Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tennis Betting

• 01-06-2011 7:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭

Hey didn't see a thread for it so forgive me mods if theres already one set up. I've been doing very well at the french open and with Wimbledon to come I thought i'd set this thead up so feel free to post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Shane St.

i backed djokovic before the tourney started and hes now the marginal favorite to win over nadal. I think he will win it. The year he is having not even nadal can hurt him on the clay.
    so get on djoko outright at 6/5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Derek!

Good to see someone givin tennis picks for clueless people like me :P
    best of luck with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭Yardie

Considering a Djokovic, Nadal, Schiavone, Sharapova accumulator at 2.5/1. What is your opinion on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,129 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Fancy Sharapova in play now 15/8

I like the look of nadal in the set betting 2mrw. nadal to win 3-1 at 12/5. Murray def can raise his game 4 periods but wont be able to keep it up.

ok havnt done anything in a week or so. 2mrw just to keep me entertained im going with a nadal cilic double.
    10r pays 56. im going 4 the outsider cilic. everytime he plays murray he gives hima real good game and murray isnt 100% fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭colly_06

Roddick V Murray

I see Murray is the favourite here but I'm not too sure. I fancy either player to win 2-1.

Over 2.5 sets @ 5/4 seems a great bet

Ljubicic hasa 3-3 record against murray. Surely the price on murray is too short. Im taking ljubicic at 13/2
    also doin an accum of
    monfils 2/7
    fish 1/3
    schiavone 4/6
    ljubicic 13/2
    10r returns 214

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

Shane St. wrote: »
    Hey didn't see a thread for it so forgive me mods if theres already one set up. I've been doing very well at the french open and with Wimbledon to come I thought i'd set this thead up so feel free to post.

Good idea. Tennis coach Nick Bollettierri has a decent blog and plenty of info.

http://nickstennispicks.com/

I think tomic to win 2mrw is a great shout. the kid looks areal talent. possilbe future grand slam winner. take 25 with the 7/5 on offer.
    also doin a small accum for interest
    gasquet 3/1
    Berdych 4/9
    Tsonga 4/9
    Sharapova 2/9
    works out at just over 9/1

also stuck a 5r on tomic in the set betting to win 3-0 at 6/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,123 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Can anybody tell me who Tomic is cant seem to find him in the betting for Wimbledon. Looking for something to back in the tennis and ye seem to fancy him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

Nuts102 wrote: »
    Can anybody tell me who Tomic is cant seem to find him in the betting for Wimbledon. Looking for something to back in the tennis and ye seem to fancy him.
    put your money on him ive been watching him the past 2 years.
    He has the patience in this match.

digme wrote: »
    put your money on him ive been watching him the past 2 years.
    He has the patience in this match.

Being honest never heard of him but for some reason Boylesports have no market for that match but do for every other match strange.

I seen him play andal last year and he gave him a great match, the score didn't show how close it was.PP did that the other day for another match as well.He has loads of patience,he see's the ball very early and just gets the ball back in court.He should win this one today anyway.

Malisse needs to be more aggressive to beat him.

Didnt get to back him good shout he is 2 sets up hope he comes up for you.

Ah sound. Pitty ya didn't back him. Hope he can do it in 3.

murrays a good lay hoping he loses the first set.

serena should take set 2 :)
    feck that im out of this bet

also stuck a 5r on tomic in the set betting to win 3-0 at 6/1

finally a nice little winner to get this thread going. any1 else get on this

I think tomic to win 2mrw is a great shout. the kid looks areal talent. possilbe future grand slam winner. take 25 with the 7/5 on offer.
    also doin a small accum for interest
    gasquet 3/1
    Berdych 4/9
    Tsonga 4/9
    Sharapova 2/9
    works out at just over 9/1

happy days. come on gasquet now get it going to keep the small one alive

Any more thinking of backing Ferrer against Tsonga.

well done.

Any more thinking of backing Ferrer against Tsonga.

i dunno while ferrer is the better ranked player and hes one ther only meeting tsonga is very good on grass cos hes such a good mover and athlete which helps on grass. I cant see much value in it. Maybe tsonga in the set bettin 3-1.
    I just can't back against tsonga on grass against ferrer

marion bartoli played a brilliant game.

Now that serena is out backing sharapova for the outright. 14/5

takin venus at 2/1 now shes lost the 1st set. if she can reach the level she had in the last round shell overpower this one

aaah venus. not looking good now

another 5r on del pot just to keep me interested. 4/1 decent price. rafa hasnt impressed me so far

nadal is movin awfully. stickin abnother 20 on delp at 5/2:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Bit strange that PP have suspended all Wimbledon betting cause Nadal is somewhat injured!

1-1 now. if nadal goes into evens i might lay it off. still happy witth my bets so far

i dunno while ferrer is the better ranked player and hes one ther only meeting tsonga is very good on grass cos hes such a good mover and athlete which helps on grass. I cant see much value in it. Maybe tsonga in the set bettin 3-1.
    I just can't back against tsonga on grass against ferrer

Nuts i hope u took my advice. hope ferrer get a set back tho. did the 3-1 set betting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,426 ✭✭✭✭8-10

BBC:
    Wimbledon 2011: Injury threatens Rafael Nadal title bid

World number one Rafael Nadal is concerned that a foot injury may force him to quit Wimbledon.

The defending champion producing a rousing performance to see off Juan Martin Del Potro in four sets to move into the quarter-finals.

But the 25-year-old Spaniard was troubled by the injury throughout and will go for an MRI scan on Tuesday.

"I don't know what the problem is, I will get it checked out. I'm worried for sure," he said.

"At one moment at the end of the first set I thought I might have to retire.

"To hit my forehand was very tough. I felt something really strange when it was at 6-5 in the first set when I called to the trainer. I pushed hard with a forehand and I just felt something crush in the back of the foot. I didn't know what went on.

"I changed the position of the foot so I was able to continue but with pain."

Fish is available on Bet365 at 6/1 to beat Nadal....I took 9/2 with PP because I hate 365, still think it's value after the Del Potro performance.

Bartoli to win again today. Class act. Lay Lisicki @ 1.94

The german serves and returns better,she also has a better second serve.
    Bartoli is mentally stronger and can serve out matches,but hopefully the germans lead will be too much.
    I'm waiting to see how they both serve and i'll go from there.

nothing massively took my fancy today. went with lasiciki in the set bettin 2-0 at 9/5. the commentators said the closed roof would help lasickis serve

doubt the roof will help her much,she serves like a monster already.

i think the bet of the day is lay Kvitova

there ya go look at that return

waiting for bartoli to call the trainer or doctor and upset lisicki , she's after doing it in the last few matches

Bartoli to win @ 6/4

I'm going back in on lisicki
    she needs to show why she is top 20 material

I'm going back in on lisicki
    she needs to show why she is top 20 material

Looks like the better call.

cheers Yardie , so far anyway

Do you dip in and out on betfair? I have noticed huge swings in prices on the tennis

ya i trade service games

I am gonna have to get into that. A lot safer option. I have been caught out a few times by not being able to lay what was looking like a winner but then not closing match out. Lisicki looks to have this sewn up but this match may still go either way as Bartoli looks knackered but Lisicki looks nervous.

Yardie wrote: »
    I am gonna have to get into that. A lot safer option. I have been caught out a few times by not being able to lay what was looking like a winner but then not closing match out. Lisicki looks to have this sewn up but this match may still go either way as Bartoli looks knackered but Lisicki looks nervous.
    The thing is on betfair, you can end up losing more money than on a bookies as you get
    A greedy and B you get nervous and cancel your bet at a loss.
    it's a double edged sword. If you're not greedy and you can get profit on
    both players and you can leave it at that without going back into the market
    looking for more money ,you will clean up.

The thing is on betfair, you can end up losing more money than on a bookies as you get
    A greedy and B you get nervous and cancel your bet at a loss.
    it's a double edged sword. If you're not greedy and you can get profit on
    both players and you can leave it at that without going back into the market
    looking for more money ,you will clean up.

Thanks man, sound advice. Greed unfortunately can be one of my biggest hurdles to see decent when gambling so will have to thread carefully.

Well done on Lisicki.