Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Convertibles = ****?

• 04-06-2011 9:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Ah yes the first bit of sunshine and out they come - permatanned, sunglasses & smugness

So for 5 weeks per year, what drives people to own a convertible in Ireland?

Convertibles =- ****? 134 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    77% 104 votes
    You're just jealous
    22% 30 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭hiscan

Live and let live I say and no,I don't own a convertible :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Jealous?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Jelly Beans?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

D1stant wrote: »
    So for 5 weeks per year, what drives people to own a convertible in Ireland?

Its flaunting.
    And as the old saying goes, if you got it, flaunt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Have to say I don't see many driving around Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

No not ****, mega ****..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Who cares?,so what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

What did a convertible ever do to anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,283 ✭✭✭Glico Man

What did a convertible ever do to anyone?

Probably knocked someone down...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I passed a a hot girl driving a convertible Audi TT the other day on the motorway, I hoped she was a wanker, and I'd be the wankee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Convertible a little wankerish. Add a ponytail, expensive sunglasses or any kind of slip-on shoe and hop into your open-top and you are a complete joke, but thanks for the entertainment value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Icaras

sadly enough I have a convertible and yes they are a disaster. 2 days per year convertible weather and the rest rain, wind, drizzle, snow etc. dont buy a convertible if you live in Ireland. fantastic when the weather suits t but sh1t the rest of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

We've had the top down all week. Sucks to be you.

I love my convertible and you're just jealous!!! :cool:

People who wear sunglasses driving are ****,the Irish way is squinting your eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭ismiseuisce

Owning a convertible in Ireland is pretty stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I have heard people who own convertibles say that the few days a year when you can actually let the roof down make them completely worth it. It would be pretty cool heading up the mountains with the roof down on a sunny day in fairness.

What are ya driving bluewolf, I'm curious now!?

People who wear sunglasses driving are ****,the Irish way is squinting your eyes.

or holding your hand over them shielding out that fiery yellow thing that appears in the in sky occasionally at some point between the months of may-august, Irish scientists have yet to figure out what it is or if we should worship it.

I have heard people who own convertibles say that the few days a year when you can actually let the roof down make them completely worth it. It would be pretty cool heading up the mountains with the roof down on a sunny day in fairness.

What are ya driving bluewolf, I'm curious now!?

http://www.thebestcars.gr/images-cars/peugeot-206-cabriolet.jpg

krudler wrote: »
    or holding your hand over them shielding out that fiery yellow thing that appears in the in sky occasionally at some point between the months of may-august, Irish scientists have yet to figure out what it is or if we should worship it.

Or like me you could just use the sun visor,if you have one :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

How come most guys that drive convertables are short, bald and middle aged , but most women that drive convertables are hot?

It makes no sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

I drive a lunchbox mitsubishi colt gl and it has no sunroof and I would love to drive a convertable so yes I have to admit I am jealous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

bluewolf wrote: »

I call them the barbie car :D

no offence bluewolf.

That's ok, I love it anyway :cool:
    Especially as I upgraded from a micra :pac::pac::pac:

You should of chopped the top off the micra,it would be nicer than the 206 :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

One of the neighbours used to own a convertible and one night, she left the roof off and someone poured bird-seed all over it. Iv never seen so much shit in one place in my life. (wasnt me btw :P)

Or like me you could just use the sun visor,if you have one :)

oooooooh mr fancy pants and his "sun visor"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

How come most guys that drive convertables are short, bald and middle aged , but most women that drive convertables are hot?

It makes no sense.

The short fat bald brigade buy em for the hot women

They are nice,I laugh when I see men driving them because they are a girlie car.

hondasam wrote: »
    They are nice,I laugh when I see men driving them because they are a girlie car.

So all the guys tell me! I havent seen any guys driving them though!

Im the same when i see a "man" driving the new mini or a Hyundai coupe,them are made for women and men should never drive them!

This is true but I really want to rally the ****e out of a mini cooper for the day and end up flipping it across a bog. They just look like great craic to drive

In fairness, male hairdressers have to get to work too.

This is true but I really want to rally the ****e out of a mini cooper for the day and end up flipping it across a bog. They just look like great craic to drive

They are a great little car,i have drove one,but i used to work in a garage and i had to drive it :)

In fairness, male hairdressers have to get to work too.

Every time i see a Hyundai coupe i know its a hairdresser driving it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

Fair play to anyone who has worked for, bought and paid for a convertible, you deserve it and you don't get enough days here to enjoy it. Grudge de be****ers !!!:D:D:D

They are a great little car,i have drove one,but i used to work in a garage and i had to drive it :)

Ah yeh, that ol' chestnut. Up there for credibility with "I slipped getting out of the the shower and the cucumber flew up me, doctor"

lol are you a hairdresser now ?

Every time i see a Hyundai coupe i know its a hairdresser driving it :)

I think that when you buy one, the finance forms have boxes to tick for "Going anywhere nice on holidays this year?" and you have to view the car in a mirror the salesman holds up while he walks around it.

lol are you a hairdresser now ?

Yeah you want a short back and sides ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Mena wrote: »
    We've had the top down all week. Sucks to be you.

*Cough*

Yeah you want a short back and sides ;)

blonde highlights and a blow dry please :)

No bother,be with you in five minutes :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

Lmao did someone seriously suggest people would be jealous of a Peugeot?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭DrHLecter

cant thieves just cut the top open on convertibles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭janja93

A blue covertible Ferrari drove past my house the other day, how could ya not be jealous? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

When I hear convertible ,I think of eggs.

Organic ,corn fed ,it doesn't matter :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

DrHLecter wrote: »
    cant thieves just cut the top open on convertibles?

Some of the more recent soft-tops have alarms if they're cut. I have absolutely no idea how that works (metal woven into the fabric?).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭ayeboy

Tight Cavan Hoor .... wouldn't splash out on a roof would ya? ;)