
    The landlords were present in England (mostly) at this time.. So they got the bailiffs to do the evicting... :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭FatRat

And the Q about why the spread of blight cused the famine.

I said that there is a lot of people there because soldiers go to the house to evict them :L And because lots of people live next to each other on the land :L ...... Both wrong.

I said ballifs did it because landlords would have sympathy for the tenant and not evict them himself, so ballifs do it.

For (iii) I said that people relied on the potatoe too much. There was no other stuff in the country for food and they couldn't grow anything other then potatoes.

Correct all my mistakes there lads, sound!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭TheRedDevil10

Percentage Breakdown

Question 1 - 8.33%
    Question 2 - 8.33%
    Question 3 - 11.10%
    Question 4 - 22.20%
    Question 5 - 16.66%
    Question 6 - 33.33%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭anirishlad

Percentage Breakdown

Question 1 - 8.33%
    Question 2 - 8.33%
    Question 3 - 11.10%
    Question 4 - 22.20%
    Question 5 - 16.66%
    Question 6 - 33.33%

From mentally marking my exam in my head im hoping for 86% :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 rainaa

missed a question worth 20 marks, im an idiot.
    wouldve gotten an a otherwise pretty sure.

My optimistic grade is 94%, realistic grade is 89% and pessimistic, horrible marking scheme grade is 83%.

If I get a B I will be seriously upset...:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,654 ✭✭✭shadowninty

My optimistic grade is 100%
    Likely grade 100%
    Pessimistic grade 99% :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭King John The Last

Likely grade 100%

Someone is cocky:pac:

Likely grade 100%

Me too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 OsamaObama321

History yu beasst of a paper pics and docs qs mayb a little hard an screwd up 6D (i) evretin else tho perfect wrote about 7 pages wat did ppl write for 5A i said there were people at the eviction coz they like seeing people getting kicked out of their homes....

Someone is cocky:pac:

Ill prolly get a B in September :)

I didn't get anything wrong really bar perhaps the first bit of 6)C) (which came first leave LoN or Rhineland?) and maybe ill lose a mark or two for Calvin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 AllisonB

I said because of the influence of the famine, Ireland and its people was generally poor as a result so they could not afford to pay their rents- thus a lot of Irish were evicted..
    The landlords were present in England (mostly) at this time.. So they got the bailiffs to do the evicting... :cool:

but it says why were there a lot of people AT the eviction..:/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭cathalio11

AllisonB wrote: »
    but it says why were there a lot of people AT the eviction..:/

I said it was because there were a lot of people living in one household because of the poverty and large families. If the rent wasn't provided, everyone was kicked out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭ciara95

graaand paper:) Hadnt studied history much, nearly at all. So I was prepared for the worst. Although the Picture Q's(mostly all from your own knowledge :() and the second half of the short Q's were difficult. People in History were lovely, I did: Ancient Rome and Christopher Columbus, Source Q's were fine, as were Q6: I did part 1 and 2. So yeah, quite happy:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭robman60

Pictures - Not as easy as some times, but still quite easy.

Documents - Not many of the answers were in the passages, which I was kind of depending on given my limited knowledge of first and second year topics. What did people say for the US representative at the Paris Peace Conference?

Short Questions - Unusually hard, and I rushed them so much.

People in History - Easiest section for me. If you look in the predictions thread you'll see that I predicted a reformer for anyone who read that! Did Columbus in B.

Q5. I'm rubbish at this sfuff. I didn't study the second year course at all and I had to bull**** my way on diet and housing in the Industrial Revolution. Would it be fair to say that housing improved because of the houses built near factories?

Q6. I did B and D, as I knew my knowledge of political developments in Ireland would not be sufficient.
    I found social change easy enough, and I tried to include relevant points because I know a lot of people spoof in this question, without any real knowledge of it. Overall, Social Change was quite nice.

Political Developments was a different story. The very first piece asking to place the events in chronological order was difficult I think, especially because i'm pretty sure two or three of them happened in 1939. I remember I started with F, but after that I don't remember much. The next two questions were okay, but again, the Rise of The Superpowers could have been more favourable. I knew the cuban Missile Crisis really well, and I was banking on that coming up, oh well...

