Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Derogatory Terms

• 05-06-2011 5:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭

I'm not a huge fan of over the top political correctness, however, I have noticed of late how flipantly people throw around terms such as "bogger" or "culchie" when referring to people from the countryside. As someone who resides in the country, I find the terms rather derogatory and backwards, depending on the context.

Would you blatantly call a black person a ni**er, or a gay person a f*g?

There is no difference between people in the countryside, and people in towns/ cities, besides their address.

Opinions??

Edit: From my experience, people who use these terms in an insulting manner seem to think that people in the countryside are backwards, thick and conservative. I go to school in the city. This is just my experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭UsernameInUse

Yes, it's racist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I'm beginning to think that a lot of people just like to discriminate and this is one of the last socially acceptable forms of discrimination

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Op, drink a mug of concrete and harden the fuck up. There are worse things to be called, and being called a bogger or culchie isn't that bad, just the same as calling all Dublin people skangers and D4-heads isn't that bad either. And I'm from the countryside as well.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Yes, it's racist regionalism.
    Corrected for accuracy. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Monfoolio

To be honest I love being from the Country! Those townies are just Jealous LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

shure i didnt even know yee had internet down the bog

Biggins wrote: »
    Corrected for accuracy. :)

Now you've ruined it. :mad:

Eric there is a man cycling a bike on the top of my house to give me my hot water!!

As for internet, u should see the herd of cyclists we had to drag in for that!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 sausage n buns

Or indoor plumbing. I wouldn't have belived they had it myself until a trip down the country a few years ago :pac:

Surprised you made it back...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Only a bogger would start a thread like this, just to annoy póxy jackeens. I hate people from somewhere else, they are all stupid. And racist.

Sausage you are officially invited down for a cup of tea which I will boil in a saucepan on the range!! Which is powered by Turf!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

_meehan_ wrote: »
    As someone who resides in the country, I find the terms derogatory and backwards.

As someone who resides in Dublin, I find you derogatory and backwards!

MrStuffins wrote: »

U know there are people from Dublin who live in the countryside too lol Ah this thread is a non runner to be fair! Its Sunday, people are bored and hungover!! AND probably got called a bogger whilst drunk!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I hate the word bogger too so thats why I call them Muck Savages!

Oranage2 wrote: »

lulz

Oranage2 wrote: »

Consider me offended :confused:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

For me Culchie just means someone from beyond the pale geographically. Not especially derogatory. More often said in jest "g'way ya big culchie" kinda thing. Same way of someone called me a Jackeen. Boggers on the other hand are sadly to be found everywhere. So (IMH) on say the political front? Eamonn O'Cuiv, Dublin born and bred? Bogger. Bertie Ahern, Dublin born and bred? Bogger. Enda Kenny? He's a glorious culchie :D but he's not a bogger(and I'm no FG supporter).

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭Salty

MrStuffins wrote: »

Ha where did I say only Dubs throw these terms about?

Wibbs wrote: »
    For me Culchie just means someone from beyond the pale geographically. Not especially derogatory. More often said in jest "g'way ya big culchie" kinda thing. Same way of someone called me a Jackeen. Boggers on the other hand are sadly to be found everywhere. So (IMH) on say the political front? Eamonn O'Cuiv, Dublin born and bred? Bogger. Bertie Ahern, Dublin born and bred? Bogger. Enda Kenny? He's a glorious culchie :D but he's not a bogger(and I'm no FG supporter).

What would your definition of a bogger be then?:P

IME, if I'm called it, it's generally, "you're a bogger, you know sfa about anything," and not in a banterful way!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

I

yes :cool:

IME, if I'm called it, it's generally, "you're a bogger, you know sfa about anything," and not in a banterful way!

Jayzus would you not lighten up?

Are Cork people muck-savages? Wouldn't you be classed as city folk... :confused:

Jayzus would you not lighten up?

I don't mind when it's harmless banter or jest!

It's just when people use it as a means of letting you know that they think they're above you, more advanced or more intelligent than you. Then it grinds my gears.

Are Cork people muck-savages? Wouldn't you be classed as city folk... :confused:

Sophifistimacated culchies perhaps?

I don't live in the city, I only go to school there. I live in the middle of nowhere!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Niles

El Siglo wrote: »
    Op, drink a mug of concrete and harden the fuck up. There are worse things to be called, and being called a bogger or culchie isn't that bad, just the same as calling all Dublin people skangers and D4-heads isn't that bad either. And I'm from the countryside as well.

"Bogger" is a bit more offensive than "culchie" though. I find it an offensive term, and it's often geographically incorrect anyway (not every "culchie" lives near a bog).

The term "skanger" is used outside of Dublin, whereas the "D4" stereotype is based on a particular subculture rather than Dubliners in general.

As an aside, the term "culchie" has different uses. Someone from a provinical town may refer to a non-townee as a "culchie", whereas the term seems to be used to describe provincial people in general (including townees) by city-folk. Not that it's an offensive term or anything.

To summarise while I don't find the term "culchie" anyway offensive, the OP has a point when it comes to the term "bogger".

I don't live in the city, I only go to school there. I live in the middle of nowhere!

Oh, you're really f*cked so....

To be honest I dont, and have never found offense to being called a culchie or a bogger. To be honest Id rather be a culchie and a bogger LOL

I have no idea why people are caught up in this, its not even an insult LOL

Monfoolio wrote: »
    To be honest I dont, and have never found offense to being called a culchie or a bogger. To be honest Id rather be a culchie and a bogger LOL

We're all boggers and muck-savages to the European Continent. In fact, all of them look on Ireland as some kind of farm, the bloody foreigners.

And isnt it all part of our CHARM :D

Again, depends on the context. Banter/jest is all good. People hung up on thinking they're above you because they live in a more urbanised location are annoying.

Agreed Meehan, but we all know its snotty insecure Jackeens that say it!!:D

I would have said snotty insecure townies, but what ever floats your boat:pac:

Is all this about the bogball thread? Jayzus was only having a laugh there, cheer up! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

I'm not a huge fan of over the top political correctness, however, I have noticed of late how flipantly people throw around terms such as "bogger" or "culchie" when referring to people from the countryside. As someone who resides in the country, I find the terms rather derogatory and backwards, depending on the context.

There is no difference between people in the countryside, and people in towns/ cities, besides their address.

Opinions??

Edit: From my experience, people who use these terms in an insulting manner seem to think that people in the countryside are backwards, thick and conservative. I go to school in the city. This is just my experience.
    My own view is that any one who has to fall back on derogatory terms or cursing to make their point has lost already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Ye're all muck.

I would have said snotty insecure townies, but what ever floats your boat:pac:

Yes that was prolly a better way of saying it! But in order for me to be offended I would have to say that I never use the term "townies" or "Jackeens" or "snotty D4 heads that go down to the pub when the rugby is on and ask for a pint of *Ken*"

So I use all those terms so I can't be offended by the mere half assed insult like "culchie" :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Niles wrote: »
    "Bogger" is a bit more offensive than "culchie" though. I find it an offensive term, and it's often geographically incorrect anyway (not every "culchie" lives near a bog).

The term "skanger" is used outside of Dublin, whereas the "D4" stereotype is based on a particular subculture rather than Dubliners in general.

As an aside, the term "culchie" has different uses. Someone from a provinical town may refer to a non-townee as a "culchie", whereas the term seems to be used to describe provincial people in general (including townees) by city-folk. Not that it's an offensive term or anything.

To summarise while I don't find the term "culchie" anyway offensive, the OP has a point when it comes to the term "bogger".

The only thing the op has a point about is making a big deal out of nothing. Analysing the etymology of a word just makes something ridiculous even more ridiculous. Bogger and culchie are not offensive even if you're not from the country or from the bog etc... They're silly terms used in jest.

Jesus Christ can anyone not take a joke anymore without being fucking offended?

Knex. wrote: »
    Ye're all muck.

From a fellow Cork person...tut tut:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

nothing wrong with much savages, I dont see why they they are degraded with terms like bogger and culchie though :confused:

El Siglo wrote: »
    The only thing the op has a point about is making a big deal out of nothing. Analysing the etymology of a word just makes something ridiculous even more ridiculous. Bogger and culchie are not offensive even if you're not from the country or from the bog etc... They're silly terms used in jest.

Jesus Christ can anyone not take a joke anymore without being fucking offended?

Christ.

I think I've said a few times at this stage that it depends on the context. I can take banter and jest, that's all good fun. It's the people who use those terms to communicate that they really think you're of no use, that are annoying.

Saila wrote: »
    nothing wrong with much savages, I dont see why they they are degraded with terms like bogger and culchie though :confused:

Which ones are the muck savages and which ones are the sheep shaggers, or are they one and the same? :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Which ones are the muck savages and which ones are the sheep shaggers, or are they one and the same? :cool:

simple test: drive by them with a tractor, no reaction = SS

Saila wrote: »
    simple test: drive by them with a tractor, no reaction = SS

Duly noted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I'm a culchie, bogger and muck savage all rolled into one and I don't give a **** what anyone thinks.

I love living in the country except when the spread slurry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Im a big gay bogger with DSL BB!

But this topic reminds me of this:

hondasam wrote: »

Nasty stuff that:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

I'm from the country and have never been called a bogger or culchie in a derogatory way. Even if I was I don't I'd be very offended by it. I am from the country, I'd probably call myself a bogger, and if somebody is trying to say I can't comment on something due to that then I don't really care what they think.

It's only a word after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

hondasam wrote: »

I spread some this morn.....all over the back of the toilet bowl.....double-coated pebbledash :eek: :pac: