Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Floyd "Money" Mayweather vs "Vicious" Victor Ortiz September 17

• 07-06-2011 4:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭

According to Floyd's twitter:

My fans have been waiting long enough. Floyd Mayweather vs Victor Ortiz. Sept-17 2011 for the WBC World Championship.

:):D;):p:pac::):D:)

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Boooourns

Great news!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Ortiz is going to get schooled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭moneyman

Great to see him back. Ortiz is good so hopefully he'll make a fight of it.

Quite convenient timing for Floyd though, and I won't say anymore than that because people already know what I'm referring to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭richierichballs

This is gonna be an unreal fight, Great to see Floyd return. If you follow him on twitter you will notice something strange today. He also tweeted about how much he loves his fans in the UK, two hours before he announced this fight.
    Which leads me to believe this fight could take place in Wembley,
    Floyd has said many times before he would love a fight in England.

Now, If he fought and beat Ortiz in England and it was successful it would leave a window open to fighting Amir Khan next year in England.

It also, is a great tune up for a fight with Pacquiao, being that Ortiz is a southpaw and Floyd hasnt fought one in 5 years.

Either way, this is something to really look forward too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,363 ✭✭✭✭walshb

This won't be an easy fight. Ortiz is young, big, good hitter, neat boxer. Add this to Floyd being past his best, inactive and stale. I see this as a tough test for Floyd

walshb wrote: »
    This won't be an easy fight. Ortiz is young, big, good hitter, neat boxer. Add this to Floyd being past his best, inactive and stale. I see this as a tough test for Floyd

No doubt it will be a tough fight. Floyds inactivity really worries me,
    Add the fact that Ortiz is Southpaw and packs a punch really makes this an interesting matchup.

Much more interesting then Duckquiao-Marquez :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Good to see pbf back in the ring!

Add the fact that Ortiz is Southpaw and packs a punch really makes this an interesting matchup.

Says the fanboy who is supporting a man who clearly went into retirement to avoid Pacquiao, and now comes out to fight just after Pacquiao has already agreed to fight someone else. Bravo, fanboy.

I'm not getting into this again. You're completely brainwashed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

This is gonna be an unreal fight, Great to see Floyd return. If you follow him on twitter you will notice something strange today. He also tweeted about how much he loves his fans in the UK, two hours before he announced this fight.
    Which leads me to believe this fight could take place in Wembley,
    Floyd has said many times before he would love a fight in England.

Now, If he fought and beat Ortiz in England and it was successful it would leave a window open to fighting Amir Khan next year in England.

It also, is a great tune up for a fight with Pacquiao, being that Ortiz is a southpaw and Floyd hasnt fought one in 5 years.

Either way, this is something to really look forward too.

Welcome to 'boards' Floyd.

You'll win an easy decision or maybe a late stoppage/quit. Ortiz is far too straight forward for you. It's a great way to look good against someone while avoiding the one person EVERYBODY wants to see you fight.

moneyman wrote: »
    Says the fanboy who is supporting a man who clearly went into retirement to avoid Pacquiao, and now comes out to fight just after Pacquiao has already agreed to fight someone else. Bravo, fanboy.

I'm not getting into this again. You're completely brainwashed.

Went into retirement? So taking time off is ducking someone?

How is Floyd ducking Pacquiao when, Manny is the one who has the problem with taking the tests? LOL!

Floyd "You want the fight, take the tests."
    Manny "Umm, Uhhh, Ohhh, Talk to my promoter." HAHAHAH

efb wrote: »
    Good to see pbf back in the ring!

I agree!

Well he would hardly fight Manny on his first fight back???

efb wrote: »
    Well he would hardly fight Manny on his first fight back???

He's fighting a southpaw (like Manny), its clearly a tune up fight.

Figures have been tossed around lately like 65-75mill per fighter if they evidentally fought (May-Pac), Of course the fight will happen.

Floyds tune up is much better then Mannys,
    Floyd is fighting the Number 2 WW in the division coming off a huge win.

Manny is making JMM come up 147, after seeing how fat and slow he was when Floyd brought him upto 144, it still wasnt enough of an advantage for him! hhahha

Went into retirement? So taking time off is ducking someone?

How is Floyd ducking Pacquiao when, Manny is the one who has the problem with taking the tests? LOL!

Floyd "You want the fight, take the tests."
    Manny "Umm, Uhhh, Ohhh, Talk to my promoter." HAHAHAH

Yes. Clearly. You're one of the only ones who's so blinded by fanboyism that you can't see it.

