Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is with those hairs?

• 06-06-2011 11:45am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭

Does anyone else have one really long blonde/ white hair growing out of their necks/ faces?
    I have one really long blonde (about 2-3 inches) hair that grows out of the side of my neck. I tweezed it out loads of times but it keeps coming back. I'm fairly dark and would have a normal amount of hair growth. I'm no yeti!!
    I have a few friends that also have similar long random white/ blonde hairs growing out of their neck/ back.

What the hell are these and do you have them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

Other people have these? Flippin brilliant! I have one, long, baby fine neck hair. It is bizare, nothing like anything any of the hair on my body at all. I just pluck it & hope that, as I get older, it doesn't invite along any little buddies.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

:D I have one of these bad boys too.

It just randomly appears on the right side of my face every now and again. I tweeze it and forget about it until the next time I catch it glinting in the sun, mocking me.

Mother Nature is an awful cruel wagon. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

Oh my God, I was getting worried... it was taking people so long to reply! I thought I just knew really hairy people.
    They are such strange little things. I have dark dark hair, really thick, and this yoke is blonde and soft.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I have one on my neck too!! I thought no-one else could see it, until my boyfriend at the time noticed it and thought it was a stray hair and tried to brush it away. Morto :o.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Relief!! There are others! I have a ridiculous one on my shoulder that I noticed for the first time on holidays two years ago..white as anything and about two inches long!! I was shocked I had never noticed it before.one one had! Freaked me out no end as to how/what!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

I call them Frankenhairs :D I get one on my chin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

I have one at the very top of my arm... It grows RIDICULOUSLY quickly, seriously, wtf!?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Actually, Michellenman's post just reminded me that my ex had one on his upper arm too, that grew quite long and incredibly fast. It was like a scalp hair, only blonde (he's really dark). I can't believe so many people have them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

Middle of my fecking forehead like a silver unicorn hair.

Faith wrote: »
    Actually, Michellenman's post just reminded me that my ex had one on his upper arm too, that grew quite long and incredibly fast. It was like a scalp hair, only blonde (he's really dark). I can't believe so many people have them :D

:eek::eek::eek:

Mine is blonde too and I'd be fairly dark! That is so weird! My friend had one in the exact same spot as me too, he used to purposefully keep it long though.. kinda creepy :pac:

Sharrow wrote: »

Sorry Sharrow but that description of it is just hilarious! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭shinikins

LOL at everyone!!! It's called a superhair, I think pretty much everyone gets them, I have one that grows on my left shoulderblade. They tend to be almost translucent rather than blonde or grey, and are really strong. My mother has one that grows on her nose, and every so often I catch her squinting in the mirror mumbling to herself, trying desperatley to find it without her glasses on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

I haven't found mine yet...you have me wondering if I have a secret tail I didn't know about now... *goes off to look in mirror nakkid*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

I haven't found mine yet...you have me wondering if I have a secret tail I didn't know about now... *goes off to look in mirror nakkid*

PMSL... I can imagine when you find it and your friends say 'sure, we thought you knew it was there and wanted to grow it'.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

I have one too, from my chest, and one on the exact opposite spot on my back...weird!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

I used to have one between my eyebrows. I remember the first time I saw it I was putting make-up on and it was quite long I couldn't believe I hadn't seen it before!!!

I haven't had it for years now though. It obviously got fed up being plucked.:p

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

I have one on my arm. I'm a bit proud of it, but boyfriend thinks its freaky and plucked it a few months ago. Now I cant find it. :(

He also thinks my ability to pinch with my toes is freaky and weird too. Tis a skill!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

I have one under my right eye and another on my right ear.

This thread is reminding me of the time I was at a training course through work and my friend and I were talking to a guy on the course we didn't really know. My friend said to him "hold still, you have an eyelash" and went to pluck it off his cheek, only to find it was attached. :eek: Mortified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

I've never heard of hairs like that, weird!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭tomissex

Ginny wrote: »
    I have one too, from my chest, and one on the exact opposite spot on my back...weird!!

:eek: It's growing through you! :p

I don't think I have one, I'm feeling terribly left out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭lil'bug

i just seem to have the dark ones growing :( pass the wax please!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

I don't have one....but I will ask my bf to look my neck over when I see him next. This is weird I've never noticed it before (on others).

I know a few girls with hair on their upper lip, seemingly more since coming over to edinburgh. One girl I know in particular has it down on her lip and quite thick blonde hair. I'm starting to wonder is it far more common then I knew and others "hide" it better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭liliq

I have a few of them!
    I get one on the top of my left arm, near the back where there's no other hairs! And I get one of the left side of my neck, just behind my jaw bone, and another right in the middle of my neck... the last one is the one that usually bugs the hell outta me, cos it's so fair I can't see it in the mirror to tweeze it so I usually spend weeks trying to pinch it out!
    Funny... I actually found another random hair on the very bottom of my ear lobe today, right in near my cheek... it pulled out realy easily though, it was thick but not strong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭echosound

tomissex wrote: »
    :eek: It's growing through you! :p

I have one on my shoulderblade, discovered it as a teen as the bloody yoke kept snagging on my brastrap :mad: Ouchie.
    So used to getting rid of it now that I can just reach my arm up and tug it out when it gets long :o without even checking in a mirror. Can just home in on it.
    I know a lot of guys who seem to have those mad long babyfine white hairs growing on their earlobe, but only if they've pierced ears, wonder what the heck that's all about :confused:

Was once sitting with some work colleagues in the canteen having a coffee, this poor chap reached out to brush a dark black hair off a girl's face, it didn't budge, the eejit went in for a tug while the entire canteen went silent in horror. The girl stated in an icy tone that it was a molehair and went on a big tirade about how she didn't feel the need to trim it to conform to stereotypical beauty yada yada, the silence that followed was deafening, the chap was still sitting there with his arm outstretched, an inch away from the hair, completely frozen in shock.
    I think I may eventually have slid down out of my chair and crawled away under the table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭doriansmith

I have one on my cheek. It's really fine & light & I only notice it once in a while when it catches the light, then I cut it off.

Discovered another one last week just below my shoulder. It was a good two inches long, don't know how I never noticed it before :eek:

Have heard too that pretty much everyone has at least one. And that they're called rogue hairs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭gargleblaster

I have one that grows on my chest, almost right in the middle, and another on my right forearm. Glad to know it's not just me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭Loopsie

Sharrow wrote: »

me too, it randomly grows!!! i may not see it for a year but then i tweeze it and its back super quickly then tweeze again and may not appear for another year :)
    I alo have one on the top of my chest, blonde as bejesus and im very dark!!!! WEIRD!
    So glad im not alone!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,185 ✭✭✭Snoopy1

Thank God for this thread.
    I found one on my chin yesterday, and attacked it with the tweezers :D

Thank god im not alone!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

My mum gets these on the bottom of her chin, she was always told not to pull/tweeze them but every time I go down she's like "can you tweeze this hair for me please".....I don't have anything like this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭Getting there

I have one on my cheek! Months could go by without me seeing it then all of a sudden BAM theres a whisker on my face. It grows in the same direction a whisker would too, not out, but kinda sideways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

I can't tell if I have one. Haven't managed to spot it in amongst my forest of chest hair... :D

Grins, ducks and runs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭verywell

That's mad. Have never seen one of these. Only a small mole like one (TG)!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭chocgirl

Yep I've one too on my chin, hate it, so annoying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭BizzyLizzie

I have one on my cheek too. It's weird that it seems to pop out of nowhere! I wear makeup most days so I'd be looking in the mirror (or at least have a good root at my eyebrows with a magnifying mirror :pac: ) and there's no cheek hair. Then the next day it's two inches long!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

I've had them too! One out of my neck, my shoulder and a unicorn one as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I have one on my jawline. Long blonde one. I call it my beard and am quite proud of it (I've got beard envy)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭joanmul

echosound wrote: »

I have one on my shoulderblade, discovered it as a teen as the bloody yoke kept snagging on my brastrap :mad: Ouchie.
    So used to getting rid of it now that I can just reach my arm up and tug it out when it gets long :o without even checking in a mirror. Can just home in on it.
    I know a lot of guys who seem to have those mad long babyfine white hairs growing on their earlobe, but only if they've pierced ears, wonder what the heck that's all about :confused:

Was once sitting with some work colleagues in the canteen having a coffee, this poor chap reached out to brush a dark black hair off a girl's face, it didn't budge, the eejit went in for a tug while the entire canteen went silent in horror. The girl stated in an icy tone that it was a molehair and went on a big tirade about how she didn't feel the need to trim it to conform to stereotypical beauty yada yada, the silence that followed was deafening, the chap was still sitting there with his arm outstretched, an inch away from the hair, completely frozen in shock.
    I think I may eventually have slid down out of my chair and crawled away under the table.

I just can't stop laughing at that story!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I have the exact opposite :eek:

I have light blonde hair and you can't really see my body hair, but I get the very odd dark hair on my chin. Hate when its kinda long before you even realise it's there! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭ladypip

OH MY GOD LITERALLY THANK GOD FOR THIS THREAD!!

I have a few of these and ive always thought i was the only person alive to have these "invisible hairs" I have found them on my shoulder and back and face not very often like once a year I'll get one. Im not a freak hooray!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭shinikins

Was sitting on the sofa beside the boyfriend and turned to say something to him, saw a massive superhair on his temple so yoink!!

He wasn't very happy with me :p

How do they grow so quick? It's if by magic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭solerina

ElleEm wrote: »
    How do they grow so quick? It's if by magic!
    Apparently they grow under the skin for a while and then eventually get a break and out they come fully grown !!!

solerina wrote: »
    Apparently they grow under the skin for a while and then eventually get a break and out they come fully grown !!!

Ew! Like a big spot, ready to pop!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

I have one of those on my cheek, also boys get them too, my boyfriend has one above his eyebrow.

I also used to get two black hairs on my chin, but they have stopped since I went off the pill...strange hormones!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Edgedinblue

so glad to see im not the only one!! :D Ive one that appears on the side of my mouth where a whisker would probably be, got one on my cheek and neck. stupid hair!