Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season Ticket Holders

• 08-06-2011 6:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭

Has anyone gotten a call from someone claiming to be from Season Ticket office asking for your credit card details?

I got one today, was understandably reluctant to give mine over the phone (the guy couldnt even confirm my home address), so he said he'd send me an official mail from the season ticket address, then I'd know it was okay and could call back. No email has arrived.

I've since contacted the season ticket office by email but was wondering if any of the season ticket holders here on Boards had gotten similar calls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭looseygoosey

its against the law for any company or organisation to look for credit card details over the phone so i'd say theres something iffy there alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,989 ✭✭✭Trampas

Heard nothing. I wouldn't be handing over them details.

I have 2 tickets ever since the start and I have never spoke to them or ever had an email about cc details or payments etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

its against the law for any company or organisation to look for credit card details over the phone so i'd say theres something iffy there alright.
    Trampas wrote: »
    Heard nothing. I wouldn't be handing over them details.

I have 2 tickets ever since the start and I have never spoke to them or ever had an email about cc details or payments etc

My thoughts exactly.

Similarly I've had a season ticket since launch but never heard of this crap before

Will wait and see what comes back from my mail to the office anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

KevIRL wrote: »
    My thoughts exactly.

Similarly I've had a season ticket since launch but never heard of this crap before

Will wait and see what comes back from my mail to the office anyway

Watch out for viruses on your computer etc. Had a keylogger recently, and a host of "companies" ringing my mobile inquiring about anything from confirming my credit card details to asking me for my bank account details. All from the same number. :rolleyes:

You could of been talking about a Season Ticket or searching about it on Google or if you applied online etc. Some scam.

Never give any details over the phone and only make payments over a secure server. Get a good scanner like ESET just to be safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 ninja_45

I had the same phone call yesterday and I did the same as kevIRL. Likewise they said they would send me an email which they did. However it was from seasonticket@gaa.ie whereas the original email re season tickets was from seasonticket@admingaa.ie so I am still a bit weary about it. Only thing is we have championship this Sunday and I am worried about not getting our tickets in time as unlike other years where you download from your account, they are posting hard copies this year. I just don't get it!!!

Anyone any advice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Colm R

ninja_45 wrote: »
    I had the same phone call yesterday and I did the same as kevIRL. Likewise they said they would send me an email which they did. However it was from seasonticket@gaa.ie whereas the original email re season tickets was from seasonticket@admingaa.ie so I am still a bit weary about it. Only thing is we have championship this Sunday and I am worried about not getting our tickets in time as unlike other years where you download from your account, they are posting hard copies this year. I just don't get it!!!

Anyone any advice?

Its easy to send an email and make it look like it came from an official GAA email address. By chance, can you view the header within the email address. Post here, or PM if contains personal information about you.

Can you click on the reply button and see what email address is in the 'To' section. DO NOT SEND THE EMAIL.

Either way - contact the GAA directly yourself using an email address or phone number for them. If the official email address is the same as the one that they used to send you this email address, do not worry.

But don't reply to the email - create a new email and send them this information.

I would advise everyone who has had this happen to them to contact the GAA as soon as possible. You or I won't be scammed - but someone will. So we need to get the GAA to make a catch all annoucement to all season ticket holders that they will not seek credit card numbers by phone or email.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Contact number for GAA ticket office is 01-8658657.

Thanks for that Colm R, I went to reply message and the same address came up. So I ended up ringing them there and they answered the phone with "ticket sales" so I explained that I wasn't impressed with all this and that I felt pressured into doing this as I needed the tickets to arrive tomorrow. Yer man on the phone sounds withered from it all, am sure he is getting alot of stick from people. A case of someone higher up thinking its a a good idea and getting him to do the work and listen to the abuse. He had a lot of my details already so I gave him what he needed. Hope now I don't log onto my bank and get a shock though :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭eigrod

Have those of you who received these calls actually been season ticket applicants in the past ?

If so, and if these calls are not genuinely from the GAA, then I think this could be a very serious matter as someone who shouldn't has go their hands on the personal details of season ticket applicants.

Edit : Only saw ninja_45's post after I posted this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 deisegirl67

I got a call exactly like that yesterday afternoon from a phone number 01 8717400.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭whatnext

Had the same call, they had most of my details anyway and my card limit is so low as not to have me too concerned. He also had the delivery address which is different to all my other details, the only people that have me associated with that address are the GAA ticket office.

They said the call was because of a change over from ticketmaster to tickets.ie which I was aware of. The lad making the call seemed like he was loosing the will to live.

whatnext wrote: »
    The lad making the call seemed like he was loosing the will to live.
    The way the whole season ticket shambles has been run this year, I'm not surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Colm R

Right, I've been chatting to some friends about this who have a season ticket. They have been called about this. So it looks like the following happened:

- For 2011, Season Tickets changed from ticketmaster.ie to tickets.ie.

- These are totally different companies.

- If you received a ticket for any championship game so far, you would have noticed that the email came from orders@ticket.ie

- The next part I'm going to guess, but it seems like the GAA used tickets.ie to charge customers for the initial cost (€75) of the Season Ticket. But it looks like they never retained the details to charge for subsequent games in the Championship.

- So its an honest mistake. But it needs to be fixed. And I do feel sorry for the guys working in Croke Park who are desperately trying to sort this out. But the GAA authorities have to understand that people will and should be relucntant to provide Credit Card details.

- I won't advise for or against sending details over the phone. I would be very reluctant to provide details by email. I have no doubt that the people handling this are honest, but your credit card number will reside on an email in your Sent box, and on someones Inbox in the GAA. Neither you nor them can verify the security of this.

But there is a solution. GAA, if your watching this, please consider this.

- The GAA have everyones email address, names, addresses etc.

- Work with tickets.ie (a legitimate business) and create an account for all customers with a random password.

- Email this to all the season ticket holders and ask them to update their details online in their secure website with their credit card numbers.

- And give those guys a break on the phone!!!

I got a reply from the season ticket email address saying it was genuine and asking me to call and speak to Cathal. So I call, and Cathal is in a different office, the guy who I end up speaking to asks me to give him the card details, I explain I'm still sketchy about it all and ask him why they are doing this after it not happening the last 2 years.

He gives me a totally different story to the one I was told by the guys yesterday - that they are updating details cause some people bought season tickets as presents for family members etc but didnt want to get charged for the championship games!

I say that this is now sounding extremely dodgy, I was told a different reason yesterday (the tickets.ie one), and I'm not giving him any CC details unless he can somehow verify that he's calling from Season Ticket office.

He goes off and comes back a few mins later with my postal address (which couldnt be supplied to me yesterday) and also the name of my Brother, whom I have gotten a ticket for on my details also. After this I give him the details, am pretty sure all is legit just extremely extremely badly run.

Its a pity as The Season Ticket was fantastic year 1, then year 2 no friends tickets, and now this crap year 3, along with posting of tickets (see below)

Of more immediate concern for me is that Waterford play Sunday and I come back home from work today to find no tickets for the game have arrived. I did say this to the guy today and he saids if they havent arrived tomorrow to call them before 5.30 and they'll arrange tickets for me - Pity that I work until 5.30 tomorow and wont be home by then. Better not have a farce situation on Sunday, although I am fearing the worst

KevIRL, in the same boat as you waiting for Limerick tickets for Sunday. When I rang earlier about my CC details they assured me that the tickets were posted yesterday and like yourself, never arrived today so fingers and toes crossed for tomorrow. Don't see why they didn't leave it to the way it was...

Hopefully only a little hiccup - don't imagine it being too long a season for us anyway so hopefully will all be sorted for next year

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Its legit alright - know a fella who emailed Croke Park about it and confirmed it was legit after much tooing and froing

Sounds a right mess tbh!!

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

KevIRL wrote: »
    Its a pity as The Season Ticket was fantastic year 1, then year 2 no friends tickets, and now this crap year 3, along with posting of tickets (see below)

agree with that, also believe that there will be more special offers this year that further erode the value of the season ticket anyway. Or so various reports say. Last week again no guest tickets available in a half empty Croker. Turning me off the idea tbh, it'll be cheaper just to buy tickets to the games.

copacetic wrote: »
    agree with that, also believe that there will be more special offers this year that further erode the value of the season ticket anyway. Or so various reports say. Last week again no guest tickets available in a half empty Croker. Turning me off the idea tbh, it'll be cheaper just to buy tickets to the games.

