Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lets make Mary Mac president for life.

• 31-05-2011 8:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭

So I was in the doctors office today and I was looking through the newspapers. I came across a letter in one of the papers from some tool that was gushing about Mary Mac and how absolutely fantastic she is. He wanted to make her president for life and he was sure that if it was put to referendum there would be a landslide in favour. I seriously wonder about some people in this country, the place is turning into a joke shop. Lunatics everywhere.

Should Mary Mac be president for life 55 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 55 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

So I was in the doctors office today and I was looking through the newspapers. I came across a letter in one of the papers from some tool that was gushing about Mary Mac and how absolutely fantastic she is. He wanted to make her president for life and he was sure that if it was put to referendum there would be a landslide in favour. I seriously wonder about some people in this country, the place is turning into a joke shop. Lunatics everywhere.

I would vote NO.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Mary Robinson for life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

how about no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

I dont give a fúck how big and posh the gaff is it's still a job. Can hear her singing "gimme my pension and a dingy yee lunatics"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

"WOW"

No chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭hal9000

lets not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

I said yes :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

Is Mary Mac the name of one of the new burgers on the American menu at McDonalds this week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

hondasam wrote: »
    I would vote NO.

I am sure most people would. I for one am sick of her fake smile and empty, meaningless platitudes. That said there are sycophants in this country that would love her to be their queen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

decisions wrote: »
    I said yes :pac:

It's because you're a girl, isn't it? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

Can't stand the woman myself. So naturally I would vote NOOOOOOO!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

deman wrote: »
    It's because you're a girl, isn't it? :P
    What...No...Who told you that...:pac:
    ( yes )

I am sure most people would. I for one am sick of her fake smile and empty, meaningless platitudes. That said there are sycophants in this country that would love her to be their queen.

same here never liked her. If it went to a vote the second time she might not have got in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭breadandjam

terrible idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,399 ✭✭✭sonic85

should be no president - horrible waste of money to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Won't somebody think of the Jews.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

She has been a great president and ambassador for the country, but no political office should be for life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

Mary Mac for life

... Yes we can!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭PunkFreud

She has been a great president and ambassador for the country, but no political office should be for life.
    Totally agree. While I feel she has done a lot for international relations (particularly with the UK), it would be wrong for someone to hold an office like that for the rest of their life.

...unless we want a Queen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Mary Mac for life

... Yes we can!

Failing that, we'll just have to vote for one of the numpties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

same here never liked her. If it went to a vote the second time she might not have got in.

What did she do on you? Must say I met her once before and found her very nice..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

She's doing a great job. But for life? Setting a dangerous Precedent:D:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

I couldn't care less who is president

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

II for one am sick of her fake smile and empty, meaningless platitudes.

I don't think you understand what a president of Ireland is supposed to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

PunkFreud wrote: »
    Totally agree. While I feel she has done a lot for international relations (particularly with the UK), it would be wrong for someone to hold an office like that for the rest of their life.

...unless we want a Queen QUOTE]

Jasus, don't be bringing up Norris again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Snakeblood wrote: »
    I don't think you understand what a president of Ireland is supposed to do.

He's mixing it up with speed-dating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

How much is she on a year plus her pension when she's finished.

Another waste of money like Mary Robinson.

Get rid of the presidency along with the senate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

In the current climate, I would go as far as to suggest suspending the office of president, a luxury we can ill afford.

Let the Minister for Foreign Affairs and the Taoiseach handle all the visiting bigshots, while Irish ambassadors abroad do their best to promote this country as a place for others to visit as tourists (and hopefully not get ripped off due to the shortsighted greed of some!) and also invest in.

And while we're at it, even though this is off topic of this thread, ditch or radically overhaul (as in make them actually work) the Seanad, its useless in its current form.

PunkFreud wrote: »
    Totally agree. While I feel she has done a lot for international relations (particularly with the UK),

"Building bridges" and all that jazz, I know, she has been droning on about "Building bridges" for the last 14 years, like a broken record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Why do we have a president? Couldn't Enda do the same thing as whatever it is she does? Abolish the presidency and make the Áras part of the zoo, it would be an epic reptile house

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

President of where?:confused:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Can I be president for life?
    I could "improve" things drastically.
    Although with the sudden sharp drop in population property prices will definitely decrease.
    President of where?:confused:

town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭THENORTHSIDER

voted yes as there isn't any great replacement in the gang talking about going forward for election

Get rid of it altogether.. We don't need someone getting paid to live in a palatial mansion. Mary Mac was bad enough, imagine if that windbag Dorris gets in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

She's from the 6 counties. She should never have been President in the first place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

phasers wrote: »
    Why do we have a president? Couldn't Enda do the same thing as whatever it is she does? Abolish the presidency and make the Áras part of the zoo, it would be an epic reptile house

Check out the conspiracy theories forum, it already is a reptile house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

we have this thing called a Constitution....and it has a couple of pages on the President...and it has this pre boards thing about 2 terms and real boring stuff on what they do n sh1t...

call me old fashioned, but arent we sort of, kinda like, you know supposed to follow it...i am sure i read that somewhere....

bryaner wrote: »
    What did she do on you? Must say I met her once before and found her very nice..

nothing just don't like her, do I need a reason?

Wondering on what basis did you come to your opinion, lack of intelligence, looks, personality, dress sense? Etc etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭brokenhinge

Love her to death, think she's done a great job, but we fought for 800 years to get rid of having a head of state for life.

Wondering on what basis did you come to your opinion, lack of intelligence, looks, personality, dress sense? Etc etc..

none of the above.

I don't like her, no reason, move on get over it.

none of the above.

I don't like her, no reason, move on get over it.

Just as I thought your posting tripe for the sake of tripe..:rolleyes:

why do you want an explanation ?

what is so difficult to understand, I don't have to have a reason.

please stop annoying me.

why do you want an explanation ?

what is so difficult to understand, I don't have to have a reason.

please stop annoying me.

Good work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭B_Fanatic

Good work.

And I thought Socrates was long dead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Bertie, David Norris, yer man from Dragons Den (and a few others) should have a cage wrestling match to decide next president. Would make great telly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Her husband, Martin should get it. Was at a talk by him recently and he seems like a lovely man! Plus, they wouldn't have to redecorate!

You can always trust a guy named Martin. :)

Bertie, David Norris, yer man from Dragons Den (and a few others) should have a cage wrestling match to decide next president. Would make great telly.

A fight to the death with nunchucks.

Good work.

Thank you sir, do I get a gold star ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Sorry,but which Mary Mac?

Thread lacks detail and is based on heresy