Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paying for small stuff with cards

• 04-06-2011 11:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭

Are you one of them people bring your kids into shop,order a couple of ice creams,then pay for it with a card while holding up the queue?..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Are you one of them people bring your kids into shop,order a couple of ice creams,then pay for it with a card while holding up the queue?..

Yes I am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

If I have no cash and I need to, yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

90% of Irish people dont know how to queue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

No my credit card would never come out of my wallet in the local small shop for such a trivial purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Yes, I pay for everything on my credit card, even items under two euro, good way to keep track of what I am spending, would say I only use cash for less than 2% of my spend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

i always use me card as i hate holding money because it makes my hands smell funny and i need to wash em... im ocd i guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

seriously? that would drive me mad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

As long as the person is young enough to use the card right and not some old woman trying to pay using her library card

Fecking annoying in the supermarket self service check line, rather then creating two lines people just form one line, and as for public transport :eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Ian Beale

Once had a person hand in a laser card to pay 90 cent, and he was shocked when I didn't take it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

Ian Beale wrote: »
    Once had a person hand in a laser card to pay 90 cent, and he was shocked when I didn't take it.

Weirdest but true stories i heard is people buying 3v/o2 credit card vouchers-then offering to pay for them with....a credit card :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭Floodric

Nothing worse when someone hands you a card to pay for a coke, when there are dozens of customers around the bar waving their cash. And fair enough if your stuck for cash, but get some fecking cashback. don't come back 15minutes later with your card asking for another coke after refusing my offer of cashback

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

65% of stats on the internet are made up, 80% of people know that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

Best thing is to have a store policy of a minimum of 10e or so on it. They can either buy something random and unnecessary to bring them over the limit or go fcuk themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

65% of stats on the internet are made up, 80% of people know that.

You made that up you liar!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Credit cards are the work of the Devil.

Cash is King.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭Julesie

OPENROAD wrote: »

Fecking annoying in the supermarket self service check line, rather then creating two lines people just form one line

Actually one line has been proven to be faster overall even though customers don't tend to like it.

Or so says this article at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Floodric wrote: »
    Nothing worse when someone hands you a card to pay for a coke, when there are dozens of customers around the bar waving their cash. And fair enough if your stuck for cash, but get some fecking cashback. don't come back 15minutes later with your card asking for another coke after refusing my offer of cashback

Here - if I want to pay for my coke with a card I will. End of.

Too right!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

Only if all I have left in my bank account is like 8 euros of something (which is most of the time) as I can't take out less than 10/20 out of a bank machine.

I feel old in that I remember a time when you could take 5 pound out of a bank machine- back when I was a student.......and had more money than I do now :(

We will be using our phones pretty soon to pay for stuff

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

A card doesn't take any longer than cash unless both the customer and cashier are mongs.

Some African countries do this already; they even get paid their wages directly onto their phones.

Well if I want to spit in your glass I will. End of.

You truly are a Dangerous Man.

Floodric wrote: »
    Well if I want to spit in your glass I will. End of.

Why would you do that? Are you some sort of anti-social animal?

You truly are a Dangerous Man.

Original.

Why would you do that? Are you some sort of anti-social animal?

Yes.

But why would you want to?

A card doesn't take any longer than cash

This would be true if a card transaction didn't require the inputting of pins or signing. But they do and so this is complete bollix.

ebixa82 wrote: »
    But why would you want to?

I may want to or may not - the point is that should a bar (or whatever) offer different payment methods I'm entitled to use them. I am, after all, paying money. It's about my convenience, not what's convenient for a guy who is getting paid to do a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Only if all I have left in my bank account is like 8 euros of something (which is most of the time) as I can't take out less than 10/20 out of a bank machine.

I feel old in that I remember a time when you could take 5 pound out of a bank machine- back when I was a student.......and had more money than I do now :(

Im the same! I only use my card if i don't have enough on it to take cash out of the ATM and im stuck.
    Finding one tht even lets you take a tenner out is a rarity these days.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

They do this in some African countries already, read about it in Time magazine i think.

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Im the same! I only use my card if i don't have enough on it to take cash out of the ATM and im stuck.
    Finding one tht even lets you take a tenner out is a rarity these days.

Yea, what is the story with that :mad:

They do this in some African countries already, read about it in Time magazine i think.

Really :eek: talking about scanning your phone in the shops ?

Yea, what is the story with that :mad:

didn't you hear? We're in the Celtic Tiger. Just take 20 out, just to have sure.

I may want to or may not - the point is that should a bar (or whatever) offer different payment methods I'm entitled to use them. I am, after all, paying money. It's about my convenience, not what's convenient for a guy who is getting paid to do a job.

Fcuk that, I'd let you away with it once then you'd be told to fcuk off and get some cash off your mates and stop wasting my time and slowing down service (thankfully I would be completely within my rights to do so).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Fecking annoying in the supermarket self service check line, rather then creating two lines people just form one line, and as for public transport :eek::eek:

but it's even more annoying when you join the shorter queue but then some lad has to buy alcohol and it takes 20 minutes for yer one to come over to put the code in... and in that time the entire longer queue has moved on and your still there... hence single queues are better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

ah now i wouldnt use me card in a pub, theres thirsty angry drunks there :p

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    but it's even more annoying when you join the shorter queue but then some lad has to buy alcohol and it takes 20 minutes for yer one to come over to put the code in... and in that time the entire longer queue has moved on and your still there... hence single queues are better

Thing is one day you go in and you two lines, the next day you have a half hearted one line, so you slip in on the left hand side and people think you are skipping .

Where do you get this sense of entitlement from? The fact that you have money on your card? Do you think that makes you important? Do you think that makes you more important than anyone else?

Fuck me - I had hoped that this kind of attitude had died out with the Bad Old Days, but it appears not.

You are not entitled to walk into any pub & demand that they accept payment by whatever method you so choose. In fact, you do not even have the entitlement to walk into any pub that you so choose. They can tell you to fuck off out of their premises & stick your card up your hole if they like.

And where's your entitlement then?

End of.

Fcuk that, I'd let you away with it once then you'd be told to fcuk off and get some cash off your mates and stop wasting my time and slowing down service (thankfully I would be completely within my rights to do so).

Yeah, and if you were working under me I'd fire you for treating paying customers like that.

Where do you get this sense of entitlement from? The fact that you have money on your card? Do you think that makes you important? Do you think that makes you more important than anyone else?

Fuck me - I had hoped that this kind of attitude had died out with the Bad Old Days, but it appears not.

You are not entitled to walk into any pub & demand that they accept payment by whatever method you so choose. In fact, you do not even have the entitlement to walk into any pub that you so choose. They can tell you to fuck off out of their premises & stick your card up your hole if they like.

End of.

Most pubs take card, don't they? certainly in the UK anyway.

End of.

No one is demanding anything. Just to reiterate - if a bar, or whatever, offers a variety of payment methods I'm entitled to use them. Again, it's about my convenience - that's why they're there. And, if I walk into a bar and I'm told to '**** off out' I'll walk out, never return, and tell my friends about my experience there. You're the one with the attitude here sunshine, not me.

End of.

Yep true enough. I usually just tell them to use the ATM if it hasnt ran outta cash. I usually get a few "tuts" or they'd whisper under their breaths. Arseholes.

Yeah, and if you were working under me I'd fire you for treating paying customers like that.

Believe me, there is no chance I would ever work for anyone who thinks it's acceptable to repeatedly pay for bottles of coke on a card. You have to realise that although the gimp with the card might be a little put out by refusing his card, the queue of people behind him will be very grateful. That queue of people are far more important than the gimp and his solitary bottles of coke.

Most pubs take card, don't they? certainly in the UK anyway.

I've been in some bars in London where it seems that a credit / debit card is the only method of payment. Where I live now - it's about 60% card - 40% cash.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

I find it way easier to pay with card. And just as fast tbh. It never takes me long.

I don't want to have to take out €20 to pay for something that may only cost a euro or two. I find it way easier to keep track of my money and to save it when I use my laser. I rarely ever use cash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

If irish banks would give shops proper card terminals it wouldn't be an issue.

Those slow, dial up modem terminals are the issue. if you are paying in a supermarket or anywhere with properly connected card terminals chip and pin is authorised within a couple of seconds.

Believe me, there is no chance I would ever work for anyone who thinks it's acceptable to repeatedly pay for bottles of coke on a card. You have to realise that although the gimp with the card might be a little put out by refusing his card, the queue of people behind him will be very grateful. That queue of people are far more important than the gimp and his solitary bottles of coke.

So customers are 'gimps' now, are they?

I've been in some bars in London where it seems that a credit / debit card is the only method of payment. Where I live now - it's about 60% card - 40% cash.

That is the biggest load of bollix I've heard in ages.