Ya, will be re-considering it next year if there isnt a couple of changes. The biggest plus for me was the convienience of it all and thats being ebbed away (along with the value for money) as the prices come down

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,195 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Lads, Is anyone still waiting for their tickets?

Still no sign of mine as of this morning, so hopefully they will be there when I get home.

mine arrived this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭DubOnHoliday

Joined this scheme this year, the idea being to sit with other family/friends as I was told this can be arranged.
    For the 5 Dublin football games in croker, I emailed/phoned in the various ticket numbers to be seated together, got an assurance they would be together, only to get placed in completely different sections for each game. I thought I had it sorted 2 weeks ago, when I rang the ticket office ahead of the Laois game, complained about the issue, yer wan even called out the names I wanted grouped together, and assured me we were sitting together. Tickets arrived, diffent rows, different sections, I give up. Next year, back to the Hill.

More poor organisation from the season ticket at Sunday's game in Thurles. 2 people arrived along with tickets for block 208 row L seats 13 and 14 and found 2 others already in their seats. Naturally they said it to them but it turned out that the couple sitting there has the exact same tickets.

It turned out that the couple sitting there never had their tickets delivered, they called the ticket office who arranged for there to be 2 tickets available for collection, but the clowns printed the wrong tickets and meant that 2 of each ticket were out there

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,195 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

My tickets never arrived, I got an email saying they would be waiting for me at the ticket van.

Got to the van and no tickets so was told that I could get in with my season ticket which I did but it was all a bit of a mess to be honest.

Don't know why they have suddenly started posting out tickets as previously this only happened on All Ireland final day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭I dont know

That’s ****e lads, they need to be running the thing better by now! I had to give bank details twice last year, but have had no other problems other than that. How come they post the tickets out this year? It suited me better printing them off as I live in Belfast but my tickets are registered to my folks address down in Tyrone – means this year I’ll have to pick up my tickets from home before games.

Also, I thought the season tickets were supposed to be the central seats at all venues? In Omagh for the Tyrone V Monaghan game we were at the very end of the stand – still a good seat, but I expected to be nearer midfield.

Do the GAA pay an external company to run this? e.g. Ticketmaster

It's Tickets.ie that are running the show this year.

Also, I thought the season tickets were supposed to be the central seats at all venues? In Omagh for the Tyrone V Monaghan game we were at the very end of the stand – still a good seat, but I expected to be nearer midfield.

Ya, same on Sunday. block 208. Still grand seat, but not as good as previously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,729 ✭✭✭Speak Now

So far they have done the following for championship matches

1. posted out tickets
    2. e-mailed tickets for printing yourself
    3. Bring your season ticket

Also you can still not manage your account on line for opt outs and change of address etc as was promised.

I haven't received a phone call yet!!

no call for me either and i have 2 tickets in different surnames.

are they going to charge after each game this year?

Got my phone call yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 yh

Got an email to say "as a season ticket holder you have secured a ticket in the centre of the mackey stand". But when I got my tickets they were for section 102 which is at the end of the field. Very disappointed with this, I thought all season ticket holders were supposed to sit close to mid-field. Has this happened to anyone else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 759 ✭✭✭mrgaa1

yes - we all got the same message for the Armagh v Derry match and tickets are for one end not the middle.
    I can tell you that Monday morning is going to be very interesting in the season ticket office when they face the barage of calls from very upset ticket holders.:mad:

got the phone call earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

yes - we all got the same message for the Armagh v Derry match and tickets are for one end not the middle.

