Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motor Tax!!!!

• 02-06-2011 6:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭

Hello guys, quick question I bought a car on the 17th of may & I am going to tax it tomoro june 2nd, I know I will have to tax it for the whole month of may but was told today that I will be charged one month arrears as well as the normall amount:confused: is this right when I only have the car since the May 17th?
    Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

The arrears are for may, your tax (disc) will be from 1st of june.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Usually you just bring it to your Garda Station and get them to sign that the car was off the road for the previous month, and thus you do not know tax for that month..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭iggy

I just did this today.
    I bought a car on 12th May and got the form stamped in a Garda station and taxed my car from 06/11.

Get form here

Print off the RF100A form and get it stamped in Garda station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

iggy wrote: »
    I just did this today.
    I bought a car on 12th May and got the form stamped in a Garda station and taxed my car from 06/11.

Get form here

Print off the RF100A form and get it stamped in Garda station.

Must have been hard having the car since the 12th May and not driving it until June.

Unless you made a false declaration to the Gardai......:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Usually you just bring it to your Garda Station and get them to sign that the car was off the road for the previous month, and thus you do not know tax for that month..

Unless the car was parked up for the month of May, don't do this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Brian.D wrote: »
    Hello guys, quick question I bought a car on the 17th of may & I am going to tax it tomoro june 2nd, I know I will have to tax it for the whole month of may but was told today that I will be charged one month arrears as well as the normall amount:confused: is this right when I only have the car since the May 17th?
    Cheers

The arrears is for May and your tax starts from June.

I've seen a few people prosecuted recently for making false declarations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

I've seen a few people prosecuted recently for making false declarations.
    Any newspaper reports?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

Are you being charged arrears, or are you paying 3 months tax covering May, June and July?

Normally if you pay your tax before the 5th of the following month you don't get hit for arrears, which costs a little bit more than 1 months tax. (Example, car not taxed for May, but you pay the tax on June 3rd, you pay for May, June and July, which is 3 months tax. If you pay on June 7th, you pay arrears for May, and normal for June, July and August, so you pay for 4 months plus what amounts to a couple of euros fine.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Not half being pedantic or anything but today is the 3rd of June!:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

From the form:
    “Any person making a false declaration, or who subsequently fails to notify any changes in the licensing particulars now furnished, including disposal of the vehicle is liable to heavy penalties. A licensing authority may require appropriate evidence as to the accuracy of particulars declared”.

I don't think they put that on there for the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭Wats_in_a_name

I'm thinking of buying a used car in a week or two. I will be away for the whole of July. I'm guessing if I drive home on the day I buy it and leave it parked up till August I can declare it off the road and pay tax from August. I.E there not going to care about that 1 journey bringing it home.

Technically it shouldn't be on a Public Road at all if there isn't Motor Tax paid on it.

So technically you should trailer it home.

In reality it'll probably be grand, unless it gets parking tickets being parked on a public road or something.

Once the month passes, you pay arrears for that month. There is no 5 day grace period.

From the form:

I don't think they put that on there for the craic.
    I have never heard of any reports of any prosecution in relation to that.

Any newspaper reports?

Haven't gone to court yet.

I have never heard of any reports of any prosecution in relation to that.

We never heard of anyone getting done for cutting their own turf up till 2 weeks ago either :)

It's gas how some people only believe something if it's been in the paper.

Seanbeag1 wrote: »
    It's gas how some people only believe something if it's been in the paper.

Nah man, has to be on Wikipedia or it never happened :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Once the month passes, you pay arrears for that month. There is no 5 day grace period.

Yes there is.

If it ain't in the auld bog cuttings in the local rag, it never happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Seanbeag1 wrote: »
    The arrears is for May and your tax starts from June. I've seen a few people prosecuted recently for making false declarations.

I would like to see those too.. A know lads that have just got a guard to sign the sheet saying that the car was off the road, rather than have to pay the back tax... even though they had been driving it the whole period...

I dont condone this, but unless you got a ticket or were done for speeding during the period of time that you claim it was off the road, I dont see how they could successfully prosecute you for such a thing..

It really must be the stupidest piece of legislation ever though.. A guard, who has most likely never see you or your car before in his life, signs a form to say that you have not been driving it for a period of x months...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

It really must be the stupidest piece of legislation ever though.. A guard, who has most likely never see you or your car before in his life, signs a form to say that you have not been driving it for a period of x months...

That's not actually what they sign.

You sign to say it was off the road, they sign to say that it was definitely you that signed (so in case you're prosecuted you can't say "it wasn't me").

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭shinikins

You only back tax it too the month the registrar changes ownership.

shinikins wrote: »
    That wasn't the case years ago. I bought a motor bike about 20 years ago. The previous owner hadn't taxed it for 3 years and they tried to make me pay it. So off to the Garda station to get the form stamped. 3 years back tax written off at the stroke of a pen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

shinikins wrote: »
    You can not back tax, you pay arrears and tax from the current month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,237 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

There was a case in Carrick on Suir a few years back where a girl Tried the same crack Of going into the station and telling them it was off the road to avoid back tax and low and behold the same cop she met had done her for speeding a few weeks beforehand. She ended up in court and got a nice little fine. Must see if I can dig it up, it's the only case like it I've ever heard but yes you can be done. The guards log everything into Pulse and they check it the odd time before they fill out the forms ( I think they're supposed to do it everytime) I've heard of plenty of people they refused to sign forms for but inky the one who was prosecuted!

