Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kenny Egan

• 01-06-2011 7:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 42

Anyone see todays Indo?. Kenny is quoted as saying that Ward is avoiding him in sparring as he doesnt want Kenny to learn too much about him.

More interestingly he also said that he has been promised a box off against Ward in July or August. This will give him a shot at the Worlds and Olympic qualification.

A question for IABA, will there be box offs at many weights and will they be open to the public? It would be like another National Seniors final night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Egan seems to have Ward stuck in his mind since he was beaten by the teenager. Just seems to be interview after interview with comments that could be taken are veiled digs/sour grapes.

Was reading an interview the other day where Egan made reference to how he had/has been number one for ages, and that there is nothing that Ward can teach him in the ring and that Ward should not think that way.

Also lots of comments about how Ward needs to keep his feet on the ground and work hard the way Egan has done all his career.

I just get the impression that Egan is not handling the loss well, and still has an "I'm the top dog" attitude about himself.

Just seems to be lots of Egan talking about Ward to any outlet that will listen, but very little Ward talking about Egan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

Kess73 wrote: »
    Egan seems to have Ward stuck in his mind since he was beaten by the teenager. Just seems to be interview after interview with comments that could be taken are veiled digs/sour grapes.

Was reading an interview the other day where Egan made reference to how he had/has been number one for ages, and that there is nothing that Ward can teach him in the ring and that Ward should not think that way.

Also lots of comments about how Ward needs to keep his feet on the ground and work hard the way Egan has done all his career.

I just get the impression that Egan is not handling the loss well, and still has an "I'm the top dog" attitude about himself.

Just seems to be lots of Egan talking about Ward to any outlet that will listen, but very little Ward talking about Egan.

Kenny was very respectful the night he was beaten, he showed alot of class after the bell. But some of his talk since has been odd, he is as you said, saying such to get into the young lads head but I don't for a second think that its working.

Ward is an extremely level headed lad for his age. Genuinely think he is a really exciting prospect that we haven't seen in Ireland for years. He has all the tools and the scary thing is he will get better and better. The better the opposition, the better he performs and thats the mark of a very special sportsman.

Kenny will get his box off id imagine, and id say it irks him that Ward beat him even when he wasn't firing on all cylinders.

I'm always very frank when it comes to Egan, what he has done in Irish amateur boxing is incredible. Absolutely amazing stuff. But I make no apologies for hoping Joe Ward goes to London because quite frankly I think Egan won't get close to emulating his silver medal effort in Bejing. The sky is the limit for Ward however. Come London he'll be even better than he is now which is very very exciting indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭gene_tunney

I fancy Egan to beat Ward in a rematch.

EDIT: but I'd rather see Ward go to the Olympics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Jayob10 wrote: »
    Kenny was very respectful the night he was beaten, he showed alot of class after the bell. But some of his talk since has been odd, he is as you said, saying such to get into the young lads head but I don't for a second think that its working.

Ward is an extremely level headed lad for his age. Genuinely think he is a really exciting prospect that we haven't seen in Ireland for years. He has all the tools and the scary thing is he will get better and better. The better the opposition, the better he performs and thats the mark of a very special sportsman.

Kenny will get his box off id imagine, and id say it irks him that Ward beat him even when he wasn't firing on all cylinders.

I'm always very frank when it comes to Egan, what he has done in Irish amateur boxing is incredible. Absolutely amazing stuff. But I make no apologies for hoping Joe Ward goes to London because quite frankly I think Egan won't get close to emulating his silver medal effort in Bejing. The sky is the limit for Ward however. Come London he'll be even better than he is now which is very very exciting indeed.

I just think that for a guy who has gone on so much about how he should be shown more respect, he is not showing very much at all to the man that beat him.

I would not knock what Egan has done in the past, and like yourself I think he has been very good for Irish boxing. But I find how he is giving out interviews about Ward to anyone who will listen a bit distasteful, and he seems to be adding in more little digs with each interview.

His interview earlier in the week, the Indo took bits of it to print as their interview a day or so later, about how he might move up to Heavyweight if he does not go to London as a light heavyweight (he meant that in the context if Ward went to London instead of him) just struck me as attention seeking, and a bit like a child having a tantrum.

Ward may go on to be something special, and I find his interviews, the few that he does, to sound more like a seasoned pro where as Egan is sounding like an inexperienced teenager sulking over his loss.

I would fancy Ward to beat Egan again if Egan gets the box off that he wants, and no doubt we will be treated to a gracious first interview from Egan again where he says nice things about the man who beat him followed by a string of interviews where he slips in little digs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,356 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I think Ward, if he is improving, should beat Egan, who is fading, and who has been fading for a few years now. Yes, Egan's hunger and ambition is still there, but he cannot translate this into physical superiority. Egan will not be a threat in London if he even makes it to London, which I doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭lex123

if he moved up weight i doubt very much that he could beat Con Sheehan,any1 agree?

lex123 wrote: »
    if he moved up weight i doubt very much that he could beat Con Sheehan,any1 agree?

A year or two ago I would give him every chance. Con was far from great in the Seniors' this year. Egan is a hell of a tough scrap for anyone. His style, brain and cuteness are always going to trouble opponents. I know, I know, my previous post implies that he is past it, he is, but still a tough
    cookie.

I agree cons senior final was not the best by him or anywere near it,but did you see the other 2 fights he had to get 2 the final,very impressive

No, I missed them; but what was the opposition like in them fights?

Either way, Egan is so experienced, and a skillful fighter, big too, that he would pose big problems I am sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

How a fight like that would play out would be interesting. Egan has to always come down to 81kg with last few days diet and last day sweat doesn't he? His walking around weight is 84/85kg?
    I assume he'd go in against Sheehan around 86kg or so? I think Egan could beat him, he has a huge advantage in handspeed and agility. He has in the past shown he can stop people so he ain't feather fisted. Sheehan likes to work 1 - 2 behind the jab if I am thinking of the right fighter. Tall black haired slim heavweight? Not particularly powerful and doesn't use the hook too much?

he fought tommy mcCarthy and stephen ward both very good fighters and neither of them took a point off sheehan,and by sheehans own admission he went into the final to cocky and still only droped 2 or 3 points,i tink he is very under rated indeed,he is the youngest ever heavyweight champion,an at the age of just 21 he had 4 all irelands seniors to his name at heavyweight.
    saying that egan has superior hand speend is false,con has already been duped as the fasted moving heavyweight to been seen in ireland with commentators sayn he moves like a middle weight but punches like a heavyweight,i think its time that some irish boxers get the respect that they have earned.

he fought tommy mcCarthy and stephen ward both very good fighters and neither of them took a point off sheehan,and by sheehans own admission he went into the final to cocky and still only droped 2 or 3 points,i tink he is very under rated indeed,he is the youngest ever heavyweight champion,an at the age of just 21 he had 4 all irelands seniors to his name at heavyweight.
    saying that egan has superior hand speend is false,con has already been duped as the fasted moving heavyweight to been seen in ireland with commentators sayn he moves like a middle weight but punches like a heavyweight,i think its time that some irish boxers get the respect that they have earned.

Hey, nobody is saying he isn't good. He is. I think folks may overrate him though. The whole issue of a fighter not getting a point aginst him...I take that with a pinch of salt. Many times I have seen 50/50 fights where one man gets points and the other does not. Not saying it happened in Con's two bouts, but I would have to see them to comment.

over rate him in what way?

Well, from the fights I saw I think he is quite good, but nothing special, yet the commentators really hype him up. Dowling in particular. He has had some razor close fights with guys, so if he is so so good, then so are they. I just don't see anything to get excited about. Now, Ward to me looks far more a prospect.

dowling was only pro con afetr he beat alan reynolds to be fair,but ya without doubt ward is a very exciting prospect!interesting to see how he will do in the worlds at senior level

Yes, and Reynolds was well past it, and I believe inactive for a few years before entering those Senior's? He put up a great fight, and at his best I would sasy he beats Con then, and now. Stamina was his main problem in that fight.

that could of been his excuse for the 1st year but what about the year after when they met again,reynolds was in the papers saying he was in the shape of his life and he had trained all year and sparred for months wit egan and the likes,yet con made him look silly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭AG2R

Surly if Ward fight Egan he won't be allowed to go to the Olympics because he will be pro?

neither ward or egan r pro,so they can fight each other anytime they like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭AG2R

Could have sworn Egan went pro , sorry

no he got alot of offers after the olympics but stayed amateur,id say your thinking of the world series of boxing?they fight without head gear or vests like pros but they are all amateur boxers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Means Of Escape

Couldn't be knocked on his arse often enough
    Egan has inflated opinions of himself
    it will take a decent digger to show him that