Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do your passengers react?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Gitb1

My mam is the worst passenger ever, she constantly uses her imaginary pedals and shrieks in panic if I so much as overtake someone. Gas thing is she's known as little girl racer by the neighbours.

O/T but Why do people wear red bull hats? Fair enough if red bull sponsor them but come on like. Same with people wearing monster hoodies and stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭stakey

Or the nervous giggling type? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Crasp

Gitb1 wrote: »
    My mam is the worst passenger ever, she constantly uses her imaginary pedals and shrieks in panic if I so much as overtake someone. Gas thing is she's known as little girl racer by the neighbours.

O/T but Why do people wear red bull hats? Fair enough if red bull sponsor them but come on like. Same with people wearing monster hoodies and stuff

He's wearing the tshirt too, makes it either more likely that he is sponsored, or makes him an even bigger eejit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Great vid Cinio! I wonder what the Arabic equivalent of "the jesus handle" is?
    Herself has some passengers that she dreads alright - they have a tendency to grab her by the arm as she's downshifting for some rapid overtaking...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

CiniO wrote: »
    Did you ever gave a lift to anyone like that?

At least he seemed to enjoy the spin..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭leviathon

Imaginary pedals? Jaypers ya better not be driving an older french car or she might actually have you stopped.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/mobile/business-13566999

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

The second vid is great just for being in Italian "heheheh BELISSIMO heehehehe" but, is it just me or at 2.08 does sound like he briefly lapses in Irish country rally speak "take it handay" ????

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I was taken around a course for a few laps in a GT3RS, whilst it was racing someone else (for the laps). I had a smile on my face and was kinda giggling and holding my breath. Bring thrown pretty much sideways through a corner at 100mph less than a foot behind a 911 turbo is an experience! Thank god there was a handle on the roof and four point harnesses! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I haven't had many, but they reacted surprisingly well. I expected my girlfriend to be clinging onto her seat but she was surprisingly relaxed and I drive her to work now. The only other passengers so far were another couple. I stalled when pulling off - didn't take into account the extra weight. Other then that, no problems. I do drive differently (well, more smoothly) with passengers.

I'll be very interested to see how my parents react to my driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Chriscl1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Some of the poorest passengers are people who normally do ALL the driving, and have been doing it for years and have many hundreds of thousands of kilometres under their belts.
    They simply can't handle not being in control.

On the other hand, people who don't drive at all are usually blissfully unaware of the dynamics and techniques of operating a vehicle, and will often chat away contentedly while the driver does crazy/stupid things.

Hooning around a closed circuit is one thing, but if you're on the public road and you notice your passenger (especially if they're an experienced driver) going silent, jumping on an imaginary brake pedal, and clutching the door handle with a white-knuckle death-grip, perhaps your driving ISN'T up to scratch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 stokesy_kid

i love going fast, drifting, the like, not afraid of speed but i've been this passenger once.well minus the screaming, begging to get out, p1ssin myself.just got really nervous and went quiet. mate's ex dropping us home after a birthday party. down very tight country roads at half 3 in the morning that she didn't know in a glanza.she thought that because she'd never been down that road before , that going flat out was the answer. the fact she was less than 5 foot tall and couldn't see over the steering wheel or couldn't see an upcoming bend till the last second, scared the sh1t outta everyone in the car. on the flip side got a spin off her brother that drove an insanely powerful rx7 and it was class :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

My mam is the exact same, i can see her legs desperately searching for pedals beside me. I also get "Brake, brake,...BRAKE" when i'm pulling up behind another car at traffic lights. I've been driving 4 years and have a full licence, i've yet to go into or come close to going into the back of someone at traffic lights. I think she honestly believes I dont see the cars ahead of me and will plough straight into them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

i love going fast, drifting, the like, not afraid of speed but i've been this passenger once.well minus the screaming, begging to get out, p1ssin myself.just got really nervous and went quiet. mate's ex dropping us home after a birthday party. down very tight country roads at half 3 in the morning that she didn't know in a glanza.she thought that because she'd never been down that road before , that going flat out was the answer. the fact she was less than 5 foot tall and couldn't see over the steering wheel or couldn't see an upcoming bend till the last second, scared the sh1t outta everyone in the car. on the flip side got a spin off her brother that drove an insanely powerful rx7 and it was class :D

eh,what? :)

eh,what? :)
    That'll be the misunderstood yoof who are so cruelly and unjustly persecuted by the insurance industry, the Gardai, and the RSA :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I can't understand how she ended up in the bloody car all kitted out helmet and all and then freaks! Surely you'd know whether you like the whole speed thing or not! :)

The only time she stops screaming is as he slows for the corners! :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=79NYyoFTo2I

It's hilarious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Gitb1

leviathon wrote: »
    Imaginary pedals? Jaypers ya better not be driving an older french car or she might actually have you stopped.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/mobile/business-13566999

Newer french car actually :/ better make sure im safe before i let her back in :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

I love this clip, and now its got subtitles woot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

I've seen that video few years back and actually I forgot about it.
    Thanks for reminding me it. It's really great.

The most I love about it, is a little smile on his face, while she is screaming. That smile is permanent and never goes off ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Got great advice from a driving instructor yonks ago. Keep an eye on your passegers, if they're curled up in a ball, or white-knuckled, then you might need to think about what you're doing.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Brilliant!!! Love it.. :D

She's kinda hot too.. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

Had an Aston Martin Rapide 6.0L V12 last night and had the missus out in it. She's an ok passenger, but isnt used to fast cars and so doesnt understand where the limit is and how close the car is to the limit.

So we happened upon a guy in a Ferrari California with the hood down on a country road and he was tootling along about 40mph.....until he saw the Aston in the rear view mirror. So of course he floored it, and my missus looks at me knowing full well what I would do and begged me not to. However, I am not strong enough to resist and so ignored her ;)

Had a nice blast through the countryside (briskly but nothing stupid), must have looked like some Autocar test or something. The missus was hyperventilating by the time we stopped. I reckon I just need to persevere and desensitise her to the speed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

Being a passenger in a car being driven like that is anything but fun. You are being thrown all over the place with no control and no idea what the limits of the car or driver are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭knifey_spoonie

Gophur wrote: »
    Being a passenger in a car being driven like that is anything but fun. You are being thrown all over the place with no control and no idea what the limits of the car or driver are.

My passanger at Mondello last week will confirm that without having a steering wheel to hold onto its not that fun. He spewed chunks after 4 laps of the international :Dland i was only getting used to the car, so wasnt pushing that hard. Really need to get those harness's and sparco's in.

But i am a terrible passanger, always going for the brake pedal that never works.

My passanger at Mondello last week will confirm that without having a steering wheel to hold onto its not that fun. He spewed chunks after 4 laps of the international :Dland i was only getting used to the car, so wasnt pushing that hard. Really need to get those harness's and sparco's in.
    ^
    |
    |
    This.

Add grab handles and something nice and solid for them to brace their feet against. Being able to brace themselves solidly into the vehicle will make it a much more pleasurable experience for the passenger.
    Nothing will exhaust or sicken (both metaphorically and literally!) a passenger quicker than being thrown around inside a car with nothing to hang on to except the driver's throat. :D