Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Silly crazes you remember

• 31-05-2011 11:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭

Rubber bands on wrists,fake tan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

In before property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

The Coca Cola YoYo thing. 1981 ish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

wash on tatoos, NAFF jackets, gats (a bit of wood with elastic bands and clothes pegs turned into a weapon)
    get the bug by coca cola

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Pogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭The Gnome

Pogs!

Edit: Damn you Keith...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

I can never remember for these type of threads, but Ill slap myself when I see lots in the thread :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Tomagotchi things!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

iPhones

Don't see nearly as many of them around as a year or two ago. I'm sure more people own them its just not lyke "zOMG! I must show everyone this brilliant phone and how great it is and constantly be rubbing it's screen every idle moment I have repeatedly entering the competition to be allowed drink 1 litre of Steve Jobs's own piss!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭fionnmar

Lolo balls

The Gnome wrote: »
    Pogs!

no he said sillycrazes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Diablo's and Tamagotchi's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

pogs.. Pokemon, premier league stickers. Tomagocchi's, them alien egg things..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

Opel Fruit yoyos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Rubber bands on wrists,fake tan

I still see people who do this. This::rolleyes: springs to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I wish fake tan was just a craze

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

MiniDisc players

Nike Air max

"it's like walking on a cloud"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Daegerty wrote: »
    iPhones

Don't see nearly as many of them around as a year or two ago. I'm sure more people own them its just not lyke "zOMG! I must show everyone this brilliant phone and how great it is and constantly be rubbing it's screen every idle moment I have repeatedly entering the competition to be allowed drink 1 litre of Steve Jobs's own piss!"

Strange, i'm seeing alot more of them recently.

Whoever mentioned Coca Cola reminded me of the competions they used have where if you collected 25 plastic labels and sent them away, you'd get a watch, personal stereo, alarm clock etc. I know a girl who used to rummage through bins to collect these. Must remend her of that sometime!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I remember all the kids in my class that thought they were hard men used to have a 'tail' haircut like this (but without the beard). It was a little like a mullet but not as stylish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭vangoz

Head shops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Toys in cereals, don't seem to do that anymore

I remember all the kids in my class that thought they were hard men used to have a 'tail' haircut like this (but without the beard). It was a little like a mullet but not as stylish.

the rats tail :rolleyes: only knackers had them usually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

Pokémon cards...

Remeber those stringers pants?? Combats with strings all over them? Very popular with those ones that used shop in No-Name!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Nu-metal.

Women seem to have it worse than men though...Poncho's and mullets come to mind from a few years back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

Line dancing. Christ almighty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭pencilsharp

Toys in cereals, don't seem to do that anymore

Or the reflectors you used to collect for the wheels on your bike!

If you got a number 7 printed on your lollypop label you got a free lolly-can't remember the names of the lollies now though, think it was the same with cool pops!

Or do you remember Push Pops 'Push a push pop, push it for flavour......'

oasis or blur

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Hopefully the craze or trend of men wearing skinny jeans will fućk right off soon!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Lads bleaching their hair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

2010 Calendars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Fianna Fail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Slavery.

Or those button tracksuit bottoms that everyone at everytime kept opening!

Or the reflectors you used to collect for the wheels on your bike!

If you got a number 7 printed on your lollypop label you got a free lolly-can't remember the names of the lollies now though, think it was the same with cool pops!

Or do you remember Push Pops 'Push a push pop, push it for flavour......'

Oh yeah, remember the reflectors alright! Thought they were deadly, pimping the bike.

The push pops! yep, remember the ad? Or the ringapops, was trying to find the ad for push pop, some odd ones on there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭FinnLizzy

Mullets! But they haven't escaped Sligo!

IRA, remember when they were cool?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Chicago Bears - the refrigerator

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Scutchyin.

Basicily, kids in the 80's thinking they were Michael J Fox and hanging onto the back of moving vehicles.

Bebo, in the internet hall of history alongside aol.

D1stant wrote: »
    The Coca Cola YoYo thing. 1981 ish?
    Late '80s/Early '90s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Wearing those plastic soothers around your neck (dance craze era).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Late '80s/Early '90s.

Nope, '81 for me also.

Must have been two hey days of it.

My school was swamped with kids sent from L.A. to show us how to 'walk the dog' and the like. Can remember watching World Cup '82 and doing tricks with my Fanta one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Penpals.

(I still have two!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭pencilsharp

Oh yeah, remember the reflectors alright! Thought they were deadly, pimping the bike.

The push pops! yep, remember the ad? Or the ringapops, was trying to find the ad for push pop, some odd ones on there

http://youtu.be/-p-LNHxlHIo The memories!!

TK red lemonade, I know they still have it now but we always used to get red lemonade on a Sunday!

Chain letters,which now took in form of emails :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Shell suits. Kellogg's cornflakes wheel spoke toys. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭conti

Magic eye images

Whassssssssssuuuuuppp!

Those slinky things that used to go down your stairs, granted I had one as a kid and knocked serious amounts of fun out of it. Well it was a pound shop knock-off version but still.

Reebok pumps! "Wanna play basketball?"
    "Sure, just give me sec." *Reaches down to 'inflate' shoes to get more air*
    I used to get made fun of in school for wearing the cheapest Dunnes runners going, one pair would literally last me until my feet were coming through them. I'm so glad I did and can honestly and happily say I've never once owned a pair of pumps, Nike Air Max or even Nike Air Max 2. (Did we really need a sequel to a pair f*cking runners???!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

A few years ago (around 2006) there was a crazy increase in the amount of girls wearing pink Nike Air tracksuits for about a month or two. I remember having a non-uniform day in school and about 80% of the school came in wearing a pink cotton tracksuit. Me and my friends started a game like "Yellow reg!" with it, smacking each other every time someone in a pink tracksuit walked past. :P

Then we went away on a trip and I was convinced one of my room-mates hadn't got dressed one day, because her pyjamas were pink and fleecy, and so was her tracksuit!

SarahBeep! wrote: »
    Remeber those stringers pants?? Combats with strings all over them? Very popular with those ones that used shop in No-Name!!

They're the first thing I thought of when I saw this thread! I must've had about five pairs when I was about 11... :o

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Nope, '81 for me also.

Must have been two hey days of it.

My school was swamped with kids sent from L.A. to show us how to 'walk the dog' and the like. Can remember watching World Cup '82 and doing tricks with my Fanta one.
    Must've been different over in England. I had definitely started secondary school.
    conti wrote: »
    Magic eye images
    Oooh, a sailboat.

yo yo thing did happen again in the 90s.