Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

America or China

• 02-06-2011 6:17am

I quite like the Chinese recently.. I live in a country that hates them but still, I think they might just be a misunderstood great bunch of lads. On the other hand, I hate America in the last while.. In a hypothetical world where the two went to a non-nuclear war that didn't affect any other country, I think I'd be rooting for the Chinese.

Am I alone on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭BillJ

They do have great food

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

I quite like the Chinese recently.. I live in a country that hates them but still, I think they might just be a misunderstood great bunch of lads. On the other hand, I hate America in the last while.. In a hypothetical world where the two went to a non-nuclear war that didn't affect any other country, I think I'd be rooting for the Chinese.

Am I alone on this?

If there was a nuclear war, we'd all be ****ed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

I wonder would the Falun Gong, or yer man Liu Xiaobo agree with you there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

BillJ wrote: »
    They do have great food
    Which one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

What's with everyone's sudden obsession with China?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭BillJ

Overheal wrote: »
    Which one?
    Chinese!

Funglegunk wrote: »
    Yea, that's why I said non-nuclear.
    What's with everyone's sudden obsession with China?
    It's because all this cyber warfare stuff reminds us of the Chinese Hacker in Command and Conquer: Generals. It's not obsession, it's nostalgia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

the chinese, a great bunch of lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Well in the highly unlikely event that the USA took over the world, many of your liberties would be taken away from you but you would have the freedom to visit malls and buy stuff all day long, and eat as much food as you want, including Chinese and Nepalese cuisine.

In the highly unlikely event that the Chinese took over the world a lot of your liberties would be taken away from you but you would have the freedom to eat a lot of Chinese food. Not Nepalese though.

I know which I'd pick.

syklops wrote: »
    Well in the highly unlikely event that the USA took over the world, many of your liberties would be taken away from you but you would have the freedom to visit malls and buy stuff all day long, and eat as much food as you want, including Chinese and Nepalese cuisine.

In the highly unlikely event that the Chinese took over the world a lot of your liberties would be taken away from you but you would have the freedom to eat a lot of Chinese food. Not Nepalese though.

I know which I'd pick.
    actually, we probably enjoy more freedoms than you do, so i dont know what the hell youre talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

RTFP.

actually, we probably enjoy more freedoms than you do, so i dont know what the hell youre talking about.

Humanities forum that way (--->)if you want to discuss it seriously. Don't be gettin' all offended over a jokey AH response.

fair enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Lads, I think there something wrong with the date on boards.ie; it should read the 2nd June 1998 instead of 2nd June 2011.

fair enough.

Actually, I just noticed your in the US. Wow! I assumed by your response you were in China. :confused:

RTFP.

Oh I read it. Was just stating my opinion about nuclear war...*cough*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,320 ✭✭✭dead one

Actually, I just noticed your in the US. Wow! I assumed by your response you were in China. :confused:

America's loss is China's gain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackdog2

I don't know what this obsession about Chinese culture/food is. 99% of it is terrible! And if I were to pick a world government, I would rather American style democracy-lite over the Chinese mafia state

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

You must have been reading this thread....

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056286622

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

BILLJ wrote:
    They do have great food

Give me a good Indian over that MSG laden muck any day of the week!

blackdog2 wrote: »
    I don't know what this obsession about Chinese culture/food is. 99% of it is terrible! And if I were to pick a world government, I would rather American style democracy-lite over the Chinese mafia state

Chinese food is gorgeous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

It is when it's not overladen with MSG. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

All the way usa,

Sorry, the post reflects my honest opinion. Not a fan of dark/organ meat myself....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 GaylaBells02

chinese are cute in every way. they're fun and looks innocent sometimes..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Lanaier

Lads, I think there something wrong with the date on boards.ie; it should read the 2nd June 1998 instead of 2nd June 2011.

Thank you.

Do people honestly still think that joke is funny?
    I search for China related posts a lot, in every single thread:

"The chinese, a great bunch of lads"
    "number 32 please"
    "Ching chong bing bong sum ting wong etc"

If you want to be a meme parrot head over to 4chan.
    conorhal wrote: »
    Give me a good Indian over that MSG laden muck any day of the week!

Chinese take aways in Ireland ≠ Chinese food.

chinese are cute in every way. they're fun and looks innocent sometimes..

請問妳是中國人嗎?

Therefore that response is ok for someone in America but not China?

Tut tut.

Lanaier wrote: »
    Thank you.

Do people honestly still think that joke is funny?
    I search for China related posts a lot, in every single thread:

"The chinese, a great bunch of lads"
    "number 32 please"
    "Ching chong bing bong sum ting wong etc"

If you want to be a meme parrot head over to 4chan.

Chinese take aways in Ireland ≠ Chinese food.

Yup, that does my head in too. Was funny in father ted 2 decades ago. Not funny anytime a thread on China comes up

請問妳是中國人嗎?
    什么

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

am been force fed cornation street all this week one good thing about was this super hot Chinese woman they have on which actually makes the soap worth 'watching' am quite attracted to a good looking one of these compared to an american woman, bring them on I say :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

If ever there was a government that didn't give a flying fúck about their own people it's the Chinese. I'm no fan of the American way of doing things either, but at least they just don't care about anyone else except their own!
    Short answer, it's like when everton play man united - they're both a shower of assholes, i'm only sorry they can't both loose.:D:D

If ever there was a government that didn't give a flying fúck about their own people it's the Chinese.

Compared to?
    How does it measure up against a place like N Korea?

Can you elaborate?

Did the last Irish government care about it's own people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

BillJ wrote: »
    They do have great food

Woof! Woof!

Woof! Woof!
    命运的母狗

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

So many people assume the food you get in your local takeaway is actually representative of Chinese food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

if i had to pick between these two to be world overlords / super powers id pick china every time , america is just a terrorist nation using the word 'freedom' and 'liberating' to take all the worlds oil and murder muslims

If I had to pick I would choose America.

But there are definitely less difference between the two then most people seem to realize.

America without a doubt. Id pick America against anybody to be honest.

if i had to pick between these two to be world overlords / super powers id pick china every time , america is just a terrorist nation using the word 'freedom' and 'liberating' to take all the worlds oil and murder muslims

And China is just using American money to buy all the worlds oil and murder anyone who crosses its path. America for all its faults is such a nicer place to be

..america is just a terrorist nation using the word 'freedom' and 'liberating' to take all the worlds oil..

Whereas the Chinese are taking everything else. Ayoooo.

prinz wrote: »
    So many people assume the food you get in your local takeaway is actually representative of Chinese food.

Chicken balls and chips with curry sauce is not really chinese? Bahahahha! Your having a laugh now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Its all just one big Jew conspiracy isn't it Cartman!:rolleyes:

America
    China

I rest my case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

And China is just using American money to buy all the worlds oil and murder anyone who crosses its path. America for all its faults is such a nicer place to be

Its the other way around in every sense.

China is funding the US and is keeping it afloat basically. The US has murdered thousands in Iraq and Afghanistan over natural resources, oil in Iraq possible unexplored precious metals. The US is doing this to fuel its consumer based, neo-liberal shithole. The fat slobs in America believe the almighty dollar is king, and have no sense of common interest. Although the Chinese have a human rights problem so does the US, both execute prisoners and engage in overseas imperialism. If I were to pick between the 2 I'd pick China. Free healthcare, thriving economy, low obesity and many other more positive things than the US.

TBH I'm glad I live in Europe, its better than both.

Although the Chinese has a human rights problem so does the US... .

Yeah they are definitely on the same level there alright.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

I like the States. In the States one is fully entitled to vocally express their crackpot views about the US being a terrorist nation etc.
    ...top-things-to-do.com/united-states/chicago/chinese-women.jpg
    heh heh.

slobs in America believe the almighty dollar is king, and have no sense of common interest.

Plenty of that in China.

Its the other way around in every sense.

China is funding the US and is keeping it afloat basically. The US has murdered thousands in Iraq and Afghanistan over natural resources, oil in Iraq possible unexplored precious metals. The US is doing this to fuel its consumer based, neo-liberal shithole. The fat slobs in America believe the almighty dollar is king, and have no sense of common interest. Although the Chinese have a human rights problem so does the US, both execute prisoners and engage in overseas imperialism. If I were to pick between the 2 I'd pick China. Free healthcare, thriving economy, low obesity and many other more positive things than the US.

TBH I'm glad I live in Europe, its better than both.

And if America defaulted tomorrow China would be worth nothing, so America is keeping China afloat as well. China has murdered thousands for just questioning the government. If you are upper class and have money/connections then it is a fine place to live(indeed you can live above the law) and in that sense it is the biggest mafia state in the world. So I would pick the US over China(Although I have never been to either country)

I like the States. In the States one is fully entitled to vocally express their crackpot views about the US being a terrorist nation etc.

yes, because its not like america detains people considered 'anti-american' or anything.....

* POST 4000 , FúCK AMERICA