Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another Stolen BMW 335i - RECOVERED

• 07-06-2011 8:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17

My BMW 335i was stolen from Gort, Co. Galway last night/ early this morning.

Reg <snip>

They broke into the house and took the keys. Only started leaving them downstairs last week after seeing the previous thread.

<snip>

<threads merged>
    Woo Hoo! Car Recovered - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=72675413&postcount=86

Oh no :(
    No one hurt though at least ??

Sticky please mods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Very sorry to hear that OP, at least you left the keys downstairs fair play - last thing you want is some scumbag coming up the stairs where you're family are sleeping.

Best of luck recovering it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭Seperate

Why have the scum started to steal coupes???

I thought you were safe from this sort of thing if you only had the two doors.

As the other lads said, at least they didn't go near you or your family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Oh christ not again, They must have a new found hankering for 2 Doors.

OP have you had any random callers recently ? or work done on the house. Or even people following you home?

Seperate wrote: »
    Why have the scum started to steal coupes???

I can't really fathom it, I was surprised how Fitz's one ended up being used for robberies. Personally I'd sooner rob a 535 diesel or the likes of a Legacy for such escapades if I was so inclined.

The performance is the only + on the 335i Coupe, given their rarity and the twin exhausts making them easy to spot at the rate they are being stolen Gardai may well start pulling them over whenever one is spotted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Gabby_11

No one hurt or even woke. Thank god. The dog didn't stir which is unbelievable, and I think a blessing.

Credit to boards and its members for highlighting this previously. As I said, until last week, I slept with the keys upstairs beside me, which could have made this a whole lot worse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

Sorry to hear of your car being stolen. Its sickening to think you can't have a decent car anymore in fear of it being robbed. Hopefully your story turns out better than Fitz's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

So its not a good idea to bring your car keys upstairs with you? Must remember that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Fbjm

It's probably something to do with the area you're living in. I'm in malahide myself, and none of my parents or neighbours BMWs or mercs have been touched, even the ferraris in the seaside houses are grand. Sorry about your car OP, hope things turn out fine.

Fbjm wrote: »
    It's probably something to do with the area you're living in. I'm in malahide myself, and none of my parents or neighbours BMWs or mercs have been touched, even the ferraris in the seaside houses are grand. Sorry about your car OP, hope things turn out fine.

Are you for real?

RoverJames wrote: »
    Are you for real?

Yeah, there were some burglaries a while back but for some reason I haven't heard of any cars being stolen or damaged around the area.

Thats because the all have SE 520D's ;)

Snore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

FFS not again! :(

listermint wrote: »
    Thats because the all have SE 520D's ;)

Snore

What's an SE 520D?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭cgarrad

Pick up one of these for it if you get it back :o

Tracker

Best of luck, feel your loss.

What's an SE 520D?

Google is your friend.

Anyway, back on topic...

Yeah, there were some burglaries a while back but for some reason I haven't heard of any cars being stolen or damaged around the area.

So in Malahide there are burglaries but because the OPs car was actually stolen it's due to where they live? That makes no sense. Seems as you don't know what a 520d SE is I reckon you don't appreciate what a 335i is either.

Apologies for off topic, I'll say no more either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

This is unreal, hopefully it doesn't meet the same faith as the last one and surely any leads the Gardaí had on the last one they could somewhat apply to this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Ah **** man. At least noone was hurt.

I don't get the recent love for coupes in robberies. Stolen to order, yes, but stolen and used as a getaway?

Surely there are many other more suitable cars?

Probably of no use to you OP, but I'll keep an eye open around here (Cavan) just in case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Wetbench4

Gabby_11 wrote: »
    Only started leaving them downstairs last week after seeing the previous thread.
    What was this previous thread? I missed it. Is leaving your keys in the bedside locker a bad idea now?

Sorry for your loss gabby, will keep an eye out for her.

Wetbench4 wrote: »
    Is leaving your keys in the bedside locker a bad idea now?

Well if folks break into your house to rob your car keys I know I wouldn't want them coming upstairs to look for them. One on one on the street I'd tackle most Joe Soaps if I had to, in bed after being woken by a thief or two looking for my car keys is a different kettle of fish.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Well if folks break into your house to rob your car keys I know I wouldn't want them coming upstairs to look for them. One on one on the street I'd tackle most Joe Soaps if I had to, in bed after being woken by a thief or two looking for my car keys is a different kettle of fish.
    Ya but they're not going know you left them upstairs. So we should leave them where its easiest to find them? Might be worth getting some fake keys made up to confuse the b@stards.

OSI wrote: »
    If they're willing to break into your house for your car keys while you're still in it, they won't leave until they have them. Would you really rather wake up to the site of somone holding a knife to your wife or kids demanding the keys?

No, that is true. But its sickening. I'm not sure most of these scumbags would have the balls to go up to a bedroom but maybe i'm just being naive. I'm glad i have a house alarm and a baseball bat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Get a dog lads. Mines goes feckin ballistic if anything weird happens. She disturbed a mid afternoon burglary last year at the next door neighbours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭TheZ

Certain cars seem to carry as a price of ownership a reasonably high chance of being stolen.

Would it put people off owning them as not being worth the worry/hassle?

What can you do to protect car/family from thieves targetting you in first place or if they do target you getting nowhere

1. Get house alarm installed and put it on at night
    2. Get a Clifford alarm with blackjack fitted
    3. If you have a garage (rare enough now) use it
    4. Gate post?
    5. Be aware of cars following you home - if in doubt go to a roundabout and go round it twice and see if they are still there
    6. Vary routine if possible, park it elsewhere now and then

Anything else people can do or suggest or is all of this a waste of time?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

So leave your keys down stairs in a easy place for the scum to find them,
    FFS, How is that good advice ? might as well leave car running for them,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

Get a dog lads. Mines goes feckin ballistic if anything weird happens. She disturbed a mid afternoon burglary last year at the next door neighbours

The OP has a Dog and it didnt help

Sorry to hear that OP .

I will keep an eye out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 garmac

What's an SE 520D?

:
    Best%20Sleeping%20Pills.jpg

FWIW I can't believe you'd say his car was stroked because he lived in Gort. Cop the fcuk on!
    It can and does happen anywhere. Malahide isn't immune to car theft.
    @OP Really sorry and hope you get what is a really special machine back soon and all ok.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

the car would have been pre-booked to be shipped before it was stolen, What were the next sailings after it was stolen, africa probably its destination

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

TheZ wrote: »
    What can you do to protect car/family from thieves targetting you in first place or if they do target you getting nowhere

Go live beside someone with an even nicer car?

Sickening, cant even have something nice anymore without having to fear losing it to people who we can so easily do without.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Fukn ****. Hope you get it back undamaged OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

Absolute scum, can't believe this keeps happening, and in such a small country too, makes me sick to the bone with this going on all the time, people can't have nice things :(

Hope you get it back unmarked OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Was your front door unlocked OP? Did they actually smash there way in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Who cares where the OP left the keys? Who give a flying fvk where he lived? Some scum bag broke into his house took his car keys and f off-ed with his pride and joy.
    Is it a good idea to bring car keys to bed with you? No, if someone is willing to break into your house to steal the keys, then what else are they willing to do. Your covered with insurance and probably will not lose you no claims discount.
    Could it be because of where I live? no matter if you live in the centre for scumbag ville or on top of poshfecker mountain, scum bags will still try and take what they want.

OP I am sorry to hear this about you beautiful car. Thankfully, it seems, you and your family are ok. Hopefully these scumbags will met a nasty end and you get your pride and joy back in 1 piece.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

argosy2006 wrote: »

As OSI said earlier...
    OSI wrote: »
    If they're willing to break into your house for your car keys while you're still in it, they won't leave until they have them. Would you really rather wake up to the site of somone holding a knife to your wife or kids demanding the keys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

A friend of my fathers house was robbed recently, they lived in an estate. They were a large amount of robberies in the estate and they eventually caught the culprit with them. They found a map of the housing estate on them with X's on a good few houses. They ran a check and turns out none of the houses with the X's had been robbed, but they all had one thing in common - a dog!

We have sensored lights front and back of the house that when they go off between the certain hours a loud bell rings through the house... Makes fun for "sneaking home" whilst inebriated :L

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

argosy2006 wrote: »
    best advice going, i have 4 dogs, 2 in the house and 2 out the back and i still leave the van and car keys downstairs on show from the hall. if they want them they will get them one way or another. my 2 kids and girlf are more important to me than a car so if by some mirical they manage not to set the dogs off and have me coming to meet them with a baseball bat as they come through the front door they are welcome to both because quinn-direct will get me new ones

Wetbench4 wrote: »
    No, that is true. But its sickening. I'm not sure most of these scumbags would have the balls to go up to a bedroom but maybe i'm just being naive. I'm glad i have a house alarm and a baseball bat.

Baseball bat is fairly useless as a weapon unless you are attacking from behind, off topic though and don't want to get into that.
    1. Get house alarm installed and put it on at night
    2. Get a Clifford alarm with blackjack fitted
    3. If you have a garage (rare enough now) use it
    4. Gate post?
    5. Be aware of cars following you home - if in doubt go to a roundabout and go round it twice and see if they are still there
    6. Vary routine if possible, park it elsewhere now and then

House alarm is a huge deterrant so too the blackjack. Car alarm not great really if they have your keys, gate post is unlocked with a key so not great really. Following you home etc, I'd try and get their reg.

House alarm and CCTV are the best options me thinks. They'll sooner target someone else than actually try and get the keys off you as you travel from car to house, you'd like to think anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

I reckon it's probably the same scumbags that's stole fitzgemes 335i

Sickening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭pokerface_me

Never bring your house keys to bed, your motor is insured but a death in your household is the price you might pay for bringing the keys up the stairs. And to all the people with baseball bats and the likes, they will be on top of you before you know it, with a gun,knife or a bloodfilled syringe. These scumbags would have you for breakfast, they are complete filth well used to violence and dishing it out. Baseball bat or not they will still take you, your wife and the kids on, no bother to them.

OP you did the correct thing 110% hope you get the car back but worst case the insurance will fix you up.

Will keep a look out Tallaght area and surrounding areas, is there any markings to look out for in case they have switched plates.

Never bring your house keys to bed, your motor is insured but a death in your household is the price you might pay for bringing the keys up the stairs. And to all the people with baseball bats and the likes, they will be on top of you before you know it, with a gun,knife or a bloodfilled syringe. These scumbags would have you for breakfast, they are complete filth well used to violence and dishing it out. Baseball bat or not they will still take you, your wife and the kids on, no bother to them.

OP you did the correct thing 110% hope you get the car back but worst case the insurance will fix you up and no damage done other than pride.

Will keep a look out Tallaght area and surrounding areas, is there any markings to look out for in case they have switched plates.

Being honest, this was stolen in galway. The robberies are happening in midlands and surrounding rural areas, It appears to be a well organised crew from a nomadic tribe. So tallaght would probably not be where you would see it. But all input helps i suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

all very good ideas. one two more idea that worked for me AFTER my car was broken into:
    1.If you have 2 cars, park the car most likely to be robbed beside the house, and park the other car infront of it. Will slow them down, or deter them alltogether.

I had a 94 corolla which was broken into 2 years ago. prob by a bunch of kids, they tried to hotwire it, but cut the wrong wires. I think the reason it was broken into is because its was the oldest car in the estate, so it didnt have an alarm or immobiliser. my mate used to park his astra infront of mine, so if they wanted to hotwire mine again, they would have to get through the astra first!