BTW a friend of mine in the council told me recently that crack of declaring off the road is going shortly in favour of the SORN type system they have in the UK.

There is still the loophole of where a change of ownership cancels the arrears of the previous owner.
    There is nothing to stop someone from "selling" a vehicle to a friend for 1 day and notifying Shannon and then transferring it back again the next day. Arrears wiped out and no Gardaí involved.

Wouldn't that affect your insurance?

How?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Brian.D

Just to let ye know, went in to the tax office & was offered two options one to pay the last months arrears & get the new tax disc to start from June 1st or back tax it for the month of May which I done, which means the new disk will be up a month early compared to option one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭beerbaron

Just to Tag a Query on to this:

I have the roadster ready to go back on the road for summer from July.

Insurance/NCT is sorted. Just have a query with the tax.

Last month, While the car was parked in the driveway the landlord was doing renovations, and needed to park a skip in the driveway for a few hours - so the car was shifted out a few feet to the street

While my car was on the street (without a valid Dublin city permit) it was clamped.

Just wondering what your experience is with this ?

Can it still be declared off the road ?
    I don't want to make a false declaration, but also don't want to pay arrears for a period the car wasn't in use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

beerbaron wrote: »
    Just to Tag a Query on to this:

I have the roadster ready to go back on the road for summer from July.

Insurance/NCT is sorted. Just have a query with the tax.

Last month, While the car was parked in the driveway the landlord was doing renovations, and needed to park a skip in the driveway for a few hours - so the car was shifted out a few feet to the street

While my car was on the street (without a valid Dublin city permit) it was clamped.

Just wondering what your experience is with this ?

Can it still be declared off the road ?
    I don't want to make a false declaration, but also don't want to pay arrears for a period the car wasn't in use.

Unfortunately as far as the law book is concerned your car was used on a public road (the definition of "use" includes parking) so technically you are obliged to pay up for that month.

It's a pity the landlord didn't get a permit to park the skip on the road instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭beerbaron

Thanks SJ - I was afraid of that.

It gets worse still :(

It seems the car was clamped on the last day of May :mad:

So, ill have to declare the car off the road until 31st April, then pay 2 months arrears ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

aujopimur wrote: »
    You can not back tax, you pay arrears and tax from the current month

Arrears is just a word or name for it used by the motor tax office. It is still tax owed from a month or months previous to the current month thats being paid, so back tax is hardly a completely wrong description.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Satanta

You call it arrears, I'll call it back tax. It all costs the same :D even to the pedantic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭Col200sx

I bought a car on July 1st, but the tax was out since March 31st, so I only have to pay car tax from July 1st right?

I've got the form filled out for the Gardai to stamp, is it:

1. Just a case of turning up at the station with the form filled out?

2. Do I need to wait for new log book to arrive and bring that with me?

3. Do I need to bring the old tax disc with me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Is it just me or has this type of topic been coming up a lot lately?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Wolverine_1999

kippy wrote: »

No one can afford to pay our extortionate tax rates anymore.

Government coffers are low. All revenue generation exercises are in full swing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

beerbaron wrote: »
    Thanks SJ - I was afraid of that.

It gets worse still :(

It seems the car was clamped on the last day of May :mad:

So, ill have to declare the car off the road until 31st April, then pay 2 months arrears ?

Assuming it was a private company that clamped the car, it wont be linked to Pulse and the guards wont know it was clamped.

Government coffers are low. All revenue generation exercises are in full swing.

But these taxation laws (motor) have been the same for years..........
    Indeed, but there is more of an impetus to enforce them now in a harsher manner than before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,963 ✭✭✭creedp

Indeed, but there is more of an impetus to enforce them now in a harsher manner than before.

Im not sure about this as I walk around the north side of Dublin city centre quite a bit in my commute to work and being slightly interested in cars have noticed that a significant number of cars have out of date tax disks on their screens. OK some are only a month or 2 or 3 out but a good number are far more than this. There is a car parked on Dorset street every day, a nice 06 car, with a tax disk proudly displaying 11/10. Now if there was strict enforcement how could this be.

I think theres more of an impetus to avoid paying "back tax"/tax on a car in general, I don't actually believe the Gardai are under any pressure not to stamp these forms or indeed run more tax checkpoints - I haven't seen an increase in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Col200sx wrote: »
    I bought a car on July 1st, but the tax was out since March 31st, so I only have to pay car tax from July 1st right?

I've got the form filled out for the Gardai to stamp, is it:

1. Just a case of turning up at the station with the form filled out?

2. Do I need to wait for new log book to arrive and bring that with me?

3. Do I need to bring the old tax disc with me?

1. You're only liable for the month in which you bought the car, in this case July, so you don't need to pay any arrears for April, May or June as that was the previous owner's responsibility. There's no reason to declare the car was off the road prior to your ownership.

2. You don't need the log book, just the cars details (colour, VIN, etc) so you can tax it immediately.

3. No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭Col200sx

slimjimmc wrote: »
    1. You're only liable for the month in which you bought the car, in this case July, so you don't need to pay any arrears for April, May or June as that was the previous owner's responsibility. There's no reason to declare the car was off the road prior to your ownership.

2. You don't need the log book, just the cars details (colour, VIN, etc) so you can tax it immediately.

3. No

Thanks, just what I was looking for. Got the form stamped last night, so I'll get the car taxed today and then wait for the logbook to arrive :)