"I don't want to fight, so I'm going to make up my own rules. If you won't abide my rules, then I'll have an excuse, however ridiculous it may be. Then when you give in to my demands, I'll ask for $100 million. That way, there is no way the fight can possibly take place." - Floyd Mayweather.

He's fighting a southpaw (like Manny), its clearly a tune up fight.

Figures have been tossed around lately like 65-75mill per fighter if they evidentally fought (May-Pac), Of course the fight will happen.

Floyds tune up is much better then Mannys,
    Floyd is fighting the Number 2 WW in the division coming off a huge win.

Manny is making JMM come up 147, after seeing how fat and slow he was when Floyd brought him upto 144, it still wasnt enough of an advantage for him! hhahha

Your posts make no sense. You're lowering the IQ of people who read your posts. Ignore list. (Or maybe I'll keep you off it, I might need a few laughs in the future).

Ok, guys, getting a bit "rough" now. Keep it civil. Argue all you like, just civilly.

BTW, Ortiz IMO is a tougher fight (for Floyd) than JMM is for Manny. JMM is well past it, and really, a LW at best. I see Manny being far too good for Ortiz, because Manny's style is explosive.
    Floyd will find Ortiz a handful, because Floyd is not explosive, and not as good as he
    once was.

Yes. Clearly. You're one of the only ones who's so blinded by fanboyism that you can't see it.

"I don't want to fight, so I'm going to make up my own rules. If you won't abide my rules, then I'll have an excuse, however ridiculous it may be. Then when you give in to my demands, I'll ask for $100 million. That way, there is no way the fight can possibly take place." - Floyd Mayweather.

Do some research, he never asked for 100MILLION,
    He said I never asked for $100 million dollars. That's false. I said with my guarantee on the backside, it's possible that I can male $75 to $100 million in one night." said Mayweather Jr.

He cleared this up on fighthype.com a few weeks back. Keep up, son.

http://www.fighthype.com/pages/content9961.html

UNLIKE MONEYMAN I will back my quotations up. :)

Your posts make no sense. You're lowering the IQ of people who read your posts. Ignore list. (Or maybe I'll keep you off it, I might need a few laughs in the future).

Oh no put me on ignore.

I'm not the one making up quotations, thats you. And now your upset by it! LOL! :rolleyes:

Lads this trash talk is a little petulant- lets be bigger than this.

PBF is back baby!!!

Oh no put me on ignore.

I'm not the one making up quotations, thats you. And now your upset by it! LOL! :rolleyes:

Whevs. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭gene_tunney

Man I'm just so happy PBF is back in the ring! :D

Watching this man do his thing in the squared circle is always a pleasure; he just looks like he was born to box.

Hopefully this does't turn into a Pac vs Floyd thread and we can just discuss this really exciting fight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Wild_Dogger

This is not the fight which people want to see .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

Oh no put me on ignore.

watch any other fights lately? one sniff of mayweather and you come crawling out of the woodwork.

do you follow boxing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

Great to see him back. Ortiz is good so hopefully he'll make a fight of it.

Quite convenient timing for Floyd though, and I won't say anymore than that because people already know what I'm referring to.

whats that now?

evad_lhorg wrote: »
    whats that now?

I think he refers to the low-key , almost secretive build up to this announcement of the fight .

Mayweather didn't let the media know he was in the running for a fight until Pac was fully committed to another engagement .

He may have looked like avoiding Pac if he was 'on the market' for a fight whilst Pac was calling him out .

Anyway , Ortiz isnt a bad opponent for Floyd , but I'd prefer Berto's chances for some reason .

Best of luck to them - Im looking forward to it , and hopefully a decent undercard ( if they're willing to share some of the money around) .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭fightireland

Lads,

Instead of giving out - back Ortiz and gloat in a few months :-)

Jayob10 wrote: »
    watch any other fights lately? one sniff of mayweather and you come crawling out of the woodwork.

do you follow boxing?

Thats funny, I never miss a big boxing fight... EVER!

Jokes aside, the reason I don't post here frequently is because I don't follow Irish boxers (I'm ashamed to say.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭rocco.

this ****ing guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭gene_tunney

Lads,

Instead of giving out - back Ortiz and gloat in a few months :-)

Dearest fightireland,
    How are you today?

It would be my pleasure to place a large wager on Victor Ortiz in his upcoming bout.

Though I have not met with you before but I believe, one has to take risks sometimes in life in order to succeed. There is this huge amount of eight million euro (€8,000,000.00) which my late Father kept for
    me with a Fiduciary Fund Holder in Abidjan before his sudden death during this war in Cote d'ivoire.

Unfortunately before I can release this money I require a small "release fee" from you which I cannot provide due to my current poverty stricken state If you should furnish me with the negligible release fee of €5,000 I would be happy to provide you with 15% of the €8,000,000.00.

Thus financed, we both could pursue our goal of betting on Ortiz in his showdown with Money Mayweather, as well as realsing any other dreams we may have locked in our hearts.

Please do not take undue advantage of the trust I have bestowed on you.

Yours in deceit,

Ojhdlkahfdksalfhla Nidsfoafoajflajfla

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Ortiz makes mistakes and he'll give Floyd loads of counter punch opportunities........however I think he'll also give him absolute hell. If he comes into the fight in the same physical and mental condition that he came in against Berto, then Floyd's gonna have a real fight on his hands and if he's declined to any degree in the time since he fought Mosley, the 0 could very well go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

Floyd signs to fight former Maidana victim Victor Ortiz!!! Personally I'm just happy that he is fighting someone under 30!!
    Khan would be a piece of P!ss for him as should ortiz. The only way ortiz has half a chance is if floyd has declined much, but a 70% floyd beats anyone out there but manny anyway. (As of his last fight i still have floyd outclassing pac)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

This is a warm up for the manny fight IMO,

Ortiz is a real test, I'm actually looking forward to this, Ortiz is a live opponent, not like the mugs Manny has been bumming recently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭12gauge dave

great to see floyd back hopefully his skills havent diminished with his age and inactivity but i doubt it! i dont see the evidence in peoples claims that he isnt as good as he was???

hes not the nicest guy and he has his problems and is full of crap but in that ring the crap disapears and hes just so disciplined and i personally love watching his counters and defensive skills he is my favourite fighter at the moment and has been now for sometime lets hope it leads to a fight with manny:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭clubwelly

Good to see mayweather back but this fight is bull. Ortiz lost to Maidana who is smaller than him. Berto was fighting too many second rate guys during his title reign and had always been looking for that one punch ko.

I'd have Floyd to win this one ring rust or no ring rust but this fight stinks unless its the warm up for Manny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭coronaextra

This News has made my day!! It will be interesting to see how rusty Floyd is!

Ortiz will be a tough test for him after being out for so long. He could be using it as a yardstick to see where hes at.

If he doesnt fight Pac man straight after this fight then I for one would not like too see the fight going ahead, as Im afraid he is past his prime and time is not on his side :(.

But we can only take this as very welcome news and I have my fingers, toes and everything else crossed for the script to go to plan and we get the super fight twords the end of this year/ early next year!

I still make PBF the favourite here, but if Ortiz can use the proper tactics, patience and caution in attack mode, then he could push Floyd very hard. Ortiz has speed and good power, and he's no dummy either. He won't eat counters all night, will he? Yes, I see this as intriguing. Ortiz tries too hard and tries to stay on top of Floyd, he loses.

Ortiz is a 6/1 underdog .

bookies give him almost no chance here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭whaaames

I'd have a sneaky fiver on Ortiz by KO/TKO, at that price the KO/TKO odds would be about 15/2, and its realistically his only way of winning, 100 times out of 100 Floyd outpoints Victor, but he gets hit flush on the chin again and who knows???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

I still make PBF the favourite here, but if Ortiz can use the proper tactics, patience and caution in attack mode, then he could push Floyd very hard. Ortiz has speed and good power, and he's no dummy either. He won't eat counters all night, will he? Yes, I see this as intriguing. Ortiz tries too hard and tries to stay on top of Floyd, he loses.

Ortiz proved one thing against Berto. There's nothing wrong with his desire.

I reckon he'll approach this one the same way he approached the Berto fight- walk forward and throw as many power shots as you can. I think he is going to eat counters from Floyd (who hasn't) but i'd give him a decent chance of walking through them and landing some tasty shots of his own. No doubt he'll do well to beat Floyd but at least we're almost certain to see a good fight.

Delighted Mayweather finally showed some balls and took on someone capable of living with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

I think you guys need to contain that Ortiz boner, while he was unreal in his last fight, he pissed away victory againt Peterson and quit againt Maidana. Floyd is going to counter all night and make a very good fighter look very ordinary.

Floyd has been beating his ex and fighting security guards do im sure inactivity won't be an issue.

They are making a 24/7 series for this. :) Good news.

Floyd saying he doesn't "duck or dodge anyone. Do I want the Pacquiao fight? Absolutely."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,446 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

This is a good test for Floyd. Don't get how somebody said he is past his best when he absolutely owned Sugar Shane(who is well past his best) in his last fight.

I think Floyd will outclass Ortiz too but the early rounds will be important.

Oh and Manny couldn't be as big as he is without something. He doesn't want to do what PBF wants because he has no hope of being big enough for a fight against him if he does pass the regular tests.

eagle eye wrote: »
    This is a good test for Floyd. Don't get how somebody said he is past his best when he absolutely owned Sugar Shane(who is well past his best) in his last fight.

I think Floyd will outclass Ortiz too but the early rounds will be important.

Oh and Manny couldn't be as big as he is without something. He doesn't want to do what PBF wants because he has no hope of being big enough for a fight against him if he does pass the regular tests.

C'mon, he is past his best days as regards speed of foot and hand, the two traits that make him ultra special. He owned Mosley? Big deal. Shane was even more past it. Yes, Floyd will be still very good, mentally and experience wise, but he is not the same physically gifted fighter that he was a few years ago. Also, WW is not his peak weight. He is a LWW-LWW great fighter.

I still think he will win a hard fought decision over Ortiz. Maybe 8-4 in rds...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Bren your always saying how he is past it but there is no reason to believe that, if anything he's stronger and smarter now and for his weight he is still ultra fast, PBF is far from past it and the fact he does not fight regular or take that much punishment means physically he's still in good shape.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

cowzerp wrote: »
    Bren your always saying how he is past it but there is no reason to believe that, if anything he's stronger and smarter now and for his weight he is still ultra fast, PBF is far from past it and the fact he does not fight regular or take that much punishment means physically he's still in good shape.

I am not at all saying he's no use, or no good. But, seriously, he is not as good at WW and at 34/35 as he was when he was 26-28 at LWW.

It happens to all fighters. His foot speed has clearly slowed. He does rely now on maturity, experience, physical strength. He has not got the same foot speed, due to age and weight increase. Happens to all fighters as they age and move thru the weights

Simple: Floyd to me was a great LW-LWW a few years ago. At WW I rate him as very good, but not elite in all time terms.

You guys seem to be saying that I am making him out to be a shell of his former self.
    That is not true. Just past his best days; still very good though.

This isn't Ali in 1975-1980 I am talking about. That is clearly past it.
    Floyd thru his career has rarely taken much, always kept in shape.
    That will always stand to him. But no matter how good he was, how cute and
    defensive, age catches up with all fighters. He is on the decline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

My thinking on Floyd is that he is still an all time great. We'll say he is at 90% of his best. It's still good enough for all time great. Top level pro fighters have been stood right in front of him and hit elbows, air and shoulders. Yes he sometimes bends the rules by turning his back (remember Hatton fight) or having elbow up and in the other guys chest.
    But for ability to hit and not get hit and keep the pedal to the metal for 12 rounds, and then combine that with great handspeed, punch accuracy, reasonable power and lightening reflexes of his head movement.
    I think even now he moves around and up and down the eras and weight divisions and beats most people. In or around his weight only a very few people could live with him. Pacquaio, Sugar Ray Leonard, yer man who beat Leonard, Campios wasnt that his name.
    Plus one other thing in his favour, I'v never seen a fighter with as good a quick step and punch. He lands in that style regular in every fight.
    Try and find a clip of Floyd even concussed by a single punch, actually that is pretty incredible to think. (Probably someone will now :) )

When he does retire Floyd will be inducted and will go down as an all time great fighter. But, where and at what weight do we evaluate him?

I think right now he is very good. I thought a few years ago he was a better all around fighter.

At WW I believe he is a very good fighter. Greats are Hearns, SRL, SRR; PBF belongs with Oscar, Tito, Mosley at this weight. Below the best, and IMO, a bit below too. Not a diss on them, as all were more suited to the LWW division. I see all being comfortably beaten by the three greats I mentioned.

At LW-LWW I belive PBF was a great fighter and would be a real match for any man at these weights, even Duran.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I was impressed with Ortiz against Berto. Should be a good fight actually.