I had studied the VBerlin Blockade a little after Christmas so i was able to make a decent attempt at that, might warrant 10 out of 12.

Overall, I thought it was quite a hard paper, but that's mainly because I knew very little about the first and second year course. I probably didn't do as badly as I think because I practically filled the booklet, although some of it was poor quality. I might scrape a B if I'm lucky but wouldn't be surprised if I got a C in it. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Lucan Bohs

Fulachta Fiadh is right, they spelled it correctly.

It's not important or anything but I checked my book and it's fulacht fiadh

It's a portrayal of the whole scenerio present at that time, yes they got evicted because Mary in house 14 was having her 100th child and Tom had lost his job working for the British controlled famine post office down the road twenty.two miles.... :pac:

Lucan Bohs wrote: »
    It's not important or anything but I checked my book and it's fulacht fiadh

My book says Fulachta Fiadh. :p

Wikipedia says:
    WIKIPEDIA wrote:
    A fulacht fiadh (Irish: fulacht fiadh or fulacht fian; plural: fulachtaí fia or, in older texts, fulachta fiadh) is a type of archaeological site found in Ireland

We're both right. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 robinrobin

Am I the only one who just crammed for five minutes before the exam?
    The Roman essay was great, I hoped that would come up.

I didn't know any essay in 4b, but remembered that I had written about Columbus last year. I started writing and I wrote three pages!

I hate the Celts, and haven't looked at them since whatever year we did them in. I was really surprised when I got two good pages per essay! I did the one about arts and crafts, and it was wonderful! I got to write about weaving, dying, metalwork, shoe making, tanning leather, shoe making, jewelry....
    I also did the one about houses, and it went fine.

The short q's, pictures and documents are always easy!

I got 93% in my mock, and I did even less prep then, so I think an a.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 juniorcertlol

if you were dependant on doing 6D and only did the cuban missiles crisis, ud be f**ked :L

hopefully i just scraped a B in that
    history is not exactly my favourite subject..:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

Am I the only person that wrote about the monk in early Christian Ireland?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,354 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Just reading the posts here - were you given six events in close proximity and asked to put them in chronological order?
    That's a very specific skill which many people do not develop until their 20s, if at all - a very difficult question for Junior Cert level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭anirishlad

President wilson was the repersentative for america i think

And yeah thats it spurious it didnt look that bad though(didnt do that question though)

Yup:
    Hitler entering Rhineland
    Germany leaving League of Nations
    Anschluss (union with Austria)
    Munich conference
    Nazi-Soviet non aggression pact

--There was one other one which I can't recall.

anirishlad wrote: »
    President wilson was the repersentative for america i think

That's what I said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭flump_master

Yup:
    Hitler entering Rhineland
    Germany leaving League of Nations
    Anschluss (union with Austria)
    Munich conference
    Nazi-Soviet non aggression pact

--There was one other one which I can't recall.
    It was:
    Germany leaving league of nations (1933)
    The remiltarisation of the rhineland (1936)
    The Rome-Berlin axis (1936)
    Anschluss (1938)
    Munich confrence (1938)
    Nazi Soviet Non-agression pact (1939)

robinrobin wrote: »
    Am I the only one who just crammed for five minutes before the exam?

I did! :pac:
    robinrobin wrote: »
    I started writing and I wrote three pages!

I got two good pages per essay!

Just saying, but you don't need to write that much at all. You're probably writing too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭ohdechertig

It was:
    Anschluss (1938)
    Munich confrence (1938)

Yes! I got it! :) I knew the Nazi Soviet Non-Aggression pact was last, since they signed that JUST before they invaded Poland.

It was:
    Anschluss (1938)
    Munich confrence (1938)

I forgot the Axis thanks :)

All right so, hopefully that 3% will get me an A :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭robman60

Huh, looks like another six marks have gone... :rolleyes:

I would have known if that part of my brain had developed dammit!