OP. sickened for you. I was so pissed off when my car was broken into. cant imagine how pissed off i would have been if it was robbed

EDIT: actually maybe not a good idea if they are going to break into your house and get the keys to the both cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭pokerface_me

Being honest, this was stolen in galway. The robberies are happening in midlands and surrounding rural areas, It appears to be a well organised crew from a nomadic tribe. So tallaght would probably not be where you would see it. But all input helps i suppose.[/QUOTE

Might have been in Galway but the lads that nicked it could have well been from Tallaght. They are a nomadic tribe of there own up here, known as the TJR (Tallaght Joy Riders). Stranger things have happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭jjmcclure

Incorrect. 2 weeks ago one of my staffs 335i was stolen in malahide. Same dealm, broke into the house to get the keys!

SCUM

Being honest, this was stolen in galway. The robberies are happening in midlands and surrounding rural areas, It appears to be a well organised crew from a nomadic tribe. So tallaght would probably not be where you would see it. But all input helps i suppose.

Might have been in Galway but the lads that nicked it could have well been from Tallaght. They are a nomadic tribe of there own up here, known as the TJR (Tallaght Joy Riders). Stranger things have happened.

Okay, I think you missed the point of nomadic tribe - Travellers......

And there arent any of them in the TJR (tymon joy riders as they were known)

Okay, I think you missed the point of nomadic tribe - Travellers......

And there arent any of them in the TJR (tymon joy riders as they were known)

Having grown up near tymon north, I can tell you there were traveller joy riders from tymon north, settle guys. Not all the "joyriders" where from Tymon north either. These scum where well known to everyone, including the guards. The western end of Tallaght had scum from Tymon North, Castle Lawns, Castle Park, Glenview & Bolbrook. And the scum used liked to be called the Tallaght Buggies, everyone else call them bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Mary28

Do you think you should leave your keys somewhere easy to find even if you car isn't a particularlly desirable one?
    I've got a 06 family 7 seater, I would assume it wouldn't be the type of car that would get robbed. My husband wanted me to leave it at the inlaws when we went abroad in case it got robbed but I thought why would anyone rob a 06 MPV?

I've got my car and house keys on one ring so would I be better off separating them and leaving the car keys downstairs and taking the house keys up?
    Sorry if these are thick questions. I completely see the logic in leaving your car keys downstairs now although prior to this thread I thought you were supposed to bring them upstairs with you.

Total scum, I'm very sorry for your hassle OP, hope it works out ok for you.

Mary28 wrote: »
    Do you think you should leave your keys somewhere easy to find even if you car isn't a particularlly desirable one?
    I've got a 06 family 7 seater, I would assume it wouldn't be the type of car that would get robbed. My husband wanted me to leave it at the inlaws when we went abroad in case it got robbed but I thought why would anyone rob a 06 MPV?

I've got my car and house keys on one ring so would I be better off separating them and leaving the car keys downstairs and taking the house keys up?
    Sorry if these are thick questions. I completely see the logic in leaving your car keys downstairs now although prior to this thread I thought you were supposed to bring them upstairs with you.

Total scum, I'm very sorry for your hassle OP, hope it works out ok for you.

Don't worry about seperating your keys, god forbid it does happen, you will probably change all house locks anyway. I usually leave my keys downstairs, either in the kitchen or living room, depending on where I drop them. Once they can not be lifted via the letterbox, a fishing rod with a hook, there is bugger all else you can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Ah for Fock Sake! Another beauty of a 335i stolen?

At least you and yours weren't harmed. Hope you get it back in one piece OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭TheZ

As far as I can see from crime statistics (eg 24,502 burglaries in 2010 and 333 aggravated burglaries) about 1.5% of burglaries are aggravated burglaries where violence or threats are made against occupants.

Resources wise the Garda will throw more at an aggravated burglary than a burglary without violence so there is higher chance of being caught

Does the fear/threat of violence mean that people leave keys downstairs and thieves know this i.e. a sort of appeasement encouraging more crime whereas on the other extreme in the US where gun ownership is common breaking into a house is reasonably risky to a thief as they may get killed and so less common

Leave keys at top of stairs on basis that if they have come that far then fair enough but don't hand them the keys on a plate?