Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2011 College Football News/Discussion Etc etc

• 01-06-2011 11:48am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭

As there is fook all NFL news might as well get a college ball thread going.

Will start with this:

Ohio State and Head Coach Jim Tressel part company. Tressel asked to resign over knowing players were trading memorabilia for tattoos and weed in a well known local tattoo parlor. Good article on the dodgy dealings at Ohio State.

http://www.thewolverineblog.com/2011/05/30/more-osu-si-article-details-widescale-violations-terrelle-pryor-investigated/?wpmp_switcher=mobile

The article about Tressel resigning:

http://sports.espn.go.com/ncf/news/story?id=6606999

Well over 10 guys have been suspended including QB Terrelle Pryor and it looks like Pryor has resigned also which has yet to be confirmed.

Also more dodgy dealings are being investigated with the likes of players driving flashy cars in which local car dealers are "gifting" cars to players to drive for a season etc etc Just check out Pryors car this monday gone::D

ncf_a_tpryts_300.jpg

Mad mad stuff. Ohio state are fubar for the 2011 season now. With all those suspensions and no Tressel and no Pryor sucks to be a OSU fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭TaosHum

Sancitions haven't been dealt yet by the NCAA have they?

If not, then are we looking at similar sancitions to those given out to USC last year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭tallaghtoutlaws

TaosHum wrote: »
    Sancitions haven't been dealt yet by the NCAA have they?

If not, then are we looking at similar sancitions to those given out to USC last year?

Nope the NCAA are still investigating but the School itself have handed out the bans as far as I can read. A lot of conflicting pieces floating around over the last few days. Many of the articles and vids do say that 9 players + the ones already suspended are under investigation by the NCAA. Pryor is on the list of the already suspended I think. 5 games he got.

I would say the NCAA will come down hard on them for sure. They made an example of USC and will most likely follow suit with OSU. The fact there is old player coming out saying it has been going on for years doesn't help OSU at all with the NCAA investigation.

Id say all the big programs are ****ting themselves right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,446 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Gotta say that Tressel always came across to me as a hugely honorable and straight man. I was shocked to learn that he was protecting Pryor as I thought he was the type that would not tolerate any messing about. I'm not giving out about him protecting the player just surprised but I still see him the same as I did before any of this started. If he was aware of the gifts then things do change a whole lot.

Nope the NCAA are still investigating but the School itself have handed out the bans as far as I can read. A lot of conflicting pieces floating around over the last few days. Many of the articles and vids do say that 9 players + the ones already suspended are under investigation by the NCAA. Pryor is on the list of the already suspended I think. 5 games he got.

I would say the NCAA will come down hard on them for sure. They made an example of USC and will most likely follow suit with OSU. The fact there is old player coming out saying it has been going on for years doesn't help OSU at all with the NCAA investigation.

A certain program from Alabama springs to mind ;).

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

What station will college ball be on? I remember a long time ago it used to be on setanta at like 2-4 am?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,193 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

It's on ESPN and ESPN America. At least it was last year.

They are included on 2 of the 3 packages on UPC ....

What station will college ball be on? I remember a long time ago it used to be on setanta at like 2-4 am?

ESPN

PAC-10 have also lined up to play on Sundays if the lockout continues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭cheesehead

Agree with the above Tallaght. No university is immune to this. As you often state: "Follow the money". Huge sums of money are being made with the TV contracts. The players know this and essentially are saying: "I want my taste". The coaches turn a blind eye (because they want to win now) and offer "plausible deniability" (except Tressel on whom they have the emails) when the NCAA comes sniffing around. I really feel any determined investigative sports journalist could find dirt on any program if they dug hard enough.

Unfortunately, these situations also reveal the NCAA to be fairly weak. It appears in both the USC case and now the Ohio State case, the only reason the NCAA got involved was due to a Federal Law Enforcement investigation that revealed wrongdoings at the respective schools (the FBI investigating Reggie Bush/Agents case and a Federal drug investigation into the tattoo parlor owner at the center of the Ohio State case). Only when the federal investigators turned over evidence did the respective schools/NCAA get involved. See no evil....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭frostie500

I dont see how OSU cant be done for a lack of institutional control. With it going on for so long there is no way that they will get out of this sanction free. They banned their players in the typical preemptive manner to avoid a bowl ban etc.

Its fine for people to say that all the schools are doing this but rules are rules and Tressel will, in all liklihood, never coach again. Its unfortunate because he is clearly one of the five best coaches of the last couple of decades and its sad that this will be what he will be remembered for.

Who will replace him? The usual names are being bandied about but I cant see someone like Jon Gruden coaching in college, OSU will definetely approach Urban Meyer but its tough to see why he would return so soon after leaving Florida and also to a school that will probably be banned from bowl games for two years.
    PAC-10 have also lined up to play on Sundays if the lockout continues.

I dont get why the PAC-10 are thinking of moving some games to Sunday, what happens if he lockout is averted at the last minute, the league has a load of games on Sunday that noone will watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

I see Stephen Garcia is getting another chance in South Carolina. I'm surprised at Spurrier being so lenient, how many times has Garcia been suspended now - five? Six? I'd just dump him and go with Shaw for this year. Garcia's a waster, wouldn't want him anywhere near my team.

frostie500 wrote: »
    I dont see how OSU cant be done for a lack of institutional control. With it going on for so long there is no way that they will get out of this sanction free. They banned their players in the typical preemptive manner to avoid a bowl ban etc.

Id say the NCAA will come down hard on them.
    Its fine for people to say that all the schools are doing this but rules are rules and Tressel will, in all liklihood, never coach again. Its unfortunate because he is clearly one of the five best coaches of the last couple of decades and its sad that this will be what he will be remembered for.

Said it meself on here so many times things like this were rife in the NCAA and many debated back with me haha but the NCAA lack the bottle and are afraid to fully investigate every school as it would tarnish their own name. They seem to only do something about it when someone else outs the problems for them.

As for Tressel unless he walks away from college ball himself and retires I can always see a job for him in the game. To be fair look at the amount of coaches who are on the Radar of knowing these things and still coaching. Can anybody say Lane Kiffen or Pete Caroll :D And they are on a long list of coaches who most definitely know what their players are up to.
    Who will replace him? The usual names are being bandied about but I cant see someone like Jon Gruden coaching in college, OSU will definetely approach Urban Meyer but its tough to see why he would return so soon after leaving Florida and also to a school that will probably be banned from bowl games for two years.

For now Fickell will coach them through the 2011 season and they will appoint a new coach for 2012. Kirk Herbstreit said this about Meyer interestingly enough:
    "The reality is his (Urban Meyer) dream job has always been and will continue to be the head coach at Ohio State" -Kirk Herbstreit #CFBLive

I actually can't wait for the season to begin. College football Saturdays are just bliss, usually get three games back to back on ESPN which is sweet. Loved betting on them last year, it can't come back soon enough. All this lockout shoite has made me very indifferent to the NFL, I'm looking forward to NCAA far, far more this year.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,042 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

Tom_Brady wrote: »
    I actually can't wait for the season to begin. College football Saturdays are just bliss, usually get three games back to back on ESPN which is sweet. Loved betting on them last year, it can't come back soon enough. All this lockout shoite has made me very indifferent to the NFL, I'm looking forward to NCAA far, far more this year.

And an hour of Erin Andrews before the games. ;)

She is fine was at a Brewers game in 2008 when they played the Cubs and she was on the sides for all 3 games of the series. Couple of my buddies have pics of her and them in a bar in Milwaukee. Myself and a couple of other lads had decided to leave earlier from Milwaukee to head back to local bars where they live thus missing a chance to see her in person. We was devastated :D:D

What I love about the US is women like her. Nothing hotter than women who know sports and like beer and know how to talk sports and are hot :D

She is fine was at a Brewers game in 2008 when they played the Cubs and she was on the sides for all 3 games of the series. Couple of my buddies have pics of her and them in a bar in Milwaukee. Myself and a couple of other lads had decided to leave earlier from Milwaukee to head back to local bars where they live thus missing a chance to see her in person. We was devastated :D:D

What I love about the US is women like her. Nothing hotter than women who know sports and like beer and know how to talk sports and are hot :D

Yeah ESPN really does get it right. Lots of examples- Andrews, Michelle Beadle and Rachel Nichols are a few that spring to mind. :D

Bonnie Bernstein as well she is in her 40's but damn she looks well :D

just googled her there. Shes aged well :D

I see that Terelle Pryor has decided to turn pro and leave OSU. Good decision for all concerned

frostie500 wrote: »
    I see that Terelle Pryor has decided to turn pro and leave OSU. Good decision for all concerned

Fantastic physical talent, but he's not a QB at the next level.

I'm sure some team will find room for him, even if it's a Brad Smith-esque role. Pryor has played WR before.

Yeah, Chris Mortenson tweeted that point a while ago. Suggested he may play tight end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭deisedude

*bump

So what are everyones expectations for their favourite teams this year?

I'm a Cincinnati Bearcats fan, i'd be quietely confident we can improve this year after last years disappointment of not even making a bowl game. In Zach Collaros we have a very talented quarterback, and in Pead at running back and DJ Woods at wide receiver we have some good offensive options. Our Offence even last year was still putting up big scores if was just or defence was horrible. One crumb of comfort was that it was a young inexperienced defence last year whereas this year all last years starters return so hopefully they will have improved as a unit somewhat.

I'd love if we could get back to the team that won back to back Big Easts in 09 and 10 but realistically third would be good

Im a longhorns fan think its going to be a tough season, its all going to come down to qb play with garett Gilbert having to make a big step forward otherwise case mccoy, colts brother, and conor ash will push him hard to start.
    The defence should be strong, even with a new coordinator. Im hoping for eight or nine wins this year and progress for a national title run next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭cheesehead

For all you Notre Dame fans out there: Could this be the start of the turn around? We've been down for fifteen years. We start the year at AP #16. We have some talent. Coach Brian Kelly is in his second year at the helm. Michael Floyd (WR) is the best player on the team. If we get by the University of South Florida next week (9/3/11), then it's on to Michigan. That game's a toss-up in my eyes. If we beat Michigan on 9/10/11 in the Big House (their home field) and then beat Michigan State the next week in our house....look out.

Go Irish.... beat the USF Bulls....!

Wake Forest.....

I dont expect much, going to be another struggle this year. Defense is very poor, so hopefully Jim Grobe was able to rectify it somewhat, but I doubt it will be much improved.

4 days :eek:

:D:D:D:D

Noting like staying up till 4.30 and having to get up for work at 8 after watching your team throw away a 15 point lead with 8 minutes to go in the 4th quarter.

It's RG3 time tonight, live on ESPN. Set your faces to "AWESOME!!" - can't wait :)

Robert-Griffin-III.jpg

Wisconsin Bagders opened up their NCAA 2011 campaign with a destruction of the UNLV Rebels 51-17 in Camp Randall

Montee Ball and new transfer Russell Wilson the key player in this massacre

bildenl.jpg

Great start for the Big 10 Champions. With this new outlook on the same offense from 2010 the Badgers will make a push for the BCS. The road wont be easy but Wilson and Ball will look to make the it happen

Wow, what a play! Kendall Wright with a TD pass! Love me some trick plays!

.....aaaand TCU take it right back down the field to tie it up. I'm going to declare this a shootout already :P

Edit: Eh, scratch that - they miss the PAT. 7-6 Baylor. Wacky start to this game.

Wow, what a play! Kendall Wright with a TD pass! Love me some trick plays!

.....aaaand TCU take it right back down the field to tie it up. I'm going to declare this a shootout already :P

Edit: Eh, scratch that - they miss the PAT. 7-6 Baylor. Wacky start to this game.

Baylors Punter is 280 pounds :eek:

That stat comparing him to the TCU defensive line is fukcing priceless! :D

What a batsh!t crazy game, that play action was bloody brilliant from Griffin, sold it to perfection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭darklighter

23 - 34 with 5 left in the 2nd :eek::eek::eek:

I love skyplayer :D

However i just noticed i dont have espn america on sky player :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

TCU get it back to a one possession game after the 2 point conversion. Baylor looking like they're bottling against their fellow Texans. Frogs D finally getting into the game too.

and TCU are in front, 48-47 with 4 minutes left.

This is the most unbelievable game, I doubt we'll see one as entertaining all season. Breathtaking stuff, surely it's set up for RG3 to be the hero?

Griffin leads them down the field for a FG, 50-48. 1:04 left on the clock, TCU with only 1 timeout left. Unreal.

INTERCEPTION! Baylor wins! What a ****ing incredible game!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭Spongey1975

That is just a nuts scoreline, its on again now on espn america, happy viewing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭Spongey1975

Classic penalty call in the TCU Baylor game

Foul, False Start, Offence, Everyone but the centre. Some noise made by the Baylor fans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

and TCU are in front, 48-47 with 4 minutes left.

This is the most unbelievable game, I doubt we'll see one as entertaining all season. Breathtaking stuff, surely it's set up for RG3 to be the hero?

First college football game I've ever watched! I think it's safe to say I'll be back for more!!

Jebus what a great game last night. Fooking love college ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Watched the TCU game from last night down the pub at a lock-in half steamed - think it managed to convert half the bar to watching American Football every weekend now! Some match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

right gonna have to download this TCU Baylor match because it sounds like one of the greatest games ever :pac:

Was trying to watch it last night but the internet was being crappy as usual and ended up not being able to watch it because it was far to choppy...

watched Michigan State v Youngstown instead - not a bad game but Michigan never looked in trouble at all...

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,193 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

How long did that game go on for? Recorded it but it cut out after 3 hours...that only got me to the beginning of the 4th.

So annoying but lesson learned I guess.

Auburn on the verge of becoming the first ever national champion to lose to an unranked team on opening day. Down 38-28 to Utah State, and Auburn are the home team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Auburn on the verge of becoming the first ever national champion to lose to an unranked team on opening day. Down 38-28 to Utah State, and Auburn are the home team.

nice score there for auburn... it's not over yet..

onside or trust the D

Oh dear God the Auburn game has a female commentator, this sounds so wrong.

Successful onside kick, fair fúcks if they pull this off!