Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should there be an upper age limit on wearing shorts?

• 06-06-2011 4:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭

Saw some scary lookin' specimens on Saturday and have been pondering this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

No.

But saying that, I don't believe all shorts or body types are created equally, so dress appropriately for your age and size.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,630 ✭✭✭Oracle

Yes, 10 years old. Nobody over that age looks good in shorts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭DrHLecter

the labia limit

lenght of shorts in direct proportion to flap elasticity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

Just a size limit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

Don't sweat the small stuff. You get everything from seriously anorexic stick insects to morbidly obese Behemoths over here (metaphorically). All are happy to get into anything that keeps them cool. And that's the way it should be. Peace to Everysize :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Oracle wrote: »

I disagree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

So anyone who plays soccer, rugby, GAA or whatever should not wear shorts?

Maybe you would hope that society would regress to the early 20th century where women wore huge dresses and carried around little umbrellas while watching the men play sport in shirts and long pants?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

but you're imagining what they'd be like without shorts, arent ye? ye dirty fecker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭alie

Some very indecent shorts in penny,s at the moment for small kids, and bras too , back again for 6 year olds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Men: 10

Women: depends on how hot you are, you have to apply for a shorts-wearing license before putting them on. The license is subject to an annual review

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,630 ✭✭✭Oracle

The After Hours welcome committee have arrived ..... relax, take a chill pill guys .... ;)

alie wrote: »
    Some very indecent shorts in penny,s at the moment for small kids, and bras too , back again for 6 year olds

Did I read that correctly?? Pennys are selling bras for 6 year olds??

phasers wrote: »

Naw. It may be hard to imagine since the preferred male dress in Dublin seems to be track suits, but a guy with nice looking calves can really pull off cargo shorts.

Nope, cargo shorts make men look like tools

http://famewatcher.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/04/guys-cargo-pants.jpg

Uhm... yeah, if they walk together in a line of five with all of their shirts off and their pants sagging below their waists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

Developing into a zombie thread to resurrect the Presidental candidate thread :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I wear shorts every day at home, no way am I changing that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭alie

Jake1 wrote: »
    Did I read that correctly?? Pennys are selling bras for 6 year olds??

Yep and mathching pants, was in nutgrove on saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

To be fair there are a lot more fashion crimes being committed around the place than people wearing shorts.

Uhm... yeah, if they walk together in a line of five with all of their shirts off and their pants sagging below their waists...
    Even Obama looks like a tool in them!

http://www.kriegerstyle.com/images/wired/site/obama-old-navy-cargo-shorts.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

What about sandals? I think this is the bigger issue here! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭DanTheMan91

I think people over a certain weight should seriously consider wearing shorts in public, I always wear shorts, but I have beautiful legs so its all good :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Anti-shortsism is an Irish thing. When we came home from London my ex, a brickie, was used to wearing shorts on the building sites over there and faced a huge amount of slagging for doing it here. The Irish guys preferred to work in sweltering heat (what passes for it here :D) wearing jeans and the like rather than being more comfortable in shorts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

You sure?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

To be fair they're young very well built blokes and that's grand. Problem is cargo pants are more often worn by 30+ year old blokes with shaved heads(from baldness not choice) and very soft around the middle. Usually stumpy with short legs. Really not a good look. The male equivalent of a muffin top.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Matthew23

I think there should be a body weight based limit on shorts tightness. I saw a group of girls walking through town during the Irish summer (ie last friday) two of whom were wearing shorts sufficiently tight to give you a very good indication of position of the undulations on the wall of their inner anus not to mention every other contour on their cellulite ridden hides.

Matthew23 wrote: »
    I think there should be a body weight based limit on shorts tightness. I saw a group of girls walking through town during the Irish summer (ie last friday) two of whom were wearing shorts sufficiently tight to give you a very good indication of position of the undulations on the wall of their inner anus not to mention every other contour on their cellulite ridden hides.

And then you ran home for a ****???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Uuuugh:eek:

Was in the Nutgrove SC last friday and spied two cougars,as they say 'carrying

a lot of lumber' with fawn khaki shorts on them.

How the fcuking seams took the strain is beyond me, bet into their arse cracks

like fcuking cheese wire.

Now they were presentable in fairness, but shorts were not for them, thighs like

buffalo hocks and their flaps must have been mashed like pressed ham.

Shudder to think of them taking them off and preparing for a 'Moon landing'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭gernon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Matthew23

kfallon wrote: »
    And then you ran home for a ****???

ran home an got sick more like :p my gf can take care of the other thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Rockery Woman

I would rather see an in-shape 50 year old woman in shorts than a morbidly obese teenager anyway! :D:D:D

Jeez some people are soooo fat!!!!:eek:

I would rather see an in-shape 50 year old woman in shorts than a morbidly obese teenager anyway! :D:D:D

Jeez some people are soooo fat!!!!:eek:

You have a point Rocky.

They just need to dig the fcukers out of their arse-cracks.

Bad for the digestion, I would opine:eek:

Ruu wrote: »

I can deal with sandals. I mean, I don't have to look down at someone's feet if I don't have to.

But, this whole leggins/tights trend is seriously not for everyone. Or, if you must wear them, wear them under a dress or a shirt that goes past your stomach. Especially if said stomach falls lower than your female bits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭blow69

Uuuugh:eek:

Was in the Nutgrove SC last friday and spied two cougars,as they say 'carrying

a lot of lumber' with fawn khaki shorts on them.

How the fcuking seams took the strain is beyond me, bet into their arse cracks

like fcuking cheese wire.

Now they were presentable in fairness, but shorts were not for them, thighs like

buffalo hocks and their flaps must have been mashed like pressed ham.

Shudder to think of them taking them off and preparing for a 'Moon landing'

Well that was, um, descriptive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Wibbs wrote: »
    To be fair they're young very well built blokes and that's grand. Problem is cargo pants are more often worn by 30+ year old blokes with shaved heads(from baldness not choice) and very soft around the middle. Usually stumpy with short legs. Really not a good look. The male equivalent of a muffin top.

That would be me.

I start wearing shorts around April/May time and don't wear anything else until at least the end if September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭murrayp4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

kfallon wrote: »

You're right, you shouldn't apologise.

You should beg forgiveness.:)

blow69 wrote: »
    Well that was, um, descriptive.

yeah, that's what I do horse.

Describe things.

You should try it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I think people should wear whatever the fuck they feel like.

I don't know when it happened, but somewhere along the line half the population of the world has seemingly turned into a bunch of image obsessed Gok Wans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Ruu wrote: »

Yeah, especially sandals with socks - they should be classed as a war crime....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

Ugh I never likes shorts!Last tie I wore them I was 11 or 12 and I was fored into them on holiday.Htae the things ><

More so hate when people go around in GAA shorts.No problem with gaa or people wearing the jersey..its just when people go around in the shorts and werent at training or in a game they look like feck eejits!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 skyflycherry

Women: depends on how hot you are, you have to apply for a shorts-wearing license before putting them on. The license is subject to an annual review
    that's funny.