Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Junior Cert 2011: English Paper 1

• 04-06-2011 1:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭

Wednesday June 8th
    9:30am - 12:00pm

All discussion and questions about English Paper 1 goes here!

Good luck everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

Dreading it. With a capital D. Only thing im dreading more is English Paper 2! :pac:

Hate English, I just dont know how to study for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭FatRat

Dreading it. With a capital D. Only thing im dreading more is English Paper 2! :pac:

Hate English, I just dont know how to study for it!

You don't.

I assume you're a fluent English speaker? Well if you speak English on a daily basis then that's enough study..... for me anyways. :pac:

As for paper II, the same can't be said. It'll come down to whatever crap comes out of my pen on the day I suppose!

Non, i iz fromz Polska! :pac:

Seriously though, been speaking it all my life, just cant put it on paper in fancy language! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Desire.

At least there is no study for paper one...

Thinking about my poor wrist though... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

I'm honestly not worried about English. I got 73% on both papers in the mocks so I'm not anticipating anything that I can't do.

Yiz'll be alright shure :D

I can only do the one essay, so if there is no suitable title then I am fúcked!

You have an essay learnt off? :o

Didnt know you could do that :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 rainaa

i have one learned tooo
    i used it for the mocks and my christmas exam, i hooope i can adapt it to something!
    i'm dreading functional writing :/

Well, I haven't really learned it off. I've just done it so many times that I know it off by heart. It's based on a true story too so it's fairly easy to remember for me.

Every essay we have been given for the last two years, I've done this essay for. I did it in my Pres as well. I will honestly just cry if there is no title for it. :pac:

:eek: I have NOTHING prepared, just have to go with whatever crap comes out of my pen on the day :pac:

I would not be able for that. I am not creative at all!

Which is why I hate the functional writing too!

Not creative + Nothing Prepared = Why Im worried :(

just have to go with whatever crap comes out of my pen on the day :pac:

^ This guy speaks sense. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 conroy789

what poem is everyone learning for the studied poetry question?

conroy789 wrote: »

There is a thread for paper two here now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 hazsal

ny1 hav ny gud ideas 4 an essay????? so bad at writing dem!!!!

hazsal wrote: »

Write about a football match - that's what I do anyway.

hazsal wrote: »

Be as creative as possible. I never go in with an essay done out simple because normally, they wouldn't be very creative and mostly because a topic might not come up about it.

If you can, make one up on the day. Make it as unique as possible, but also keep it interesting. It'll pay off if you do do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Dazza

Here's a handy website for last minute revision http://www.juniorcertenglish.com .
    Its probobly been posted here before but just to remind ppl.
    Btw Good Luck :)

Could anyone give some advice on timing, like how long you would recommend spending on each question? English is most definitely the toughest exam time-wise, so it would be good to have a plan going into the exam.

My Irish teacher swears by knowing how long you have for each question and she is a legend, so I'm doing it. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Indiego

Desire. wrote: »
    Could anyone give some advice on timing, like how long you would recommend spending on each question? English is most definitely the toughest exam time-wise, so it would be good to have a plan going into the exam.

My Irish teacher swears by knowing how long you have for each question and she is a legend, so I'm doing it. :)

My teacher says: 1.5h for personal writing, 30m for reading, 20m for media studies and 20m for functional writing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Slow Show

My teacher always said 1 hour for personal writing, and 30 minutes for everything else but tbh, I think you could get functional writing done in 20 minutes easily and it's worth less marks, and the other ten minutes can be used for your essay. If you found an essay title that you immediately liked, you probably wouldn't even need those ten minutes but if they require a bit more thinking about choices, those ten minutes are essential.

@Indiego: That makes 2 hours and 40 minutes :pac:, and I think media studies generally needs the thirty minutes, unless they give you a really handy question.

Slow Show wrote: »
    My teacher always said 1 hour for personal writing, and 30 minutes for everything else but tbh, I think you could get functional writing done in 20 minutes easily and it's worth less marks, and the other ten minutes can be used for your essay. If you found an essay title that you immediately liked, you probably wouldn't even need those ten minutes but if they require a bit more thinking about choices, those ten minutes are essential.

@Indiego: That makes 2 hours and 40 minutes :pac:, and I think media studies generally needs the thirty minutes, unless they give you a really handy question.

That leaves 10 minutes to look over everything (which i find is the most vital part of the exam) or to leave with with extra time to answer something that you cant finish on time :)

Indiego wrote: »
    That leaves 10 minutes to look over everything (which i find is the most vital part of the exam) or to leave with with extra time to answer something that you cant finish on time :)

Ummmm the exam is 2 hours and 30 minutes long. :p

Slow Show wrote: »
    Ummmm the exam is 2 hours and 30 minutes long. :p

hm my teachers a bit odd then hahah thats what she got us to write down :L
    i guess ill just make it 1h 20m for personal writing, 20m for functional, media and reading , it doesnt take me too long to do them and i really do need a long time for the personal writing myself :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Doublechinlolz

I dont study for paper one, But ive always got a's and b's in essays coz im creative.. I always write about robbers and stalkers etc killing and **** :L
    Im going to pass english because my grammar couldn't get any gooder :)

Indiego wrote: »
    hm my teachers a bit odd then hahah thats what she got us to write down :L
    i guess ill just make it 1h 20m for personal writing, 20m for functional, media and reading , it doesnt take me too long to do them and i really do need a long time for the personal writing myself :L

Honestly, I think you will struggle to get the reading comprehension done in twenty minutes, possibly the media studies too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 hazsal

my teacher sed everyting 25mins nd an hour 2 do da essay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 rainaa

MarkD09 wrote: »
    I dont study for paper one, But ive always got a's and b's in essays coz im creative.. I always write about robbers and stalkers etc killing and **** :L
    Im going to pass english because my grammar couldn't get any gooder :)

*better

Okay, I've come up with my plan.

Personal Writing - 60 Minutes.
    Comprehension - 35 Minutes.
    Functional Writing - 25 Minutes.
    Media Studies - 30 Minutes.

Now, I probably will be left with some time to read over my answer with that timing (hopefully anyway) and I may not need to spend as long at some questions as I have outline above.

I will be doing the essay first, I like to go into the exam and just get it out of the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭scipsss

im learning off an essay title too! so im praying that it comes up! I wouldnt stress to much about functional writing its not worth the most marks and if you do what you are basically told you'll get a good few marks :) I had trouble in the mocks with media studies :/

scipsss wrote: »
    I had trouble in the mocks with media studies :/

Did you have a question on the Galway Arts Festival? That was a retarded question to be fair. You won't get something like that in the Junior Cert at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 adrian607

Best way for your s.a. base it on movie, song or a true story there always the best :)

I'm actually feeling quite confident for paper one now. It just dawned on me there that I could do pretty well.

Once a suitable essay title comes up that is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭jwcurtin

adrian607 wrote: »
    Best way for your s.a. base it on movie, song or a true story there always the best :)

You can loose massive amounts of Marks for that... That and saying you woke up and it was all a dream!

That said my prepared essay would be very similar to the Titanic story, but it's not the same, no mention of "Queenstown" or an iceberg tbh. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭scipsss

Did you have a question on the Galway Arts Festival? That was a retarded question to be fair. You won't get something like that in the Junior Cert at all.
    ye it was didnt too well in it lets just say :L ah thats good thanks for saying that now i dont feel too bad :L haha

scipsss wrote: »
    ye it was didnt too well in it lets just say :L ah thats good thanks for saying that now i dont feel too bad :L haha

It was like a comprehension! I didn't even bother reading it or doing the question on it. I did question two in th media studies, so the first two parts were about radio, and I got full marks in both of them. I didn't attempt the final part for twenty marks. It would have brought my paper one up to a B -- it was worth 11%.

Looked back through my papers and there's no year I would have had a huge amount of trouble. :) I'll read through some notes later and just chill for the night, I could probably study more difficult subjects but I can't muster up the desire to care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

English Paper 1 = :)

English Paper 2 = :(

Nice! I just timed myself doing my prepared essay. I finished it in a time of 31:04! Impressive. Hopefully I can replicate that in the exam tomorrow but I'm not expecting to finish it quite as fast as that. I would be aiming for forty minutes I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭woodyman

I dont think you need an hour for personal writing. I always do the speech and in the mocks i did it in 40 minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Louise6

conroy789 wrote: »

Good old Seamus Heaney! "When all the Others", "Mother of the Groom", "Mid-term Break" and "In Memory of my Mother" by Patrick Kavanagh :D]

I have all the sample answers for them learnt off so i can't wait for paper 2 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭13spanner

Don't mind yer Junior Cert. Anyone who opened a book after Christmas is in line for B's or maybe a few A's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 elaine309

Is it possible to get 42%in English pre
    Higher level and I speak it everyday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭TheRedDevil10

Well i did ****e :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭jak/mar

Paper 1
    Everything_went_better_than_expected.png

How did everyone else find it? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭ciara95

That went well:) all the sections were very doable, managed to throw in a few big words, and wrote enough to fill the answer book. Now I have an hour to study for P2 cos I'm at home:)
    I did 'an unlikely hero' essay, an xbox 360 review and media studies on the Chilean miners.
    How did everyone else get on?
    I'm not looking forward to the hand pain from P2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭cantanstrophe

That was grand, actually. Fecked up big time on the Personal Writing, but I managed to write two pages for the Functional. The Media Studies was easy, just BSed on about the internet and newspapers, and the reading was a piece of cake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭TheRedDevil10

My timing was shocking i think i'm just a slow writer.did great in functional and media studies, ok in reading ,but my essay was :( only did one page :eek: how many marks out of 70 wud u get 4 that, 30 ???????

That went well. :pac:

Happy with the Personal Writing. I managed to use my essay perfectly for the one about courage. I just said my form had dropped and I was very low on confidence to make it work.

Functional writing was good! Who said all those hours playing PS3 weren't study? :P

Media Studies was grand. I wrote about the Queen's visit to Ireland. I did it under Significance, Timing, and Proximity. I kind of messed up the Timing bit, I should have done the one about Human something or other. I then wrote about newspapers and the internet.

I wasn't very happy with my Comprehension. I don't know, my answers weren't very long and I was struggling to write enough.

Overall, it was good. :pac: