Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Roma gypsy beggar sends home €36k in 18 months

• 07-06-2011 1:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

I've tried to find a link to the article that ran in this weeks Sunday World but can't...presumably because the people who run the SW haven't figured out the importance of internet presense...:rolleyes:

Anyway - under new legislation the cops have arrested 250 people in the first 2 months of it being live for begging. This 'lady' Ecatarina Tanase was arrested, charged and the gardai investigated her financial affairs and learned she has sent €36,000 back to Romania using Western Union in the 18 months leading up to her arrest. They estimate she made €1,000 per week begging which may or may not include (it's vague in the article) her children but it does say she 'sent similar amounts of money to her husbands family' - meaning she could have made and sent home €72,000 during the period they investigated :eek:

Why is this woman not deported and how can anyone not defend the charge that Roma gypsy's for the most part are only involved in organised begging? They are a blight as far as I'm concerned and this is proof that a huge amount of beggars are doing quite well thank you very much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Sums aren't really one of the guards strong points, I wouldn't be surprised if it turned out she had earned one third of that and sent one third of that amount home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

Who actually gives money to these people? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Elle Collins

Sums aren't important. Those fcukers are a scourge no matter what way the figures add up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Why is this woman not deported

Just on that specific point, deported for what? What crime has she committed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

it 'beggars belief' what the article is making out , :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Why is this woman not deported

Because she's an EU citizen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

srsly78 wrote: »
    Who actually gives money to these people? :confused:

DSW?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

ScumLord wrote: »
    Sums aren't really one of the guards strong points, I wouldn't be surprised if it turned out she had earned one third of that and sent one third of that amount home.

Apart from the fact that surely they wouldn't release a number like that lightly - do you think it's acceptable for any beggar to be able to spare 10 grand or more to send anywhere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Yeah, and I heard one of them got off a bus once and left their buggy on the bus and the bus driver said 'hey, your buggy' and the Roma said 'your country will buy me a new one'........................

FFS! - more urban legend bo()lox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

SO its okay to beg as long as you dont get too much?

I say fair play to her.

Mena wrote: »

well, for begging which is a crime...but...
    Mark200 wrote: »

obviously I'm half asleep and you are correct. pity though.

maybe it'll stop people giving these scumbags money though if they know how much they're making.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Not important when talking to the smouldering racists and protofacists this country breeds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

we're stuck with them now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Can't stand them to be honest. Feel sorry for the Romanian people who get caught up with these bunch of pure for the majority dishonest people.

Hate to say it but we should do what the French did and sent these Roma Gypsies home, there nothing but a drain on us and we have enough of our own people doing it.

My view is like this because I come into contact with them most days in work, and half them are barred from the shop. The other half are aloud in an they getting barred one by one for shop lifting even when they do pay they hate handing over the money and are so arrogant. And I am not one for getting the tar brush out, but my god it's like they are all the same. There is one younger on 16-17 that seems ok in fairness she mixes with the Irish, feel sorry for her trying to get away from what her family are up too.

Seen them one time putting there kids into the cloths bins to get cloths out.

If there caught in any sort of crime they should be ****ed out on the next flight and barred from the country. Same gose for any Irish up too the same abroad.

Too sum up my view on the Roma Gypo, I have no time for these people.

Kindly point out where begging is a crime, specific legislation would be handy.

I'll stop you right there though. Begging is not a crime. Aggressive begging however is.

Yeah, and I heard one of them got off a bus once and left their buggy on the bus and the bus driver said 'hey, your buggy' and the Roma said 'your country will buy me a new one'........................

FFS! - more urban legend bo()lox.

you may want to talk to Sergeant Jarlath Keogh down at Store St station who was the arresting officer - he'd probably like to respond to the accusations of him spreading slanderous myths about this lady.

I believe begging within x metres of a private business is a crime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭careca11

she should be deported on grounds that this state is broke , and simply cannot afford these sponging hangers-on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

InTheTrees wrote: »
    SO its okay to beg as long as you dont get too much?

I say fair play to her.

are you fúckin jokin me??

have you ever seen these horrible cretins hanging around hassling tourists/old people/ women , anyone vulnerable to get anything off them... always in peoples faces begging around temple bar in a VERY provocative fashion. They are the scum of the earth and they need to be sent back to where ever they came from..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Mark200 wrote: »

Being an EU citizen does not mean you cannot be deported.

Apart from the fact that surely they wouldn't release a number like that lightly - do you think it's acceptable for any beggar to be able to spare 10 grand or more to send anywhere?
    If she earned the money she can do what she likes with it. She's clearly very successful at begging and I think that's what annoys people more than anything, she earns more money sitting on her hole than educated Irish people can breaking their back.

Make beggars that earn over a certain amount pay tax maybe. Up until that point I don't see what she's done wrong.

EDIT: Oh and guards make up their figures to make them sound better.

careca11 wrote: »
    she should be deported on grounds that this state is broke , and simply cannot afford these sponging hangers-on

Earning 72k outside of welfare... not really sponging. Or is it simply her existence that offends you?

I'll stop you right there though. Begging is not a crime. Aggressive begging however is.

http://www.oireachtas.ie/documents/bills28/acts/2011/a511.pdf

It's all there..

Public Order 2011, Section 5.

If she earned the money she can do what she likes with it. She's clearly very successful at begging and I think that's what annoys people more than anything, she earns more money sitting on her hole than educated Irish people can breaking their back.

Make beggars that earn over a certain amount pay tax maybe. Up until that point I don't see what she's done wrong.

that's exactly the problem right there, the poor should be breaking their backs for buttons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

Fair play to her, she obviously has a good work ethic and sense of family.

Just another tax on stupidity to my eyes.

careca11 wrote: »

Obviously plenty of money in the country if she can make that much begging - put her in charge of the Dept of Finance, I say.

sorry, agressive begging.

pedantasauras alert.

how can you possibly defend these scumbags - and yes, the very existence of this woman in my society offends me. taking advantage of people's kindly nature to feather her own nest? i'd say your morals aren't exactly wide ranging if you feel the need to defend this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

RichieC wrote: »
    protofacists this country breeds.
    Protofacists?

What have they got against faces? :mad:

msg11 wrote: »

It's all there..

That's new to me, cheers for pointing it out. I wasn't aware the act made all begging illegal. I was under the impression it related to specific types of aggressive begging.

Obviously plenty of money in the country if she can make that much begging - put her in charge of the Dept of Finance, I say.

Class :D

I am not overly fond of roma beggars, I do think if they are doing nothing but begging they should be sent on their way :confused: I won't call them scum but aggressive begging is not on

Begging is a crime and quite rightly there is now legislation in place to deal with these people,

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0202/begging.html

The Criminal Justice (Public Order) Act 2011

There is more info in this article folks
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0401/1224293540839.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

GetWithIt wrote: »
    Fair play to her, she obviously has a good work ethic and sense of family.

Just another tax on stupidity to my eyes.

this attitude really bugs me...

have you ever seen how they beg?? how they intimidate people into giving them money??

ever seen them surrounding old people in temple bar? or on o connell street??

That's new to me, cheers for pointing it out. I wasn't aware the act made all begging illegal. I was under the impression it related to specific types of aggressive begging.

Not all begging, just to combat unsocial begging if you will. It's only new out. It's been used in work a few times. They can get around the begging part by asking for 'sponsorship'. Always coming across two these two lads looking for sponsorship for some drugs awareness sponsorship.

Protofacists?

What have they got against faces? :mad:

you're a born comedian, I bet you even have the timing.

sorry, agressive begging.

pedantasauras alert.

how can you possibly defend these scumbags - and yes, the very existence of this woman in my society offends me. taking advantage of people's kindly nature to feather her own nest? i'd say your morals aren't exactly wide ranging if you feel the need to defend this.

Care to point out where I was defending this person or their actions? My question related to the call for deportation, which then led to clarification that it does appear to be illegal.