I was halfway between the 45 and the 65 and was happy enough with my seat, although as it was towards the front I might not have been if it had rained.

went to ring the ticket office at 5pm this evening as was to busy to take the call.

got a voice message to say office was closed and opens from 9.30 to 5.30 mon - fri.

didn't realise i had moved timezones

Leinster GAA Hurling Final
    4:00 pm Dublin v Kilkenny
    Croke Park, DublinReserved seating tickets will be emailed
    Sections 305 & 304 in Cusack Stand
    Deadline for Opt-Outs:5 pm 28th June

You must use your Opt Out in accordance with the rules set out by the GAA Ticket Office. There will be a time limit on the Opt Out, depending on the length of time between fixtures. You will only be able to complete your Opt Out via your online account. You will not be able to email or “phone in” an Opt Out.

How are people managing their on line accounts?
    Have i missed something??

I'm very disappointed with how the whole scheme has been run this year and have sent the below email to them, has anyone received their tickets yet?

"Hi,

When are the tickets being sent out?

The administration of the season ticket scheme has been very sloppy this year.

It's now Thursday and still no sign of any ticket. I didn't receive any ticket prior to the Kilkenny v Wexford game and was told one would be waiting for me at the game.

Lo and behold when I arrived at the ticket van there was no ticket for me and I was left in the situation of trying to get in without an actual ticket.

Now here we are again 2 days before the Leinster final and no word on how the tickets are being distributed or even when this will happen. We still can't check what games attendance has been logged for on the website.

There was also a fiasco during the league at Semple stadium where there were no scanners and I missed the start of the game as a result.

Add to this the whole mess with having to give credit card numbers, expiry dates and security codes over the phone. I find the whole operation to be very unprofessional and unsatisfactory.

Please advise how the tickets will be distributed and when they will be received.

Regards,
    Adrian522"

What's more is that I haven't had my account debited for my ticket for last Sunday's game against Kildare yet? I know of a few others who haven't been charged yet either.

I got a response, apparently the tickets are being emailed "in next couple of hours"

adrian522 wrote: »
    I got a response, apparently the tickets are being emailed "in next couple of hours"
    In most cases, e-mails are being distributed on Thursday morning/evening.

Well it seems like pretty late in the day as it leaves little room for sorting things out if anything goes wrong.

There doesn't seem to be any coherent strategy for when they post actual tickets and when they use emailed tickets and when you just scan your ticket and they never seem to tell you in advance which it will be and this causes a fair amount of problems.

Agree with you 100%

My main issue with them this year is the scattergun method of allocating seats!

I've been lucky enough given that most matches so far have been unreserved seating, hopefully my group wil lbe seated together is section 305 around 15 rows back :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

Have any of yee lads given your credit card details over the phone? or updated your details in your online account. Only way you can opt out is through your account?

I opted out of a game last year over the phone as the online thing wasn't working.

I've also given my credit card details over the phone ... though less than pleased about it...

I opted out of a game last year over the phone as the online thing wasn't working.

I've also given my credit card details over the phone ... though less than pleased about it...

They've made an awfull mess of it this year:mad: after it working fairly well since it started.
    I'm still undecided if i'll give my number over the phone, not because of security, because the way they went about it. You should be able to go into your account online and update your details. Still have a week or 2 before the connacht final, might just arrive with my season ticket and say no tickets were e-mailed or posted out:D

Any joy with the tickets yet Adrian?
    Still nothing here :rolleyes:

Yeah Mine arrived yesterday evening via email. I'd give them a ring if you still don't have them.

On another forum some of the northern lads were saying they did'nt give their credit card deatails over the phone, yet their accounts were still charged for their match with discount:confused::confused::confused:
    They must have found our details again, another security breach:eek::eek::mad::mad::mad:

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

I got no call for details either and got my tickets last week without any issues, also I got an 'opt out' link in email to just click on to take the opt out.

mayo.mick wrote: »
    They've made an awfull mess of it this year:mad: after it working fairly well since it started.
    I'm still undecided if i'll give my number over the phone, not because of security, because the way they went about it. You should be able to go into your account online and update your details. Still have a week or 2 before the connacht final, might just arrive with my season ticket and say no tickets were e-mailed or posted out:D

Just after getting an e-mail from croke park, tickets for the connacht final will be posted out, or if you want to opt out you have to e-mail them back before wednesday 6 july. I guess they must have found my credit card details again, another security breech:confused::mad::mad: