Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liam Miller's off to Australia

• 03-06-2011 12:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭

Saw this this morning on the RTE site. In my opinion, he should've stayed at Celtic a little longer instead of going to Utd. He wasted away on the bench, lost his confidence, and has never been the same.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0603/millerl.html
    Former Manchester United and Celtic midfielder Liam Miller has joined Perth Glory on a two-year deal.

In the week they lost ex-England striker Robbie Fowler, the Republic of Ireland international was confirmed as a significant overseas signing for Ian Ferguson's side.

The 30-year-old will arrive in Perth ahead of the Glory's friendly against Celtic on July 9.

'I'm thrilled to be heading to Perth,' Miller said.

'I have heard a lot of wonderful things about the city of Perth but football is the most important thing.'

Miller, who has also had stints with Leeds and Sunderland, has spent the last two seasons at Scottish Premier League side Hibernian.

'I'm delighted to have Liam on board,' Ferguson said. 'He is a quality player.

'Liam brings a lot of experience to the club and he's played at a number of top clubs.

'It's great to have a player of Liam's calibre at Perth Glory.

'He is a midfielder who gets forward and he'll help us become a more attacking team than last season.'

Miller made his international debut for the Republic in 2004 against the Czech Republic and has played 21 times for his country in total.

The 30-year-old is the ninth new player signed by the Glory for the 2011/12 season, including former Sligo Rovers man Adam Hughes.

Also, the A-League has improved a lot over recent years and seems to have more support than our own league. Either way, its a good move "lifestyle" wise. Not sure about career wise though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

He's 30?:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

I hope it turns out better for him than the last time a manager called Ferguson snapped him up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Such high hopes when he made a name for himself at Celtic. Shame it never worked out for him in England. Moving to Australia is the final nail in his international career now too, surely.

baz2009 wrote: »
    He's 30?:eek:

Exactly what i said!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Must be one of the most spectacular examples of unachieved hype in recent times?

(Regarding his age, his famous champions league cameos are nearly 8 years old at this point)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Exactly what i said!

I'd have said 27 at the most.
    bonerm wrote: »
    Must be one of the most spectacular examples of unachieved hype in recent times?

(Regarding his age, his famous champions league cameos are nearly 8 years old at this point)

Jaysus I'm starting to feel old.:(:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Smegball

Jaysus I remember watching his Champions League performances for Celtic, seeing SAF leave the ground after he was subbed to a standing ovation. I thought to myself; wow we are getting a quality quality player on a bosman!

After he put on the red shirt and started playing well.... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,737 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Young Gibson should take note and realise that a move away from Man U may not be that bad an idea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

I always thought he was ridiculously over hyped at Celtic. The United move came about 3 seasons too soon. He hadn't even cemented his place in the Celtic team. One goal in Europe seemed to make him world class in the eyes of a few people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Young Gibson should take note and realise that a move away from Man U may not be that bad an idea

While a move away from Man U might not be a bad idea for Gibson, I don't see how Miller's tale of woe shows him that. Miller left United and gradually became worst and worst rather than improving as Gibson would hope to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,737 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Dots1982 wrote: »
    While a move away from Man U might not be a bad idea for Gibson, I don't see how Miller's tale of woe shows him that. Miller left United and gradually became worst and worst rather than improving as Gibson would hope to.

Well looking at it from the point of bench warming more than anything.

If a player is not getting playing time it is often better for them to get out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

He'll be competing with Adam Hughes for a place in midfield :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Shrimp on a barbie joke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

It'll feel like home with the amount of Paddys down there. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Lovely stuff, ill get to watch him in October when im in Perth :D quality football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

The A-league has improved a lot. Its definitely higher than the scottish league

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

When I read he was 30 I wondered where all my years had gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Pretty much finishes him as an Ireland player.

When was the last time he had an Ireland callup btw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

bonerm wrote: »
    Pretty much finishes him as an Ireland player.

When was the last time he had an Ireland callup btw?
    He started v Montenegro at Croker late 2009 a month before the playoff v France. Thats the last time I remember him being in the squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

Jesus cant believe that.30 :O .Fecking hell