Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Swords League - Club 25m TT Championship Weds 8 June

• 07-06-2011 1:23pm
    Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭

Forget the Kathleen O'Sullivan for now - the 25m TT championship takes place tomorrow night, sign-on at Batterstown. The Race of Truth - no hiding in the middle of the group expecting someone else to do the work for you. Staro, Lusk Doyle - I see you guys have put your names down for marshalling:rolleyes:

It might be a bit windy - WNWesterly will be in our faces on the way out but right behind us on the way home

Anyone else from here partaking? Shaungil, are you finally going to ride that TT bike in a Club event?

My PB is 64:52 so the main aim is to beat that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Staro

Would love to do it but have to race on Thursday :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭shaungil

Staro wrote: »
    Would love to do it but have to race on Thursday :-)
    +1 Sorry Beasty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Lusk Doyle

I also have to hide, I mean race on Thursday!

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Well I remember last year one guy rode out of town to the TT (probably getting lost numerous times knowing him), clocked a PB, and then turned up to the Kathleen O'Sullivan the following evening and managed to place 4th;)

You lot are a load of wimps .....:D

Beasty wrote: »
    Well I remember last year one guy rode out of town to the TT (probably getting lost numerous times knowing him), clocked a PB, and then turned up to the Kathleen O'Sullivan the following evening and managed to place 4th;)

sounds like an idiot to me.

shaungil wrote: »
    sounds like an idiot to me.

Is that the guy with the ironman tattoo on his ankle?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

... hopefully not a boardsie, or else I may have to infract shaungil for abuse ...

back to the Athletics Running Triathlon section with him or her. Down with this sort of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

race tonight ,race on Thur ,race on sun ,the 25 on wen ........let me think about it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭pprendeville

hopefully I'll be well enough to compete. can't afford to miss too many more Wed nights or i'll have gone backwards fitness wise. any map for this circuit?

for this circuit?
    Not quite a "circuit"

Starts about 3km before Batterstown, all the way to Trim and back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭El Director

Missed the last TT so I will be there tomorow, on tired legs but will give it a good lash. This was the one and only club race I did last year, 64:58 so that'll be the target. See ye there! (Blue/white Giant Trinity with blue helmet).

(Blue/white Giant Trinity with blue helmet).
    I'd better bring the white helmet then;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭English Bob

Am planning to get out to this tonight.
    My first TT!
    Any advice welcome!!!:D

My first TT!

Cycle fast. Very fast!

My first TT!
    Pacing is critical - don't go off too fast. In fact try and keep a comfortable pace to start off with - increase it if you feel comfortable doing so, but you need to make sure you keep something in reserve

Try and split it down - this course can easily be considered as 4 distinct quarters, taking into account the expected wind conditions

First 10km - slight incline, into the wind - takes you to 2km or so past the first roundabout - likely to be the hardest quarter tonight because of the headwind, but your freshness should compensate

Second 10km - downhill most of the way - some of us were getting well over 50km for a stretch just before the turnaround at Trim last year, despite a headwind

Third 10km - most uphill involved here - particularly a drag just outside Trim - the tailwind should compensate though - I find this the most difficult bit, as you know you need to push harder on the inclines, but keep something in reserve

Final 10km - given it will be a tailwind this will be the easiest quarter if you still have anything left in you - when you get over the incline just before Batterstown there is 4km to go - this is an ideal place to start your final push.

Oh - and don't let Lusk Doyle put you off wherever he is standing with his red flag - if he shouts "suffer" at you, just ignore him ....;)

or hammerfest the whole way......

If you are not nearly getting sick you are not trying hard enough. I'm in pain just thinking about it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

shaungil wrote: »
    or hammerfest the whole way......

If you are not nearly getting sick you are not trying hard enough. I'm in pain just thinking about it.

Pretty much agree for once.......

Go out hard, try to ride at 85-92% thresehold depending on who you are and suffer like a god.....

So you're riding tonight RobFowl?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

So you're riding tonight RobFowl?

No Mrs Fowl playing Tennis and my fitness not up to it !!
    Did you get the text/pic I send you though ;)
    Reckon end Aug/Sept for the "show down"
    The last hill climb definitely but a "proper tt" as well

RobFowl wrote: »
    No Mrs Fowl playing Tennis and my fitness not up to it !!
    It will never get there if you let tennis get in your way
    Did you get the text/pic I send you though ;)
    Yes - but I ned to see it in the "Images of Beauty" thread - my eyesight is not good enough to make out all the finer points
    Reckon end Aug/Sept for the "show down"
    The last hill climb definitely but a "proper tt" as well
    Name the time and place - you've no excuse now you have a proper TT bike ....

Fightin talk:eek:

It will never get there if you let tennis get in your way

Will you go and tell her?
    Maybe send Shaungil to apply the "few slaps"
    (Would put money on Mrs Fowl btw)

The correct term would be smashes in this instance.

Apply the few smashes.

Mrs Shaungil plays tennis also

..lads, can you please take this to the PI forum

Anyone else loving the showery conditions :rolleyes: thanks Beasty for the course run down, this is the same course as last years 25 TT right?

Yes same course, and conditions are going to be pretty similar - we had a SW wind last year, and it will be WNW by the looks of it tonight (maybe a bit stronger this time though)

Sign-on is in Batterstown (not Blackbull, where we did the 10m sign on a couple of weeks ago)

Headed out for the 40km TT this evening, must say I wasn't looking forward to this as there had been countless torrential downpour throughout the day. I had meant to head out there early for a good warm up but instead I went for a snooze on the couch Still got in a 6km warm up. Legs were feeling heavy and I knew that this was going to be tough, especially the first 20k into a strong headwind.

So anyway off I went, I was 7th to go. Straight away it was really apparent that this was going to be even tougher than I thought. There were also plenty of drags but then again there were downhill sections. Just before the first round about I caught one of the girls. There was a period were I thought "o god F this!". At one stage the trees blocked the wind and I could hear some noise coming from my bike, it was pretty annoying, I just hoped it wasn't anything serious. So I made it to the turnaround and I hit lap on my garmin:

First 20k Time 36:08; Speed 33.2km; HR 147

Last year I did this course in 1:05:58, so I knew if I was to better that then I'd have to fly back! 20km in under 30 min (40km/hr), I didn't really think I had it in the legs even with the wind at my back. I was going to give it my best shot anyway. It wasn't all easy on the way back but I wnet hard when I felt it was right and went easyish when I had to. I caught the next girl at about 28km. I then started to get very uncomfortable on my saddle, I had to sit up for a bit and even free wheel. Then a guy on a Cervelo P2 caught me (runner up in the National Duathlon Championships in Donegal this year), I was determined to try and pull him back in. He got a nice distance on me but after the roundabout outside Batterstown I started to reel him in again but it wasn't to be. I caught one more of the girls with a km to go and kept the head down for a strong finish. Glad it was over!

Second 20k Time 29:50; Speed 40.2km/hr; HR 154 (last 2k 165)

Overall 1:04:57 PB Speed 37.3km/hr HR 150/173

So a good nights work and a new PB. Fair play to all tonight it was not easy. Thanks to Swords CC and the marshals they did a great job on a horrible night. Nice to meet Beasty too, he got me by 2 flipping seconds! :(:rolleyes:

The wind made it quite tough on the outward leg - average speed for the first half was about 34.4kph at 260w, with the return at 40.5kph and 225w

A bit disappointed not to get a PB - was 3s outside at 64:55 (although still nearly 5 minutes faster than last years club championships)

Overall power was similar to the last 25mTT I did, but I should have pushed on earlier as I was hitting over 60kph at the end and probably could have kept it up for a bit longer

Interestingly my average HR was only 155 (max 171) compared to 165 (max 177) when I did my last 25mTT a couple of weeks ago - I didn't feel I was breaking into a sweat, and it was definitely my legs that were the limiting factor tonight. I had raised the seat half a centimetre and am not sure if this affected my performance - I definitely need to experiment more on my position on the bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭English Bob

Thank god for epsom salts & sudocream!!!!
    That was the toughest race I've done.
    Nearly quit at the first roundabout.
    Not sure re time but think 1hr 15ish.
    When Beasty breezed past me & told me "only 5k left" I nearly puked!!
    Some seriously fast riders & fancy bikes.
    Not sure if I enjoyed it????????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭amjon.

Sudocrem and ice cubes! I was in alot of pain for the last 10k. 62min04sec. Could not have picked a worse race to make my come back from injury, absolutely nowhere to hide. Couldn't get my legs going after the turn, thought my legs were going to take off but looked down to see a paltry 90 rpm. Still feel a bit ill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭kellt

Hardest 1hr 9 mins of my life. 1st ever time trial very happy with finish on alluminium road bike. Back in bits over being hunched over. Goid workout though. Thinks a rest on tomorrow anyone know fastest time ?

Colm Cassidy had a time of around 56 minutes I think. 2 others were under the hour

I'm claiming the "Swordsie, Boardsie, Oldie" fastest time
    (I think I was the oldest club member boardsie taking part)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭amjon.

kellt wrote: »
    Hardest 1hr 9 mins of my life. 1st ever time trial very happy with finish on alluminium road bike. Back in bits over being hunched over. Goid workout though. Thinks a rest on tomorrow anyone know fastest time ?

55 something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭pprendeville

that was a tough one last night alright. hadn't been on the bike for 6 days due to sickness so was a bit skeptical how i'd be feeling. turned out i was fresh and the legs felt good. started off around lactate threshold (167bpm) and maintained this and gradually increased to to 171-175.

i'd forgotton to put distance as one of the stats on the garmin (had HR, speed and time) so when i hit the roundabout i thought it was another few k to turn point and nearly went through it but just changed direction at last minute. kept the HR at steady 177 all the way home.

few deceptive drags on that course. first TT over that distance and was happy with 65.32 (or thereabouts). lungs were totally burning after it. had the frog song (Paul McCartney) in my head most of the way as my daughter is mad watching it at the moment.

what difference time wise is there to be had on a TT bike, not that i could justify/afford to get one.

I was 2s outside my PB, which was set on the same course on my road bike with clip-ons;)

I reckon, however, that the wind cost us around 2 minutes last night - it was pretty much head-on with no opportunity to shelter behind hedges

My power output was also down, but that is partly because of the lower position adopted on the bike. With the right conditions however (and I suspect I was not warmed up enough last night, which may help explain the particularly low HR), I think I could knock 3 minutes or so off my time from last night

... of course, it's not just the bike frame (which may not be particularly expensive), there's the wheels to think about also ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭abc_xyz

Nearly didn't start last night but the rain never came down heavy enough to give me the excuse to cry off. Was very windy on the way out with the occasional gust making it interesting and the open stretches being particularly bad. Thought it was much windier then last year. Knew from fairly early (before the start if I'm honest) that the legs were still tired from the weekend and run intervals last night. Spent alot of time on the way out thinking this headwind was ridiculous. Was passed by first rider somewhere around 16km. Got to the turn-about and life got easier. Was a bit surprised to see beasty only about 20sec back which gave a little motivation. Flew back in, catching three riders (and being caught by three riders - none of them beasty though). Much more enjoyable on the way back in (so that must mean I'm doing something wrong as I don't think your supposed to use word enjoyable about a TT). Think I actually opened a the gap a bit on beasty in the second half which surprised me.

Had no real problem staying on the TT bars but saddle got a bit sore after a while. About a minute slower then last year, but not too unhappy considering the extra wind and very tired legs. Some nice bikes out, particularly liked the green Trek, though if I'm picky I think I prefer it in blue ;)

Avg/Max HR 147/155 which is very low (compared to 169/187 for last week's race - must try harder).

abc_xyz wrote: »
    Think I actually opened a the gap a bit on beasty in the second half which surprised me.

I must have been too busy focussing on the computers to spot you - it might have been just the motivation I needed as I'd just been overtaken by the UCD guy and Javan took me early in the second half. The only reason I got to 60kph on the home stretch was that there was a guy probably 100m or so ahead with about half a km to go - I used him as target practice - didn't think I'd catch him but was really flying at the end and probably beat him to the line by 20m or so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭morana

any pictures?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

162271.jpg

I must have been too busy focussing on the computers to spot you - it might have been just the motivation I needed as I'd just been overtaken by the UCD guy and Javan took me early in the second half. The only reason I got to 60kph on the home stretch was that there was a guy probably 100m or so ahead with about half a km to go - I used him as target practice - didn't think I'd catch him but was really flying at the end and probably beat him to the line by 20m or so

You mean Beasty Junior passed you! That was gas the pair of you in the same space suit!

morana wrote: »
    any pictures?

Here you go sir!

http://s1194.photobucket.com/albums/aa375/LuskDoyle/Swords%20Club%20League%2025m%20TT%202011/

Excuse my camera skills please!

Lusk Doyle- put the photos of pain up

Can you "Euro" that up for us all Caroline?!?

Lusk Doyle- put the photos of pain up

Already done man!

69 infirst tt in road bike fairly chuffed with it middle of road

... particularly considering most of the guys ahead of you are not club members - a lot of specialist TT guys turned up on Wednesday as there are limited TT's run in the area (other than by the vets)

Well done - pretty similar to my time last year when conditions were a lot better