You can't just make **** up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

We're sending enough money abroad with the Finance Minister we've got, and would like to keep some here at least.:(

neil_hosey wrote: »
    this attitude really bugs me...

have you ever seen how they beg?? how they intimidate people into giving them money??

ever seen them surrounding old people in temple bar? or on o connell street??

Well, that's not really begging now is it? It's more like blackmail or something.

And, personally I've never seen this and I work in town - maybe it's not a prevalant as you think.

Begging is a crime and quite rightly there is now legislation in place to deal with these people,
    It doesn't matter if begging is a crime, they might as well make eating a crime. If begging is the best way for them to make money they will continue to do it, the law changes nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

law needs to be rigorous in this approach,perhaps a ban or instant arrest is in order,at the moment its very doubtful judge would jail or fine them?.

Care to point out where I was defending this person or their actions? My question related to the call for deportation, which then led to clarification that it does appear to be illegal.

You can't just make **** up.

the provocative nature of this question leads me to believe you are defending her...
    Or is it simply her existence that offends you?

also, please point out where i 'made **** up' because that's a fairly serious accusation you made there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

RichieC wrote: »
    you're a born comedian, I bet you even have the timing.
    Why thank you. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

These "people" sicken me, Why do Irish people give them any money?? :confused:

I just walk straight by them ignorning them, If everyone did this they would get nothing.

It doesn't matter if begging is a crime, they might as well make eating a crime. If begging is the best way for them to make money they will continue to do it, the law changes nothing.

they could always try mugging people.. oh wait, that's illegal which is why most of you kids have never heard of it.

I have sympathy for people who have found themselves in really difficult circumstances and have to beg, but the roma gypsy beggars use overly agressive tactics on locals and tourists and this is why legislation was updated as a lot of them use their young children for the purpose of getting money from people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

That assumes all of that money came from begging (which I find hard to believe) and was not supplemented through purse snatching, ATM fraud, shop change scams or just plain old burglary, shoplifting and intimidation.

My brothers shop was robbed when a half a dozen Roma women and children swarmed into his place. While he was desperately trying to stop them stealing everything in the place that wasn’t nailed down, one of them lifted a small child over the counter who swiped his wife’s purse with the day’s takings in it from the storeroom.
    My parents elderly neighbor answered the door to some of these chancers, she has a touch of Alzheimer’s and as a result isn’t quite the full shilling so she invited them in to ‘use the toilet’. Fortunately her son arrived only minutes later as they were ransacking the place. When the Roma woman fled out the door he grabbed her handbag which he delivered to the local Garda station, complete with her social welfare card, so he didn’t consider that it would be too hard to track the woman down. Do you know what he was told? That she couldn’t be charged with burglary because he mother had ‘invited them in’.

There’s a good chance that stories like these form a substantial amount of her income. Needless to say, I can’t see why her lawyer insists on appealing the 2,000 euro fine, she sounds as though she’s good for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

This is the reason I would not give them any money.

the provocative nature of this question leads me to believe you are defending her...

I'm not. I've not given my opinion on the case at hand or beggars in general.
    also, please point out where i 'made **** up' because that's a fairly serious accusation you made there.

You accused me of defending her. You made **** up.

The other comment was directed at another poster, what it has to do with you is beyond me.

msg11 wrote: »

It's all there..

That just makes it illegal to force another person to beg, not to beg yourself (at least that's my understanding from my reading of it).
    —(1) A person who—
    (a) controls or directs the actions of another person for the
    purposes of begging,
    (b) organises or is materially involved in the organisation of
    begging by another person,
    (c) forces another person to beg, or
    (d) otherwise causes another person to beg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

They prob intimidate or pester people into giving them money. I think we should do what france did and send them all home asap.

I normally don't give beggers any money. They should either look after themselves, the state should look after them if they can't and beyond that i'd rather give to a charity that may help people. I don't give money directly to anyone begging on the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I don't give any beggars anything, because I don't believe that any of them need to do it, especially in a country with a generous welfare system. I just see them as business-people who I prefer not to do business with.